Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What the Loungers did Next... [off topic chat]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭WinterSong

I was watching The Secret Life of the Sun and it was all just so beautiful and overwhelming that I cried a bit and now my mam thinks I'm a bit mad :o God help anyone who is around me if I ever see a total eclipse or the aurora borealis in real life!

...another potential tLL trip? :pac:

WinterSong wrote: »
    I was watching The Secret Life of the Sun and it was all just so beautiful and overwhelming that I cried a bit and now my mam thinks I'm a bit mad :o God help anyone who is around me if I ever see a total eclipse or the aurora borealis in real life!

...another potential tLL trip? :pac:

Let's go
    http://www.visitnorway.com/northern-lights
    http://www.visitnorway.com/en/Product/?pid=134349

bluewolf wrote: »

So fecking tempting! My life would be so much more fun if someone would actually give me one of the many jobs I apply for :pac:

Another thing on my list of things to do, anyway :) Also, the doggies look so HAPPY <3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Just thought I'd pop in with an update: my granmother is waiting for test results to come back, is wired up to a heart monitor 'til tomorrow and is currently grumpy about the fact she won't be going out dancing and boozing this weekend. *rolls eyes* She's more or less back to her old self again and chomping at the bit to be let out of hospital. Only thing is she needs physio as her knee is playing her up and she needs a walking stick. By my view, she seems to be over the worst of the mini-stroke and she should be out of hospital by the middle of next week. :)
    In the meantime, I'm going to be making her soup as she hates the food in the ward. Finicky tastes, heehee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

I want some rhubarb, which is strange i never crave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Glad your gran is feeling better McChubbin :) x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

A craving Pixie?

Hmmmmmm ;)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I started with the Christopher Eccleston ones and I hear it gets even better.

I'm so impressed that I am considering backdating when I'm through the new ones.

Would this be worth my while?

Wait til you get up to date. There's a lot to get through! I'd be interested to see your evolving feelings! You should start a thread over on the Doctor Who and Torchwood forum. :)

I've only started watching the early stuff recently. It's hard to get a hold of (especially if Netflix take them down when you're halfway through a serial :mad: ). Some of them can be tough going to watch as well as they wouldn't be the paciest! The movie is good to watch after you get caught up.

I want some rhubarb, which is strange i never crave it.

They have rhubarb cordial in Ikea now. :eek:

I started with the Christopher Eccleston ones and I hear it gets even better.

I'm so impressed that I am considering backdating when I'm through the new ones.

Would this be worth my while?

I really like Eccleston as the doctor. But i LOVED David Tennant as the Doctor! :D

Im so jealous you get to watch the new ones from the start!

Das Kitty wrote: »
    They have rhubarb cordial in Ikea now. :eek:

That have what now?! I think ill be taking a trip to Ikea soon...

Jesus my Dad is so argumentative sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I loved the astronomy programme too - they have a geology programme on now, loving it. Not driking much or often one glass of wine has a big effect on me - had a glass...is going to be a long week...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Hello everyone! Hope you all had nice weekends etc.

I spent the last 5 days in Grenoble and I was not on the internet at all, so can anyone tell me what happened on the thread? I missed ye!

Morning everyone :)

Hope you all have a great day!

I'm currently trying to decide what to wear because it's both sunny and cold. I wish the nice weather would come back.

I'm off to Dublin on Saturday. My friend from Pakistan is having a party at her house. Sort of like a hen party I suppose. She's already married but they're having the big celebration type wedding in Pakistan soon. Can't wait to see pics of that, I'd say it's fab! :D

I could have done with an extra day in that weekend!

I have 2 full days of training ahead of me. Next Monday I have the glucose tolerance test in the hospital (to check for gestational diabetes), so I suppose I sould count my blessings that I don't have to spend today sitting waiting to have bloods taken over and over. :)

How so Joe wrote: »
    Is one of them peanut butter? I'm betting one is peanut butter.
    What are the other three?
    Share the information!!

I'm beginning to wonder if anybody who does a phd actually likes it. Seems everyone I talk to/hear about atm is a bit disillusioned.
    I liked it. There are moments during it when, yes, it's hard (it has to be hard otherwise what's the point?) but it's worth it in the end. I found the disillusionment sets in when you find it can make you less employable rather than more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭javagal

Tried on a pair of shorts for holidays in size 12 yesterday and they wouldn't close. Walking From the dressing room I looked down at them depressed to find they were a size ten. Only delighted they pulled up over my bum
    its the little things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Oh Javagal, your post made me smile!

Gave into tempation last night and we had a takeaway and watched Zer Dark Thirty..it was aaaalright I guess.

Flying home on Friday, little sister has no idea and it's her last day of primary; gonna send her a card to say I wish I was there and maybe ring her from the porch when I get home and totally freak her out... ..Tee hee!

I know I'll discover she's raided all the clothes I leave behind so I dont have to pack so much coming home (I tend to leave PJS, cosmetics a few cardis and a few dresses at home)..the joys of a a little sis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

Why less employable Ivy? Do employers feel u are almost over qualified?

Tigger99 wrote: »
    Why less employable Ivy? Do employers feel u are almost over qualified?
    Well, this is just my personal experience, but I'm finding it very difficult to get a job in the area I qualified in with my phd. I'm not a job snob, so I'm applying for jobs in everything I can remotely work at. I do get the feeling that jobs that require lower levels of qualifications won't look at people with higher qualifications. And actually in France, because of union regulations, I'm actively disqualified from applying for science jobs in the public sector which don't require a phd (because the unions made a crazy agreement that if I get a job in the public sector, I have to be paid in line with my qualifications - so say I got a technician job, the government would have to pay me based on the fact that I have a phd. There is no way in hell they'll do that).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Well, this is just my personal experience, but I'm finding it very difficult to get a job in the area I qualified in with my phd. I'm not a job snob, so I'm applying for jobs in everything I can remotely work at. I do get the feeling that jobs that require lower levels of qualifications won't look at people with higher qualifications. And actually in France, because of union regulations, I'm actively disqualified from applying for science jobs in the public sector which don't require a phd (because the unions made a crazy agreement that if I get a job in the public sector, I have to be paid in line with my qualifications - so say I got a technician job, the government would have to pay me based on the fact that I have a phd. There is no way in hell they'll do that).

I remember hearing someone comment once, about someone who applied for a job who had a PhD: "oh, great, you have a PhD. So another 4 year without practical experience then".

I also remember thinking "oh, great, you're one of the gobshíte employers then"

A friend of mine was apparently told by a recruiting place that her 10 years of employment doesn't count anymore because she went back to college for 4 years. Fúck that for a lark. There's a big deal made about people being educated, and education changing the world and all that, but employers don't actually take it seriously at all. It's all about experience. Which you can't get without experience.

/rant

:(

I remember hearing someone comment once, about someone who applied for a job who had a PhD: "oh, great, you have a PhD. So another 4 year without practical experience then".

I also remember thinking "oh, great, you're one of the gobshíte employers then"

A friend of mine was apparently told by a recruiting place that her 10 years of employment doesn't count anymore because she went back to college for 4 years. Fúck that for a lark. There's a big deal made about people being educated, and education changing the world and all that, but employers don't actually take it seriously at all. It's all about experience. Which you can't get without experience.

/rant

And that comment is bull**** from the employer, a phd IS experience! And those years of work don't even count for unemployment benefit and pension rights because you don't pay PRSI!

Just realised I passed my 9th anniversary of working here a few weeks back.

They gave me no cake! I'm distraught!

:P

I think you should demand cake

bluewolf wrote: »
    I think you should demand cake

And if you're successful you should show us pics!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

And if you're successful you should show us pics!

We need more than pics. We need slices!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I went to the doctor this morning. I have ALL the drugs, but what I really want is cuddles from himself. But he doesn't want to catch my plague.

That's a DISGRACE DasKitty. I would lodge a formal complaint. No really. How on earth do they expect a functioning workforce if that's the treatment you get for giving 9 years service!

Feel better soon Ilyana 2.0 x

Im tired and cranky and my phone broke and I'm so close to quitting and I wanna have a little cry and I had to go around all town to find an atm that gives out tenners just to get home. The bus is late too. >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

On the bus back from Donegal, currently in Cavan I think... Few hours to go to Cork, and absolutely wrecked, but so so worth it :)

Im tired and cranky and my phone broke and I'm so close to quitting and I wanna have a little cry and I had to go around all town to find an atm that gives out tenners just to get home. The bus is late too. >.<

Hugs for you dear! <3

Awh God poor Pixie, I hope you feel better soon x

Stupid cramps and pms irrationality made me buy the following on a trip to Sainsburys just there..

*a tub of Chai latte mix
    *5 razors
    *24 Wild cotton tealights
    *Raspberry teabags
    *A wispa

Am I going mad?

