Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish Actor Jailed In UK For Tax Fraud

• 26-03-2013 2:38am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/irish-actor-jailed-in-film-tax-fraud-1.1338595

"Five people, including Newry-born actor Aoife Madden, have been jailed in London for an “extraordinary” tax fraud, where they tried to claim up to £3 million in tax breaks for a film they never intended to make.

Once a girlfriend of BBC presenter Chris Evans, Madden (32), who had pleaded guilty to two counts of conspiracy to cheat the public revenue, was yesterday sentenced at Southwark Crown Court to four years and eight months in jail."

Hard to have a lot of sympathy here. Over 4 years is a pretty rough stretch, certainly sends a message.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Tearwave

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/irish-actor-jailed-in-film-tax-fraud-1.1338595

"Five people, including Newry-born actor Aoife Madden, have been jailed in London for an “extraordinary” tax fraud, where they tried to claim up to £3 million in tax breaks for a film they never intended to make.

Once a girlfriend of BBC presenter Chris Evans, Madden (32), who had pleaded guilty to two counts of conspiracy to cheat the public revenue, was yesterday sentenced at Southwark Crown Court to four years and eight months in jail."

Hard to have a lot of sympathy here. Over 4 years is a pretty rough stretch, certainly sends a message.
    Seems along par with covering an autistic boy in oil and burning him to death, carry on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

At least she'll be famous for something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

At least she'll have no problem acting tough on her first day inside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

She'd probably have got a suspended sentence here:rolleyes:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Money was just resting in her account, I am sure of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭The Barefoot Pizza Thief

I wouldn't mind but together they had some talent and could have easily made that money given time. The "fake" (rather aptly titled) movie they did make looked half decent, especially considering they just rushed it and make it for very little just to make it look as if they had spent the money they had said they did. Here's the trailer:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

You mean like the one Paul Begley got ?:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

It doesn't say anything about her being irish? Typical, you lot tried to steal our Daniel day and now yous are after this one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Argo Fcuk yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

John Pointing sounds like he should have auditioned for the detective role in Landscape of lies himself

John Pointing, Revenue’s assistant director of criminal investigation, said: “This gang thought they could exploit rules for genuine British filmmakers and thieve from the public purse for their own gain. They were wrong.
    “Falsely claiming VAT that is not due is illegal, so we are pleased that instead of this film flop going straight to DVD, these small-screen Z-listers are going straight to jail,” Mr Pointing added.

http://knowyourmeme.com/photos/4672

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

gallag wrote: »
    It doesn't say anything about her being irish? Typical, you lot tried to steal our Daniel day and now yous are after this one!

She is a niece of Sinn Fein's Conor Murphy and is from Newry, so i'm quite sure she considers herself to be Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

In before the garlic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

In before the garlic.

too late. Paul Begley already mentioned

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

Hammar wrote: »

She is a niece of Sinn Fein's Conor Murphy and is from Newry, so i'm quite sure she considers herself to be Irish.
    Hey, just saying, born in the UK, lives in the UK, jailed in the UK, but your probably right and I am just being a pedantic ass lol. Ill tell you what, yous can clame this one but if she ever wins an Oscar we will revisit this conversation :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

robbiezero wrote: »
    too late. Paul Begley already mentioned

I only know him as 'The garlic man'.

That's a pretty damned ingenious scheme, in all fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Did I see one of the Loose Women presenters in that trailer :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,603 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

That's a pretty damned ingenious scheme, in all fairness.

Maybe they'll make a film/musical about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Akrasia wrote: »
    Maybe they'll make a film/musical about it

Stir Crazy 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Where was the money being siphoned off to does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It probably wouldn't even have gone to court here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

She used to be Chris Evan's (BBC now I think) girlfriend, would have been good for making the right media connections. So she might have gotten used to the high life and expensive tastes.

She's not that clever if she got caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

TheUsual wrote: »
    She used to be Chris Evan's (BBC now I think) girlfriend, would have been good for making the right media connections. So she might have gotten used to the high life and expensive tastes.

For all that, she still had to endure sex with Chris Evans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The director of the movie has acquired the rights. The cast and crew had no idea what was happening. The director is already working on the film of the story of the fake film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

anncoates wrote: »
    For all that, she still had to endure sex with Chris Evans.

And ... my breakfast is about to resurface again. :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Great way to market the film.