Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs Chelsea Match Thread. FA Cup 10/3/2013. ko 16.30 ITV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Cleverley really stuck the boot through that. Either side and it's in.

Our pressing game seems to have come up a level since the Madrid games. Always a man within 5 yards of their player closing down. Nice to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,391 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Webb really hates Chico.

Nothing wrong with Hernandez there. Chelsea should have played on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,844 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Liam O wrote: »
    Webb really hates Chico.
    Thats cas Chico is acting the maggot tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭CptMackey

That crap of pretending to be injured does my head in. Get up and get on with it. Utd fan btw

There was one earlier where he was clearly fouled though and Webb played on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

CptMackey wrote: »
    That crap of pretending to be injured does my head in. Get up and get on with it. Utd fan btw

I know. Does me head in. Partial to Cadbury's chocolate meself, btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Utd are doing their best to invite Chelsea back in to it but as yet Chelsea don't seem interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

United need to tighten up that midfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

The rules for when players are down injured should really be clarified, Chelsea should have played on there and let Hernandez recover on his own.

If it's not a head injury then it doesn't need immediate attention and the players should play on, the player will soon realise he's putting pressure on his own team by staying down and will get up and get on with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Phoenix wrote: »
    Have you watched Chelsea lately?

more of a conan o brien man myself,and fwiw i cant believe she slept with 50 cent.

Need to sort out that left wing. Giggs or Young on, Cleverley off. Put Kagawa in a central position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Watching this on Fox Soccer with Gus Johnson and Ian Wright on commentary :pac:

Good refereeing from Webb there.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Ramires, Azpilicueta and Mata have been excellent. The final ball from Moses and Oscar have let Chelsea down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

What's up with Nani? Could do without an injury for him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Did not want to see Nani walk off there.

Thats a blow. Nani was doing alright plus it means Cleverley will get to at least the 60min in this game now. I was hoping he'd come off soon not been his day so far.

Come on Tony V!

Thats a shame for Nani. Hamstring tweak maybe?

He really can't catch a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

might be two up but I imagine Ferguson will still put a rocket up them at half time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

How did Webb book Azpilicueta a few minutes ago?

He was looking in the opposite direction and the assistant didn't flag from what I could see.

Valencia is a hard man to push off the ball!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

All that from Valencia could have been avoided if he'd just kick the ball with his left fúcking foot.

Frisbee wrote: »
    and the assistant didn't flag from what I could see.
    From what you could see? So there's a chance you missed it if he did flag? That would probably be it. Otherwise he shouldn't have booked him. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Fine first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Two mistakes cost us. Playing decent enough though but United could probably up it at anytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Frisbee wrote: »
    How did Webb book Azpilicueta a few minutes ago?

He was looking in the opposite direction and the assistant didn't flag from what I could see.
    The linesmans' headsets would be connected with the referees'.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

I'd be more forgiving if this were the first season of a new long term manager who is trying to implement a philosophy at Chelsea but it isn't. Rafa's gone at the end of the season. Which means another manager comes in and it takes even more time to implement his philosophy on the club. All the while we fall further and further behind our rivals. An awful showing from Chelsea in that half, a far cry from the days of Mourinho or even early Ancelotti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Trilla wrote: »
    Thats a blow. Nani was doing alright plus it means Cleverley will get to at least the 60min in this game now. I was hoping he'd come off soon not been his day so far.

Come on Tony V!
    Don't think Cleverley has been that bad tbh.

United need to up it in the second

Felexicon wrote: »
    Don't think Cleverley has been that bad tbh.

I'm being a bit harsh but he's given the ball away a few times and cost us a few counter attacks and Chelsea opportunities outside our penalty area.

Plus I'd like Kagawa to be more central and have better cover for Evra on the left. How many times has Moses been in acres down the left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭markc1184

Passing needs to be better second half. Getting sloppy from about 20mins onwards.

Nailz wrote: »
    The linesmans' headsets would be connected with the referees'.

Yeah that's what I figured happened, but does he not have to flag as well? Just curious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

United need to up it in the second

No they don't, game is over.

I'm a qualified sports watcher, and have managed to see many teams make a comeback.

This Chelsea back 4 are shakier than Michael J Fox

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

Slight OT, but all through this match ITV have been giving updates of the prem game between Liv/Spurs. I'd been planning to watch it latter on MOTD2 but now it's kinda ruined.

Was that ITV's (secret) intention all along, to diminish the presentation of their rival, all under the guise of being "helpful" and "informative"? Not accusing ITV in particular, I imagine if the roles were reversed other channels might do the same. Seems kinda petty if that's the m/o.

Anyway it'd be nice of them to have just not mentioned the game at all (esp since it's not even the same competition).

This Chelsea back 4 are shakier than Michael J Fox

Not cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Feck. Well taken

I made a comment to my Dad how Chelsea had all the ball and his exact words were "sure they're not capable of scoring" and boom. Hazard puts it in the net.

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

Nice goal. Might bring the game back to life.

That was coming in this second half. Utd as poor in this half as Chelsea were in the opening of the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Great goal.

We've been so complacent the last 30 odd minutes. Feck off lads and score another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Hazardsayswa?

Cracking finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

The tactical genius strikes again. :)

Incorrect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Cleverley is being carried out there at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Sheeet that was a tasty strike from Hazard