Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Repeating leaving cert to do vet med

Options
  • 25-03-2013 10:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1

Hi,

I'm 29 in 2 days and have finally decided I could actually do veterinary medicine! (I didn't work hard enough for my leaving and had a habit of self doubt and avoiding anything hard when I was younger)

I've been researching my options and it looks as thought repeating my leaving I'd the best one. I have an arts degree and a post grad but not science related and don't think I'd get into the grad program as the places are so limited.

I was wondering if someone could explain to me the repeating of the leaving...I got 445 first time so not enough and I didn't do chemistry so I definitely need to do that but am unsure about other subjects about how points are calculated etc do I need to repeat 6 subjects (including chemistry) or how would it work?

Any help would be great...my head is melted from trying to figure out how to finally give my dream a shot!!

Thanks!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

Hi aislinnd.
    aislinnd wrote: »
    I've been researching my options and it looks as thought repeating my leaving I'd the best one. I have an arts degree and a post grad but not science related and don't think I'd get into the grad program as the places are so limited.

You could apply for the 5 year grad entry for those with a non science degree:
    The four year graduate entry programme is open to applicants who: