Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post # 5885 #4894 & #5202

• Registered Users Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

citykat wrote: »
    Here's how good he was: ;)

Honours
    9 All-Ireland SHC (2002-03, 06-09,11, 12, 14)
    10 Leinster SHC (2002-03,’05-11, 14)
    8 NHL (2002-03, 2005-06, 09,11, 13, 14)
    5 Walsh Cup (2005-07, 09,12)
    1 Hurler of the Year (2003)
    7 All-Star (2003-04, 2006, 2008,2010, 12, 14)
    2 Railway Cup (2006, 2008)
    1 All-Ireland U21HC (2003)
    1 Leinster U21HC (2003)
    1 Leinster MHC (1999)
    1 Kilkenny U21HC B (1997),
    2 Fitzgibbon Cup (2003-04) 2 Leinster VS SHC (Coláiste Mhuire)

You wish. Were lads unhappy to be dropped or not selected? Hope so. Any guy who's happy keeping the bench warm isn't much of an addition to the squad.

I actually meant was he 'still' as good as I was making him out to be. I could've phrased it better, mea culpa... To ask was he ever that good would be beyond stupid, as his list of honours above can attest to. He was class, no doubt..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Gutted.... this retirement thing appears to be contagious. Let's hope that's the end of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

Charlie69 wrote: »
    Gutted.... this retirement thing appears to be contagious. Let's hope that's the end of it.

would reckon there will be at least 1 more tbh..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Nice tweet From Seamus Callinan mentioning how good JJ was to get a hook in!

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Fort Stranger

In a way I am glad he went out like this, it was a little bit sad to see Tommy and the other lads not have their last day on the pitch, and that is no reflection on the selectors or Brian, they made the calls based on the team as always. But greats like these in an ideal world would go out on top.
    I think this really puts the win this year in to context, those lads probably would have finished last year if the season didn't go the way it went, then all the begrudgers came out saying how glad they were that we were out and how the hurling was more "pure" without us!
    That hurt those guys and they all committed to giving it one huge last effort, I said it this time last year that they would give it one hell of a shot and if the injuries didn't ruin us, they would take some matching.
    They did all give it that one last push and re-affirmed their legacy to the haters who tried to question it. To me that is why this was the sweetest of the lot and while the evolving team can be great as well, that was the last kick from the rump of the greatest team ever!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭savannahkat

In a way I am glad he went out like this, it was a little bit sad to see Tommy and the other lads not have their last day on the pitch, and that is no reflection on the selectors or Brian, they made the calls based on the team as always. But greats like these in an ideal world would go out on top.
    I think this really puts the win this year in to context, those lads probably would have finished last year if the season didn't go the way it went, then all the begrudgers came out saying how glad they were that we were out and how the hurling was more "pure" without us!
    That hurt those guys and they all committed to giving it one huge last effort, I said it this time last year that they would give it one hell of a shot and if the injuries didn't ruin us, they would take some matching.
    They did all give it that one last push and re-affirmed their legacy to the haters who tried to question it. To me that is why this was the sweetest of the lot and while the evolving team can be great as well, that was the last kick from the rump of the greatest team ever!

Very true. There is simply no point in asking if JJ could have gone on. He himself is the only one who could answer that question and he has. JJ Tommy &, Brian were all amongst the greatest backs ever to play the game and that we had three of them all playing together makes us a very lucky bunch of supporters. it does not matter who was the best of the three as on given days each one claimed that mantle. JJ Delaney is already an immortal and it has been one hell of an honor to follow him from the sidelines. I have never seen a better hurler. Sad he is gone and we wont see him again in the Black and Amber but very proud that he played for us in the way he did and for so long.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭mullinr2

With all these retirements and if Ballyhale reach the club all Ireland, we be doing well to avoid relegation in the league. I cant see this new look kk squad challenging for the All Ireland next year either. It'll will take a bit of getting used to it ,but boys and girls the glory days are over.
    What type of squad will be available for the league? Other counties have a great chance to dish out some beatings to kk in the league. Don't forget kk have taken some beatings under Cody

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Fwank wizzo

mullinr2 wrote: »
    With all these retirements and if Ballyhale reach the club all Ireland, we be doing well to avoid relegation in the league. I cant see this new look kk squad challenging for the All Ireland next year either. It'll will take a bit of getting used to it ,but boys and girls the glory days are over.
    What type of squad will be available for the league? Other counties have a great chance to dish out some beatings to kk in the league. Don't forget kk have taken some beatings under Cody
    If anything it will galvanise them and us supporters.Bear in mind that JJ was the only starter in the replayed All Ireland and Hogan(34 years old)was there for the first one.
    Its a great opportunity to bring in some promising young lads and see how they go,also to shove it up to TJ,Buckley,the 2 richies,Murphy and young Walsh to become leaders.Codys dynasty will continue.
    I wouldn't be worrying just yet,me auld flower.
    I'd be looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,931 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

huh? Jj is the only retirement from the team that just won the all Ireland. Dunno where you expect these beatings to start coming from. We're in good shape. Full back is an issue but it's not like the whole team just gave up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

JJ will be a loss, but otherwise these recent retirements won't make much of a difference. KK definite favourites for next year, can't see that changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Iecrawfc

Haha good one, sure they might scrape a win in the championship if they meet one if the weaker teams! Seriously Kilkenny are going nowhere, they'll will always be there or thereabouts

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Kkboy

Full back is a big issue for most teams at the moment with only Dublin and to a lesser extent Limerick having what could be considered natural full backs. JJ was head and shoulders above anybody else in that position since Paul Curran started to drift off the Tipp team. There are a number of potential solutions including David Glynn, Robert Lennon, Thomas Alyward, Michael Walsh, Kieran Joyce, Joey Holden. I have a feeling that they will go with one of the younger lads early in the league and use somebody like Kieran Joyce as a fall back position if it doesn't work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭pmy.murphy

huh? Jj is the only retirement from the team that just won the all Ireland. Dunno where you expect these beatings to start coming from. We're in good shape. Full back is an issue but it's not like the whole team just gave up.

Yes weve only lost one player but this upsets the whole harmony of the backs which will be switched around to try and find a balance. We saw the problems we had last year during the league when we experimented with a new full and centre back and it failed meaning we had to reinstate Hogan and JJ who would have been playing anyway. Now with both men gone, Im not too hopeful unless we unearth someone specialised in Full back especially. From what Ive seen of Tom Aylward Ive been very impressed, hes a very calm, intelligent and assured defender. Only fear I have is that we may be putting too much hope on a young man who has never played Senior Club Hurling in KK before although Mullinavat will be Senior next year so hopefully he can develop as we hope

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭unrealtime

Brian Hogan is 33 and has played a lot less hurling for the county than those of his age. If he was fully fit then both he and JJ are the best full and centre backs around bar none. Their retirements are a disaster and unnecessary.

pmy.murphy wrote: »
    Yes weve only lost one player but this upsets the whole harmony of the backs which will be switched around to try and find a balance. We saw the problems we had last year during the league when we experimented with a new full and centre back and it failed meaning we had to reinstate Hogan and JJ who would have been playing anyway. Now with both men gone, Im not too hopeful unless we unearth someone specialised in Full back especially. From what Ive seen of Tom Aylward Ive been very impressed, hes a very calm, intelligent and assured defender. Only fear I have is that we may be putting too much hope on a young man who has never played Senior Club Hurling in KK before although Mullinavat will be Senior next year so hopefully he can develop as we hope

Yeah but we're still only talking about replacing one player, two including Hogan. If a team of Kilkennys calibre can't make an adjustment like that then nobody can. Without even looking beyond the panel we have, I would say we have a stop gap at the very least, in putting Joyce full back and Mick Fennelly centre.

Obviously we are not going to find someone as good as Jj, I don't really think that's a fair expectation for a player coming into the position. But there again Jj himself was a stop gap full back pressed into service after Hickey left. We all thought the full back position was screwed then too and it worked out ok (and in fact it took a while for Jj to settle in the position too). I have no doubt we'll transition alright, though someone will have to be allowed to make some mistakes on the way to making 3 their own.

Yeah but we're still only talking about replacing one player, two including Hogan. If a team of Kilkennys calibre can't make an adjustment like that then nobody can. Without even looking beyond the panel we have, I would say we have a stop gap at the very least, in putting Joyce full back and Mick Fennelly centre.

Obviously we are not going to find someone as good as Jj, I don't really think that's a fair expectation for a player coming into the position. But there again Jj himself was a stop gap full back pressed into service after Hickey left. We all thought the full back position was screwed then too and it worked out ok (and in fact it took a while for Jj to settle in the position too). I have no doubt we'll transition alright, though someone will have to be allowed to make some mistakes on the way to making 3 their own.

Joyce Full Back?? Not a hope would I put him there. He was absolutely annihalated when he played in there during the league last year. Mick Fennelly Centre Back might not be too bad

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭robwen

John Dalton is the outstanding full back in Kilkenny club hurling unfortunately he is not interested in hurling inter county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Some good news and bad news....

Leinster Junior Club Final:
    Bennettsbridge 1-20 Shamrocks 0-3

All-Ireland Intermediate Club Quarter-Final:
    Kilburn Gaels 1-10 Mullinavat 1-08

Some good news and bad news....

Leinster Junior Club Final:
    Bennettsbridge 1-20 Shamrocks 0-3

All-Ireland Intermediate Club Quarter-Final:
    Kilburn Gaels 1-10 Mullinavat 1-08

Why is it the KK teams never get home advantage? In all their games so far both Mvat and Bridge had to play in the other teams home ground. Surely thats not fair esp mvat having to travel to London having played nothing but away games so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭randd1

JJ Delaney. Quite simply, the greatest all-round defender to ever play the game.

He will be badly missed. Its going to be sad not seeing him play for Kilkenny again, his performances were often worth the admission fee alone for games such was his skill. Thankfully (and hopefully) we'll see him for a few years still with the Fenians.

Good luck to him in his retirement. And thanks for the numerous great memories JJ, we've all been blessed to have been given them.

pmy.murphy wrote: »
    Why is it the KK teams never get home advantage? In all their games so far both Mvat and Bridge had to play in the other teams home ground. Surely thats not fair esp mvat having to travel to London having played nothing but away games so far

Luck of the draw until the SF's, then Home/Away arrangements kick in, as far as I know but don't take that as gospel. Definitely the case in senior club anyway.

donnem33 wrote: »
    would reckon there will be at least 1 more tbh..

Think Rice will go myself, he's not particularly old nut the injuries are just becoming too much and taking too long to recover at this stage.

As for Shefflin, I think if Ballyhale get beyond Leinster this year, and especially if they get to the AI final, I can see him staying on as it would only be another couple of months and the hard work would already be done with the club.

If Ballyhale fail to do so, I don't think he'll fancy having to go through the resting for the winter and then having a pre-season again. Its much easier to keep it going than to get it going.

Though obviously I have no idea how, or when, he'll decide when he'll depart.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭northern lad

Kkboy wrote: »
    Full back is a big issue for most teams at the moment with only Dublin and to a lesser extent Limerick having what could be considered natural full backs. JJ was head and shoulders above anybody else in that position since Paul Curran started to drift off the Tipp team. There are a number of potential solutions including David Glynn, Robert Lennon, Thomas Alyward, Michael Walsh, Kieran Joyce, Joey Holden. I have a feeling that they will go with one of the younger lads early in the league and use somebody like Kieran Joyce as a fall back position if it doesn't work out.

The best of the above are the 3 on the panel already. One of them will step up. Of the others 2 are coming out of U21 and David Glynn found John Maher hard to watch in the Boro v St. Martins match. Willie Phelan also worth a look but needs to do it in 2015. In time Conor Delaney will be very good. For now Joey Holden worth a shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

randd1 wrote: »
    Think Rice will go myself, he's not particularly old nut the injuries are just becoming too much and taking too long to recover at this stage.

Rice leaving would be a bigger surprise to me than JJ. He's had a bad run with injuries no doubt but imo he's a bright guy and I think can be philosophical about it all. He only has to look around him to see guys who have suffered bad injury(s) and have bounced back. As far as I'm aware he's a hurling fanatic. Those lads don't quit too easily.

Rice could very easily be starting centre field next year with Mick Fennelly centre back

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Kkboy

The best of the above are the 3 on the panel already. One of them will step up. Of the others 2 are coming out of U21 and David Glynn found John Maher hard to watch in the Boro v St. Martins match. Willie Phelan also worth a look but needs to do it in 2015. In time Conor Delaney will be very good. For now Joey Holden worth a shot.
    I think the key with a modern fullback is to have plenty of pace. They can end up seriously isolated with a huge amount of space between the half back and full backline as happened with JJ in the drawn final and James Barry in second half of the replay. Kieran Joyce is a great hurler and I would definitely have him in the halfback line where things can be quite congested and he can use his strength and ability under the dropping ball to great effect. I think he is too slow off the mark for full back tho. So id say what is required is a player with good positional sense and good speed. Could Paul Murphy be an option?

