Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2013 Masters Tournament *** Stream/Betting = 1 Week Ban ***

1363738394042»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Legwinski

3twst1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

ProudDUB wrote: »
    They do do another green jacket presentation outside lapin. Usually on or near the 18th green, that the spectators...sorry patrons :rolleyes: ... can watch. CBS show it in their live broadcast. For some reason, the UK/Irish channels choose not to show it. It's usually about 15 mins or so after the Butler Cabin bolloxology.

i was watching CBS and they didn't show it either, cut to local news.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

No Internet all day yesterday! Stupid thing went down but super finish. Really felt for Angel but Scott was excellent and I didn't mind seeing either win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

I had a euro e/w on Angel at 110/1 :eek:

But I wasn't too disappointed cause I really like Scott and happy to see him win after the open last year.
    Seems like a nice guy and what a swing....wouldn't surprise me if he went on to win a few more majors.
    A git for a caddy but hey....nobodys perfect :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Just because the tournament is over does not mean its free reign on betting comments lads...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Question for golf fans. I don't watch a lot of golf but I do flick in and out at the business end of a major. I watched a bit of it last night but just couldn't stick it any longer. WTF is it with this crap of "IN THE HOLE!" every time a player takes a shot, any sort of a shot. Last night Tiger tee's up on what was a monster of a par 5. Soon as he hits it "IN THE HOLE!". Come on, even with 200kph wind behind him he's never going to get close to it. Again Snedeker chips on from about 150 out on one of the holes and it was clear it wasn't going anywhere near the flag, some dip shouts "IN THE HOLE!". How in the hell do they not kick these idiots out?

Does this annoy people that watch the game regularly or is it something reserved for a tournament like the masters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,823 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

iregk wrote: »
    Does this annoy people that watch the game regularly or is it something reserved for a tournament like the masters?

It certainly annoys me, it's been discussed on here before and I think its safe to say that it annoys the majority of viewers.

The unfortunate thing is the Masters was fairly pleasant to watch due to the fact that these roars were far less prevalent than they are in a normal event.

Anyone know if Augusta have a rule against it?

I did read an article were the journalist said she heard security guards saying they'd throw someone out if they shouted.... Not sure if this was a Masters directive or just a security guard taking it upon himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Question for golf fans. I don't watch a lot of golf but I do flick in and out at the business end of a major. I watched a bit of it last night but just couldn't stick it any longer. WTF is it with this crap of "IN THE HOLE!" every time a player takes a shot, any sort of a shot. Last night Tiger tee's up on what was a monster of a par 5. Soon as he hits it "IN THE HOLE!". Come on, even with 200kph wind behind him he's never going to get close to it. Again Snedeker chips on from about 150 out on one of the holes and it was clear it wasn't going anywhere near the flag, some dip shouts "IN THE HOLE!". How in the hell do they not kick these idiots out?

It happens a lot on the PGA Tour, not much at all on the European Tour, but I don't even notice it anymore, it happens so often I can just block it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

alxmorgan wrote: »
    I had a euro e/w on Angel at 110/1 :eek:

But I wasn't too disappointed cause I really like Scott and happy to see him win after the open last year.
    Seems like a nice guy and what a swing....wouldn't surprise me if he went on to win a few more majors.
    A git for a caddy but hey....nobodys perfect :D

Also had Cabrera backed at 100/1 so was gutted for him.

Think the way Cabrera conducted himself all the way through the playoff was exemplary. He was congratulating Scott after his good shots and seemed genuinely happy for him on the 10th green.

I see the long putter debate has already surfaced. The R&A and USGA state that they disagree with anchoring the putter and want to ban it but put a ridiculous date in 2016 for the ban. This is only asking for trouble because it calls to question anchored putter wins up until that date.

That said, until 2016, anchoring putters is legal so I have no issue with it. I just think there is too long of a time period to be in limbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

These are the same morons who would attend a soccer match and shout "SCORE A TOUCHDOWN!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    I see the long putter debate has already surfaced. The R&A and USGA state that they disagree with anchoring the putter and want to ban it but put a ridiculous date in 2016 for the ban. This is only asking for trouble because it calls to question anchored putter wins up until that date.

