Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

reality bites, The Gym RTÉ Two, Monday 11 March 2013, 9.30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Look, apologies in advance for the rant but I think last night’s show was yet another example (as if it was required) of the low standard of RTE documentaries. There is a genuinely interesting documentary to be made on the Health and Fitness industry in this country. Off the top of my head, far more insightful and interesting focal points of such a documentary could have been:

- An overview of the different types of training options available – from personal trainers to bog standard Ben Dunne type memberships to ‘female focussed’ things like zumba to more traditional old school options like boxing clubs, etc;
    - The business model of the different training options available – from client focussed high retention based models like Crossfit say to sign up focussed low retention based models like Ben Dunne;
    - A comparison of price points;
    - A comparison of urban and rural options;
    - A discussion of different cultures in different parts of the country or within different income / profession / education brackets;
    - Some numbers of regular gym goers versus regular exercisers who prefer GAA, Football, jogging, etc;
    - Retain the personal / vox pop element but instead focus it on people doing very different types of training and ask them for why they spurn other approaches;
    - Talk of performance / progress metrics. What is ultimate value for money in terms of your long term health? Are we getting healthier and fitter as a nation relative to money spent on such things?

But no, instead we got a lazy day’s footage from four different places and inane self promotional interviews with a limited number of people. No numbers, no insight, no facts, no interest. But it would take some effort and skill to do the above wouldn’t it? Awful, awful, awful.

It ****ing annoys me that there is some smug idiot walking around proud as punch that their “documentary” was on national tv last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Ray D'Arcy thought it was good
    so it must be a hit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I might watch it for the strongman stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

I might watch it for the strongman stuff
    they only gave him a few minutes, spent most of the time on the other ejits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

This crowd will be filming for a documentary on strongmen at the N. Irish qualifiers .

https://www.facebook.com/irishtv?fref=ts
    The ISA is proud to announce that Irish Tv Sky 191 are doing a strength documentary at this years Ulster Strongest Man Qualifier 2013. Once again Tv for all levels being brought to you by the ISA. A big thank you to our host Setanta Fitness Gym for help securing this event and Tv. So guys smile for the camera!
    Just 2 more sleeps to the most ULTIMATE of qualifiers this Saturday/ INDOORS/12noon in the fantastic Setanta Fitness Gym in Armagh City. Full address details www.irishstrongman.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

The Fennelly stuff was great, great ad for his gym too seeing as there were a few slim women there lifting weights (showing that weight training doesn't turn women into 20 stone monsters)

Adrian O'Dwyer flinging those kegs :eek: I googled him and one page said that he is 6 foot 6 and yet only weighs ~12.5 stone. Maybe he weighs a good bit more now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

THIS YEARS REPUBLIC IRELAND STRONGEST MAN QUALIFIER...WARE HOUSE GYM, GALWAY @1PM ON 23RD MARCH

Will probably go film this meself. If I do I'll stick it up on my youtube channel.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/squod1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Dont be too hard lads, I get the feeling they point the camera at people for hours until they say something stupid out of nervousness and needing to say something to break the silence, the "gym is me and I am the gym" was hysterical all the same.

That strongman gym in Kilkenny looks class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Dont be too hard lads, I get the feeling they point the camera at people for hours until they say something stupid out of nervousness and needing to say something to break the silence, the "gym is me and I am the gym" was hysterical all the same.

That strongman gym in Kilkenny looks class.

I haven't watched it yet but have it sky-plussed. I'd imagine Lia Microscopic Life is spot on. That's what these shows are about - they're cheap to make & are from the same 'bracket' as any rubbishy reality show you see on tv... point the camera at anyone long enough & they're bound to say something stoopid at some stage.

Still can't believe this guy managed to allow the words "the gym is me and I am the gym" escape from his Gob though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

BrianD3 wrote: »
    The Fennelly stuff was great, great ad for his gym too seeing as there were a few slim women there lifting weights (showing that weight training doesn't turn women into 20 stone monsters)

Adrian O'Dwyer flinging those kegs :eek: I googled him and one page said that he is 6 foot 6 and yet only weighs ~12.5 stone. Maybe he weighs a good bit more now though.

