Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How low will B&Q cut their prices by?

• Registered Users Posts: 3 howrude

We were told that even if we were getting free rent that we wouldn't be making enough money to stay open. Plenty of people have the money to spend but they're only coming out of the woodwork now that the discounts have showed up!

we've had customers be verbally abusive and in a few cases, staff members have been grabbed by the arm to be shown something. I'm not saying everyone is out to get the bargain and thinks ah feck it, they'll be grand. I'm saying, if you're out and you see staff members not looking the happiest, don't antagonize them!! Some people seem to be doing that for the pure fun of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

howrude wrote: »
    We were told that even if we were getting free rent that we wouldn't be making enough money to stay open. Plenty of people have the money to spend but they're only coming out of the woodwork now that the discounts have showed up!

we've had customers be verbally abusive and in a few cases, staff members have been grabbed by the arm to be shown something. I'm not saying everyone is out to get the bargain and thinks ah feck it, they'll be grand. I'm saying, if you're out and you see staff members not looking the happiest, don't antagonize them!! Some people seem to be doing that for the pure fun of it!

On your first point, from my end I would not agree. The stuff I bought was for home improvement, if it had been at full rather than half price, we would have left it well alone. Being half price meant the difference between doing it and not doing it.

Its disgusting if people are deliberately antagonizing staff for the fun of it, hard to understand why anyone would want to do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 howrude

On your first point, from my end I would not agree. The stuff I bought was for home improvement, if it had been at full rather than half price, we would have left it well alone. Being half price meant the difference between doing it and not doing it.

Its disgusting if people are deliberately antagonizing staff for the fun of it, hard to understand why anyone would want to do that.

Yeah well, you think otherwise when people are spending 2k on flooring.
    Or when they take out a wad of 50 euro notes while spending 5 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭sandin

A large notice at the entrance reminding people that 50 staff will lose their jobs in 3 weeks and that anyone who abuses staff in any way will be escorted from the premises and barred will do the trick.

There's a certain type of customer who relishes in closing down sales - the "I told you so" brigade who live very sad lives. -Well for anyone who does get abused by these types, relish the thought taht the abuser is a sad eejit who probaly has no real friends.

AS for my delaing with B&Q bith in waterford, and Cork is they alwys have excellent staff and they were one of the few stores to drop their prices fairly quickly when sterling changed.

But unfortunately Waterford simply does not have the population for 5 large DIY stores (woodies, homebase, morris', b&q & Heitons).

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Mr Tibbs

[QUOTE=sandin;But unfortunately Waterford simply does not have the population for 5 large DIY stores (woodies, homebase, morris', b&q & Heitons).[/QUOTE]

Morris's and Heiton's are builder's provider's, I certainly would not be going to any of the rest for roofing timber.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

howrude wrote: »
    Yeah well, you think otherwise when people are spending 2k on flooring.
    Or when they take out a wad of 50 euro notes while spending 5 euro.

Could you not refuse to sell to them when they are being a holes?