Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

being refused alcohol

• 31-03-2013 3:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭

I went to my local off licence tonight, the shopkeeper refused to sell it to me, I'm a regular customer, I went to another store and I was served, thank god!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

How regular and in what quantities do you buy? He may be trying to do you a favour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You were right to tell us.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭7ofBrian

That's a lovely story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

HaHa! so much denial in One sentence, I love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

iguy wrote: »
    I went to my local off licence tonight, the shopkeeper refused to sell it to me, I'm a regular customer, I went to another store and I was served, thank god!

The feel good story of the century.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm outraged!!

Wait, that's not the word.

I'm apathetic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Jesus that's terrible, Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Dear diary...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Look at all the fucks I give!!!
    Theyre falling from the sky!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Were you in America op? No stores here...only shops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,713 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Fair play to the shopkeeper.

Whatever that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

now ring your mum and tell her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,666 ✭✭✭✭ted1

At this time my thoughts and prayers are with the OPs family and friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Here Precious2

I love it.

just as much as I loved that Chelsea result today eh Willy?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Yeah, thank God.

now ring your mum and tell her

Mum? Mom surely?

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

I was 23 in Germany last year went into a shop to buy beer for which the limit over there is 16 was asked for identification. Mortified ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What, refused to sell you his off-license???

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

tim3000 wrote: »
    I was 23 in Germany last year went into a shop to buy beer for which the limit over there is 16 was asked for identification. Mortified ha

..and you'll be asked here too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Chucken wrote: »
    Mum? Mom surely?

is the op an american?

I dunno? He said store..not shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

How old are you? You never said if you had an ID.

wonski wrote: »
    How old are you? You never said if you had an ID.

Does it matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Does it matter?
    Does any of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Does it matter?
    No, if you sell your licence.
    Yes, if you sell your alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

You got your booze, thats all that matters.

..and you'll be asked here too.

I dont go drinking without i.d. ah the curses of being baby faced

Phoebas wrote: »
    Does any of it?

Not even a little.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

It's Good Friday You heathen.Hang on that was yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I can use the boy boy toilet all by myself.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Have you thought about writing a book OP?

tim3000 wrote: »
    I dont go drinking without i.d. ah the curses of being baby faced

Nothing to do with your baby face..sorry
    Shop staff have to ask if you're over the legal drinking age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Yakult wrote: »
    Have you thought about writing a book OP?

There, would, be, an, awful, lot, of, commas, in, it.

Nothing to do with your baby face..sorry
    Shop staff have to ask if you're over the legal drinking age.

Of course its something to do with how you look .I just happen to look like a 15 year old hence getting asked in an Ann summers once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

Hi guys sorry for shortage in information,
    The shopkeeper wouldn't serve me alcohol,
    I'm not American.
    One of the reasons he may not of served me is that I every night around 9 I would go into his store and buy 10 can's of bulmers and naggin of vodka......
    I drink a lot don't I, I'm a self confessed alcoholic ain't I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I'm not American.
    One of the reasons he may not of served me is that I every night around 9 I would go into his store and buy 10 can's of bulmers and naggin of vodka......

Being the wk end that's in it OP you should of got the priest around to say another mass.

He is risen from the dead and he is lord, every knee shall bow every da da da because he is lordddddd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

Being the wk end that's in it OP you should of got the priest around to say another mass.

He is risen from the dead and he is lord, every knee shall bow every da da da because he is lordddddd.

hallelujah!!!
    Praise the lord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I hear Pixar are getting the movie rights, with Tom Hanks voicing the plucky, yet undernourised, city dweller, and Azelia Banks voicing the straightup street rat.

It's all about the merchandising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Pfffft, amateur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Well I don't know about you brother but I'm pissed. and wahts more I['m going to go pour anbother whiskey that I bought my own self without any questions :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭scotchy

I can’t believe I have just subscribed to this thread.

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Cool story bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Maybe the shopkeeper is a boardsie who has read your signature and thought that he was saving you from yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

I'm not American.

Seventy cans of bulmers and a near litre and a half of vodka per week? How the hell can you afford that? Lets say a can of bulmers is two euro and a naggin a fiver (conservative prices) - thats 175 euro a week spent in the offo.

And the chap refused you? Decent skin, hes obviously concerned for you. Take the hint. You may thank him for it one day. Your body definitely will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Chop Chop

Seventy cans of bulmers and a near litre and a half of vodka per week? How the hell can you afford that? Lets say a can of bulmers is two euro and a naggin a fiver (conservative prices) - thats 175 euro a week spent in the offo.

He'll be dead in no time, I knew someone who died before they were 30 from about the same level of alcohol consumption, cider it was too, his liver was rotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I will contemplate this story on the throne of woe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I hear Pixar are getting the movie rights, with Tom Hanks voicing the plucky, yet undernourised, city dweller, and Azelia Banks voicing the straightup street rat.

It's all about the merchandising.

A suitable title would be "Falling Down 2".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Were you in America op? No stores here...only shops.
    What about Dunnes Stores?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I went to my local off licence tonight!

He probably doesn't serve time travellers.