Yeah but its all muscle lol! He looked like he had a serious V taper going on.

though the show was ok. Didnt see it all. Cringe in places though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

For the amount you guys are laughing... I guarantee all these guys benefit financially as a result of the exposure and are happy to take the slagging on the chin.

I haven't watched, and won't be watching the show. It sounds abysmal.

Hanley wrote: »
    For the amount you guys are laughing... I guarantee all these guys benefit financially as a result of the exposure and are happy to take the slagging on the chin.

Absolutely.

On a related note - I rushed off this morning to buy a pair of skinny jeans that I could train my clients in.

Feckin things wouldn't even go over my calves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Considering the programme was called 'the gym', there was very little 'gym' in it. 1 strongman, 1 x PT, 1 x class and a gym.

Like others have said, a great opportunity wasted to dispel the misconceptions out there.

Is that baz fella from the bodybuilding one in it or does he work for tv3?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Astalia x

Well I thought it was really good, sorry guys lol, the class In limerick looked like really good fun, there's nothing like that in my area all the girls looked like they had a really good workout I'm not motivated to train that hard when it's just me on a treadmill I usually give up after 10 mins, in an unrelated matter the strongman guy is very hot, does anyone know if he's single lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

I think the idea behind the programme was good.
    Visit and profile a number of different gyms around the country.

A large Aerobics class in UL
    A strongman gym run by Irelands strongest man
    A city centre personal training gym
    A small town gym

If they had just examined the different types of activities at each gym and showed the variety of exercises that are out there and options for people then it would have been a much better programme. Unfortunately it looks like someone said "We need human interest stories" at the brain storming session and thats where it all went downhill.
    Richie and his daughter seemed to manage to stay on message so in order to find some human interest they followed the cleaner around the arena. I mean WTF.
    They made James Fennelly out to be a bit of a gombeen. I can only imagine the type of stupid and invasive questions they were asking him about his family.
    The other guys that were featured were portrayed very badly. They tried to make everyone featured out to be emotionally damaged in some way.

The programme had lots of promise but completely failed to deliver. They missed an opportunity to encourage people to go to the gym and get healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Eustace Fargo

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Look, apologies in advance for the rant but I think last night’s show was yet another example (as if it was required) of the low standard of RTE documentaries. There is a genuinely interesting documentary to be made on the Health and Fitness industry in this country. Off the top of my head, far more insightful and interesting focal points of such a documentary could have been:

- An overview of the different types of training options available – from personal trainers to bog standard Ben Dunne type memberships to ‘female focussed’ things like zumba to more traditional old school options like boxing clubs, etc;
    - The business model of the different training options available – from client focussed high retention based models like Crossfit say to sign up focussed low retention based models like Ben Dunne;
    - A discussion of different cultures in different parts of the country or within different income / profession / education brackets;
    - Some numbers of regular gym goers versus regular exercisers who prefer GAA, Football, jogging, etc;
    - Retain the personal / vox pop element but instead focus it on people doing very different types of training and ask them for why they spurn other approaches;
    - Talk of performance / progress metrics. What is ultimate value for money in terms of your long term health? Are we getting healthier and fitter as a nation relative to money spent on such things?

But no, instead we got a lazy day’s footage from four different places and inane self promotional interviews with a limited number of people. No numbers, no insight, no facts, no interest. But it would take some effort and skill to do the above wouldn’t it? Awful, awful, awful.

Then it wouldn't be a documentary about people who go to the gym, it would be more like Nationwide or a lifestyle programme about how to get fit, in other words a public info film which I don't believe it was advertised as or supposed to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 bladed

abysmal joke, had to turn off the volume when that utterly irritating idiot from limerick was on, and dont get me started on 'mr model' :eek:

some of the fennelly stuff was ok, but badly edited.

actually though rep of telly had started early and it was a piss take.

conclusion, irish television = dont expect much..................