That said, until 2016, anchoring putters is legal so I have no issue with it. I just think there is too long of a time period to be in limbo.

This talk is probably for another thread bit I don't think it will call into question anchored putter wins until then, they are playing by the rules set out and that is all that matters.

I wonder when we will see some of the anchored putter guys switch back. Will they continue to anchor until the new laws come into affect or will they switch earlier. I don't think the majority will switch until they have to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

Please help settle a bet. Does Bernhard Langer really have a sister named Ita?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

YayaBanana wrote: »
    This talk is probably for another thread bit I don't think it will call into question anchored putter wins until then, they are playing by the rules set out and that is all that matters.

I wonder when we will see some of the anchored putter guys switch back. Will they continue to anchor until the new laws come into affect or will they switch earlier. I don't think the majority will switch until they have to.

The wins with anchored putters already have been called into question. I was reading posts on other forums about Scott's win.

Just to be clear.. I am not questioning Scott's win, he was playing within the rules and was well deserved. I just think it is silly that the R&A and USGA say that anchoring runs contrary to the spirit of the game but are willing to permit the use of anchoring until 2016. That is only asking for people to question wins.

Last year, some uneducated "fans" were branding Keegan Bradley a "cheater" after the proposed new rules came to light. Highly unfair on Keegan but, as I said, the R&A and USGA aren't helping matters.

Ernie Els said that this would be his last major to use the long putter/anchored stroke. Not sure about other players.

Completely agree. And anyone questioning the wins is as much a moron as the "Mashed potatoes" and "Get in the hole" brigade

It's like saying anyone who won the World Cup prior to the backpass rule being introduced is called into question. Thems the rules

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

sorry no betting allowing on this thread:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    Also had Cabrera backed at 100/1 so was gutted for him.

Think the way Cabrera conducted himself all the way through the playoff was exemplary. He was congratulating Scott after his good shots and seemed genuinely happy for him on the 10th green.

+1. Gutted for Cabrera. Showed himself to be a classy bloke, giving adam scott the tumbs up when he hit a good shot. I like his style, nobody could ever accuse him of slow play. He just takes a quick look and then smashes it. That iron on the last play off hole was something else, hes as strong as a horse. Some of those shots he hit, especially his 2nd shot on hole 72. He knew he had to produce something phenomenal to force a play off and he thats exactly what he did. He was as cool as fcuk, he must have ice in his veins to produce a shot like that under those circumstances.

Overall I thought it was a great masters. Nobody ran away with it which always leads to drama. It built slowly over the course of the final round to a great conclusion. Even when it rains augusta looks beautiful.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Yes.

And Vijay proposed to Faldo's ex caddy with the line "I want to make you Fanny Singh".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭jacool

So he won it playing by the rules, like everyone who has won it before him, I don't even get the point of trying to get a dig in at Tiger like that. Get over it.

Fair play to Adam, long overdue for such a talented golfer. Hope to see him challenge and win many more majors.
    Once the "broom" is swept away, he'll fade away.
    No more majors won with a normal putter for Scott.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,426 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

So The Masters 2013.

Again, lived up to "The Guardian" hype – great finish. Very impressed with the sportsmanship of both Scott and Cabrera. Fantastic that Angel could pull that shot out of the bag at 18, to get into playoff.

But, in the end - very few could be unhappy about Scott, a fully nice bloke winning. People not mad about the caddy and long putter – but to a degree, that is not his full responsibility, the rules and the tools in and on the bag.

Day is growing on me. He had a great attitude after rounds –but slow play is a problem and this visualisation and mental process he has, is too slow. If I see one of the lads doing this in my society it could be a perfect time to hit him with a 3 iron in the head. (:)).

One disappointment – Is the inability of some of the top pros to live up to their talent at majors. Luke, Lee, Martin, Sergio, Rory, Louis, Charl. The Majors in the past were for the very best in the game. But , we now have players in their 40 s and 50s and pros who have never won – putting leading world players to shame.

The Tiger incident was a rather unlucky event for all. I’m happy he did not win as TigerGate would have created great division on his legacy – Like the Roy Keane event. You could argue the penalty was sufficient as he could not win in the end. I’m being charitable there.

The TV coverage is a disaster – I guess The Masters are trying to exert their control on this. They have their reasons. But things have moved on. The viewers have become accustomed to perfect editing and storyline of the event. The sequence is a mismatch and unpredictable. Also very frustrating that you cannot watch golf when you want to. One of the quirks of the crazy event it is.

So next stop The Open. Looking forward to it. I just hope that some of the leading players are in the business end of things. No matter what you think of them , when Rory and Tiger are in the mix there is nobody like them. The best part of this major for me, was the Tiger being back (back). For all the craziness of it, Imagine the skill to know you need to go back two yards to hit a more comfortable shot after hitting a flag. A world unimaginable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭Felexicon

What I really want to know is when will Lee Westwood realise that in order to win a major, he will at some point have to throw caution to the wind and just go for it.
    Watching him crawl through his round last night with that "here we go again" look on his face as he left putt after putt short because he was afraid to let loose and go for it was depressing.
    He's at the stage now where the British commentators are patronising in views of his abilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Completely agree. And anyone questioning the wins is as much a moron as the "Mashed potatoes" and "Get in the hole" brigade

It's like saying anyone who won the World Cup prior to the backpass rule being introduced is called into question. Thems the rules

So then you cant have any issue with Woods not being DQ'd...thems the rules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭Speak Now

U.S Open next up pitchmark before The Open.
    Angel almost winning a 3rd major without ever having won a regular PGA tour event is fair going. Some contrast to some of the multiple regular event winners like Stricker who we rarely see on a Sunday afternoon of a major nevermind contend!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭markie4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,595 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

markie4 wrote: »
    With these quotes
    "the many millions that Williams had earned for his pack-mule labor"
    "Woods, in turn, had repaid his caddie’s loyalty by cheating on his own wife."
    What a crock!
    I also found this less than clever
    "on the second playoff hole against some fat guy with a funny accent"

He also mentions that poor Steve had to endure "four grueling rounds, through rain and shine, he plodded doggedly from tee to green, wiping down grips and cleaning grooves, enduring the strains of a roughly six-mile walk."
    Didn't all the caddies whose golfers made the cut have to do this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

o for god's sake he's being sarcastic, you're equally as bad as some of the yankee commenters!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭Felexicon

o for god's sake he's being sarcastic, you're equally as bad as some of the yankee commenters!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Let's not turn this into a baseball debate :rolleyes::rolleyes::D:P:(:eek::cool::pac::p:o:mad::)

GreeBo wrote: »
    So then you cant have any issue with Woods not being DQ'd...thems the rules?

Yep...never said I did.
    He signed the scorecard after the committee reviewed the incident.
    They were wrong, he was not.
    And as for withdrawing...people are talking like he didn't get penalised...he did 2 shots.

So not sure if you mixed me up with someone else in terms of disagreeing but I don't :D

jacool wrote: »
    With these quotes
    What a crock!

He also mentions that poor Steve had to endure "four grueling rounds, through rain and shine, he plodded doggedly from tee to green, wiping down grips and cleaning grooves, enduring the strains of a roughly six-mile walk."

Think you might be missing the point of the article to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Scott up to no.3 in the world rankings. Cabrera has jumped about 200 places to 64th, his flucuations up and down the world rankings over the last 5 or 6 years is something else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,595 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

jacool wrote: »
    With these quotes
    What a crock!

I have a feeling Jacool might have played us all....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

what a Pic !

249668.jpg

I have a feeling Jacool might have played us all....
    Nope, sorry.
    I GOT PLAYED!:o
    sorry lads, I think I walked into this one.
    I'll get my coat (its not green by the way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,426 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark