Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

F.C. Barcelona vs A.C. Milan CL last 16 2nd leg Match Thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Essien wrote: »
    And people wonder where Barca hate stems from...

It's just the sycophantic nonsense from their fanboys and the "Més que un club" nonsense that annoys me.

The barca 18 tonight cost a total of €203 million (if reported fees are correct) and have the highest wage bill of any football club in history and have completely sold out any ideals then club once had by allowing themselves bankrolled by a totalitarian Islamist dictatorship, so really, the more than a club crap is bull****.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

kryogen wrote: »
    It wouldn't matter if Barca and Madrid played each other in the car park on a Sunday morning, they would both still be going all out to win, to try to diminish Madrids recent victories over them like that is quite frankly, sad and unnecessary.

So saying that a Clasico in the Champions League is bigger than a Clasico in the Copa Del Rey (the third priority competition for both clubs) or in a league season where the title is already decided is now considered to be trying to "diminish" Madrid's victories and is sad and unnecessary. You learn something new every night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

Where you get that? I had them at 2/1 on betfair

Paddy Power m8 - not the best odds at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

So saying that a Clasico in the Champions League is bigger than a Clasico in the Copa Del Rey (the third priority competition for both clubs) or in a league season where the title is already decided is now considered to be trying to "diminish" Madrid's victories and is sad and unnecessary. You learn something new every night.

I had a reply typed out, but whats the point?

Enjoy the night

Manc-Red wrote: »
    Paddy Power m8 - not the best odds at all

Horrible crowd, cant stand them at all. Betfair generally better priced then anywhere else for single bets and with the trading option I cant understand how people are betting anywhere else right now, multiples/specials I get, but singles

I had a reply typed out, but whats the point?

Enjoy the night

Good point.

Visca Barca!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭5T3PH3N

Of course you are right about a CL Classico being bigger than a Copa Classico. Imagine Utd playing Chelsea/Citeh in the cup, Utd would want to win without a doubt. But it's a whole different story if they were to meet in the latter stages of the CL, Utd would step it up just like Barca will if they meet Real in the next round.

However, Barca didn't lose those two games because they didn't give it their all. They lost because they were off form and Real were on fire. Real played far better in both games, Mou has figured out how to beat Barca and he should have no fear of meeting them again in any comp. Barca are terribly inconsistent at the back, any of the remaining sides in the CL could score a few against them if they either chase Barca down non stop for the whole game or if they absorb the pressure and counter like Real have been doing against them recently.

Andersonisgod, I wish you would give the fawning up, I'm beginning to think you are Corkman and are doing it to get a rise from the haters here:p And I have to laugh at the people using the term fanboy to describe Barca fans, I could go in to any of the club threads and pick out a handful of "fanboys" from most teams on this board, you support a foreign team too ffs. It's just petty and you know it.

Fair play to Seaneh for the fair post after the game, not often I could say that to you after these two sides meet!

What does fanboy and supporting foreign teams have to do with each other?

Is it possible you dont understand the term fanboy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭ironingbored

I see, so if they get a decision that does go against them now and then it obviously cancels out all the ones that go for them. Simples.

Sensitive bunch the Barca fans, could just admit when you get a slice of luck and be happy, not like ye can control it

Luck had absolutely nothing to do with that result. Zero.

Did I claim otherwise? Try again buddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

VISCA BARCA!
    Incredible stuff from Barca!

Now onward to Wembley, again!

Offside goal, hand ball in the box not given and an 18 year old millimetres from scoring to make it 1-1.

Nope, no luck at all.

Barca were better tonight and deserved their win but to say luck played no part in their qualification for the next round is rubbish. Niang scoring to make it 1-1 would have turned everything on it's head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Luck has something to do with probably most results. If Niang's shot hits the net and not the bar it's a total uphill struggle for Barca. If Messi's second had been ruled out for offside, it could have been a much different game.

That's football for you. Would I say they were overly lucky tonight? No, not at all, but they had a bit and you almost certainly need some to win the Champions League. No shame in any team admitting that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2013/mar/12/champions-league-bet-win-correct-scores?CMP=twt_gu

Ha, Guardian running with that bet. It does looked photoshopped alright, think they could be jumping the gun.

Seaneh wrote: »
    It's just the sycophantic nonsense from their fanboys and the "Més que un club" nonsense that annoys me.

The barca 18 tonight cost a total of €203 million (if reported fees are correct) and have the highest wage bill of any football club in history and have completely sold out any ideals then club once had by allowing themselves bankrolled by a totalitarian Islamist dictatorship, so really, the more than a club crap is bull****.

Bit rich coming from a Milan fan. Ask Silvio where he got his money to start it all.

You obviously have no Catalan acquaintances.

Bit rich coming from a Milan fan. Ask Silvio where he got his money to start it all.

You obviously have no Catalan acquaintances.

So because of who he supports his opinion is invalid, regardless of how true it is?

It would be funny if you weren't serious.

Offside goal, hand ball in the box not given and an 18 year old millimetres from scoring to make it 1-1.

Nope, no luck at all.

Barca were better tonight and deserved their win but to say luck played no part in their qualification for the next round is rubbish. Niang scoring to make it 1-1 would have turned everything on it's head.

Swings and roundabouts. Milan could have had two players sent off.

Suck it up. Milan didn't deserve in the slightest to go through on tonight's performance. Unfortunately another trophyless season for the rossoneri. (if only Silvio hadn't spent so much on escorts).

So because of who he supports his opinion is invalid, regardless of how true it is?

It would be funny if you weren't serious.

According to him Barca are "bankrolled" by an Islamic dictatorship. Slight overkill.

Maybe if he read up a little more on Il Cavaliere and the origin of his fortune ("bankrolling" Milan in the meantime) he would wake up and smell the hypocrisy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Great stuff from Barca tonight, they were really up against it and turned the tie around.

5T3PH3N wrote: »
    Of course you are right about a CL Classico being bigger than a Copa Classico. Imagine Utd playing Chelsea/Citeh in the cup, Utd would want to win without a doubt. But it's a whole different story if they were to meet in the latter stages of the CL, Utd would step it up just like Barca will if they meet Real in the next round.

However, Barca didn't lose those two games because they didn't give it their all. They lost because they were off form and Real were on fire. Real played far better in both games, Mou has figured out how to beat Barca and he should have no fear of meeting them again in any comp. Barca are terribly inconsistent at the back, any of the remaining sides in the CL could score a few against them if they either chase Barca down non stop for the whole game or if they absorb the pressure and counter like Real have been doing against them recently.

Andersonisgod, I wish you would give the fawning up, I'm beginning to think you are Corkman and are doing it to get a rise from the haters here:p And I have to laugh at the people using the term fanboy to describe Barca fans, I could go in to any of the club threads and pick out a handful of "fanboys" from most teams on this board, you support a foreign team too ffs. It's just petty and you know it.

Fair play to Seaneh for the fair post after the game, not often I could say that to you after these two sides meet!

To clear this up once and for all. I am not even nearly suggesting that a lack of effort was to blame for Barcelona's losses to Real Madrid. The only thing I am saying in relation to effort (or more specifically, their aggressive pressing game) is that it is hugely draining, that it isn't as common as it was during the first couple of seasons under Pep and that these days it really is saved for only the biggest occasions (Euro 2012 final and the game tonight being the obvious examples) the players and Del Bosque have also mentioned how tired these players are given their hectic scheduled the last few years. It's no excuse, I was simply explaining why we don't see such aggressive pressing every week in La Liga.

I can assure you I am not from Cork. I can also assure you that I am genuinely a huge fan of Barcelona. You could count on one hand the amount of Barca games I've missed this season. If you want I'll take a picture of the Barcelona books I have in my room, I'm an avid admirer of the football this magical team constantly produces. Truth be told I'd much rather not have the kind of pointless arguments I've had in this thread.

That being said, nothing could dampen my spirits tonight.

According to him Barca are "bankrolled" by an Islamic dictatorship. Slight overkill.

Maybe if he read up a little more on Il Cavaliere and the origin of his fortune ("bankrolling" Milan in the meantime) he would wake up and smell the hypocrisy.

But Silvio, and Milan, are nothing to do with Barcelona!

It doesnt matter what they do, or what they did. You do get that dont you?

There is a huge amount of bull**** associated with Barca, nothing anybody elses team does or will do will change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

You really, really cannot criticise Barca in even the tiniest of ways these days can you?

I don't support a club who claim to be the embodiment of etnhic struggle against a totalitarian dictatorship while at the same time using hundreds of millions of euros to keep themselves afloat and finance their insane spending which is coming, funnily enough, from a totalitarian dictatorship...

I know exactly where Milan's money from the last 30 years has come from, and it wasn't from a totalitarian Islamist dictatorship who's horrendous human rights record, stance of womens and homosexual rights and miss-treatment of religious minorities are all well known historical fact.

Oh, and by the way, I think if you do a bit of research on me you'll know I'm not exactly a fan of Berlu, politically or as president of Milan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Nope, no luck at all.

Are you having a laugh?? They mopped you's up tonight!! Milan weren't even involved. Barca decided to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Nope, no luck at all.

I don't support a club who claim to be the embodiment of etnhic struggle against a totalitarian dictatorship while at the same time using hundreds of millions of euros to keep themselves afloat and finance their insane spending which is coming, funnily enough, from a totalitarian dictatorship...
    Wow, Milan fans really are bad losers :D

Cienciano wrote: »
    Wow, Milan fans really are bad losers :D

I've said several times Barca deserved the win and deserved to go through over the two games... How is that being a sore loser?

