Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WRH now a cork outpost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

S.E.F.L wrote: »
    There was nothing shouted or directed at mary roche, to my recollection gary wyse and mary roche came out of the tower hotel at the same time, shame was shouted at gary wyse, some people arent prepared to forgive and forget what fianna fail have done to the country, with the annoucement about wrh today lets just see how popular our fine gael and labour reps will be in next years polls at the council elections in waterford when they go canvassing for votes they are likely to hear a lot more then just shame.

There was....the "shame shame" stuff was shouted at her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Why are you asking? All I'm doing on this thread is sharing facts. Does it seem like I'm some kind of "government apologist"?

Well Dicky, Waterford City, County, South Kilkenny, Wexford, which one if any are you from?

You didn't answer my question so why should I answer yours?

You need to re-read your post butty, you asked me did I think you were a government apologist and I replied Yes.

1. I dont think you are from Waterford,
    2. I think you are a member of FG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 S.E.F.L

There was....the "shame shame" stuff was shouted at her.

More mistruths being spread around, people wouldn,t have a real reason to shout shame at mary roche as shes not affialiated to either fianna fail or fine gael or labour.

1. I'm from Waterford City.
    2. I laugh out loud at the thought of that. I don't affiliate myself with any party.

This is typical waterford crap. Someone calls it as they see it, that is a lot of idiots on facebook pretending to be anarchists when they really haven't a clue what's going on. All I was doing was commenting on the protesters on thursday...they behaved disgracefully in my opinion, and the opinion of many others. But you think that for me to have that opinion, I must be partisan one way or another.

Life isn't that black and white Royal Legend.

More mistruths being spread around, people wouldn,t have a real reason to shout shame at mary roche as shes not affialiated to either fianna fail or fine gael or labour.

Excuse me, I was standing 5 feet from her. There were people shouting shame shame at her. This is getting funny now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Mary Roche is no Enda Kenny fan if reading her blog is anything to go by. She's battling hard to put this city/county merger into the limelight for what it is, and I saw her at both WRH protests.

Why shout Shame at her?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭fuzzy dunlop

I have a feeling the Times Article is a planted article i.e. a softening up exercise.Is FG stooge extordanaire and perjurer (Sarah "Im not a member of FG" Carey) still writing for this paper? I was reading the News and Star last week and the Phoenix column was on about the hospital Network being broken up but WRH would be upgraded to a University Hospital. If this is the actual case then it would be major win for Waterford and would show the show of strength of the protests yielded a major result. It would also show there is nothing inevitable about any cutbacks that that the government is proposing as suggested by their apologists on this site. Who also unspurprisingly cannot offer an alternative approach to protesting.

Trotter wrote: »
    Mary Roche is no Enda Kenny fan if reading her blog is anything to go by. She's battling hard to put this city/county merger into the limelight for what it is, and I saw her at both WRH protests.

Why shout Shame at her?

The answer is simple. A lot of people protesting didn't have a clue who was who...they just saw people leaving who looked like they might be someone, and they taunted them.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭martin12

Yes, Yes it does.

I am happy to admit I have voted Fianna Fail all my life, I don't know if I would vote for them in any future election. I am not affiliated to FF or anyone else. But I think there are a few on here affiliated either to FG, Labour, SF or the socialists. Those people that are, need to state their alliegience and then leave it at the door.

totally agree with you

1. I'm from Waterford City.
    2. I laugh out loud at the thought of that. I don't affiliate myself with any party.

This is typical waterford crap. Someone calls it as they see it, that is a lot of idiots on facebook pretending to be anarchists when they really haven't a clue what's going on. All I was doing was commenting on the protesters on thursday...they behaved disgracefully in my opinion, and the opinion of many others. But you think that for me to have that opinion, I must be partisan one way or another.

Life isn't that black and white Royal Legend.

Well you have backed the government on here for the evening, as regards the protest, at least some people made their feelings known publically, all this "embarrassing2 crap that is spouted by some people is beyond me, how else can people make their feelings known? maybe shout at the TV, please let us know dicky.
    There was even one person on earlier talking about militant waterford and how last week was similar to the stuff that went on national TV during the Crystal sit in. what a load of bollix, the people who were angry at the crystal centre that evening had plenty of reason to be angry, if I had lost all my pension I would have been fit to do much the same.
    Its time people woke up to the down grading of Waterford, full stop.

Well you have backed the government on here for the evening, as regards the protest, at least some people made their feelings known publically, all this "embarrassing2 crap that is spouted by some people is beyond me, how else can people make their feelings known? maybe shout at the TV, please let us know dicky.
    There was even one person on earlier talking about militant waterford and how last week was similar to the stuff that went on national TV during the Crystal sit in. what a load of bollix, the people who were angry at the crystal centre that evening had plenty of reason to be angry, if I had lost all my pension I would have been fit to do much the same.
    Its time people woke up to the down grading of Waterford, full stop.

I've backed the government? Show me where? If you can make a statement like that so easily then you can surely be able to quote where I have backed them.

The answer is simple. A lot of people protesting didn't have a clue who was who...they just saw people leaving who looked like they might be someone, and they taunted them.

Is the problem Dicky that they taunted you as well? Did they know/not know who you were? By any chance were you splashed by a drop of coffee? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 S.E.F.L

Excuse me, I was standing 5 feet from her. There were people shouting shame shame at her. This is getting funny now.

When she came out of the towet hotel same time as gary wyse i recall, shame was only directed at gary wyse, from looking at the save waterford facebook thread quite a few people commented they re sorry they didn,t protest on thursday, its too late now to be crying over spilled milk, they had a choice and chance to come out and protest when kenny came they didn,t bother, now we hear the bad news about wrh.

Is the problem Dicky that they taunted you as well? Did they know/not know who you were? By any chance were you splashed by a drop of coffee? :D

So you're going to make a statement like that and then just move on without backing it up? Doesn't do much for your credibility.

First off, there was no bad announcement today, only someone on a local radio station reading the words of a journalist.

Secondly, as part of Enda's speech on Thursday he said the words:

"This is a good day for waterford. In my opinion this is the day that starts Waterford's comeback." He then said that there would be an announcement about the hospital in a few weeks.

Now, he brought up the hospital...nobody asked him about it. Why would he bring it up like that if a bad news announcement was just days away?

But to answer your question, if fifty thousand people lined the streets of waterford I don't think they could prevent certain changes being made. It's what those changes will be that we're all waiting for. And nothing has been learned today.

I read your earlier post as pro government, I still see you as a government apologist, you were inside the railing, which means that you had to have clearence to be standing outside, maybe you are a reporter. anyway, thats my opinion.

So, did they shout at you Dicky?

S.E.F.L Di you shout and abuse Dicky, tell the truth now ;)

Are you 14?

Are you 14?

Does that bother you? It is mid term you know.

An hour and a half later and you still have not answered the question.

Did the protestors abuse and shout at you? Its a simple question.

I'm choosing not to answer you because you are a child and I'm not comfortable arguing with children on the Internet. You're all hyped up on chocolate and should probably think about heading to bed.

Anyone here can see I am not arguing with you, but they can also see you have an issue answering the question. I wonder why?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Guys if you want to continue this back n forth nonsense then take it to PM please,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Anyone here can see I am not arguing with you, but they can also see you have an issue answering the question. I wonder why?

All I can see is someone who dragged the debate down to childish levels. The question to Dicky Pride is a pointless one, that's why.

I have no political affiliation, in fact I know nothing about politics. I keep up with what's happening locally, and it's attitudes like Royal Legends that stop me becoming more involved in these protests etc. You can't move on the Save Waterford facebook page for the stupid, militant, ignorant and uninformed comments from the majority of people, and what's worse is the two girls behind SW either 'like' these comments or agree with them, fueling the ignorance further.

If it's true that Mary Roche was heckled then that just shows certain people haven't a clue. From what I have seen and read she is steadfastly pro-Waterford and Government-weary and is about the only person involved in this who's opinion comes from a reasoned, educated place and is an opinion I trust.

Like I say, I don't know much about politics, but I don't feel the need to jam what little I know down other people's throats.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

When has shouting stuff like "shame" at politicians ever achieved anything?

"Yeah, we showed them," the shouters must think to themselves.

Heckling and making noise when the Taoiseach is speaking at the opening of a museum is the height of ignorance. That is not protesting, it's acting the dickhead.

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

When has shouting stuff like "shame" at politicians ever achieved anything?

"Yeah, we showed them," the shouters must think to themselves.

Heckling and making noise when the Taoiseach is speaking at the opening of a museum is the height of ignorance. That is not protesting, it's acting the dickhead.
    Sure I suppose they were only copying Michael Noonan or Big Phil in action in the Dail when some dickhead who is not in Fine Gael was trying to make a point.
    All those lefties what right have they to open their gobs in this little right wing state.
    Sure look at the example those dickheads set when they had the cheek to march down Sackville St. in 1916 but they got plenty of abuse from those who remained loyal to the government of the day didn't they. They even had the cheek to shout when they were shot for their heinous crimes.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

mccarthy37 wrote: »
    Sure look at the example those dickheads set when they had the cheek to march down Sackville St. in 1916 but they got plenty of abuse from those who remained loyal to the government of the day didn't they. They even had the cheek to shout when they were shot for their heinous crimes.

Are you seriously trying to compare the protesters outside the tower somehow to 1916? Seriously?

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Cabaal wrote: »
    Are you seriously trying to compare the protesters outside the tower somehow to 1916? Seriously?
    You completely miss the point being made I find it grossly insulting to call somebody a dickhead because they are trying to make their protest heard. If we do lose our status as a regional hospital it is only another blow following on from the ambulance call service that was brought to Wexford. I know this protest was not about this subject but people are getting very frustrated I mean look at the carry on of Sean Dunne going bankrupt in the State's and claiming he has paid his debt to Ireland. Who pick's up the tab there estimated to be in the region of one Billion dollar's. The dollar was used in the report in The Sunday Indo to make it look more authentic going bust in America don't you know. Why wasn't he a true patriot and declare bankruptcy in Ireland as a lot of small people will have to do now who are being hounded out of their home's due to these irresponsible gambler's. Listen the first post I uses a bit of sarcasm in frustration when I look around and see who are called businessmen and who are called criminal in this country. Those who are making a stand angainst this Property Tax will be called tax dodgers and criminal's while a lot of these people who declare bankruptcy in foreign shores will no doubt come back in to the fold and will be referred to as prominent businessmen by our very own government in the near future. I often wonder if those men of 1916 could have seen into the future to this present day would they feel betrayed.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Smiley Burnett

Yes, Yes it does.

I am happy to admit I have voted Fianna Fail all my life, I don't know if I would vote for them in any future election. I am not affiliated to FF or anyone else. But I think there are a few on here affiliated either to FG, Labour, SF or the socialists. Those people that are, need to state their alliegience and then leave it at the door.

voted FF all your life??? Even during the haughey, ahern, burke, lawlor, flynn antics??? CORRUPT, CORRUPT, CORRUPT!!

At least I admit it, I also said that I did not know if I would vote for them at the next election, at least I admit where my past alliegience lay, unlike others on here. By the way I agree Haughey was corrupt and at the time you did not see FG arguing as they had a few of their own, the most prominent man to go against Haughey at the time was O'Malley and he was made out to be a right bollix, but history has proven he was right. Burke, Lawlor yes, Flynn was an arrogant clown, very similar imo to todays crowd, Reilly, Shatter, Veradker, Gilmore et al. Not sure if anything was ever fully proven against Bertie, but the doubts will always persist.