Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reasonable time of the day to stop ploughing and cutting hedgerows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

@OP

From the quick bit of goggling I did, the farmer has every right to work late, cut hedgerows, dig ditches, plough etc as long as he likes. You're really not going to get much sympathy posting your greviences here. IMO, your only recourse is to talk to your neighbour and explain the situation. He/she may decide to do some of the less loud activities late on. :rolleyes:
    However if he/she doesn't and gets his knickes in a twist (something that some of the people in this thread seem to have done ;)), you have every right to complain to the local authority or the EPA quoting section 108 if the Environmental Angeny Act 1992 and the Environmental Protection Agency Act, 1992 (Noise) Regulations 1994 (S.I. No. 179 of 1994).

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

vicwatson wrote: »
    I have NO intention of reporting him.

The title of my post is "reasonable time of the day to stop ploughing and cutting hedgerows"?

And then I get attacked by some:(

Well thats good that your not going to report him before speaking to him.
    I was just seeing posts with regulations and links and was just thinking that people have to dive in head first with the law, before even approaching the guy. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

It will be pissing rain for the next few days. Drama over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

You should ring the guards and ask them to call out, during office hours of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

newbie2 wrote: »
    @OP

From the quick bit of goggling I did, the farmer has every right to work late, cut hedgerows, dig ditches, plough etc as long as he likes. You're really not going to get much sympathy posting your greviences here. IMO, your only recourse is to talk to your neighbour and explain the situation. He/she may decide to do some of the less loud activities late on. :rolleyes:
    However if he/she doesn't and gets his knickes in a twist (something that some of the people in this thread seem to have done ;)), you have every right to complain to the local authority or the EPA quoting section 108 if the Environmental Angeny Act 1992 and the Environmental Protection Agency Act, 1992 (Noise) Regulations 1994 (S.I. No. 179 of 1994).

/thread

If you think that was us getting our knickers in a twist you wouldn't want to come on this forum when we really go at it;). It might only upset you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

Chit chat is very quite. This is where all the action is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

looking at the weather forecast you can expect when it stops 2nite it wont be going again for a few days!!

also if he is ploughing it surely means he is finished clearing scrub, headgerows etc. I think your question has been answered about headgecutting(has to stop March 1st) and also someone answered the burning of timber/wood with permits. I have no idea where you would even find out about using petrol/diesel for starting fires but I cant see how that would affect you anyway.

Anyway good news is no work going on after 2nite with the rain on the way
    Bad news is there is no time to quit, i've often been at silage until well into the night, part of living in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

mf240 wrote: »
    You should ring the guards and ask them to call out, during office hours of course.

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

It is and that's the problem, I think 22.00 hours is wayy too late to continue with farming activities.

I wonder if other farmers here can tell me if they think its responsible farming?

You are out of touch with reality I'm afraid. Tillage farmers in particular often work through the night at harvest and at setting time. A lot of work to do in a short space of time and in case you hadn't noticed we've had ****e weather since 1st June last year

We have often cut silage into all hours, it's got to be done
    Had to go out at 9pm tonight to bring in the cows, and will probably be doing it for the next two weeks

Farming is most definately not a 9-5 job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Why are ye feeding the troll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Tipp Man wrote: »
    You are out of touch with reality I'm afraid. Tillage farmers in particular often work through the night at harvest and at setting time. A lot of work to do in a short space of time and in case you hadn't noticed we've had ****e weather since 1st June last year

We have often cut silage into all hours, it's got to be done
    Had to go out at 9pm tonight to bring in the cows, and will probably be doing it for the next two weeks

Farming is most definately not a 9-5 job

Thanks for your input:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

as your on vic.. what do u think , does holly help to get rid of ringworm?

Thanks for your input:rolleyes:

Ah the good old roll eyes when someone says something that you agree with

Lock it up Reilig I reckon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I once paid 30 euro to see dara O'Brien. What a waste of money. This thread is da biz

As for yor questions Vic. Reasonable time? For the farmer a reasonable time is when he gets the job done. There is no clocking in or out in farming. A reasonable time for you might be an entirely different kettle of fish.

I once paid 30 euro to see dara O'Brien. What a waste of money. This thread is da biz

As for yor questions Vic. Reasonable time? For the farmer a reasonable time is when he gets the job done. There is no clocking in or out in farming. A reasonable time for you might be an entirely different kettle of fish.

Harsh on dara there, when to see him and thought he was brilliant. Well worth the money

I'm a fan of Dara I have to say

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

According to a neighbour he used more like a tank of diesel never mind a gallon to burn all the cut hedgerow, he's been cutting hedgerow for 4 months now with his digger. I've no real problem with that per se but the working till so late at night with so many residential houses is getting on peoples nerves - not just mine.

id say now you have your facts arseways. Would you rather the farmer to draw the dole instead? Ring whoever you want but there is now law to stop him from ploughing at this time of the year. he can do it 24 hours of the day if he wants to. You are living in the country get used to it.
    He is very possibly cutting all the hadges because they are coming out over the electric fence and causing shortages or would you rather instead maybe to see his stock in your front garden?
    Do you really have anything else to do? go away and get plugs for your ears and be glad that somepeople in this country wants to work hard. I say fair due to him for taking care of his land and having pride in it. So what if it takes months to get right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭13Ballymore

His livelihood depends on these crucial times of year such as ploughing and harvesting. As least the man is trying to make an honest living for himself and not putting his hand out for benefits.

Leave him be and stop crying because the noise is annoying you. Farming never stops, it's a 24/7 job as many others will tell you this. That's the joy of living in the country, noise, smells and disruptions. If you don't like this then move into an urban area, might suit you as you can complain to your neighbours about trivial/stupid things.

Grow up and stop whinging like a spoilt brat. Some people like you annoy the hell out of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Well lads, just in the door from ploughing and hedge burning.
    I noticed in through the window, of one of the neighbours house,on every lap of the headland, himself lookin very excited at the PC. Must have been watching something hot I thought!
    Noticed the kids not in bed either........ And it a school night!

Hard to be like him.

Takes all kinds!!! :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

His livelihood depends on these crucial times of year such as ploughing and harvesting. As least the man is trying to make an honest living for himself and not putting his hand out for benefits.

Leave him be and stop crying because the noise is annoying you. Farming never stops, it's a 24/7 job as many others will tell you this. That's the joy of living in the country, noise, smells and disruptions. If you don't like this then move into an urban area, might suit you as you can complain to your neighbours about trivial/stupid things.

Grow up and stop whinging like a spoilt brat. Some people like you annoy the hell out of me.

here here. i totally agree. If the other poster came up to me complaining I wouldnt be long showing them the road. I wouldnt entertain this crap in the slightest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

Bizzum wrote: »
    I noticed in through the window, of one of the neighbours house,on every lap of the headland, himself lookin very excited at the PC. Must have been watching something hot I thought!

Hard to be like him.

nice day for it. hope the dry weather continues for you to work on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Hard to be like him.

If them kids had been out in your field picking stones in the fresh air, they'd be sound asleep in their beds now. Like normal country reared kids :b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

Just in from ploughing, because its resonable time to stop! no because i'm fcuked.

Vic there is no resonable time to stop but i do put in an effort not to plough beside houses after 11 if at all possible but it often is'nt.

Your claim that he's been working late for last 4 months is utterly ridiculous, and got everyones back up from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

How close is he working to the house? He mustn't be as good to get through work as everyone thinks, because 4 months non-stop work with a digger should be enough to clear every ditch in a reasonably sized parish, let alone a couple of fields. And if I got a run of 4 months ploughing those hours, weekends and all, I reckon I'd get through about 3500 acres. As it happens I've only managed 60 in the last 4 months because land around here is too wet to work, but sure maybe it's a drier part of the country!! It's the same old situation that never ceases to amaze me, if you have a problem with a neighbour go and talk to the man. 90% of people will take a genuine grievance seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

GRMA wrote: »
    Of course its unreasonable. Would it be ok for a neighbour to be building at this hour? No.

Making that much noise at this late hour is OTT, but I dont think you will get much sympathy from self entitled farmers on here I reckon.

between the hours of seven and eleven he can work away throughout the year, if its seasonal work and is only happening the odd day then they could work anytime day or night as no Judge will side with you, unfortunately for you. As far as I can remember there was a test case either last summer or the summer previous. Judge sided with the farmer. Wheels started rolling in our yard at 5.30am this morning and have a couple of more minutes to do now. Have hauliers calling all times of the night and day and I do my best to facilitate them, but try and keep noise to a minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Jebus. Ask a reasonable question, and get flamed. That's farmers for you! :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Hard to be like him.

What time of the night do you call this?? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Morning. Hope I am not disturbing you too early op seeing as you were kept awake all last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Thread closed in the interest of keeping the peace
    Reilig
    MOD