Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What the Loungers did Next... [off topic chat]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

I can't stick him. The second the rain stops I'm out of here because he's been giving out and laughing at everyone since he came in. Jesus.

He must have a fun life. The people must flock to spend time in his company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

I can't stick him. The second the rain stops I'm out of here because he's been giving out and laughing at everyone since he came in. Jesus.

Sounds charming. He's the one who should leave, not you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

YUSSSS!! Lions RULE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

I know that but he's also the type of person who outstays his welcome. He's really delightful as you can tell. :rolleyes:

I went for a 7k walk instead of sitting listening to bull. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

I have a date in 15mins, I look horrid and am dying for a pee.

It's my brother's birthday today and he's after losing his iPod.. I feel so sorry for him because he's never without it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

Hope the date goes well Pixie, and don't be minding your cousin PP, silly man!

One of the lads at work swapped a few shifts with me for next week, which means I can now visit J. The one perk to a sucky day so far :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

You'll be graaaaand. All it means is that you need a new mirror.

I'm prepared eat my laptop* if it turns out you henceforth have bad luck for seven years, if that helps at all?

*yeah, I might not actually eat my laptop

Thanks, makes me feel better. I think you might be right. I spent hours at the beach and appear to have come out with only 4 tiny patches of sunburn. (I'm a ginger, applying and reapplying and reapplying sun cream only does so much. :P )

I actually enjoyed my day at the beach today. :D Normally I hate the combination of wet skin and sand, but today I didn't mind. I even went for a few swims in the (freezing) water to wash off the sand and continue sunbathing (a loose term given the amount of sun cream I used!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I'll be flying to England next week. Its my first time on a plane. Im a bit nervous. I dont know what to expect and I know I will end up getting lost in Dublin airport. I think I might follow people of the bus. Im bringing a sat-nav for walking around England but that might draw attention to me and I might get robbed or attacked. I have no sense of direction at all.

What do others do when it comes to bringing toiletries. They allow a miserable 100ml size bottle. I dont mind going with small bottles but im hoping to buy some things but it seems as if I wont be able to bring it back. Its unfair, are they really strict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ice Storm

I'll be flying to England next week. Its my first time on a plane. Im a bit nervous. I dont know what to expect and I know I will end up getting lost in Dublin airport. I think I might follow people of the bus. Im bringing a sat-nav for walking around England but that might draw attention to me and I might get robbed or attacked. I have no sense of direction at all.

What do others do when it comes to bringing toiletries. They allow a miserable 100ml size bottle. I dont mind going with small bottles but im hoping to buy some things but it seems as if I wont be able to bring it back. Its unfair, are they really strict.
    You'll be grand! It can be a bit unnerving for anyone flying on their own for the first time; it must be really daunting when it's your first time on a plane ever!

Just look up your flight on the big departure screens and follow the signs to your gate. If you get lost, there are staff in the airport whose job is to assist passengers so keep an eye out for them. :)

Yes, they are strict about liquids but anything you buy after clearing airport security on your return can be brought on the plane.

Is it a job interview you're going to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

Booked flights home to Ireland for summer holidays, yay!

But like, ten minutes after booking them I realised that one of my old school friends said like, yesterday, that she would be in London that week. Totally forgot. I has the dumb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Ice Storm wrote: »
    You'll be grand! It can be a bit unnerving for anyone flying on their own for the first time; it must be really daunting when it's your first time on a plane ever!

Just look up your flight on the big departure screens and follow the signs to your gate. If you get lost, there are staff in the airport whose job is to assist passengers so keep an eye out for them. :)

Yes, they are strict about liquids but anything you buy after clearing airport security on your return can be brought on the plane.

Is it a job interview you're going to?

Yeah im going over for an interview and spending a day at the company to see how I get on. I must be mad but at least it shows im interested in the job and I really am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ice Storm

Yeah im going over for an interview and spending a day at the company to see how I get on. I must be mad but at least it shows im interested in the job and I really am.
    Sounds promising... best of luck with it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

HardLuckWoman enjoy your trip :)

There are 2 terminals in Dublin airport so check your ticket to see which you are going to. Your bus probably stops at both, ask your driver. I made the mistake last week of getting Off at the wrong terminal do it was a wee bit of a walk :)

If you are just going for the day I'm guessing you only have hand luggage. If you are just bringing hand luggage you can only bring a clear sealable bag 20cm by 20cm and max of 100ml bottles in it. Doesn't matter if u get more in duty free or not :)

Best of luck with the interview, you''ll fly it :)

I'm still irritated by what my cousin said :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

I'm still irritated by what my cousin said :o

Try and put it out of your head. You've been doing brilliantly. I was a bit irritated myself earlier when a good friend said 'oh my god, you got so big!'. Thinking rationally now I know its normal, I'm 22 weeks pregnant and she seemed excited for me about my bump.