Do I have to wait a set amount of time before I get to say things which upset the fanboys?

Talk about pot calling the kettle black. I give up.

You support a club that has been said to be bankrolled by offshore slush funds and the money of a tycoon, the origin of whose fortune is allegedly the result of mafia money (check out where his father worked Banca Rasini) as well as using illegal under-the-table payments for players (Lentini).

Insane spending? From an AC Milan fan? :rolleyes:

You brought the politics into this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I see, so if they get a decision that does go against them now and then it obviously cancels out all the ones that go for them. Simples.

All the ones?:confused:

The fanboys?? That's a bizarre one. How is acknowledging a truly brilliant brilliant football team such as Barcelona being a fanboy??

This is the football forum, right? Do you's not like football?

For me, it's a pleasure to watch a team that, a century from now, people will wish they could have watched.

monkey9 wrote: »
    Are you having a laugh?? They mopped you's up tonight!! Milan weren't even involved. Barca decided to win

Sooo... again, despite several times saying barca deserved to win and Milan were pants tonight I'm not allowed to say that:

Messi's second goal WAS offside.

Niang WAS millimetres away from making it 1-1 (after a massive f*ckup by Masch).

The ball did hit a barca play's arm in the box?

Because, teams can deserve to win and outplay the other team and still have a bit of luck you know... All great teams (and not so great teams) have a bit of luck now and then, it doesn't mean they are any less great.

Stop being such a precious little soul and get the **** over it.

I know exactly where Milan's money from the last 30 years has come from, and it wasn't from a totalitarian Islamist dictatorship who's horrendous human rights record, stance of womens and homosexual rights and miss-treatment of religious minorities are all well known historical fact.

Oh, and by the way, I think if you do a bit of research on me you'll know I'm not exactly a fan of Berlu, politically or as president of Milan.

Wow, your team losing a match really p!sses you off!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,076 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'm no fan of Barca but they were great tonight, end of.

I would say the likes of Bayern, Madrid, Dortmund, Juve will be disgusted that they are through.

Wow, your team losing a match really p!sses you off!!! :eek:

I would have said the same thing about the "mes que un club" bollocks if Milan won 9-0, or if they were playing Spartak Moscow or if they'd not made it out of the group stage. My views on the sycophantic behaviour of a certain section of barcalona obsessives has nothing to do with this match, it's existed for years.

Sooo... again, despite several times saying barca deserved to win and Milan were pants tonight I'm not allowed to say that:

Messi's second goal WAS offside.

Niang WAS millimetres away from making it 1-1 (after a massive f*ckup by Masch).

The ball did hit a barca play's arm in the box?

Because, teams can deserve to win and outplay the other team and still have a bit of luck you know... All great teams (and not so great teams) have a bit of luck now and then, it doesn't mean they are any less great.

What am i to get over exactly? Barca destroyed Milan tonight, that's it. They turned up.

And when have I disputed that?

I think you'll find that in the very first post of this thread, I said that if barca play they way they can they are capable of beating anyone.

I said in my first post after the match that Milan were crap and Barca deserved the win.

I said after Niang missed (before messi scored) that the game was over as I knew Barca would kick on and spank us over the next 70ish minutes.

Barca have a much better team than Milan and have done for about 6 seasons now... I've never disputed that. They are one of the best club sides ever.

I just can't stand the fawning and fanboyism surrounding them and the failure of said fanboys to see any flaws in the team or the club and the veracity in which they jump to their defence with their nonsense about "the way it should be played" as if barcelona have reinvented the ****ing wheel or something and were somehow immune to critique on the pitch or off it.

[edit] I actually enjoy reading some Barca fans on here post about the team they support. People like gimmick can admit when barca play **** or when their weaknesses are exposed and don't go on long winded pseudo-poetic rambles about "perfect football" and the other team "parking the bus" and can be objective and I actually hope people like himself are enjoying tonight.

Sean, think it's you that needs to get over it. It's embarrassing reading your last few posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Why is it that everytime after a match thread there comes that time when you have hit that unfollow thread button?:(

Jernal wrote: »
    Why is it that everytime after a match thread there comes that time when you have hit that unfollow thread button?:(

Because one of the teams lose!

And when have I disputed that?

I think you'll find that in the very first post of this thread, I said that if barca play they way they can they are capable of beating anyone.

I said in my first post after the match that Milan were crap and Barca deserved the win.

I said after Niang missed (before messi scored) that the game was over as I knew Barca would kick on and spank us over the next 70ish minutes.

Barca have a much better team than Milan and have done for about 6 seasons now... I've never disputed that. They are one of the best club sides ever.