Then it wouldn't be a documentary about people who go to the gym, it would be more like Nationwide or a lifestyle programme about how to get fit which I don't believe it was advertised as.
    vested interest? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Gi joe!

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

It ****ing annoys me that there is some smug idiot walking around proud as punch that their “documentary” was on national tv last night.

You should go about making a documentary like that if you can, really good ideas! Although critiquing the business models of gyms could lead to you getting into hot water with the likes of Ben Dunne. :P

Astalia x wrote: »
    Well I thought it was really good, sorry guys lol, the class In limerick looked like really good fun, there's nothing like that in my area all the girls looked like they had a really good workout I'm not motivated to train that hard when it's just me on a treadmill I usually give up after 10 mins, in an unrelated matter the strongman guy is very hot, does anyone know if he's single lol
    how do they listen to that eejet taking the class :confused::confused:

and if you look closely at 75% of that class, they're just aimlessly jumping around as in any overly large class

bladed wrote: »
    vested interest? :D

As a viewer, yes. I pay a license fee too and study media.

Considering the programme was called 'the gym', there was very little 'gym' in it. 1 strongman, 1 x PT, 1 x class and a gym.

Like others have said, a great opportunity wasted to dispel the misconceptions out there.
    why is everyone so concerned about all the 'misconceptions' out there? its irrelevant. in this day and age, if ppl do not know how a gym looks or feels, they're not going to be interested period.

gyms arent rocket science..............

As a viewer, yes. I pay a license fee too and study media.
    i hope you're revolutionary, irish tv needs it.............

Ha. I don't doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

What the hell is wrong with you people? Actually...don't answer that because I already know the answer and most of you wouldn't even understand what I was talking about if I told you.

The posts in this thread do more illustrate the problems in the Irish health and fitness industry than this program supposedly does if you were to take any notice of the majority of comments here.

I read every post in this thread and had formed an idea of what I 'thought' the program would be like based on 'commentary' here and then decided to watch it for myself.

The program was fantastic and confirmed what I have known for a long time...1. Many of the posters here are complete idiots. 2. Many of the posters here do not have a clue what they are talking about. 3. The 'opinion' here on this forum is just about as worthwhile as most of the 'advice' on training.

Firstly, it was a documentary exploring the daily goings-on at four Irish gyms, meeting the people who choose to workout at the facilities.

What bit of that 'brief' or 'synopsis' did they not adhere to? The program was exactly what it said on the can...much of the criticism here seems to relate to the fact that it wasn't a completely different program all together.

So they set out to make a documentary exploring the daily goings-on at four Irish gyms, meeting the people who choose to workout at the facilities and did exactly that but the program was 'cringe worthy' and failed to deal with the 'misconceptions' of the gym blah blah blah.

The program showed 4 different types of gyms....in no particular order...the strongman style gym....what I saw was a great facility with good coaching and encouragement from the staff and someone who lead by example and a bunch of guys and girls...young and old having a great time training and the general message that 'the gym and training changed their lives for the better'.

Then the father and daughter instructors....how many people were in that single class? My guess is 70+. 70+ people all training and getting some much needed exercise....yeah, but he's '****' and 'annoying'....well it seems at least 70+ people disagree with some of you. A father in daughter in great shape who love their job...with a couple of basketball courts full of people having a great time and getting some exercise...yeah, but according to some of you...that's **** as well.

Then the lads with the gym in town....focused on a guy who's in better shape than anyone who posted a negative comment in this thread stating how much he loves and enjoys his job looking after a hugely diverse membership group in a busy city gym...the message I got here was once again....like all the others the program focused on....the gym and training in general is fantastic and had changed their lives or made their lives better.

Then the Carrick gym....again...someone who loves their job with a gym full of a diverse range of people who appear to be having a fantastic time training and getting some exercise.

So they set out to make a documentary exploring the daily goings-on at four Irish gyms, meeting the people who choose to workout at the facilities and did exactly that.

