Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Petition to limerick race course

• 27-03-2013 12:46am
    Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭

Lad's Id like to ask ye for a favour, a group of anti's are trying to badger Limerick Race course into removing their support for the JP McManus Irish Cup, one of the biggest coursing meets in the country which is held there every year. The lads over in the hunting forum have organised a petition in support of the stance Limerick Racecourse has taken=> http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056895228

Some of ye may not agree with coursing, thats fair enough but the way the antis mindset is they will keep chipping away at country sports until they have everything banned. Look at what that arogant twit from the RSPCA said about Beachers Brook on monday: http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2013/mar/25/rspca-bechers-brook-may-have-to-go even though neither of the deaths in last years national were attributable to this fence, that shows their mentality.

These people have an agenda and it is not for the betterment of sports like racing/coursing/hunting, thats why need to pull together so we are seen as a formidable force who can stand up to these self appointed law makers. So if ye get a chance please support the petition. Thanks

*Mods feel free to remove this thread if ye think it doesnt belong here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

100% behind the oldest sport in this country and I have already wrote a detailed report to Simon Coveney in regards to the Irish hare.For all the lads who are on this site the Irish Hare has trived south of the border in countryside owned and run by the ICC [Irish Coursing Club] this was an independant study done by Queens University,Belfast.A similar study was conducted by the Irish Government last year and they found in agreement with the Queens findings.Let me add the hare we catch in north Dublin are taken from land in request from vegetable growers who have seen their crops destroyed and many people losing their jobs as a consequence.These hares are put in land where they can sustain themselves without danger of the growers gun.A number of years ago a delegation representing Maktoum Al Maktoum and his mares stud in Ratoath.They had lost foals due to running into holes dug by the hare.The ICC removed all hares and put them on suitable grounds.Sabatours have caused havoc in Ireland and UK over the years and a case arose just yesterday where a dog was killed by a sabatour with a hammer as he thought[wrongly] he was part of a hunt.Our protest is linked to horse racing as they [animal rights activists] have partitioned Westminster to ban the Grand National and indeed they have tried to ban nh racing in its current form.I have witnessed them at Fairyhouse on easter monday and indeed they ran onto the track to try and stop the national.They have an agenda against Golf courses as they see them as destroying rabbits with Myxomatosis.Remember Limerick,Clonmel and Roscommon racecourses all host coursing meetings every year with the generous influx of cash from J P Mc Manus who along with his wife Noreen own many coursing dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,338 ✭✭✭convert

This thread is now in the Greyhound Racing forum, so please familiarise yourself with the charter before posting.

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pugw

ziggy wrote: »
    Its actually a petition to support the stance they have taken in response to an ICABS petition trying to bully them into stopping the Irish Cup from being held at the race course. I would argue that it has everything to do with horse racing as National Hunt Racing is in the sights of the antis as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Charlie George

You will always have the anti people,the more we talk about them and challange them the more bad press Coursing gets,id just ignore them and for a finish they might get bored and return to England9where most are from).