Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renting a room, no contract / agreement - Am I entitled to my deposit?

Options
  • 12-03-2013 11:16am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭

I've been renting a room in an apartment for 6 months. I'm changing jobs so want to move out the end of April, giving about 6 weeks notice

I never signed any rent agreement, but paid my deposit and have paid my rent each month on time

Am I right in believing that since I signed no agreement, once I give at least 30 days notice I can move out at any time, and I am entitled to my deposit back?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,664 ✭✭✭makeorbrake

Hi there. Normally with rent a room scheme, the notice period should reflect the way in which you pay. i.e. if you pay weekly, then a weeks notice; If you pay monthly, then a months notice.

You should be entitled to your deposit back less your share of any outstanding bills and cost of repair/replacement for anything that is your responsibility beyond normal wear and tear.

EDIT - I was working on the basis that this was a 'rent a room' scheme scenario. If that's not the case, what djimi said below.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Do you live with your landlord?

Either way you are entitled to your deposit back. If you live with your landlord then you are a licensee and as such there are no real formal rules as to how much notice you must give, but I would imagine most would expect 28 days.

If you do not live with your landlord then you must give 28 days notice for up to 6 months, and 35 days notice for 6-12 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd