Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relationship Status - ***mod note first post***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Dating
    SB2013 wrote: »
    Co-habiting should be in the poll.

Not so much a relationship status as a living arrangement though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Married and loving it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭cannonballer

You should add Widowed to the poll.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

In a Relationship
    wrote:
    angeldelight

Married and loving it

she knows your boards Id doesnt she

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Where is the married and dating option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Conbhar

Single and Not Looking
    30 single and I guess I'm looking. Not the worst looking chap about but I just can't seem to find someone to match my personality.

No swingers option either........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Not so much a relationship status as a living arrangement though.

Ah, who said romance was dead ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭BullBauld

Single and Not Looking
    I'm 33, single and looking by doing the whole 'if you don't look you will find someone' routine.

Think a change of tack is needed!

The dog is even looking at me like he wants someone else besides me in his life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mtjm

Single and Not Looking
    Single, late 30s am looking (not looking looking but am waiting for something unexpected to happen) love will find it's way to me :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Single and Not Looking
    No swingers option either........

Feck it, That was my suggestion, i just didnt suggest it in time ..

What about single not looking for anything serious, but still looking ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Armaghmagic

Single and Not Looking
    Is there an appropriate forum for flirting??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭StompToWork

Engaged
    So, when does dating turn into a relationship?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Married
    Engaged, been engaged and married twice before, Third time lucky for me.

Single and Not Looking
    So, when does dating turn into a relationship?

I guess you are single untill you have had 3 dates and then you are 'dating' and I suppose when you both agree to "go steady" then you are in a relationship......thats my reckoning anyway :D

realies wrote: »

These youngsters dont want to hear this.
    It creeps them out to think of us oldies finding lurve ;)

There is actually:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1312

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

mtjm wrote: »
    love will find it's way to me

If you're typing that locked in you're bedroom by the glow of the monitor with the curtains drawn in the middle of the afternoon, then no, no it won't......
    am waiting for something unexpected to happen

If the above is true* and you never leave the house, then I'm not so sure someone breaking into your house and having their way with you is a good basis for a relationship:D

(*I'm fairly sure the above isn't true)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

K, that sounds amazing.....

That's what you get when you go out with another guy. It's like riding your best mate and it's the most laid back relationship ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Single and Not Looking

I can't even get one, how the hell have you gotten 3??! Teach me your ways!

Single and Not Looking
    1ZRed wrote: »
    That's what you get when you go out with another guy. It's like riding your best mate and it's the most laid back relationship ever!

Sounds magical ... But sure the same could be said for women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Boards genuinly needs an online dating section. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Single and Not Looking
    Chucken wrote: »

That looks like a very weird corner of the forums...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Dating

oh my god, I never had a clue what that forum was for! I'm so thick :L

Single and Not Looking
    Im actually surprised at how many people are 'single and looking'.....not so with the amount in relationships. I was expecting that sector to win out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭barry181091

Single and Not Looking
    Eh single and trying not to be looking.

Recently enough out of a long enough relationship and still trying to get over the hump.

Sounds magical ... But sure the same could be said for women

I've had it both ways and I've just found a relationship with lads to be more straight forward and easy going. I suppose since we'd share the same guy's perceptive on things there's less misunderstanding about things.

Not saying it's superior to a relationship with women, just different.

I've had it both ways and I've just found a relationship with lads to be more straight forward and easy going. I suppose since we'd share the same guy's perceptive on things there's less misunderstanding about things. .

That might be because, you know, you're gay :P

I don't know how you arrived at that conclusion. Its not like he has mentioned it at any stage. ;):pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Single and Not Looking
    Single, and looking. Without success.

Not really, only the last few years my sexuality shifted more towards the lads.

It's little things like seeing my mates who would be in their early 20s get limited in when they can go out and some who'd need permission if it went on too often. I was with a lad we never had to bother about that and we did as we liked.

Plus no shíte chickflicks! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Married

Love is all encompassing and boundless. It's free. The only "rule" would be to love others in a manner by which you would want to be loved.:)

Single and Not Looking
    Love is all encompassing and boundless. It's free. The only "rule" would be to love others in a manner by which you would want to be loved.:)

From behind swiftly ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Single and Not Looking

From behind swiftly ???

So you like to be loved from behind?

Single and Not Looking
    So you like to be loved from behind?

Single not looking, ok to spoon !! should be added to the list also

Not really, only the last few years my sexuality shifted more towards the lads.

It's little things like seeing my mates who would be in their early 20s get limited in when they can go out and some who'd need permission if it went on too often. I was with a lad we never had to bother about that and we did as we liked.

Plus no shíte chickflicks! :D

Oh right, I didn't realise you could turn gay.

Your mates need to grow up, anyone who is in a relationship where they need permission to do something needs to take a long hard look at why they're with a person like that.

