Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Just found my 2nd club to follow......

• 25-03-2013 8:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭

Guernsey FC.

Just watching Sky Sports News ,And the piece on Guernsey FC ,after having to call off over 30 matches this season they have to play 24 games between now and the end of the season ,will be playing Friday, Saturday and Sunday some weekends :eek: ,should be a real rollercoaster of a run ,

also any club that trys to use a helicopter to dry their pitch deserves support.

Run starts away to Raynes Park Vale tommorrow night...

COME ON THE GREEN LIONS......

• Registered Users Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭VW 1

Have a look on the guardian website, they did an interesting piece on this on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Their Honorary President is Matthew Le Tissier.

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

I've been watching their rise. Playing in front of 2000+ crowds and hammering most teams they play. Won't be long until they're in the Football League.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Why not choose a League of Ireland team instead?

Nuclear-Explosion-001.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Is that the team that has to pay for flights for all their home matches otherwise the away team wouldn't fly over ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

sounds class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Isint that an island between france and england or around the coast of france like jersey?

Gone are the days of go ahead eagles, all hail guernsey fc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Why not choose a League of Ireland team instead?

Nuclear-Explosion-001.jpg

Maybe the OPs first team is a LOI team.

<checks OPs post history. Joins Francie in fallout shelter>

klose wrote: »
    Isint that an island between france and england or around the coast of france like jersey?

Gone are the days of go ahead eagles, all hail guernsey fc!

Yes, closer to France (30km) than to Wembley (75km)
    greendom wrote: »
    Is that the team that has to pay for flights for all their home matches otherwise the away team wouldn't fly over ?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Lucan Bohs wrote: »

That's pretty disengenious, strasbourg is closer to germany that paris :confused::confused:

unless you meant uk mainland instead of wembley

That's pretty disengenious, strasbourg is closer to germany that paris :confused::confused:

Dunno what you're on about? Guernsey are 1 game away from Wembley. So the fact they're closer to France than the actual stadium is what I'm getting at

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

They're a lot further than 75km from Wembley. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Lucan Bohs wrote: »

Yes

Er, more like 275km from wembley...

Guernsey is about 110km from Weymouth, which is the closest place in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

irish-stew wrote: »
    Maybe the OPs first team is a LOI team.

<checks OPs post history. Joins Francie in fallout shelter>

No need for shelter my irish team when to the wall over 30 years ago :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Who needs Messi when you have (checks article for guys name again) Ross Allen - 100 goals in 2 seaons :cool:

Guernsey FC striker Ross Allen scored his 100th goal in less than two seasons

Just looking at the table ..

18 pints behind the leaders with 7 games in hand..

It can be done lads...
    just have faith....

5-1

great start ,come on only 23 more games to go....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

They pay for the opposition to travel to Guernsey too, finances there must be fairly solid to afford travel costs every single week.

I think the whole squad is made up of local players too which is fantastic. (might be wrong on that)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

finances there must be fairly solid

In the Channel Islands? Never! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Just looking at the table ..

18 pints behind the leaders with 7 games in hand..

It can be done lads...
    just have faith....
    I would run away with that title.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Room for one more on this bandwagon lads? :)

Once you bring your own barstool :D

FA Vase (semi final 2nd leg) tomorrow against Spennymoor Town (away) ,, Have to overturn 1-3 defeat in first leg ,,

Come on The Green Lions ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Good news for all Guernsey FC supporters. Honarary president for the club Matt LeTissier has announced today that he will play for the club for the remainder of the season. That should be the league title in the bag now.

BBC Sport ‏@BBCSport
    Former Southampton playmaker Matt Le Tissier, 44, has been registered as a player by Guernsey FC because of their fixtures pile-up #saintsfc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Fair play to him. Hope he has been doing some training on the side. He could well pull a muscle in his first game. Then again, I don't think he's capable of moving fast enough to pull a muscle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Would he still dominate at that level despite being fat and old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

He was always fat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

ye but he was mobile enough, he wouldn't have that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

If the match was on TV i'd watch

Le Tissier is an outstanding footballer that didnt rely on the physical side of the game despite being a legend and an england cap. Very few will even dream what he has done in football.

I dont think he's let his fitness go in the manner some suggest but obviously he's not maintaining pro level fitness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

EdenHazard wrote: »
    ye but he was mobile enough, he wouldn't have that now.

if you ever watch those celebrity vs ex pros matches you'll see the old pros are a few classes above the fit celebrities who'd have decent football abilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

EdenHazard wrote: »
    Would he still dominate at that level despite being fat and old?

He's not fat. He did put on a lot of weight after retiring but has lost it all again and probably looks fitter now than in his heyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Guernsey isnt part of the UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭MRPRO03

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Guernsey FC.

Just watching Sky Sports News ,And the piece on Guernsey FC ,after having to call off over 30 matches this season they have to play 24 games between now and the end of the season ,will be playing Friday, Saturday and Sunday some weekends :eek: ,should be a real rollercoaster of a run ,

also any club that trys to use a helicopter to dry their pitch deserves support.

Run starts away to Raynes Park Vale tommorrow night...

COME ON THE GREEN LIONS......

Would you have ever heard of them if it was not for Sky Sports News? Got to be up there with the worst ever reason to follow a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

MRPRO03 wrote: »
    Would you have ever heard of them if it was not for Sky Sports News? Got to be up there with the worst ever reason to follow a team.

Hello Mr Buzzkill :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

MRPRO03 wrote: »

Go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Go away.

Its a good point he makes though.

A team he cant really follow. Cant go to games, cant even see on the TV which is never satisfactory anyway I think we all agree and in this case maybe he cant even read about them. He wont be able to talk with any about else about them in Ireland really.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭MRPRO03

blobby360 wrote: »
    Hello Mr Buzzkill :pac:
    Go away.

Touched a nerve have we ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

Dempsey wrote: »
    I dont think he's let his fitness go in the manner some suggest but obviously he's not maintaining pro level fitness

follow him on twitter, and as it happens he has mentioned doing a lot of running/losing a lot of weight over the last several months, is probably in better shape than at any time since he quit by the sounds of it. Good luck to him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Its a good point he makes though.

A team he cant really follow. Cant go to games, cant even see on the TV which is never satisfactory anyway I think we all agree and in this case maybe he cant even read about them. He wont be able to talk with any about else about them in Ireland really.
    Settle down petal, I don't think he's pretending to be a diehard fan of theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭JaMarcus Hustle

Promoted today despite having to play 20 games in the last 36 days, or on average a game every 43 hours. Great achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Bumping the thread as Guernsey FC begin their season today in the Isthmian League, Southern Division away to Herne Bay.

I think a club like this deserves a bit of a follow, given the trouble they have to go to to play the beautiful game.

Forza Green Lions :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Just found my Football Manager 2014 team anyway. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,579 ✭✭✭✭CSF

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Just found my Football Manager 2014 team anyway. :pac:

You'd be waiting til 2015 and only if they get promoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

CSF wrote: »
    You'd be waiting til 2015 and only if they get promoted.

FM Editor is my friend ;) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,579 ✭✭✭✭CSF

GavRedKing wrote: »
    FM Editor is my friend ;) :pac:
    You've had that option for years!!!