Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sagan Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Interesting thoughts on his cornering ability.

http://stevetilford.com/2013/09/10/peter-sagan/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

I hadn't seen this one before - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=St1VXFYEQxs

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

quozl wrote: »
    I hadn't seen this one before - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=St1VXFYEQxs

Big discussion on here before about that clip, did or didn't Sagan have a ramp at the front of the car?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Big discussion on here before about that clip, did or didn't Sagan have a ramp at the front of the car?

Ahh, how had I missed it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,412 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Looks like Sagan is going to Tinkoff-Saxo for the 2015 season!

From cyclingnews:
    Peter Sagan has reached an agreement to ride for Tinkoff-Saxo in 2015, according to a report in Thursday’s edition of Gazzetta dello Sport. The Slovak’s contract with Cannondale expires at the end of this season, and Gazzetta reports that the deal will see Tinkoff-Saxo ride on Cannondale bikes from next season.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

cddf128ea12711e28ddc22000a9f15db_7.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Tinkov-Cannondale in 2015 ???

Saxobank are most likely out of cycling

That means a lot of riders will be on the market again if two teams merge

And Contador ?? He has an pesonal contract with Specialised who pay most of his wages.....IF Tinkov move to Cannondale then Contador would lose his sponsorship

With Sagan I think Tinkov will dump Contador

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

MPFG wrote: »
    Tinkoff-Cannondale in 2015 ???

Saxobank are most likely out of cycling

That means a lot of riders will be on the market again if two teams merge

Maybe and allows Alonso to buy the pro tour license owned by Cannodale. Who might sign Contador with his Specialized contract.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

drogdub wrote: »
    Maybe and allows Alonso to buy the pro tour license owned by Cannodale. Who might sign Contador with his Specialized contract.

Exactly what I think will happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Spot on yeah. Hopefully means Nico moves further up the food-chain :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Spot on yeah. Hopefully means Nico moves further up the food-chain :)

Is Nico not out of contract in 2015...............or was it a three year deal ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

TheBlaaMan wrote: »
    Is Nico not out of contract in 2015...............or was it a three year deal ?

Nico has a two year contract 2013-2014...so out of contract at the end of this year

Tinkov is a big fan of sprinters, having been one himself and even though he says Contador is the only one who can beat Froome I don't think he believes Froome can be beaten.....and he can't buy Froome

So my guess he will build a team that supports Sagan to win lots of stages of the Tour de France and lots of classics races .....a team more like OPQS
    That means the older mountain helpers better start looking now
    I am sure he would like to keep and support riders Mijka for Giro/Vuelta but as he said himself his team is in transition and IMO the emphasis on the Tour GC will go with Contador

Tinkov only likes wining ..so if he cannot win the Tour he is not interested in top 5's ....better have sprinters and classic riders who can win lots of stages and lots of other races.

How Nico & Kreuziger like that I am not sure as you need a strong team of climbers for a Grand Tour GC result

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

MPFG wrote: »
    Nico has a two year contract 2013-2014...so out of contract at the end of this year

Tinkov is a big fan of sprinters, having been one himself and even though he says Contador is the only one who can beat Froome I don't think he believes Froome can be beaten.....and he can't buy Froome

So my guess he will build a team that supports Sagan to win lots of stages of the Tour de France and lots of classics races .....a team more like OPQS
    That means the older mountain helpers better start looking now
    I am sure he would like to keep and support riders Mijka for Giro/Vuelta but as he said himself his team is in transition and IMO the emphasis on the Tour GC will go with Contador

Tinkov only likes wining ..so if he cannot win the Tour he is not interested in top 5's ....better have sprinters and classic riders who can win lots of stages and lots of other races.

How Nico & Kreuziger like that I am not sure as you need a strong team of climbers for a Grand Tour GC result

The only thing I'd disagree with it is that I don't think Tinkoff will give up on Tour glory. If he doesn't think Contador can beat Froome, he'll get someone else in; Quintana or Nibali.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 8,079 ✭✭✭buffalo

sagan.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

They really could have made an effort to photoshop out his auld sausage for the promo pictures.. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭happytramp

Zyzz wrote: »
    They really could have made an effort to photoshop out his auld sausage for the promo pictures.. :pac:

Seriously? I think they should have made it bigger.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Guy second from the left has jealousy face going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Party Bus this way --->

ah jaysus that should be NSFW! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Great vid of him on a mountain bike!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Great vid of him on a mountain bike!

http://vimeo.com/91496760

Sagan, the missus, and a tandem bike.
    Bo8JDwaIMAAuSRI.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Is it a Cannondale?.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,353 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I can imagine a few of the regulars on here will be keen to come out in that sort of gear .....:)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Beasty wrote: »
    I can imagine a few of the regulars on here will be keen to come out in that sort of gear .....:)

I wish they had done the mens shirt in pink

• Registered Users Posts: 9,397 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Sagan's picture on the tour website is bizarre..

51.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

CramCycle wrote: »
    I wish they had done the mens shirt in pink

Green is his colour

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

From Today's Stage in The Tour

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mihjx3LUk6U

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭death1234567

Shedite27 wrote: »
    Sagan's picture on the tour website is bizarre..

51.jpg
    He is trying to look like Wolverine. He has wolverine eye's on his helmet as well.