I just can't stand the fawning and fanboyism surrounding them and the failure of said fanboys to see any flaws in the team or the club and the veracity in which they jump to their defence with their nonsense about "the way it should be played" as if barcelona have reinvented the ****ing wheel or something and were somehow immune to critique on the pitch or off it.

[edit] I actually enjoy reading some Barca fans on here post about the team they support. People like gimmick can admit when barca play **** or when their weaknesses are exposed and don't go on long winded pseudo-poetic rambles about "perfect football" and the other team "parking the bus" and can be objective and I actually hope people like himself are enjoying tonight.

Ahahaha, you're angry!!!

Fanboys term is ridiculous. Barcelona are the greatest team of our generation. It's just the way things are. I don't support Barca but i admit i've always liked them in terms of continental football.

The 'fawning' as you describe is fully deserved. It's like the way the Brazil team of 1970 with Pele is so often heralded.

Once again, i just don't understand why people can't appreciate genius when it's in front of us?

This Barca side is up with the best of them and Messi is up there (probably on his own).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Seans_Username

Ahahaha, you're angry!!!

And your attitude here is also laughable. No need to act like such a child.
    The 'fawning' as you describe is fully deserved. It's like the way the Brazil team of 1970 with Pele is so often heralded.

Once again, i just don't understand why people can't appreciate genius when it's in front of us?

I'd say it's the constant rolling around, feigning injuries that is seen regularly from several players. I find that El Classico's are ruined by both teams looking to get each other sent off. Also, they do seem to get a LOT of decisions in their favour in important games.

Everyone doesn't have to adore them. Yes they are a fantastic team but they have their faults, in their attitude and their ability. I think there's enough to make some people see that they aren't the most lovable team in history.

And tbh, some of the fawning posts in this thread by a certain poster were frankly embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

Ignore function is there for all to use. I use it liberally... you can too.

And your attitude here is also laughable. No need to act like such a child.

I'd say it's the constant rolling around, feigning injuries that is seen regularly from several players. I find that El Classico's are ruined by both teams looking to get each other sent off. Also, they do seem to get a LOT of decisions in their favour in important games.

Everyone doesn't have to adore them. Yes they are a fantastic team but they have their faults, in their attitude and their ability. I think there's enough to make some people see that they aren't the most lovable team in history.

And tbh, some of the fawning posts in this thread by a certain poster were frankly embarrassing

Well Real Madrid have the likes of Pepe and Ronaldo who are equally as embarrasssing.

Bayern Munich have Ribery who...well....is a character

I've seen some complete bullsh!t from Madrid fans on this forum that makes me laugh.

It's fans of other teams who Barca have wiped the floor with in the past that do my head in and they keep waffling on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Yo Yo Yo, i like totes vote for a socialist party, shop at Casa Rebelde and have a Barca/St Pauli half n half jersey

<Insert pretentious foreign slogan here>

#Luv Music/Hate Racism

#RIPChavez

#FreePalestine

#Barca4Life

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Ramires took the Niang chance, Niang didn't take the Ramires chance. However for a team rated so highly to score and expose the Barcelona defence, one chance isn't a whole lot. Every defence offers up a chance, both Chelsea and Inter did in the notable defensive performances of recent times.

Great win, an unexpected win. In the cold light of day, it might be a problem that Barcelona had to go back to Guardiola's tactics and lineup for the CL final (bar Alba) to get plan A working properly.

Yo Yo Yo, i like totes vote for a socialist party, shop at Casa Rebelde and have a Barca/St Pauli half n half jersey

#Luv Music/Hate Racism

#RIPChavez

#FreePalestine

#Barca4Life

Did an aborted fetus just bellyflop your keyboard or something??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

#Luv Music/Hate Racism

#RIPChavez

#FreePalestine

#Barca4Life

what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

I miss redout.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Speaking to barca fans is like speaking to born again Christians. Have you travelled the path to enlightenment?

They are an awesome team to watch there is no denying it and in 10-20 years time this team will still be spoken of, but my god I find them impossible to like.

Am I right in saying though, in the last few years, the team that knocked out barca were the team who won the competition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Fanboys term is ridiculous. Barcelona are the greatest team of our generation. It's just the way things are.

Meh, three Champions Leagues over the previous seven years puts them in the same conversation as the great teams, but it's not an unprecedented haul. People want to make out that they're the best ever, that they've changed the game forever but I don't think that's true. One of the great teams, but not any greater or less great than Milan in the early nineties or Liverpool in the late seventies or early eighties. It's hard to place ourselves in previous contexts, but those sides would have had the same level of lovers / haters it's just that football was less global and ubiquitous at those times.

In a couple of decades some other team will come along and be the best around for a few years and have their followers talking about them as the greatest ever and so on and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Am I right in saying though, in the last few years, the team that knocked out barca were the team who won the competition?
    Since 2008 yes