Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland Vs Austria - K/O 7:45PM - Sky Sports 2 & RTÉ 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Couldn't keep the ball at the end, fecking disaster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Serves Trap right .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,555 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Good night Vienna!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

taking off long was a huge mistake...moving walters into the centre was a huge mistake....leaving sammon on for the full 90 minutes was horrific!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,583 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Trap should walk now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

And that's that for Rio.

Manager hold your hand up.

Booed off :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

FFS, Green for Long = no qualifying. Good work Trap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

Trap you ****in dickhead. Why did u take long off, you fool, nobody else to blame here but yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Downlinz wrote: »
    heartbreaking but that kid is world class, we desperately could do with someone of his quality.

Trap wouldn't pick him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,990 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Lack of effective substitutions killed us.
    Nothing to do with subs, the players just starting sitting deeper and deeper, didn't matter who you had on the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

How he didn't use 3 subs. How? They could barely walk at the end. Even a sub in injury time to waste 30s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

That's heartbreaking...you could see it coming tho.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Great first half performance, absolutely terrible second half performance. Why couldn't Trap change his ****ing 4-4-2?

Jax Teller wrote: »
    Serves Trap right .

Don't agree....we didn't have the players to go out and get a third and kill off this game.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Ah JAYSUS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

That last free kick, what were they doing. Should have just kept it in the corner.

Sickening...so sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Bloody useless Italian pensioner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Absolutely ridiculous that another substitution was not used to try and keep possession. And Green on the wing? **** that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Have to lol at everyone blaming trap. Major lol.

15 seconds from a deserves win.

Cop on lads FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

That's all on Trappatoni. Disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,044 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Feel sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,318 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Absolutely typical, I must say though the Irish players could not do the basics of holding the ball

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

For a very defensive side, why was it we could not hold onto the ball near the end and wait out the clock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

Its terrible

Trap you ****in dickhead. Why did u take long off, you fool, nobody else to blame here but yourself

How would Long have stopped that goal?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

****ing soul destroying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

eagle eye wrote: »
    Nothing to do with subs, the players just starting sitting deeper and deeper, didn't matter who you had on the park.

Haha you are gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,961 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Let's not take anything away from the lads though - I thought it was over after the 1st but what an amazing comeback in the first half.

Trap as usual f&cks it up in the last third though by doing nothing but standing there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Downlinz

A moment of magic from Alaba is not Trap's fault....
    Suppose Hoolahan would have defended that and deflected it into the goal the opposite end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

We deserve that. That's what you get when you make it your business to try not win. No doubt he'll still be defended to the hilt by the usual suspects. Pathetic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Why was green playing? Heartbreaking. Why the **** didn't trap change things up. **** sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Token "Are Ireland and Traps done?" thread is on the way I feel.
    Surely he's gone after tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

murpho999 wrote: »
    Don't agree....we didn't have the players to go out and get a third and kill off this game.

We didn't need to get a third we just needed to hold onto the ball and stop them scoring .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

The manager is terrible.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

eagle eye wrote: »

We needed an additional midfielder to win possession in midfield, that was pretty clear to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Trap you spineless ****. Where the **** was Hoolahan when we needed someone to put a foot on the ball? Green for Long ffs?! Should have been Hoolahan for Sammon. Typical bull**** from that senile old fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

FutureGuy wrote: »

Cop on lads FFS.

I think he could have made subs for the sake of killing time and knocking Austria's momentum at the end.

fullstop wrote: »
    Trap you spineless ****. Where the **** was Hoolahan when we needed someone to put a foot on the ball? Green for Long ffs?! Should have been Hoolahan for Sammon. Typical bull**** from that senile old fool.

ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

Suckerpunched, but to be honest they deserved something from it.

Big ask to qualify now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Why was green playing? Heartbreaking. Why the **** didn't trap change things up. **** sake

Lol. A few days ago he was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Cop on lads FFS.

Sorry but that's crap. We couldn't string two passes together for the last 20 minutes and were under immense pressure and Trap's solution is to put on Paul Green and play him on the right wing.

The right substitutions would have closed out the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Pissed off with that, it was always going to happen. We were out on our feet since the 60 min mark, sat back ad invited a very good team onto us. Worst thing is we still had an unused sub, the lads on the pitch gave everything, they just ran out of steam, fully understandable.

One sub unused? Can't believe it.

Long should have stayed on, he had energy left and Sammon was out on his feet.

Game over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Cop on lads FFS.

It was not a deserved win. You're blind if you think so. That sort of result has been threatening to happen everytime we play under Trappatoni. We never go for the killer third. We were 2-1 up with 45 minutes to go and we created nothing outside of set pieces. It's poor tactics and once again Austria were there for the taking. Judging by both games we could have got 6 points, we should have got at least 4, but to only get two just isn't good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Sammon had nothing left after 65 minutes. He ran himself into the ground (credit to him).

EVERYONE could see this. FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Dunphy delighted with himself after saying we had no cause to be optimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Panthro wrote: »
    Token "Are Ireland and Traps done?" thread is on the way I feel.
    Surely he's gone after tonight.
    let Trap go .......but keep Manuela ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

Thought we played some very positive football. We had the game wrapped up until the seventieth minute when players started to tire. We had two/three subs and we should have used them.

Seeing Walters barely able to run back for the last goal was heart-breaking. He should have been replaced much earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭buyer95

Dunphy looks close to tears