Kilkenny had a brilliant minor team this year. Limerick have been raving about there minors yet they had no one as deadly as John Walsh. There are also the senior panel members who have been around the scene for two or three years learning the trade the same way Conor Fogarty did. Who would have thought Conor would have made mid-field his own this year before the start of the championship. In addition while we were not at the races at under 21 this year there were a few from that team who are well capable of stepping up to senior grade. JJ might very well have done Kilkenny the biggest favor of all by announcing his retirement. The man could not go on forever and no matter what we hoped for he himself knew better than any of us if he felt up to it for 2015. Obviously he did not. He has allowed time and plenty of it for Kilkenny to sort out the full back position and that after all is the position he is vacating. Full and center back have to be nailed down but as Mr. Cody says if needs be he will do as he did this year and pick horses for courses.

As one paper said this week when Mick Roche the great Tipperary center back when asked why he retired so young replied,"It is better to be asked why I retired rather than why did I not retire. Fair play to you JJ you were the best, you came in the best and you went out the same way. I have been following hurling since 1957 and you were the best all round defender I ever saw play the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭ttowncat

Just watched the 2011 final on youtube again- still wonderful stuff, one of JJs best performances. Could anyone out there help me with a way of seeing the 2013 qualifier against Tipp in Nowlan Park. Such a pity that tv3 had it-cant even find highlights online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Even though the likes of Fogarty and Walsh were bit part players and Hogan came in and out of the team, losing Delaney now as well, it does kind of limit the options a little. I don't really see anybody below the age of 20 coming into the team, Cody just doesn't seem to operate that way.

I would guess he'll go with a more rigid championship 15 next year, as to be honest while I think Joyce is good and Padraig Walsh is quality when played in position I wouldn't be convinced that Mark Kelly or Brian Kennedy (though he'll get another chance, which is only right) are good enough to force their way into being a regular choice on matchday. I'd say Joey Holden will be back starting too.

What happened to that Farrell lad that was playing in the league? Kind of missed a bit in between the start and yer game v us but he looked good that first day v Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Short interview with Colin Fennelly about how Cody said he would have to improve his fitness and ball-striking ability or else he wouldn't make the Kilkenny team.

http://jrnl.ie/1818786

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭larrya

Just a few thoughts on today's game.Kilcormac will be very disappointed with losing probably should have won in normal time.I think ballyhale's extra class won through in the end.

It was an exceptionally physical game and ballyhale will need the rest to recover and go again.As far as I know Michael Fennelly had his arm in sling,David Hoyne has 3 broken ribs and Conor Walsh was on crutches.

Kilcormacs intensity was reminiscent of Kilkenny in the all Ireland.Fair play to shamrocks though and best of luck to them in February

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Bob321.

larrya wrote: »
    Just a few thoughts on today's game.Kilcormac will be very disappointed with losing probably should have won in normal time.I think ballyhale's extra class won through in the end.

It was an exceptionally physical game and ballyhale will need the rest to recover and go again.As far as I know Michael Fennelly had his arm in sling,David Hoyne has 3 broken ribs and Conor Walsh was on crutches.

Kilcormacs intensity was reminiscent of Kilkenny in the all Ireland.Fair play to shamrocks though and best of luck to them in February

Thought KK got a good few soft enough frees. Ref seemed to be influenced by the big KK crowd. KK fought like dogs and only for Slevin missing some easy frees it would of been a different result. Ballyhale defence dont look to hectic. Awful decision from ref not to award a free to C Fennelly at the end of 60 mins, almost robbed as KK turned over the ball and got a free to win it!

Joey Holden named captain. Would prefer TJ if I'm honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭piuswal

Who will Cody choose as fullback and centre-back for 2015?

Is this confirmed?

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭pat 22

robwen wrote: »
    Is this confirmed?

He's next in line so its a formality. Great incentive for him to nail down a starting place.

Is this confirmed?

My source would normally be pretty much on the button with these things, but I have nothing official, no.

pat 22 wrote: »
    He's next in line so its a formality. Great incentive for him to nail down a starting place.

I would of preferred TJ, I think its an unnecessary pressure on a player like Joey who`s still relatively new to the panel and trying to nail down a starting spot

My source would normally be pretty much on the button with these things, but I have nothing official, no.

I`ve heard its going to Joey aswell just wondered was it official

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭pat 22

I would of preferred TJ, I think its an unnecessary pressure on a player like Joey who`s still relatively new to the panel and trying to nail down a starting spot

I dont think its an added pressure. There certain players on the team that are the leader's. His job will b to collect the cups if we are privilaged to b in that position. I would have jackie as captain any day

This isn't a surprise to me and shouldn't be to anybody following hurling in KK. Clubs use this privilege to promote fringe players especially when others have gotten their chance so to speak. At the end of the day it doesn't really matter who collects the cup - it didn't last year and Lester gave a great speech (as gaeilge to boot!). A captains role is really symbolic at this stage and is largely confined to what happens on the day. There are plenty of leaders on the KK team. Being a village man Cody will surely have Larks/Jackie as the match day captain if Joey isn't selected LOL. :p

It will though be interesting to see who he choses in Joeys absence. I'd love to see Richie Power get it. I think he would flourish in the role on the pitch and equally it would be hugely motivational for the brother. One things for sure, it wont boost Joey's chances of a starting slot with Cody.

. One things for sure, it wont boost Joey's chances of a starting slot with Cody.[/QUOTE]

Never were truer words ever written.

From Irish Examiner

Henry Shefflin has hit out at those trying to ‘pressure’ him into retirement, and insisted that the decision will be his alone.

The hurling world is eagerly awaiting confirmation of Shefflin’s plans for 2015 after capturing a record 10th All-Ireland winners medal in September.

More recently, five of his long-time Kilkenny colleagues have retired in a short period, bringing the spotlight further onto the 35-year old for a decision.

But the 11-time All Star, who turns 36 next month, says he won’t be giving anything away until Ballyhale Shamrocks’ AIB club campaign is over.

That could be as late as March if the newly-crowned Leinster champions overcome the Galway representatives in the All-Ireland semi-finals in February. In the meantime, speculation will inevitably intensify that he is to become the sixth and most high profile MacCarthy Cup winner to retire.

“I think there’s a lot of pressure coming on for me that, you know, ‘you have to retire’,” said a clearly frustrated Shefflin.

“I’ll make my own decision when the time is right. I will reflect. That (viewpoint) doesn’t come into it whatsoever.

“I’m my own person. I’ll make the decision when the time comes.

“I’ll talk to a few key people that I trust and that I want to speak to. Obviously, I’m not going to make a decision until I’m finished with my club.

“I don’t think it’s fair to the lads in the dressing room if there’s all this hullabaloo going on. For me and for the lads, I think the best thing I can do is just keep concentrating (on Ballyhale).”

Likewise, Shefflin said he won’t be swayed towards staying on merely because of the volume of experience Kilkenny have lost in recent weeks.

Two nine-time All-Ireland medallists have called it quits in JJ Delaney and Tommy Walsh while Brian Hogan, David Herity and Aidan Fogarty have departed too.

Asked if that is a factor in his decision, Shefflin shook his head.

“No, no, not whatsoever. I feel no pressure whatsoever. And I don’t feel pressure with some people saying he has to go now because other lads are gone.

“I don’t feel pressure either that, ‘he has to stay because the other lads are gone’. Absolutely not. The lads, JJ, Tommy, Brian, ‘Taggy’, Davy, they made the decision that was best for them.

“I spoke to each of them and each of them is very comfortable with that decision. I would hope, when I make my decision as well, that I’ll be totally comfortable with that.”

Of the five who retired, Delaney was the only starter in the All-Ireland final replay win over Tipperary. He picked up an All Star award too, so Shefflin expected him to stay on.

“I was surprised, yeah,” said Shefflin. “In another way, when I reflected, I wasn’t surprised, because that’s JJ.

“He’s an unbelievable defender and an unbelievable person so JJ does things very much his own way and I think he’s done it again now.

“Of course he caught us by surprise because he’d been an All Star this year. And why wouldn’t he think about going back to try and win his 10th medal?

“But I think it just was a testament to the man that that didn’t come into it one bit. He was just making the decision that suited him and his life best and that’s JJ.”

Shefflin admitted that Delaney’s strong final performance was a perfect platform to bow out upon.

