Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**First Years 2013-2014**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

NellyDean wrote: »
    When does arts start?
    you'll be emailed. Orientation will probably be Saturday sept 7th if similar to previous years dates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Tarjh

NellyDean wrote: »
    When does arts start?
    Monday September 9th.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭therambler

When ever we find out where your gaff is :pac:

I don't know where it is yet :/ If I dont make it, have one..without me :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭Found This Fork Sir

Does anyone know if we are posted out timetables and book lists and that stuff before we move up, or do we have to wait until orientation before we know for sure? Just it would be handy to start looking for second hand books already and I have to sort out a part time job.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

When does computer science start anyway

And what is this Corrib village RA programme?

I'd say it starts the 9th anyway, because orientation is the weekend of the 7th/8th, just actual hours would be handy.

I keep getting emails about it, I think it just involves organising all of the activities for corrib students and helping people settle in, I was considering it but really don't think I'll have the time between a job and enjoying myself and whatnot.

Same here really so if anybody could shed more light on it that would be cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭therambler

Anyone else doing physics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Here's the timetable for first year anyway. Ye may start the Monday, ye may not. On our first week we showed up to lectures but most of them weren't on. The nicer lecturers will actually give you notice of when they will start.

If any Computer Science folks have anything to ask about the course, shoot me a PM - just finished the course in May ;)

reap-a-rat wrote: »
    If any Computer Science folks have anything to ask about the course, shoot me a PM - just finished the course in May ;)

I will hold you to that :P

Yeah I don't have any of my first year assignments anymore, if that's what you be after... :P Ah no seriously though, I was full of stuff I wanted to ask but felt was too stupid to express when I was in first year - if there's anything at all that you want to know about the course or about the college or whatever, I'll do my best to help you out!

Just a mention too - as I said, I finished up the course in May and I left with a bunch a classmates who I'd consider better friends than almost everyone I went to school with - dunno were we lucky with the group or what but such a sound bunch of people and I'm delighted I had the pleasure of meeting all of them and knowing them all now. Make the most of it :)

Well lets see:

Whats the books situation?

How much is programming/maths work/ so on

Whats the Male:Female ratio :pac:

I thank thee for your kind assistance!

Is it worth actually buying the textbooks? I'm debating with myself at present.

What parts of the course did you enjoy the most?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

The RA's organise like, event's and stuff and in return they get money off the accommodation.
    I lived there last year and didn't go to one event, like movie nights and all that but sure, meh. Why do that when you can drink :D So I can't really tell ye much about it other then that you have to organise stuff and you get money off in return.

If ye want craic but aren't in Corrib don't worry. You will meet loads of people in your course (unless your in Arts, it's meant to be hella hard to meet people) or places like Gort na Coribe, Dunaras, Cuirt, Dun etc etc, plenty of student accom to choose.

The thing is that Corrib is more or less exclusively first years whereas the likes of Gort will have 2nd and 3rd years. I'll be in Gort next year :D (2nd Year)

Anyone doing Civil Law by the way?

Well lets see:

Whats the books situation?

How much is programming/maths work/ so on

Whats the Male:Female ratio :pac:

There's no need to buy a book for anything. I have one book from my whole time there, and that was given to me in third year by one of the lecturers who was only delighted to offload books to us. In final year I did loan a few books out of the library but there's always plenty available if you happen to need them. In general, the best thing for Computer Science is the StackOverflow website, to be honest! The internet in general is the biggest help you'll have.

The course seems to have loads of Maths in first and second year; there are a fair few modules but as you have the option of doing pass, if you feel weak at Maths its a great help. I'd highly recommend going to maths tutorials, even if you skip lectures here and there - it's where you'll actually figure out what the point of the modules is!

There's a bit of programming in first year, however its not too intensive and it starts with the assumption that everyone knows nothing. So that's good. I'm not sure how it's taught now, but in the past we used a crappy little program to get us used to the concepts down before we got stuck into a proper language (C at the time). Progress is fairly fast so I would try my best to keep up even if it seems simple at first - from one week to another you could end up completely lost just by missing out on one crucial concept. Again, StackOverflow will be your saviour for programming (and other stuff!)

Male:Femal - for our year, we started as 49 with 5 girls (myself included). Finished up with 23 people, 3 girls. 1 of those we picked up in third year, so 2 originals. Year behind me has 3 girls, too. Not sure after that. Girls always far outnumbered, though. Which may be good or bad news, depending... ;)

I thank thee for your kind assistance!

Is it worth actually buying the textbooks? I'm debating with myself at present.

What parts of the course did you enjoy the most?

I mentioned the book thing above :)

I loved the maths in first and second year, and algorithms in first year was good too. Logic in second year was very interesting. Really liked databases too. To be honest, I thought 4th year was the most interesting, but ya'll will have to get that far before I'll tell any more ;) Some of the time you will be thinking, "What the feck are we doing this for?" but more often than not, it will actually raise it's head again in a far more important way. There's links everywhere. I realised a lot of them when I went on placement in third year.

Why did ye pick Computer Science, can I ask?

• Registered Users Posts: 1 charleseire

Got my place in corrib and looking forward to going down. Was just wondering has anyone heard any stories of people getting robbed or has it happened to them personally? Was thinking about bringing down my wee ps2 for the lonely weekends but I am not to sure now as I have heard it's a bit dodgy, Thanks.

For the love of God do not buy books for 1st year anyway. Waste of money.

There's no need to buy a book for anything.

I thank thee greatly!
    The course seems to have loads of Maths in first and second year

What's the story with higher maths vs pass maths do you know? Like, do many go for higher? Are the maths classes linked in with the classes for those doing maths degrees?
    I realised a lot of them when I went on placement in third year.

Where did you go? What other places were there?

I've always liked maths as a subject and how it's very logical, and I just have an interest in computers really and I'd like to learn how programming works. That said, I know absolutely nothing at present really :o

I like you people. This is music to a Cavan mans ears.

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Got my place in corrib and looking forward to going down. Was just wondering has anyone heard any stories of people getting robbed or has it happened to them personally? Was thinking about bringing down my wee ps2 for the lonely weekends but I am not to sure now as I have heard it's a bit dodgy, Thanks.
    dont....not for the first month or so anyway

Hows the transition of secondary school maths to college?

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Nkerr

(unless your in Arts, it's meant to be hella hard to meet people)

Well thats just no fun!

Nkerr wrote: »
    Well thats just no fun!

There's just so many of ye!! :P

Cause I always envisaged my self doing something computer based and I want to know how we have come from DoS to what we are at today. And maths is cool as fúck.

I wanted CS originally but stupidly put down Law 1st because of Suits.

Turns out I LOVE law :D

I want from CS to Law to Science and back to Law and then CS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Gatame

I wanted CS originally but stupidly put down Law 1st because of Suits.

Turns out I LOVE law :D

It's funny how many people actually put law down because of suits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Gatame wrote: »
    It's funny how many people actually put law down because of suits!

wallpaper-412034.jpg?w=300&h=240

They actually use that picture in the front windoe of a suit shop in Sligo

I thank thee greatly!

What's the story with higher maths vs pass maths do you know? Like, do many go for higher? Are the maths classes linked in with the classes for those doing maths degrees?

The maths for comp sci is the same as Science maths for first year and there's some crossover with both science and arts then for second year. They've changed the structure of the degree slightly from my time - if you choose higher maths, you have an option in third year of choosing a more maths focused stream. If you choose pass, you can't do those maths in third year. So that's the benefit of higher - more options in third year.

Where did you go? What other places were there?

I went to Deloitte (my anonymity on this is already shot from years back, so I don't care if folks know who I am!). They're known as Big 4 accounting firm, but they have a fast growing Technology Integration department - basically they do a lot of consulting work, i.e. a company will hire Deloitte to build a new system for them or upgrade something or whatever, because they lack the skills themselves. There were loads of places - IBM, Fidelity Investments, Storm Technology, Cisco, ESB, Attachmate, Bank of America etc etc - it's not just your big name IT companies that need IT people.
    I've always liked maths as a subject and how it's very logical, and I just have an interest in computers really and I'd like to learn how programming works. That said, I know absolutely nothing at present really :o

No need to know anything - a willingness to learn is the most important attribute, in my opinion. Logical mind is a good thing to have. Noble reasons - I'm delighted you didn't say "I want a job after college, so I picked CS". I would have lynched you.
    Hows the transition of secondary school maths to college?

We didn't have a maths stream option when we started, so there was no benefit to picking higher level over pass except probably a tougher exam. So I did pass in college. I had done HL up til Feb of LC - I only dropped it because it was taking up way too much time and I didn't need it for the course I wanted, so I dropped to pass. I did breeze through pass, got an A1 - left the exam hall as soon as we were allowed to coz I had it done so quickly, so I was fairly good at maths and I still really like maths. Pass maths in college I found easy. However, a lot of folks in my class weren't strong at maths and struggled a lot; it was the most thing that people failed on in first and second year. I think the two of you should be OK with maths though, seeing as ye like it. Some madmen lecture in it, too. Great craic! (second year, I think).

I hope all this stuff is coming out OK. I'm still asleep. Work won't be happy when they find out :o

Oh yeah, that's another thing actually; I'm doing a Masters next year so I wanted Summer work here in Galway (Deloitte would have had me back but I wanted to stay in Galway and they're in Dublin) - there's a lot of internships floating about if you look hard enough. I managed to get one pretty easily in the end, I got sorted by March in a software company so I was pretty much using my degree straight away when I finished - that really is a positive with the course. From about second year, try and get a few weeks experience - the department itself often offers a few weeks paid Summer work in some research area that would really help in getting placement in third year. Even helping out with Summer Camps is an option.

Are ye getting excited about starting? I can't wait to find out how many of ye there are - the 2008 intake was the lowest in years, but it's been on the rise since I started in 2009. Last year had over 60 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Fert94

Anyone else get medicine? :)

Sharing a twin room in Dúnáras, hope to God they end up being nice :P

Has anybody got their email about registration yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Suil Eile

Is the RA thing in Corrib only open to second years and up? Because its asking for a student number, which I don't have yet (I think).

Suil Eile wrote: »
    Is the RA thing in Corrib only open to second years and up? Because its asking for a student number, which I don't have yet (I think).

No it's first years. Other then that I can't help as I didn't apply for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Suil Eile wrote: »

Ya have that when ya register

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Suil Eile

LOSTfan57 wrote: »
    Ya have that when ya register
    But the application to be an RA closes in August, so how does that work?

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Glee_GG

Fert94 wrote: »
    Anyone else get medicine? :)

Sharing a twin room in Dúnáras, hope to God they end up being nice :P

Has anybody got their email about registration yet?

Classmates!
    I think we can register online from tomorrow, read it somewhere on the site and there meant to be posting out stuff too :)

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭RoutineBites

Glee_GG wrote: »
    Classmates!
    I think we can register online from tomorrow, read it somewhere on the site and there meant to be posting out stuff too :)

Yep, information on registration for first years is here.

http://www.nuigalway.ie/registration/student/new_undergrad.html

And here,

http://content.yudu.com/A1os2c/Regengish/resources/index.htm?referrerUrl=

Noble reasons - I'm delighted you didn't say "I want a job after college, so I picked CS". I would have lynched you.

Haha, I don't think I could ever pick a course just for job possibilities, I'd end up mad from it all. :pac:

From about second year, try and get a few weeks experience - the department itself often offers a few weeks paid Summer work in some research area that would really help in getting placement in third year. Even helping out with Summer Camps is an option.

Thanks for this, very helpful.
    Are ye getting excited about starting? I can't wait to find out how many of ye there are - the 2008 intake was the lowest in years, but it's been on the rise since I started in 2009. Last year had over 60 I think.

I'm very excited at this stage, just can't wait to move in and start the year. Hopefully the class isn't toooooo huge or anything, but it would be nice to have a good few people, I'd say lots of people are going for comp sci these days.

I am both scared and psyched. Everybody else bar about 3 is going to Dublin.

Heres a general question for any of ye veterans. What it like to hold a job while at college?

Everybody else bar about 3 is going to Dublin.
    I know of only one person so far from my school going to nuig, everyone else is headed to either UL or UCD.
    What it like to hold a job while at college?

I also want to know this, so any info would be handy.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 jtaylol

Hey all, first year Arts student here. Stupidly didn't put down Psychology on my CAO, which means I'm now going to try and get in through Arts. Does anyone know people who have done this? I'm all aflutter. :( Also, I'm living in Galway so if anyone needs a place to crash after a night out, gimme a pm. I'm harmless, I promise. :D

jtaylol wrote: »
    Also, I'm living in Galway so if anyone needs a place to crash after a night out, gimme a pm. I'm harmless, I promise. :D

You have made a terrible mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Tommyrawr

anyone else having trouble logging into the student registration or am I just having a noob moment?
    it just keeps saying incorrect details for me :P

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭pourquoi

Tommyrawr wrote: »
    anyone else having trouble logging into the student registration or am I just having a noob moment?
    it just keeps saying incorrect details for me :P

Get used to things like this. Galway doesn't "do" efficiency.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Galway14

Anybody doing Civil Law?

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭Ernesto Guevara

So were we supposed to get an email from NUIG today about online registration ..... because I haven't :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Tarjh

Have a look here for some info on registration http://www.nuigalway.ie/registration/student/new_undergrad.html

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Khorbus

For anyone confused about registering, the username is your cao number, and the password is "galway" followed by the date and month of your birth. So for someone born on the 5th of February, the password would be "galway0502". I don't think we're going to get any emails about it. I feel like finding out how to register is some sort of test to see if you're worthy of being a student :pac:

After getting in, you're best off finding the step-by-step guide (which is probably one of the links that has been posted in the last page or so).

Edit: In fact, the link is in the last post. Just click on "1st Year Registration Guide" and go to page 7

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Copper Nikus.

I won't have a picture available until tomorrow. Can I skip that part of registration and come back to it or will that render me faceless for the entire year? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Khorbus

Yeah, you can skip it and upload a photo later.

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭RoutineBites

I won't have a picture available until tomorrow. Can I skip that part of registration and come back to it or will that render me faceless for the entire year? :P

You can leave it for now so long as you've got it uploaded by the 4th of September.