Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BEERS O'Connells bar Galway. Probably the best pub in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Mince Pie wrote: »

I'll pass on Sneem, last time there we had a rather unpleasant experience with the local guard. :eek:
    If I close my eyes I can hear the "snap" of his rubber glove

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Oh oh oh,

I'll put up a poll with two options first, Dublin & outside of Dublin

Make sense?

Makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Oh oh oh,

I'll put up a poll with two options first, Dublin & outside of Dublin

Make sense?

Thats the way the poll was when Galway won.

Makes a lot of sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Jeez...

Can we not all just get a load of cans and the boat to Dalkey Island or an equivalent? Or rent a Martello Tower for the night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Would be cool if it were on late May. I'm doing exams 9th - 23rd May. Sure, if it was on the weekend, say I could still go, but really, would prefer it to be on later if it could be helped. Limerick and Cork would be easiest for me as I wouldn't even have to do anything for arranging somewhere to stay, but I'd not have an issue with somewhere easy for me to get a bus to.

Edit: Exams...
    Thursday 09 May
    Tuesday 14 May
    Friday 17 May
    Monday 20 May
    Tuesday 21 May
    Thursday 23 May

There's breaks between them, so I guess there's room, but again, if possible, after 23rd would be preferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,064 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Come up to Dundalk lads and i'll show you all the Hot-spots. Great craic.

Pushtrak wrote: »
    Thursday 09 May
    Tuesday 14 May
    Friday 17 May
    Monday 20 May
    Tuesday 21 May
    Thursday 23 May

There's breaks between them, so I guess there's room, but again, if possible, after 23rd would be preferable.

Holy fup Pushtrak...you REALLY want to make a beers! :pac::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Holy fup Pushtrak...you REALLY want to make a beers! :pac::P
    I've been to one boards get together that was done in the Vaping section. Great fun, so yeah, wouldn't mind going to this one if possible :pac:

If its on the day before one of the exams, though, or maybe even 2 days it probably would be best not to go. Nice to have recovery time.

Pushtrak wrote: »
    I've been to one boards get together that was done in the Vaping section. Great fun, so yeah, wouldn't mind going to this one if possible :pac:

If its on the day before one of the exams, though, or maybe even 2 days it probably would be best not to go. Nice to have recovery time.

Bring the books dude, we could make it a pop quiz and ask you questions. Down a shot for every correct answer.....sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 El Paso

Few drinks in Sweaty Bettys then on to Silence :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Maybe
    El Paso wrote: »

Few drinks in Sweaty Bettys then on to Silence :pac:

Is that actually a place? Jaysus.

No
    LizT wrote: »

A quick google says its actually called the Phoinex Bar which I can only assume is ran by a lady named Betty, who is rather sweaty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,064 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Their like sardines in it at the weekend. Betty will squeeze us all in :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 El Paso

Very high class clientele.
    Too high brow for AH actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

I really need to change my avatar, I read this and thought "when did I move to Dundalk?"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,478 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Marseille?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Maybe
    El Paso wrote: »
    Very high class clientele.
    Too high brow for AH actually.

In Dundalk? Yeah, right :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

No
    I'd be up for a Galway beers, didn't make the last one, or Dublin (I could go home then!) or if yiz want a seaside beers come on down to crapzville (AKA wicklow!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Maybe
    I'll go anywhere as long as there is a semi-direct train/bus.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Kankan14

I lurk here a bit.

• I'm from limerick.
    • it's great
    • come to limerick for AH beers.
    • I'll be able to lurk irl
    •please wear name badges so I know who I'm lurking.
    •I like bullet points
    •even if they make no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

pookiesboo wrote: »
    Tralee. Dont worry about the bad reputation, just think of it as character building

I could walk to the beers if this happened and I still wouldnt recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Ennis! All the joys of rural Clare, and none of the fun and excitement of a big city night out. We could get naggins from Tesco, drink in the park and then go to Ciaran's for a good auld(shîte) trad session where you'll never get served before at least a gazillion regulars!

Then we would all watch the fight outside The Queens.

All in all, a perfect night for AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

deccurley wrote: »

I could walk to the beers if this happened and I still wouldnt recommend it.
    You're outvoted 2-1 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Do you have to drink beer at these "beers?"

I'm partial to the odd silver bullet.

I think my mrs has one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Maybe

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Seriously though, if yis are going outside Dublin, Wexford is the place to be. It's a kip but you can't bate the craic!

Jebus, why all the hate for Fundalk????

I propose Kilkenny.....'tis some spot hey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Larianne wrote: »
    Tralee is very far away! That's a lot of time to be travelling hungover. :(
    I've done it. It's very unpleasant. Especially when you get no sleep and have to get up for the 7am train *shudders at memory*
    Larianne wrote: »

I didn't get to go to Galway the last time, so I'm suggesting there. :)
    This!
    Also, I fecking love Galway. Guaranteed craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

If you come to Limerick I'll buy everyone a drink.
    I mean one, you can share.