Raspberry tea sounds nice. I got apple and cinnamon, it's lovely but a bit sweet even for me
    Going to try nettle and mate tea later

A 2007 study from the University of Illinois conducted by Elvira de Mejia Ph.D, (Plant Biotechnology) [31] found that consuming 0.5 liters of yerba mate tea increases activity levels of the enzyme that produces HDL cholesterol, and lowers levels of LDL cholesterol. Study participants drinking mate tea had a 10% increase in the level of cardioprotective enzyme PON1, a precursor to HDL, compared to others drinking milk or coffee.[32]
    Interesting

Apparently it's good for cramps? I dunno, it was on offer and like I said, rationality was clearly out the window on my shopping trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Stupid cramps and pms irrationality made me buy the following on a trip to Sainsburys just there..

*a tub of Chai latte mix
    *5 razors
    *24 Wild cotton tealights
    *Raspberry teabags
    *A wispa

Am I going mad?

I was getting worried for a minute, but you got a Wispa so you'll be ok.

Im watching the cutest episode of Jeremy Kyle.

Yes, you heard right, Jeremy Kyle.

Raspberry tea sounds lovely :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Has anyone here been to Liverpool? Is it worth going to or is it just a place to go drinking? Also how much should I expect a hotel room there to cost me?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

How so Joe wrote: »
    I'm beginning to wonder if anybody who does a phd actually likes it. Seems everyone I talk to/hear about atm is a bit disillusioned.

You become weary with funding and forms and policies, stuff not really related to your thesis work...but that's symptomatic of the grumbles of any workplace.

For me, lab work with the undergrads is the best bit at the minute, you get to help the people who want to learn and shake the cotton wool out of the fresh-from-Leaving-Cert first years' ears :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Just upgraded me broadband from Imagine Wimax to UPC. IT'S SO FAST! D:
    At last, I can watch a movie online at the same time my folks are streaming in the living room! No more having to wait my turn! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

McChubbin wrote: »
    Just upgraded me broadband from Imagine Wimax to UPC. IT'S SO FAST! D:
    At last, I can watch a movie online at the same time my folks are streaming in the living room! No more having to wait my turn! :D

So jealous! We had UPC when we lived in the city. It was sooooo fast. Eircom is the only option out here in the sticks and it is lucky to reach 1mb on a good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,958 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Had a lovely weekend in Cork with the family and an even better time at the Elton John concert! :D

Next up is the Irish Open on Friday with my Dad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

Grr. Something happened this morning that has me in vile form since. You know those horrible moods where you know you should really try to shake yourself out of it by going for a run or meeting a friend or something but you're too goddamn pissed off and cranky to do anything but sit and wallow in your own grumpiness? Yeah, that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Had a mixed day - did not get far in that job I applied for :(

On a lighter note I tried to get a dress that I liked only to find it sold out but asked my daddy if he could check for it elsewhere (hubby said that he would buy another dress like it for me if I could not) and daddy got it for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I got locked out of my house and was forced to spend the afternoon drinking pots of tea an eating tea infused cup cakes till I can be let in.

Rough day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

So after a three-hour nap and some plain rice for dinner, I'm feeling ever so slightly more human.

Apparently I'm 18 months old again.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

Getting a tad obsessed with Homeland. Watched half of season 2 this week already. Have to finish it before I go home, IN 2 DAYS TIME!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Note to self - when throat infection decides to linger and get worse over three weeks, go to the doctor sooner rather than later! Ended up having to go to emergency GP, couldn't swallow at all, ridiculous! Four days of pain while teaching, then Thursday had a very bad fever, spent the last hour of my class sitting while they did art, and trying to hide the torture of it!

Managed to secure a new job in an outstanding school teaching PE - delighted with it, as its very hard to get a PE job here. In very much of a quandry at the moment, I was always so sure that I wanted to be in teaching, but travelling everyday with all these business people heading into London, its got me thinking about another career, something to do with business marketing or PR, or event management, but I have no idea how to get into it. My contract with the PE job is until Christmas but could be extended, and I'm not too sure what to do about this kinda itch I'm getting. I'm normally a tracksuit and hoodie person, but having done the interviews I could see myself in work every day in a suit, which was kinda weird. Its been really really tough financially for me, travelling to and from work is causing me a fortune, but its the only way to pay the bills. I want to be financially stable and at the moment, I'm living paycheck to paycheck, and its so hard atm. I want a job where I am secure financially - very jealous of my friends off in Vegas and Thailand and all these exotic places whereas I'm absolutely struggling. I'll get maybe two weeks off, in which I will be planning and getting ready for September, as well as having to move apartment and trying to find a new place.