Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbag situation getting worse and worse

• Registered Users Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

I think what the government should do with the unemployable scumbags is make them an offer - a one-off payment of 20 grand for a non-reversible sterilization. Sure, it might cost a bit in the short term and they'll lord it up for a while but long term it's bound to reduce the money spent on future generations of ratboys and girls.

I dont mind the drugged out Junkies, i like to roleplay walking dead with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Azure_sky

All the animals come out at night - whores, skunk pussies, buggers, queens, fairies, dopers, junkies, sick, venal. Someday a real rain will come and wash all this scum off the streets.

Taxi1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I think what the government should do with the unemployable scumbags is make them an offer - a one-off payment of 20 grand for a non-reversible sterilization. Sure, it might cost a bit in the short term and they'll lord it up for a while but long term it's bound to reduce the money spent on future generations of ratboys and girls.

As wrong as that is on so many levels, I have to shamefully admit I kinda agree with it just the tiniest bit.

It's horrible seeing them locked at 1pm and pushing a pram down O'Connell st. All I can think is there's another life for them to **** up.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Devi wrote: »
    I don't know about scumbags increasing but I do no heroin use is on the rise. Heroin use is a lot more visible than say coke use, which used to be the drug of choice for these people. By the way this isn't just a Dublin thing, it's all over the midlands as well, possibly the country. You go through any midlands town on dole day and you'll see it, swear you were in Dublin.

Yes that particular problem has spread and as you say its much more noticeable in smaller towns. Such a scourge.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Living in the middle of nowhere the nearest thing to a scumbag I'd normally see would be a pensioner with a fondness for sleeping tablets but on a trip to the big schmoke lately I had the experience of being surrounded on a luas by a bunch of proper dodgy characters. Head to toe in Nike or Adidas, fidgeting with their genitals, incessant talk of methadone, the odd loud "Ah heyer leave it out" - The air of menace was palpable. I kept my head down and thought of Sunday shpins and sups of tae.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

joetoad wrote: »
    Did Ireland always have scumbags or is the situation getting worse year by year. Hate walking around dublin and you see heroin addicts, scumbags with their tracksuits and there hats at 90 degree angle. It seems to be getting worse year by year. You just know by looking at the person that there going to be on the dole for life, shot or put in prison. Yesterday I walked past a junkie taking a dump on a footpath. The amount of human ****e around dublin is disgusting

it's not just a dublin thing.
    i have a feeling you'd see people of that physical description a lot more in smaller towns. they might not be strung out on heroin, but they want to look like the hard boys from the big shmoke. sometimes, they're even worse, in terms of violence and stupidity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 228 ✭✭shinkansen

Did Ireland always have scumbags or is the situation getting worse year by year. Hate walking around dublin and you see heroin addicts, scumbags with their tracksuits and there hats at 90 degree angle. It seems to be getting worse year by year. You just know by looking at the person that there going to be on the dole for life, shot or put in prison. Yesterday I walked past a junkie taking a dump on a footpath. The amount of human ****e around dublin is disgusting

get out of Dublin

simples.

it's not just a dublin thing.
    i have a feeling you'd see people of that physical description a lot more in smaller towns. they might not be strung out on heroin, but they want to look like the hard boys from the big shmoke. sometimes, they're even worse, in terms of violence and stupidity.

I grew up in the midlands and there were the dodgy types from bad housing estates. I think any town, once it gets large enough develops bad areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

they should be encouraged to not have kids or more kids ... get thoses tubes tied and the snip. you cant expect druggies to be good parents

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Dfmnoc

i say we get together in a big group and go scum "bashing", that'll teach them

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Jay D wrote: »
    I happen to remember a time when wearing a tracksuit other than going to the gym or football match etc. was ok and ponses who said it wasn't were frowned upon.

Those days are gone :)

I even remember a time you could wear a cap anyway you wanted and it was ok. Even if you did feel a slight show off should you put it on backwards.

Get over yourself people. Dublin is not that bad. I'd be more worried about the lack of amenities there are to be honest.

Certain element of cop-on always helps which is so clearly lacked by so many.

The tracksuit etc. has become a bit of a uniform but really it wouldn't matter what the person is wearing if the person is a wrongun.
    Not that bad in comparison to what ? Lacking what amenities ?
    We need a decent , working, integrated transport network but this seems to be pushed out further and further into the future. At the same time the fares are going up to cover security to deal with said scumbags. All the while they either have legitimate access to free transport or sucessfully evade the fare leaving everyone else to finance it.

I'm pretty fed up that my ticket payments in part help transport scummers into town for a good day on the rob or begging.

I do apply cop-on as you put it but have limited options when it comes to transport choices or passing through particular parts of town.
    The times I've seen the most potential for trouble are not even after dark.
    I also live close to 2 different health board hostels one of which seems to be for alcoholics or at least is a wet hostel. Thankfully thusfar I've never been the subject of any abuse or victim of a crime. In the main the people are more harm to themselves than others but many would have a fairly different standard when it comes to hygiene and how to behave in public. Public urination, drinking, smoking, spitting and drug taking are all par for the course as are loud arguments amongst themselves.

Junkies are easy to spot but do not comprise the entirety of the scumbag population. Its not pleasant to see someone who is messed up but mostly their problems only impact on me in the way described above - their shoplifting, petty crime and fare evasion ultimately cost me money.

There is another type of scummer who is far worse they purposely set about making trouble harassing people in the street, orchestrating fights and general causing drama.

It would also be nice if security outside of shops and drivers on public transport could call on their cop-on but they only have limited resource and potential back-up so sometimes people will be allowed smoke/ drink / act the maggot unabated.
    Its truly not worth the hassle for the individual but it sucks for the rest of us.

Returning to the junkie thing for a minute a city like Glasgow has a similar issue with heroin. They certainly have some issues with anti-social behaviour and the areas around the main train station are grim enough.
    However, any of the times I've visited Glasgow firstly locals and even guidebooks have warned of this potential danger. We have a bunch of hotels, hostels and B&Bs in perhaps the scummiest part of the city centre and all we highlight is proximity to the airport and Temple Bar.
    Secondly, I've never gotten on public transport in Glasgow or gone into restaurants / pubs where the scummers were right there with me.

Maybe the situation in Dublin is no worse now than it ever was, maybe its the ratio of normal people to scumbags that has changed.
    In any case I find it sad that seemingly nothing can be done about it and that the onus is on ordinary people to avoid certain areas just to be safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Yes and why did they take heroin in the first place? Oh now I know cause there scumbags

This is quite possibly the most mind bogglingly retarded statement I've ever seen on AH, and yes I realize that's quite a title to be bestowing on it.
    Also, protip: If you're going to go around accusing people of being scumbags or anything else, it would be prudent to first learn to differentiate between the "there"s.

Scumbags have their problems but I'm sure their able to use grammar in they're writings :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Outside Dublin in rural areas you have gangs of young pikeys who dont give a f@ck about any law of the state.....state funded parasites!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Always find it strange how many people who are appalled at " junkies " are the very same who socialise in fancy places where coke is acceptable.

Or how those addicted to heroin are vilified, whilst those addicted to drink, gambling or sex get classified as " just a real man's man "

I would go so far as to say addictions are part of most people's lives either directly or via family, and to refer to someone as " junk " says more about you than it does the person with a genuine emotional illness. ;)

I wouldn't put it like that, but you are right in the sense that those who are addicted to heroin really are viewed as the very bottom rung of society.

For example, alcoholics typically keep to themselves on the streets and will not socialise with junkies.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Dublin City centre in the 80's/early 90's was a depressing looking kip,there was always "scum" but at least now the city looks a hell of a lot better than it did

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

They are much more visible in Dublin city than compared to 10 years ago in my humbler. If you walk around Talbot St, Abbey St cross over by Liberty Hall or O'Connell Bridge and Pearse St there are huge gangs every day. All brought into the city for their drug treatment programmes and the homeless unit at Pearse St and ripe pickings then for the dealers.
    I've seen them regurgitate methadone to resell, they've blocked up the lane at D'olier st beside the centra as they were congregating there and the smell was hideous. They are like herds from the Walking Dead. I find it very disturbing and intimidating walking past them as I've seen many fights break out. I don't have the answers, if you move treatment elsewhere the herds and dealers a like will follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

pc7 wrote: »
    They are much more visible in Dublin city than compared to 10 years ago in my humbler. If you walk around Talbot St, Abbey St cross over by Liberty Hall or O'Connell Bridge and Pearse St there are huge gangs every day. All brought into the city for their drug treatment programmes and the homeless unit at Pearse St and ripe pickings then for the dealers.
    I've seen them regurgitate methadone to resell, they've blocked up the lane at D'olier st beside the centra as they were congregating there and the smell was hideous. They are like herds from the Walking Dead. I find it very disturbing and intimidating walking past them as I've seen many fights break out. I don't have the answers, if you move treatment elsewhere the herds and dealers a like will follow.

You'd think they'd steer clear of Talbot Street after the "AH HEEYAR, LEAVE IT BLEEDIN' OUUU" incident :p

• Registered Users Posts: 29 LuciusPax

pc7 wrote: »

I agree completely. I have to pass by abbey street every day and it's an absolute mess, seems worse then it used to be.I know these people have had awful lives and more than likely haven't had a chance growing up because their parents we're addicts,alcoholics or whatever. But to be honest that goes out the window when you're accosted by one. You don't want a heart to heart with them or a sympathetic chat (and they don't want one either).You just want them to feck off and leave you alone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

I met my old school principal recently. Its 25 years since I finished school and we had a chat. His theory is that the lower class Dubs who sold out and moved down around the country brought their habits with them and as a result they have infected large area's of the country.

He said go to any school with an hour or 2 of dublin and kids have dublin accents, no respect for anything, excessive violence and drug use is normal from first year.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I blame society.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 ryathoe

CJC999 wrote: »
    So long as the social welfare system in the country continues to hand out free money to these **** then it will get worse. The problem is, that despite the fact that scumbags are generally as stupid as mud, they unfortunately mate with each other creating more potential Scumbags for the future. Not the kids fault, I know, but nonetheless they'll probably end up like their scumbag parents.

Why don't people on the dole have to do work for their money - likely cleaning the parks ..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Yes in my OP I never mentioned the homeless where a lot of them are nice people. What I said was they could save for themselves and get a place but most of them have mental illnesses which is sad

You cannot draw the dole without an address

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

And don't they get the dole? Surely they could save 120 a week and get themselves a place to live after a month or two.

Last time I checked you needed a fixed address to be on the dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭Devi

I met my old school principal recently. Its 25 years since I finished school and we had a chat. His theory is that the lower class Dubs who sold out and moved down around the country brought their habits with them and as a result they have infected large area's of the country.

He said go to any school with an hour or 2 of dublin and kids have dublin accents, no respect for anything, excessive violence and drug use is normal from first year.

Can’t say I agree with your ex principle, most of the bad habits (unemployment, alcoholism, etc) were there before the boom and mass exodus of dubs to the satellite towns, just the drug of choice has changed. More likely the infection (as you called it)of non social acceptable drugs, such as weed, coke and heroin, comes from the fact culchie scumbags can now get to Dublin quicker to get their drugs off the dub scumbags, due to the improved infrastructure we have now.

Why is there always so much deflection in these threads...

1 - It's not the tracksuit

2 - it's not the drugs

3 - it's not the accent or where they are from

Nobody cares about these things - all they want is to be left in peace and not be constantly harassed for smokes/change or just to be plain intimidated on a bus or Luas. If the scum were keeping to themselves there would be no problem whatsoever. I can tell you, it's not me interjecting myself into their lives.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Yes and why did they take heroin in the first place? Oh now I know cause there scumbags

Heroin is no worse than Oxycodone, Morphine Or Hydromorphone. It's when put into the wrong hands it becomes a problem. Under the chemical names diamorphine and diacetylmorphine, heroin is a legally prescribed controlled drug in the United Kingdom, and is supplied in tablet or injectable form for the same indications as morphine and is, often being preferred over morphine due to its lower side-effect profile. Like most opiods, unadulterated heroin does not cause many long-term complications other than dependence and constipation. Do a little a research before you start spouting tripe.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Why is there always so much deflection in these threads...

1 - It's not the tracksuit

2 - it's not the drugs

3 - it's not the accent or where they are from

Nobody cares about these things - all they want is to be left in peace and not be constantly harassed for smokes/change or just to be plain intimidated on a bus or Luas. If the scum were keeping to themselves there would be no problem whatsoever. I can tell you, it's not me interjecting myself into their lives.

I was at castleknock train station a while back. A scumbag and his mate walked onto the platform drinking beer. One approached me and asked me for a cigarette. I gave him one. He then came back and asked for one for a joint. I showed him the pack and said "Sorry, it's my last one". He told me if I didn't give it to him he'd take it from me. I picked up my bag and moved further down the platform. Most of these scumbags are harmless and full of bluster. But that doesn't mean that they're not intimidating or annoying.
    It got to the point where there were certain places I wouldn't light up because I knew one of the fcukers would bother me.
    Your right, I don't care if they had bad upbringings, or if they never went to school. It's no excuse for being a dick and trying to terrorise people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 357 ✭✭ballygowan1

Thats what happens when you put all the methadone clinics in the city centre.

Also the Gardai are just not interested in Dublin city. They have let it get out of hand and it has just gotten worse and worse.

In my opinion, both of those factors contribute the most.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Grayson wrote: »
    I was at castleknock train station a while back. A scumbag and his mate walked onto the platform drinking beer. One approached me and asked me for a cigarette. I gave him one. He then came back and asked for one for a joint. I showed him the pack and said "Sorry, it's my last one". He told me if I didn't give it to him he'd take it from me. I picked up my bag and moved further down the platform. Most of these scumbags are harmless and full of bluster. But that doesn't mean that they're not intimidating or annoying.
    It got to the point where there were certain places I wouldn't light up because I knew one of the fcukers would bother me.
    Your right, I don't care if they had bad upbringings, or if they never went to school. It's no excuse for being a dick and trying to terrorise people.
    You are a disgrace. You should have given him your last smoke, where is your humanity. This guy was suffering with addiction and probably had a poor upbringing. He probably lacked facilities.