True. He's an asshole anyways. My brother noticed it as well. Just remembered he also insulted my hair and asked me "what sort of a f**king colour" I had in it. Jesus what sort of relatives have I got?! :eek:

Hope pregnancy is treating you well Roesy. :) I find myself looking at babies and toddlers lately and wanting one. I always knew I did but lately it's like my ovaries glow when I see one. :o

My brother found his iPod in a ditch on the way home from the pub! :D

I was babysitting an 8 year old tonight and watched Wreck It Ralph with him. Loved it! :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I was watching a quiz show tonight and a question about bovril came up. I miss Ella... :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Met my daddy on the way home from the pub.. Went for more drinks!!

I was watching a quiz show tonight and a question about bovril came up. I miss Ella... :-(

Ella says hello and she misses ye too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

True. He's an asshole anyways. My brother noticed it as well. Just remembered he also insulted my hair and asked me "what sort of a f**king colour" I had in it. Jesus what sort of relatives have I got?! :eek:

Hope pregnancy is treating you well Roesy. :) I find myself looking at babies and toddlers lately and wanting one. I always knew I did but lately it's like my ovaries glow when I see one. :o

My brother found his iPod in a ditch on the way home from the pub! :D

I was babysitting an 8 year old tonight and watched Wreck It Ralph with him. Loved it! :D

Last few weeks have definitely been treating me well now that the puking has stopped :-p I now look at babies and toddlers and think to myself...how am I going to take care of that. Still can't wait until October though :-)

Glad your brother found his iPod. I'd be lost without my music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Congrats Roesy!

Is started getting twinges again in advance of my time of the month; Im begging with every bone in my body that it wont be as bad as the last time, the likelihood is it will..well stocked with Paracetomel and Ibobrufen. Home to Ireland next Friday (yay) for a brief trip, not been home since Christmas due to various circumstances. Roll on Friday.

OH! This sounds ridiculous but Im feeling very smug; blocked toilet in our flat ; boyf tried everything, rang the landlord, and boyf was about to give in and call an emergency plumber... when i said hell no im not forking out a fortune.... and fixed the toilet! Yay me! I deserve all the cakes!! Still smug this morning and the boyf looks a bit sheepish.

Roesy wrote: »
    Last few weeks have definitely been treating me well now that the puking has stopped :-p I now look at babies and toddlers and think to myself...how am I going to take care of that. Still can't wait until October though :-)

Glad your brother found his iPod. I'd be lost without my music.

Awh that's good :) Any suggestions for a name for Roesy's baby guys? Lol :)

I felt sorry for him yesterday, he was lost!

Awh that's good :) Any suggestions for a name for Roesy's baby guys? Lol :)

I felt sorry for him yesterday, he was lost!

Rose bud? Would only really work if it was a girl though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

How so Joe wrote: »

Boys can be roses too, like in Alice in Wonderland :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not G.R

How so Joe wrote: »

I like roses :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Also debating getting rid of my shoes on ebay; since I had surgery none of my size 5's fit (and never will, as my foot shape has changed). Including my lovely heeled chelsea boots! Gah! Do people buy shoes on ebay these days? I asked a friend and she say she always does, if they are are decent nick and are only a few quid..what ye think?

Yeah I'd say people would buy shoes on eBay. Loads of people buy clothes on it. I've gotten a couple of t-shirts and a dress on there. :)

I didn't fall asleep til about 3.30am, got up at 8, went walking at half 8 and now I'm fit to fall asleep. A power nap may be in order I think. Maybe after my dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I'm back!! We had the best time, Croatia is breathtaking! It's nice to be back all the same, we missed our kittehs :) Hope everyone is well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Only recently started watching Dr. Who.

I am most impressed. :D

Doctor Who is AWESOME
    ooooweeeeeooooo

I had a tasty cinnamon roll today so I am looking at recipes to make my own

Directions

Prep:20min › Cook:15min › Ready in:35min

Place ingredients for dough in the pan of the bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Select dough cycle; press Start.

lol, gtfo
    Back to bbc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Cold pizza is the best pizza. Om nom nom. :)

I woke up late and skipped going to the cinema at 1.30 with friends. Now I have everything I needed to do today done and am scrabbling around looking for entertainment.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

bluewolf wrote: »
    Ella says hello and she misses ye too!