They paint a picture of a diverse and varied population enjoying many different styles of exercise in a wide variety of facilities throughout the country and all the majority of posters here want to do is come and take a monumental dump on the program and participants.

Bravo boards Health & Fitness forum posters...once again all many of you have illustrated is how pathetic you are. It was an incredibly positive program that focused on a bunch of successful trainers/coaches/owners providing positive health and fitness to a huge number of people. Well done.

p.s: Hanley...don't listen to what any of idiots here have said....watch it for yourself. It was a good little program that did exactly what it set out to do and for anyone in or involved in the industry it was definitely worth a viewing.

What the hell is wrong with you people? Actually...don't answer that because I already know the answer and most of you wouldn't even understand what I was talking about if I told you.

The posts in this thread do more illustrate the problems in the Irish health and fitness industry than this program supposedly does if you were to take any notice of the majority of comments here.

I read every post in this thread and had formed an idea of what I 'thought' the program would be like based on 'commentary' here and then decided to watch it for myself.

The program was fantastic and confirmed what I have known for a long time...1. Many of the posters here are complete idiots. 2. Many of the posters here do not have a clue what they are talking about. 3. The 'opinion' here on this forum is just about as worthwhile as most of the 'advice' on training.

Firstly, it was a documentary exploring the daily goings-on at four Irish gyms, meeting the people who choose to workout at the facilities.

What bit of that 'brief' or 'synopsis' did they not adhere to? The program was exactly what it said on the can...much of the criticism here seems to relate to the fact that it wasn't a completely different program all together.

So they set out to make a documentary exploring the daily goings-on at four Irish gyms, meeting the people who choose to workout at the facilities and did exactly that but the program was 'cringe worthy' and failed to deal with the 'misconceptions' of the gym blah blah blah.

The program showed 4 different types of gyms....in no particular order...the strongman style gym....what I saw was a great facility with good coaching and encouragement from the staff and someone who lead by example and a bunch of guys and girls...young and old having a great time training and the general message that 'the gym and training changed their lives for the better'.

Then the father and daughter instructors....how many people were in that single class? My guess is 70+. 70+ people all training and getting some much needed exercise....yeah, but he's '****' and 'annoying'....well it seems at least 70+ people disagree with some of you. A father in daughter in great shape who love their job...with a couple of basketball courts full of people having a great time and getting some exercise...yeah, but according to some of you...that's **** as well.

Then the lads with the gym in town....focused on a guy who's in better shape than anyone who posted a negative comment in this thread stating how much he loves and enjoys his job looking after a hugely diverse membership group in a busy city gym...the message I got here was once again....like all the others the program focused on....the gym and training in general is fantastic and had changed their lives or made their lives better.

Then the Carrick gym....again...someone who loves their job with a gym full of a diverse range of people who appear to be having a fantastic time training and getting some exercise.

So they set out to make a documentary exploring the daily goings-on at four Irish gyms, meeting the people who choose to workout at the facilities and did exactly that.

They paint a picture of a diverse and varied population enjoying many different styles of exercise in a wide variety of facilities throughout the country and all the majority of posters here want to do is come and take a monumental dump on the program and participants.

Bravo boards Health & Fitness forum posters...once again all many of you have illustrated is how pathetic you are. It was an incredibly positive program that focused on a bunch of successful trainers/coaches/owners providing positive health and fitness to a huge number of people. Well done.

p.s: Hanley...don't listen to what any of idiots here have said....watch it for yourself. It was a good little program that did exactly what it set out to do and for anyone in or involved in the industry it was definitely worth a viewing.
    haha, you're easily pleased. and believe, i know what i watched was crap and i know what im talking about when in comes to fitness, im not gona throw out my internet big balls over it though.

if you think a class of 70 (bar the 1st few front rows) ppl are getting a 'good session' then you dont know jack my friend about these large fitness classes. they're a high volume low entry cost money spinner end of story. i wonder did the dog he was whistling for ever show up :confused::D

have you seen 'everyone in this thread' to compare them to that gimp the model? '' i am the gym, the gym is me'' give me a fookin break!!

apart from the fennelly stuff, it was utterly appalling just like 99% of irish tv, for godsake the same channel commissions crap like the republic of telly. need one say more.............