Agreed, chickflicks are shyte. I'm sure there are men (gay and straight) who like them though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

try again. fail again. fail better. ;)

Your mates need to grow up, anyone who is in a relationship where they need permission to do something needs to take a long hard look at why they're with a person like that.

Agreed, chickflicks are shyte. I'm sure there are men (gay and straight) who like them though.

No you can't obviously, but my interest shifted as I got older. I had no control over it.

I agree with you, the two of them that are whipped and sometimes have to run it by them to see if there's no issue shouldn't put up with it, but thing is sometimes all the lads that are in a relationship will get pissed off a few times because their girlfriends are pissed off that they're out. I think it's crazy, but I've seen it often enough, and not just in my circle of friends but with older groups of guys too.

I doubt they all need to grow up just because they get some stick off their girlfriends for enjoying themselves as much as they'd want to.

That's just something I noticed I didn't have to deal with as much, if ever he thought I was going out too much and maybe not seeing me as often, he could just come out drinking with the lads as well. That's pretty much how that potential confrontation was always avoided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Single and Not Looking

There is a flirtar thread/forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭PandaX9

Single, not actively looking but you know, if Tom Hardy suddenly left his fiancée and decided to give me a call, I'm sure it wouldn't be too difficult to find the time and try to slot him in somewhere..

.. My cats and I are destined for an eternity of Bridget Jones ..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Dating
    Well I dunno about turn Whoops, but I have known a few people who echo 1ZRed's experience. Started off identifying as straight and had gay relationships and even settled down in one. I haven't asked all of them. Not something you bring up in polite convo... "Jaysus the weathers shíte eh?. So how come you're gay now?" :) But the ones I have chatted with said they were convinced they were straight but later as 1ZRed put it their "interest shifted". One woman I knew thinks of herself as straight, but had a same sex relationship for over a year and now she's straight again(even during it she thought of herself as "straight"). It's all very fluid with some folks I suppose and fair enough.
    +1000 Whoops, I'd be gone like a shot TBH, though I have known sooooo many guys(and a couple of gals, but less so*) in that kinda situation. I've known two guys who got married in front of near strangers because the wife didn't "approve" of his mates, so they were only allowed to the afters. Currently I can think of another two who would get a low level background hard time over this kinda thing. They'd be "let out", but there would be a face on afterwards and their longtermer/wife would go out much more. Had a couple of close calls myself TBH. It can sneak up on you too, in the heady luuurve early days.
    Oh sure there are. Hell I've watched a few myself :)

Me, I'd be single and not looking. Circumstances at the mo would be part of it, but mostly I really don't feel the need for a relationship at all at the moment and for quite a while too. I've met some very nice women in the last few years, but looking back my longtermers tended to be women who were bloody hard work. There was always some sort of crisis. They never took the day off from their lives kinda thing. There was a time I could go with the flow, but not now. That said clearly I was selecting for that type as there are many many out there that aren't hard work, so it's not them as such but more like I can't trust myself to pick a good un. :D

* I've known fewer women well so that likely explains the diff in numbers,

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

Wibbs wrote: »
    Me, I'd be single and not looking. Circumstances at the mo would be part of it, but mostly I really don't feel the need for a relationship at all at the moment and for quite a while too. I've met some very nice women in the last few years, but looking back my longtermers tended to be women who were bloody hard work. There was always some sort of crisis. They never took the day off from their lives kinda thing. There was a time I could go with the flow, but not now. That said clearly I was selecting for that type as there are many many out there that aren't hard work, so it's not them as such but more like I can't trust myself to pick a good un. :D

I hear you. Singles of the World! Unite and -

oh, right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Single and Not Looking
    PandaX9 wrote: »
    Single, not actively looking but you know, if Tom Hardy suddenly left his fiancée and decided to give me a call, I'm sure it wouldn't be too difficult to find the time and try to slot him in somewhere..

.. My cats and I are destined for an eternity of Bridget Jones ..

That's not going to happen. I already have dibbs on him and i know exactly where im gonna slot him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Neadine

Single, late 30s am looking (not looking looking but am waiting for something unexpected to happen) love will find it's way to me :cool:

Waiting for someone to ring the door bell too then!?! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Dating
    Single, not actively looking but available upon request.

Single and Not Looking

I don't know how you arrived at that conclusion. Its not like he has mentioned it at any stage. ;):pac:

Agreed, any more name calling whoopsadaisy and i will have to have a word with your superiors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Single and Not Looking
    Male, Single, late 20s - seeks lady who enjoys activities such as throwing things at random people, poking fun at passers by and long walks in dangerous neighborhoods. Dial - - - - -

I've posted this in all the telephone booths in Dublin and still not a single caller! :pac:

Missing the sheep option for the lonely farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Neadine

Missing the sheep option for the lonely farmers.

Would that constitute being in a relationship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,479 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Single and Not Looking
    this deserves to be in here id think