Well I'm wrecked after the pair of ye. :D

Ooh! Where did you start?

Spent a mint in Ikea. Heh.

I know, I'm wrecked!!
    I would go nuts for that mcdonalds right now, esp the sundae :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Ooh! Where did you start?
    I started with the Christopher Eccleston ones and I hear it gets even better.

I'm so impressed that I am considering backdating when I'm through the new ones.

Would this be worth my while?

Sorted out a place to live for my first job. So excited!

Btw Das Kitty, your signature still gets me every time. May get started on my new collection of Vogon poetry later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

Starting to panic slightly at the amount of stuff I have to do this week.

Eep!

But thankfully my aunt is buying my fridge \o/

I can't believe I'm leaving Dublin this week :eek:

Cinnamon rolls look deformed but may yet taste nice...

edit: Yup, very nice. Could do with even more cinnamon though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

O hai tonsillitis, it's been a while... :(

So with the horrible mess of the thread in AH about a trans women I actually don't feel too bad. I spent the day on myself. I went shopping, bought beers, drank beers, had a shower, cut my face to **** getting rid of stupid man-beard, and for the first time in months I put make up on.

I'm not doing it for anyone else. I just know I lost out on the years as a child and teenage girl where you get to look like a clown without people feeling like they can effectively assault you over it. The thread in AH is pretty much my worst fears. Worst fears, because I honestly can't imagine getting beaten up, raped and murdered. Shur that happens to other people and certainly not in my town.

I know people will say don't read those threads, don't go to that forum. The reality is that while you can avoid a particular forum, you can't avoid your family acting like that (which has happened,) or your supposed friends (none of whom have acted like that thankfully,) or people in the street acting like that. It's going to be a part of my life. With a few beers, a day spent looking after myself, a nice dinner in the oven and actually for once thinking I don't look too bad it all makes me think "Hey, the world is full of dipnozzles, but lots of people are still cool, just like me."

Edit: Either the fishcake smells amazing or someone else is cooking the best dinner ever near me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Lyaiera wrote: »
    "Hey, the world is full of dipnozzles, but lots of people are still cool, just like me."

I think that's something all of us need to remind ourselves of sometimes :)

Yeah. I think people being happy makes everyone else happy. One person smiling and making the best of things makes everyone around them realise they can do that too. It's important not to wash over the bad things when you are happy, but realising there are so many good and amazing people who will support and fight for the good of everyone makes the world a better place.

The coolest person I ever met was a volunteer in the Simon Community. It's taken me years since I met him to fully appreciate how good a person he is. I couldn't pick him out in a line up of two people but knowing that there are people who won't lie down and will fight for a good world is pretty satisfying.

Now there's a word that I may use in the future: Dipnozzle! :D

It's true though. There are always going to be assholes in the world but you need to remember there are still nice people around. Like us! :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

Just made the simplest peanut butter cookies. Only problem is I've eaten 3 of the 6 I've made!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Daisies wrote: »
    Just made the simplest peanut butter cookies. Only problem is I've eaten 3 of the 6 I've made!:eek:
    This always happens me with peanut butter cookies! They're too good.
    My recipe has four ingredients - love the simplicity!

Hermione* wrote: »

Is one of them peanut butter? I'm betting one is peanut butter.
    What are the other three?
    Share the information!!

I'm beginning to wonder if anybody who does a phd actually likes it. Seems everyone I talk to/hear about atm is a bit disillusioned.

You get fed up with it at stages I think

I ate a second cinnamon bun, don't tell anyone
    Peanut butter cookies om nom... I'm full now though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭WinterSong

On Friday we're baking:

Double chocolate banana bread
    Dulce de leche brownies
    Chocolate chip cookies
    Red velvet cake
    Apple and rhubarb tart
    and maybe blueberry muffins too :D Can't wait, just means I'll have to exercise a serious amount of self control :p

My friend is doing my hair for me on Tuesday, looking forward to that too! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

just cooked some lovely steaks for myself and herself, bloody as hell :D

I go to put some salt on mine and I accidentally screw the top off! it's one of those grinders so I end up with big chunky salt crystals all over my dinner. easy enough to get off the steak, but the mushrooms & onions were ruined :( I feel like a proper herp derp doo sometimes :o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

Hermione* wrote: »

Mine has 3 and 3 ingredients that I can get in Malawi \0/

I find Luke in Fair City kind of attractive :o