Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Des Hanlon Memorial race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

J Madone wrote: »
    Can't believe the crying over a fiver, Marshall's don't get paid, they are volunteers, races don't just happen, be they long or short

A fiver might be a hell of a lot more to some people than others.

Races don't just happen, but I haven't seen any other races lobbing 50% on their entry fees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

lads, ye have a couple of threads on the go now on this,

Id say post over here (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056907927) if ye are unhappy with entry fee, keep this one for the actual racing.

If ye actually get thru the race on Sunday, it wont be cos ur a fiver lighter that u will be crying;-) Tough going out there ----

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭531

Was there a rule last year that there would not be prize money in A4, is the rule still in place and ignored?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭buffalo

531 wrote: »
    Was there a rule last year that there would not be prize money in A4, is the rule still in place and ignored?

Yes, and as far as I know, in many cases, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

531 wrote: »
    Still in place and ignored.A4s are supposed to get trophies/gifts etc.
    ie No money prizes.The rationale behind this was that a memento might mean more to a new rider than 20 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭531

In the unlikely event of my getting placed in an A4 race I think I would prefer a memento of the day rather than a few quid in my pocket which wouldn't last long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

I actually like the idea of having my entry paid for by placing...it's like coming second in a game of poker and getting your buy in back :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Smalltom

On an unrelated matter to prize money-considering the weather and the forecast will this definitely be going ahead? I'd be fairly annoyed to get there after a 90min + drive to turn around and have to drive home again. This is only my second season racing so have races been cancelled in advance or is it a route inspection call just before it starts. @colm_gti-think the other Colm might be onto you about bringing a pair of cycling shoes down for me to try/buy if you're going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Smalltom wrote: »
    On an unrelated matter to prize money-considering the weather and the forecast will this definitely be going ahead? I'd be fairly annoyed to get there after a 90min + drive to turn around and have to drive home again. This is only my second season racing so have races been cancelled in advance or is it a route inspection call just before it starts. @colm_gti-think the other Colm might be onto you about bringing a pair of cycling shoes down for me to try/buy if you're going?

I'm not sure, but I didn't know Dunboyne was cancelled until I was sitting in the car park, though I think they'd only decided a little while before I got there.

colm_gti wrote: »
    I actually like the idea of having my entry paid for by placing...it's like coming second in a game of poker and getting your buy in back :P

You can pay the extra fiver for me so, and if I win, I'll give it back to you. :D

Smalltom wrote: »

As Harrybelafonte said, Dunboyne was cancelled about an hour before the scheduled roll out.

RE the shoes, been in contact with Colm18, I'll be making my way down from Dublin, with the shoes in tow, unless of course there is advance warning of the race being cancelled ;)

buffalo wrote: »
    You can pay the extra fiver for me so, and if I win, I'll give it back to you. :D

Now that's just made it interesting....though I think this course is more suited to your abilities than it is to mine....would you pay the ambulance to collect me if I drop off my bike due to heart failure from trying too hard to win back my 5er?

That's a bit of a pain in the ass. You'd have a spin done in the time you'd spent getting there and home. I suppose I better put the final few animals onto the ark just in case it's not cancelled. If anyone wants a lift, pairs only!!!

Now that's just made it interesting....though I think this course is more suited to your abilities than it is to mine....would you pay the ambulance to collect me if I drop off my bike due to heart failure from trying too hard to win back my 5er?

woah, I didn't say anything about giving you money if you win!

buffalo wrote: »
    woah, I didn't say anything about giving you money if you win!

I think it'd be the safest bet of all time :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭jimzy

Looking forward to giving this a lash on Sunday, first race of the year for me, so expecting to be pretty rusty.
    Any ideas what the descents are like on the route? Im vaguely familiar with some of the roads, but don't remember them being too good...?! Any particularly nasty sections to watch out for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭thinks too much

New to cycling so just wanted to ask a few questions about this race..does anyone know if you need a licence to do it or can you get a one day licence for it like in a sportive...i have watched this race for years as it goes by the house and would love to give it a go...i cycle a lot around the chosen route so other than my times which are mediocre to say the least, I would still love to try racing it...thanks for any information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

One day licenses should be available I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

Hmmzis wrote: »
    One day licenses should be available I think.

Available upto the 1st april then none available for the rest of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Seamiebrennan

HI everyone
    this is seamie here from Carlow Road cycling club just here to let everyone
    know that the Des Hanlon races are going ahead tomorrow
    going by the weather reports it is to be dry and windy the course is the same as every other year as we want to keep this a classic race hope to see all cyclists in carlow tomorrow anyone can ring me on 0879170704 for more info
    regards Seamie , Carlow RCC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Seamiebrennan

also lots of prizes top 15 and 2unplaced A2 riders in A1 race top 10 in A3 race top 6 in A4 race first 3 ladys and first 3 juniors

Just to let ye know Seamie Brennan from Carlow CC has put a post on Boards to say the race is definitely going ahead. I don't know whether I'm happy or not!! Ah well I'll tip down anyway to put down the day. Forecast is dry and windy me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭MichealD

Can you confirm the sign on and start times please? Thks.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,444 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

http://www.stickybottle.com/road-calendar/

This should help out. Seamie has his mobile number on another thread and said to ring away with questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭bonzie1

Michael d. The sign-on is starting from 9.30am and closing at 12.30pm. First race off at 1pm sharp. [A 1 an 2] second race 1.05 [A3] 3rd race[A4] 1.10 sharp. Graiguecullen GAA grounds. cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭MichealD

Thanks guys. Was hoping it was an earlier start. 140km race starting at 1pm means a long day!

Ouch.

Hmmzis wrote: »
    Ouch.

Yes. Possibly my worst day on the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

You ok? What happened?

Some race in them conditions,74km's that made **** of the pelaton,breakaway of two went on last climb I think and stayed till the finish,I got done on the line in a sprint but very happy I left nothing in the tank trying to get 3rd,also very happy with 5th overall.

1 more point and a3 here I come

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

fair play Pawlie - its a very tough event at any level, well done for competing lads -

A1/A2:
    1st Sean Lacey
    2 Joe Fenlon
    3 Liam Frawley
    4 Conor Murphy

Any more results lads?

Ouch +1.

on the plus side, it was a great training session!! :)

You ok? What happened?

Just a cold and exhausting day. Spent half of it out on my own.

Pawlie wrote: »
    Some race in them conditions,74km's that made **** of the pelaton,breakaway of two went on last climb I think and stayed till the finish,I got done on the line in a sprint but very happy I left nothing in the tank trying to get 3rd,also very happy with 5th overall.

ah pawlie, i thought you were gonna win! :P

nice to meet you today. well done. 1 more point and we will be rid of you. hahaha :D

lennymc wrote: »

ah pawlie, i thought you were gonna win! :P

nice to meet you today. well done. 1 more point and we will be rid of you. hahaha :D
    Like wise man,nice to put a face to the name,two lads stayed away and fair play to them,think the bunch thought we would reel them in,but payed the ultimate price....

You will miss me others won't but that won't bother me :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

Sounds like a hard day lads, fair play to all who raced.
    Any results for A4 and A3 yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

A4
    1)Constantin Bartels Western Lakes cc
    2)
    3)
    4)Padraig Hughes Western lakes cc
    5)Pawlie;)

Thats the best I can give you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Met Constantine on an audax last year. He rode 200k with the lead group on a heavy-looking cross bike. Sound bloke - delighted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭1750W

Pawlie wrote: »

I told you that you would do very well. Get in there!!!

That was a tough tough day on the bike!

how did you get on? I really envied the A3s having to turn left for the second lap. Really. suckers.

I'd have preferred to poke my eyes out than do a third, fair play to the A1/2's! I survived, and that was my sole intention for today ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭evancunny95

Was doing really good in the A3's,in the bunch and very comfortable after 70km but then when We turned at Castlecomer I just completely blew and ended up in a few groups on the way back before getting a second burst and time trialled the last 10km
    Slightly dissapointed thought I could have done something today even if it was just top 3 juniors ,what ruined me was that I just didn't eat or drink enough,ah well Roll on the Gorey next week....

on the plus side, it was a great training session!! :)

I regretted saying that when I lost the sensation in my fingers and my right arm went dead. I nearly spilled coffee all over my team mates car I couldn't stop my hands shaking.

I still can't get over the speed at which everyone's able to climb at. I literally shot out the back on the first drag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

That's the toughest A4 I've ever complete, started the race pretty much mid pack but it was a little nervy so moved up and tried to stay in the top 20ish. I pretty much managed this for the majority of the race.

Its all pretty much a blur to be honest, my HR monitor was telling me I should really be easing off and possibly calling it a day but managed to stick with it. Not sure how long that last hill is but I was pretty much in the red for about 70%, my max HR ever recorded is 186 and I was at 182-184 for the last 3mins, torture!!

Made it over the last hill about 20 metres behind the front bunch which consisted of about 12ish riders maybe. We had decent gap of about 300 metres on a group of maybe 6/7 riders which I believe contained pawlie.

Fair play they managed to catch back on with 8ish km left which left a bunch of around 18 riders?. With two guys up the road there was no real concerted effort to take them back bar a blanch rider.

I made a complete balls of the finish and managed to get home around 10-12th.

Epic race, marshalling excellent, motorbikes done a great job. Felt very safe out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭bwalsh1983

Guy from visitnenagh.ie took second. Tough day but a lot of very strong riding in the A4's. Squirmed out the back on the last climb which was dissapointing, not enough food (and probably not enough traning!) but today seemed to be more of a race than usual, breaks trying, people actually taking turns etc. Great day.

1750W wrote: »
    I told you that you would do very well. Get in there!!!

Thank you very much man,really appreciate it.

Have to say a big thanks to the organizers for a great event. It's tough as a tough thing on a tough day and I'm only an A4. The route was very well signposted and marshalled, as a droppee I very much appreciated that. That whiskey cake at the end was amazing.

The race for myself went not great at all. Started out just fine, knew that I wasn't back on my 100% after the chest infection last week and a cold earlier this week but in the bunch felt quite ok. The first bump in the road hasn't stayed in memory much, the second one on the other hand was just sheer pain. Was revving at threshold and beyond and was still drifting backwards. Held on, just about.

After Castlecomer was dropped in a very simple manner - going full gas and the bunch just going further and further, after cresting the climb about a dozen or so lads were trying to chase, we could have organized the effort a bit better but to be fair nobody was exactly fresh at that point to think about it that much. Somehow we did manage to catch the group before a sharp left hander that lead to another steep section of a rather long climb. Held on to the group for about 50 or 100m and that was it for me. Out the back for good. The last climb of the day was just sheer torture, no power, legs in agony, lungs burning, stomach burning and asking for food. There were about 5 of us that stuck together to the end after the last climb, and we did good turns. At the finish did something that was meant to be a sprint (if training then to the full), the other lads didn't seem to be interested in that though.

Had some food and coffee after it, chatted a bit with LennyMc and some club mates while people were still just arriving.

Well done to the lads at the front and congrats to Pawlie for the great result and everyone who made it round!