Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Southampton fc v Liverpool fc 3 pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Knex. wrote: »
    Been nowhere near his start of season form for a few weeks now.

Good on ya Coutinho. Hopefully its the spark we need.

Johnson is a stupid footballer, I'll never be made think otherwise.

What he is is a amazing physical talent with pretty good technique.

Both going forward and in defense he doesn't know where he is most of the time.

His good traits are more than good enough to make him a quality player

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

Now sort out the defending Rogers and we may actually have a fcuking chance in this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Allen has been poor but its ****ing ridiculous from BR starting him considering he said he was injured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Gbear wrote: »
    I knew they'd give us a chance sooner or later.

Now we need to take control.

I don't think there'd be any harm with changing to this:

---Gerrard Lucas
    Hendo Allen Coutinho
    Suarez

We tried Allen in there against United...it wasn't pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

When that goal went in I felt nothing.

Wow.

Anyways, that was an awful first half. Need a serious kick in the arse at halftime. Allen has been awful. I can only assume that lucas is injured. (People have to remember that hes still coming back from a serious knee injury)

I wonder why Henderson has been dropped for the last few games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

mayordenis wrote: »
    That's incredibly harsh, Downing has probably been our best player

It's him or Coutinho, and I'm leaving Coutinho on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Some people need to get off Allen's back.

1) He had nothing to do with what money was spent on him.

2) He's carrying an injury.

3) He didn't select himself.

4)He's not getting any help from anyone else in the midfield.

Added to that is the fact he was very good for us before Lucas got injured and he had to do most, if not all the defending in midfield.

ALSO... do people have that short of a memory? The same people giving Allen stick are probably the same who gave Lucas stick, gave Hendo stick, gave Downing stick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Southampton have the 4th worst defence in the league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

mike65 wrote: »
    Rock Star Mr Alan and not a rock star Lucky Lloyd cannot be far away! Guest appearance from Daithijjj on tambourine ;)

^Thats pure fücking pathetic.^

expected more from you Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

So blessed to grab one before half time. Joe Allen is having a Weston Super out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

Turtyturd wrote: »
    No the players are playing to the game plan which appears to have been conceived on the ideology that we can just show up and win.

I don't think there is a sane game plan on earth conceived on ideology of a team showing up and just winning. It comes down to players, sure, Rodgers has made some blunders here, but the players have to look at themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I Rodgers makes changes i think we'll win, they look shakey at the back when we get at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Poor game so far from a LFC pov, but going in only one down is a bonus given how many chances Southampton wasted.

Skrtel and Johnson have been very poor in defence, with Gerrard and Allen being awful in the centre.

Distinct lack of leadership in the team today, and the lack of fight is a bit worrying. Having said that credit should be given to Southampton for the way they have pressed hard, and fought for every ball. They have worked hard when on the ball, and even harder when they lost it.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    We tried Allen in there against United...it wasn't pretty.

I just put him there for symmetry.:p

Henderson for Allen and we have a chance of the draw.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Can only echo what has been said already - there is a giant Lucas shaped hole in our midfield and we are being overrun as a result.

Allen is fine here for home matches but for away games we really need Lucas. Gerrard has been poor as well, lets not put this all on Allen. Gerrard has the physicality and technique on the ball to do much better than he has been.

We've been poor throughout the field.

While their 2nd goal was lucky, we're fortunate to be still in this game coming into half-time. Southampton have been better than us in every department.

There's still goals in this game though. We still have a chance but we have to be much better in the 2nd half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

daithijjj wrote: »
    Im busy watching the game, you should try it sometime and you might see what i see.

I'm watching as well
    Last weeks essentially two man midfield didn't actually work, so it'll be interesting to see if Rodgers tries it again.
    Hmmm no Lucas Allen playing is more weirdness from Rodgers, I see goals. I think he likes goals.
    No Lucas and it shows. Allen + Gerrard is a no no
    The whole shape is arseways, should throw the game plan out of the window as Saints scoring has changed the game. Hendo and Lucas on, Allen and Coutinho off.
    Another lousy Allen moment, he should not be playing..
    ****ing hell it should be 3-0.

The middle is being out numbered and out muscled.
    The main change is that under him they have become a high pressing side. Liverpools formation suits them to a tee/tea/t.
    He didn't change the formation/balance though. Carra/Skrtel, Allen/Lucas have been used interchangably. Liverpool got away with it against Spurs Liverpool is not getting away with it today.

I'm just not a such a moany fvcker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,978 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

I'm shocked with the poor quality of Liverpools play and how good Southampton are playing so well.

Long gone are the days when Liverpool were guaranteed to take all 6 points from teams like Southampton. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

I'm watching as well

I'm just not a such a moany fvcker.

Know you're watching, know you're a good poster, it's just... that was such a cheap shot imo :o

45 minutes left lads. Bit early to be giving up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

I'm a huge fan of rodgers but he's made a few team selection that can only be described as reckless.

He needs to learn a bit of discretion. Hopefully that'll come with age and games like this will teach him a lesson.

Leiva wrote: »

Jaysus relax, looked like a joke to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

IrishHomer wrote: »
    Long gone are the days when Liverpool were guaranteed to take all 6 points from teams like Southampton. :(
    Have always struggled against Soton away. Think heskey won the last game for Liverpool away

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Blessed to be only a goal down, could well be 3 behind and no complaints with the way they have been performing. If he wanted to rest Lucas Henderson was the obvious choice. Allen did ok against Spurs when he came on, but Henderson has been playing well all season. He must feel really aggrieved, as do I in fact.

We did not look like a team taking to the field to go above Everton, today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

When did Enrique get that hair? Wasn't he bald last week? I can't remember.

SaulGoode9 wrote: »

Someone slipped some regain in his drink at the gym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Lucas on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Leiva wrote: »

Why?
    It is obviously a joke.
    Dont be so precious

Allen off, Lucas on.

Thank fcuk

LFC will win this.

SaulGoode9 wrote: »

That's not Ricky it's Doni.

Come On Liverpool. Let's get three in this half and then concede one late on for a bit of excitement. :)

I'd stick Hendo on too

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I'd stick Hendo on too

For who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Thank fook Allen is off.

Sturridge is off the pace again today

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭Benzino

Gbear wrote: »
    I'm a huge fan of rodgers but he's made a few team selection that can only be described as reckless.

Whats wrong with the team selection? Yeah, Lucas should be in for Allen, or Hendo if he wants to rest Lucas, but the rest is our best 11 besides Reina and Carra (and frankly, we should be able to rely on Agger and Skrtel, at least one of these need to be bench players next year).

I'd be questioning the players to be honest, Agger, Skrtel, Johnson, Allen and Gerrard are nowhere near the level they should be and have shown us this year.

NukaCola wrote: »
    For who?

Sturridge

40 minutes too late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sturridge is off the pace again today

He needs game time (and a goal) to get back in the swing.

He's not on the same wavelength as Suarez and Coutinhio whatsoever

Sturridge wasting chances, here.

NukaCola wrote: »
    For who?

Sturridge.

look more solid already with Lucas on

Sturridge

Sturridge has a goal in him today....poor first half but was limited to scraps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

look more solid already with Lucas on

Coutinho's in the middle as well now, so there are also more bodies in there. Suarez was playing too far forward.

such a difference in the middle already.

Manager to blame for 1st half and hopefully not the points if we can get an early one here.

What the fck is Glen Johnson playing at lately.