It was a good little program that did exactly what it set out to do and for anyone in or involved in the industry it was definitely worth a viewing.

That's pretty much what it seemed to be aiming for; didn't seem like it wanted to be the telly form of an information pamphlet that you'd find at the local health-centre. More an insight into the different types of people who attend gyms, pretty simple idea, and it seemed to achieve that but I suppose people have just become accustomed to being bombarded with info bulletins these days (isn't that what the internet is for?) rather than getting used to actual characters telling their stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭swiftman

haha, you're easily pleased. and believe, i know what im watched was crap and i know what im talking about when in comes to fitness, im not gona throw out my internet big balls over it though.

if you think a class of 70 (bar the 1st few front rows) ppl are getting a 'good session' then you dont know jack my friend about these large fitness classes. they're a high volume low entry cost money spinner end of story. i wonder did the dog he was whistling for ever show up :confused::D

have you seen 'everyone in this thread' to compare them to that gimp the model?

apart from the fennelly stuff, it was utterly appalling just like 99% of irish tv, for godsake the same channel commissions crap like the republic of telly. need one say more.............

oh dear, this could get bad for poor 11posts bladed, take it easy on him will

fvck away off you mug, like a give a flying fvck what that donkey thinks, he has the fvckin mentality of a fly if he thinks that was 'good little programme'. maybe he used to hump yer man? or maybe he was part of the US style cult in carrick?

lmfao, fvckin internet ******s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Whilst I've already said I didn't really like the programme, I certainly wouldn't say anything bad about the people featured in it. Limerick dad and daughter are obviously popular and the lads in Carrick and Kilkenny were gents and dedicated to their clients. Lad in dublin wasn't given much time but didn't help himself by training people in skinny jeans for the cameras.

haha, you're easily pleased. and believe, i know what i watched was crap and i know what im talking about when in comes to fitness, im not gona throw out my internet big balls over it though.
    Yes, I am easily pleased. What I was looking for was for the program to be what was described...and it was. It was exactly what it said it would be.

You actually don't know what you are talking about. Like I said...I could tell you what your problem is but I'd be wasting my breath.

I am not sure what you last sentence even means...but I'm sure it was very cutting and if I understood it would totally cut me to the bone emotionally.
    The fact that you even mention 'the front row' like it actually means something just shows you don't have a clue what you are talking about...where you are placed in those classes makes little or no difference especially for experienced participants.

High volume low entry cost....LOL. There was probably actually closer to 80 or more when I looked at it again...what I saw was a diverse range of people enjoying themselves doing some exercise. Lets look at it in a couple of different ways...neither of which program accurately reflect reality but just for arguments sake....what do people pay for a casual visit to a class? 10 euro, 15 euro or more? Say we take the middle figure...1,200 euro? Generated in an hour by a couple of people? I think I'd take that all day. At the opposite end of that...if they are ALL members what has it 'cost' the facility to service 70-80 members? I can not see any possible downside for the facility, its management, the participants or the instructors.

As for the whistling that everyone is pissing and moaning about....you know why he was whistling....I'll take a wild guess...it's because he's conducting a class covering a full sports hall the size of two basketball courts with 70 or more participants some of whom due to the fact that his and his daughters classes are so incredibly successful are over 25 metres away from him...that'd be my guess.

Do I want to do his classes? No. Then I don't 'strongman' training. I'd never use a personal trainer and I'd never do a circuit class. That aside I am also not that pig ignorant to think that what I do is the BEST and that EVERYONE in the world should be doing what I do and if they don't they should be looked down upon.
    have you seen 'everyone in this thread' to compare them to that gimp the model? '' i am the gym, the gym is me'' give me a fookin break!!
    It was a throwaway line...a single line and he's be castigated for it endlessly in this thread. You've said a dozen retarded things in this thread and everyone is laughing at you as well but here I am still willing to give you the benefit of the doubt.

I think it is HILARIOUS the amount of hypocrisy in this thread and on this board. The number of people who do crossfit for example that wear 'cool' crossfit shirts, the powerlifters that wear their 'cool' powerlifting emblazoned hoodies, the girls that train wearing their 'strong is the new skinny' blah blah blah stuff...I do bjj and I've a heap of Robert Drysdale shirts, I have had a long association with EliteFTS and I've gear that was given to me as gift by Dave and Jim years ago....I wear it because I identify with it....like all the other types of people I've mentioned here....as well as the ones that I haven't...like the cyclists, the runners, the rugby guys, the GAA players in the gym in their club and county jerseys. YOU ALL DO IT. You are all saying 'I am the gym. The gym is me.' You are either just too retarded or too ignorant to recognise it. You are all saying it just not verbalising it. Everybody who bagged Darragh in this thread should of taken a good hard look at themselves before they commented. Including yourself and your whole tough guy internet thing you have going on and the know it all and look down your nose at everything and everyone attitude.
    Stunning insight.

That's pretty much what it seemed to be aiming for; didn't seem like it wanted to be the telly form of an information pamphlet that you'd find at the local health-centre. More an insight into the different types of people who attend gyms, pretty simple idea, and it seemed to achieve that but I suppose people have just become accustomed to being bombarded with info bulletins these days (isn't that what the internet is for?) rather than getting used to actual characters telling their stories.
    The thing is...it was exactly what it said it was. Yes, an expose on the Irish fitness industry would be great. Yes, a investigative program on the Irish fitness industry would be great. This program didn't set out to do any of these as you've pointed out.

Whilst I've already said I didn't really like the programme, I certainly wouldn't say anything bad about the people featured in it. Limerick dad and daughter are obviously popular and the lads in Carrick and Kilkenny were gents and dedicated to their clients. Lad in dublin wasn't given much time but didn't help himself by training people in skinny jeans for the cameras.
    It wasn't my favourite program of the week either but the seemingly endless amounts of Irish negativity and self loathing on this board in general and in this thread in particular is just phenomenal.

I read all the comments and had an idea of how bad the program could of been in light of the comments....it just wasn't anything like that.

As for the guy in the skinny jeans...so what? What's he supposed to wear? A tracksuit I suppose? What kind of tracksuit? What about shorts and a singlet? If he is wearing shorts should he be wearing undershorts or jocks? Which 'look' do you think facilitates the best coaching? Maybe he was wearing skinny jeans because that's what he wears? I will even take another guess...I bet he has more than one pair? So what? Should James Fennelly have been wearing a bigger t-shirt? Do you think I'd be right on the money if I was on here bagging James for being a 'poser' because he was wearing a tight t-shirt? On a forum full of posters that spend such an inordinate amount of time videoing themselves or taking 'selfies' or pics of their shoes etc etc I think the comments about Darragh are a bit rich and just make this place look more of a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭soap1978

It wasn't my favourite program of the week either but the seemingly endless amounts of Irish negativity and self loathing on this board in general and in this thread in particular is just phenomenal.

I read all the comments and had an idea of how bad the program could of been in light of the comments....it just wasn't anything like that.

As for the guy in the skinny jeans...so what? What's he supposed to wear? A tracksuit I suppose? What kind of tracksuit? What about shorts and a singlet? If he is wearing shorts should he be wearing undershorts or jocks? Which 'look' do you think facilitates the best coaching? Maybe he was wearing skinny jeans because that's what he wears? I will even take another guess...I bet he has more than one pair? So what? Should James Fennelly have been wearing a bigger t-shirt? Do you think I'd be right on the money if I was on here bagging James for being a 'poser' because he was wearing a tight t-shirt? On a forum full of posters that spend such an inordinate amount of time videoing themselves or taking 'selfies' or pics of their shoes etc etc I think the comments about Darragh are a bit rich and just make this place look more of a joke.
    Are you darragh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Dubdude

Why bother coming back with replies all the time? You obviously don't like boards.ie/boards members so why not leave everyone to have there own opinion instead of trying to convert them to your way of thinking.