“Oh yeah, it is, and then to win an All Star,” he said. “I don’t know if someone said it on a tweet or where it was that, ‘how many players have won an All Star and retired?’

“I don’t know is there that many. I think for him to go out at the top like that is absolutely brilliant.”

Shefflin shot four points for Ballyhale in Sunday’s extra-time provincial club final win over Kilcormac-Killoughey. He got better as the game wore on and was their driving force in extra-time. He will hope to carry that form into February and a potential All-Ireland semi-final clash with old rivals and holders Portumna, whom Ballyhale denied a three-in-a-row of titles in 2010.

“We’ve had some great battles, I’d say we’ve probably beaten them twice,” said Shefflin.

“I think to be fair to Gort, it’s going to be a tough game (the Galway county final). But it’s great for ourselves. It’s an absolutely brilliant thing to be looking forward to over Christmas.

“You can say that we’ve serious hurling straight away next year. You know, the opportunities for me are obviously diminishing with each passing month so it’s great to look forward to 2015 again.”

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Fort Stranger

piuswal wrote: »
    Who will Cody choose as fullback and centre-back for 2015?
    I think the team next year will be based around -
    Murphy
    Murph joey Holden jackie
    Walsh Joyce Buckley
    Fogarty Fennelly
    R Power Richie Hogan TJ
    John Power Colin Larkin
    Hopefully Henry and Rice still there!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

Only watched the Ballyhale match last night as I was working Sunday and from what I'd heard from those at it and on here I was expecting to see them really struggling. I thought they were clearly the better team I couple of things contributed to it being a close game. Kilcormac came at them hammer and tongs as is their right and more power to them but with the conditions this definitely helped narrow the gap. The other major factor I thought was the ref, everything he blew I would mainly agree were fouls. However the amount of times he let fouls on Ballyhale lads go with no advantage gained not that there's even and advantage rule butbrush gave Kilcormac a free a few seconds or minutes later for no more of a foul. As I said I've no issue with what he gave it's what he was happy to over look when it was a Ballyhale man being fouled.

Ballyhale were also wasteful and went for goal to often when a simple point was on. Colin Fennellys general play was immense but he's shooting left a lot to be desired. A few small changes to the refs performance and Ballyhales shot selection could have seen a very different game. It'll be interesting to see who comes through the Galway final this weekend. I was talking to a Galway man today and as usual told me there's no love lost between Portumna and Gort with the latter not afraid to break timber as he put it himself.

It'll be interesting to see who comes through the Galway final this weekend. I was talking to a Galway man today and as usual told me there's no love lost between Portumna and Gort with the latter not afraid to break timber as he put it himself.

And the good news is it's on (deferred) TG4 on Sunday though that mightn't please some who think, bizarrely, that county finals shouldn't be broadcast on TG4.

Speaking of timber, I wonder will it be anything like this on Sunday.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQ0_P0LpCFM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭piuswal

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

Speaking of timber, I wonder will it be anything like this on Sunday.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQ0_P0LpCFM

Well sure the hurl is made for just hatching people!

Neither team involved but given the nature of the rivalries in Galway hurling I wouldn't be surprised if we did see something similar hopefully not though.

From Hoganstand

Ballyhale Shamrocks have played down reports that they are to nominate Joey Holden for the Kilkenny captaincy for 2015.

Holden, who joined Brian Cody's squad this year, is favourite to be put forward by the Kilkenny champions for the role but club PRO Liam Grant told The Irish Daily Star: “It hasn't be discussed at all.

“Normally it will go back to the committee in the club and they will nominate.

“With what's been going on with the Leinster club final, it's been put on the backburner. It is not something Kilkenny are putting us under any pressure of yet.

“You need to be giving it to someone who is fairly sure of their place.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭deadybai

From Hoganstand

Ballyhale Shamrocks have played down reports that they are to nominate Joey Holden for the Kilkenny captaincy for 2015.

Holden, who joined Brian Cody's squad this year, is favourite to be put forward by the Kilkenny champions for the role but club PRO Liam Grant told The Irish Daily Star: “It hasn't be discussed at all.

“Normally it will go back to the committee in the club and they will nominate.

“With what's been going on with the Leinster club final, it's been put on the backburner. It is not something Kilkenny are putting us under any pressure of yet.

“You need to be giving it to someone who is fairly sure of their place.”

Shefflin? :pac: