Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Upcoming Fights **Mod note: Keep discussion to fight night threads**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Ticket got for the Katie fight. Cheapest is $65 and they have shut down the middle tiers knowing it probably wont be a big seller. Spike not appearing:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

Quigg almost 2.5 lbs overweight for his fight against Valdez. Considering he just moved up weight, that’s a bad joke.

Lomachenko vs Linares is about to be announced for May 12th.

Loma doesn't hang about does he?

• Registered Users Posts: 55,525 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Delighted with this..

It is Loma’s biggest/toughest test to date IMO, based mainly off him being smaller by more than he was against any other opponent, including a fat Salido, and Linares can box and fight...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Good first fight for Loma at 135 but nothing more than that imo. More exciting than the Rigo fight for sure but that was a total foregone conclusion. Linares just had a very competitive fight with Luke Campbell. He's not going to beat Lomachenko. I don't see size as a big factor between the two of them.

The most exciting thing about the fight is that it'll make Lomachenko the mandatory for Mikey Garcia.

Lomachenko vs Linares is about to be announced for May 12th.

Loma doesn't hang about does he?

Now officially confirmed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Porthallian

Hoping someone can help. I'm trying to find fight times and full card details for the Conlan v Berna card on Saturday in Madison Square Garden theatre.
    Actually gonna be in New York for St Patrick's day and would love to go.

Says 5.30pm on Ticketmaster which seems very early.
    Would I be right to assume that 8-9pm would be the main or co-main event?

Appreciate any help at all. Thanks.

Hoping someone can help. I'm trying to find fight times and full card details for the Conlan v Berna card on Saturday in Madison Square Garden theatre.
    Actually gonna be in New York for St Patrick's day and would love to go.

Says 5.30pm on Ticketmaster which seems very early.
    Would I be right to assume that 8-9pm would be the main or co-main event?

Appreciate any help at all. Thanks.

Yes, 2100-2200 hrs is usually the main card/fight for NY fights. They screen here just after 0200 hrs. Possibly 0300 hrs.

Page 4 has some information

http://boxrec.com/en/schedule?offset=60

MC is 3rd in going by the card. So expect him in the ring after 6 I'd say. Midnight or thereabouts Irish time.

Saturday 17, March 2018
    Madison Square Garden Theater, New York, New York, USA
    commission New York State Athletic Commission
    promoter Bob Arum (Top Rank)
    matchmaker Brad Goodman
    television USA ESPN
    division boxer w-l-d
    last 6
    rounds opponent w-l-d
    last 6
    Pending Approval
    super lightweight Jose Carlos Ramirez 21 0 0 S 12 Amir Imam 21 1 0

vacant World Boxing Council World Super Lightweight Title
    light heavyweight Oleksandr Gvozdyk 14 0 0 S 12 Mehdi Amar 34 5 2

interim World Boxing Council World Light Heavyweight Title
    lightweight Felix Verdejo 23 0 0 S 10 Antonio Lozada Jr 38 2 0

super featherweight Christopher Diaz 22 0 0 S 10 Braulio Rodriguez 19 2 0

lightweight Jose Pedraza 22 1 0 S 10 TBA

super bantamweight Michael Conlan 5 0 0 S 8 David Berna 15 2 0

super bantamweight Jose Gonzalez 8 0 2 S 6 Adan Gonzales 3 1 2

super featherweight Joseph Adorno 5 0 0 S 4 Ivan de la Madrid 3 2 0

walshb wrote: »
    Yes, 2100-2200 hrs is usually the main card/fight for NY fights. They screen here just after 0200 hrs. Possibly 0300 hrs.

Page 4 has some information

http://boxrec.com/en/schedule?offset=60

MC is 3rd in going by the card. So expect him in the ring after 6 I'd say. Midnight or thereabouts Irish time.

Saturday 17, March 2018
    Madison Square Garden Theater, New York, New York, USA
    commission New York State Athletic Commission
    promoter Bob Arum (Top Rank)
    matchmaker Brad Goodman
    television USA ESPN
    division boxer w-l-d
    last 6
    rounds opponent w-l-d
    last 6
    Pending Approval
    super lightweight Jose Carlos Ramirez 21 0 0 S 12 Amir Imam 21 1 0

vacant World Boxing Council World Super Lightweight Title
    light heavyweight Oleksandr Gvozdyk 14 0 0 S 12 Mehdi Amar 34 5 2

interim World Boxing Council World Light Heavyweight Title
    lightweight Felix Verdejo 23 0 0 S 10 Antonio Lozada Jr 38 2 0

super featherweight Christopher Diaz 22 0 0 S 10 Braulio Rodriguez 19 2 0

lightweight Jose Pedraza 22 1 0 S 10 TBA

super bantamweight Michael Conlan 5 0 0 S 8 David Berna 15 2 0

super bantamweight Jose Gonzalez 8 0 2 S 6 Adan Gonzales 3 1 2

super featherweight Joseph Adorno 5 0 0 S 4 Ivan de la Madrid 3 2 0

Can't thank you enough for this mate. Cheers!

Might be a rush now as I'm also attending a MLS SOCCER game in Yankee Stadium at 3.30pm.

Probably be at Madison Square Garden by 6pm though.
    Just hope I'm in there in time for the 3rd fight.

Thanks again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Can't thank you enough for this mate. Cheers!

Might be a rush now as I'm also attending a MLS SOCCER game in Yankee Stadium at 3.30pm.

Probably be at Madison Square Garden by 6pm though.
    Just hope I'm in there in time for the 3rd fight.

Thanks again

When leaving the Yankees Stadium get the B or the D subway train from 161 Street - Yankee Stadium Station to 34 St - Herald Sq stop. You are very close to Madison Square Garden and this would be the quickest way to get there.

ThunderCat wrote: »
    When leaving the Yankees Stadium get the B or the D subway train from 161 Street - Yankee Stadium Station to 34 St - Herald Sq stop. You are very close to Madison Square Garden and this would be the quickest way to get there.

Apologies for slightly derailing this thread with my travel plans. But thank you both so much for the advice! Going to be a fantastic weekend of sport.

Enjoy the fights lads!

Leave the game early if you can too just to give yourself a wee bit of extra time as this saturday in the city will be carnage!
    I'm in Section 305.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Apologies for slightly derailing this thread with my travel plans. But thank you both so much for the advice! Going to be a fantastic weekend of sport.

Enjoy the fights lads!

No trouble at all. The subway station is just behind Gate 6 of the stadium, near the McDonalds. I did a stadium tour there a while back and that's how I got to/from the stadium. Best of luck.

Just updated their website....

Should show his fight if they go to air at midnight..

The bout sheet is on Top Rank's website

Conlan is fighting last on the bill surely? Would be poor planning putting him on earlier and having half the arena empty out for the main event you'd imagine.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭megadodge

I see Jame McDonnell goes to Japan to meet Inoue on 25 May.
    Very interesting fight that. McDonnell could give him problems, so it's the type of fight that will show how good Inoue is.

BoxNation on air at midnight to show the Conlan fight..it’s advertised on the tv as Conlan-Berna.

Billy Joe/Murray fight postponed till June 23....

I’m devastated...

The theory out there is that Canelo might be on the verge of getting a suspension and Saunders is keeping himself available for early May incase he gets to step in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭megadodge

Morrison J wrote: »
    The theory out there is that Canelo might be on the verge of getting a suspension and Saunders is keeping himself available for early May incase he gets to step in.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

pac_man wrote: »
    Very interested to see how Josh Taylor gets on v Viktor Postol on 23rd June.

Christ that’s a tough fight for his 13th bout! Fair play though!

The McGuigan's are moving him brilliantly. He'll stop Postol I think. He really struggles against southpaws. Nearly got knocked out in his last fight against one. Crawford had most of his joy against him when switched to southpaw too.

Ridiculously soft division is 140 at the moment..

Two interesting world FW bouts this weekend for Carl Frampton...

Russell/Diaz and Selby/Warrington..

He’ll be more likely targeting the Selby/Warrington winner..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,968 ✭✭✭Big Ears

walshb wrote: »
    Two interesting world FW bouts this weekend for Carl Frampton...

Russell/Diaz and Selby/Warrington..

He’ll be more likely targeting the Selby/Warrington winner..

Barring cuts/injury/a draw I'd be confident enough he'll be fighting the winner of Selby vs Warrington come August.

Paddy Barnes is getting a crack at the WBC flyweight title on the Carl Frampton undercard.

http://boxrec.com/en/boxer/652156

Doesn't seem like he deserves or is ready for this?

Frampton’s opponent (Australia’s Luke Jackson) a bit of a stepdown/disappointment...

Now we just wait for Fury’s handbag to be announced..