The only thing I take from your posts when I read them is what a w***er, sure hey I'm an idiot and haven't a clue what I'm talking about anyway in your opinion, but hey thats my opinion and like everyone else on here, we're all entitled to an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭GoldCobra

People seem to be going mad here, and way too harsh against this show. I watched it and thought it was a good show, entertaining. People are acting like it somehow personally offended them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

As someone who isn't big into health & fitness (since start of year I have been more careful of what I eat and trying to do some exercise eg walking, jogging, cycling etc). While I found the program ok to watch - the little gym in the shed looked good and the strong man stuff was impressive (to me anyway) - strangely I didn't find the program MOTIVATIONAL. I didn't make me interested in joining a gym, or an exercise class. It didn't spurn me on to do a bit more yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

soap1978 wrote: »
    Are you darragh?

Having known will, and having 'met' Darragh, I can confirm that they are separate people...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

discus wrote: »
    Having known will, and having 'met' Darragh, I can confirm that they are separate people...

Ever seen both in a room at the same time? Only way to know for sure man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

To be fair I'd say a lot of the people slagging Darragh would kill to have a body like him. Not a week goes by when a new 'how do I get a six-pack' thread pops up here.

He might be vain pleb (haven't seen the show, can't comment) but he has put in the graft and enjoying the fruits of his work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

The program gave more of reflection of different types of fitness and fitness programs people can take part in. They used the gym instructors personaliities to show their motivations for being in the industry and the different level of people they cather for. The gym in Limerick had your slim women to your heavy bloke in a Liverpool Jersey. The Strong man gym had a guy studying for exams to the body builders and women in the club. The family gym had 60 year old women to house wives and men in their club. Wheter it inspired people to get active or not is down to peoples own personalilties. It may have inspired some people. It was easy viewing without challenging the brain too much. All in all OK TV , didn't set the world on fire but didn't merit turning off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Then it wouldn't be a documentary about people who go to the gym, it would be more like Nationwide or a lifestyle programme about how to get fit, in other words a public info film which I don't believe it was advertised as or supposed to be.

I disagree, it would be about people who go to the gym but which much needed insight and analysis. Yourself, Will and others have a different opinion obviously - but I don't think it's unreasonable to ask for high standards from publicly funded television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Operation Transformation. Can follow it on internet with diet plans training plans etc......

ferike1 wrote: »

He might be vain pleb (haven't seen the show, can't comment) but he has put in the graft and enjoying the fruits of his work.

In fairness, a bit of narcissism is needed when a model or bodybuilder.

Haven't watched the show yet. Too busy watching the surprising adventures of Sir Digby Chicken Caesaar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Overall message I got was "I used to be depressed/suicidal but then I joined a gym, now I'm not depressed/suicidal"
    what's wrong with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

I saw that abs gym a while ago when I was looking for a new place to train, but I was kind of put off by the name. I think I might actually check it out now. If nothing else, they at least have totally sweet Zhangkong gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

what's wrong with that?

I think whoever put the thing together put too much emphasis on this kind of stuff, but hey that's television.

If I wasn't at work, I'd go dig up that screen wipe video where Charlie Brooker shows how these kinds of programs are put together, and how with a bit of editing you can completely change the way everyone involved is perceived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I think whoever put the thing together put too much emphasis on this kind of stuff, but hey that's television.

If I wasn't at work, I'd go dig up that screen wipe video where Charlie Brooker shows how these kinds of programs are put together, and how with a bit of editing you can completely change the way everyone involved is perceived.
    that's obvious at this stage....what i was saying is in a country with such high suicide rates...what's wrong with people believing going to the gym is helping them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Hanley wrote: »
    Ever seen both in a room at the same time? Only way to know for sure man.

Fair one... They should both fight, whilst we're at it!