Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tralee Thread (No chit-chat)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

Johnston Mooney & O'Brien Bakery

Address: 11 Jamestown Road
    Finglas
    Dublin
    County Dublin
    Dublin 11

Landline: 01 844 3700
    Fax: 01 844 3704

not exactly a local supplier eh?!! Maybe its local to the Applegreen head office in the Dublin area! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 672 ✭✭✭RevBlueJeans

At least they dont come from Northern Ireland like say "The Kerryman".:)

Barrys bread is brilliant (brullent = real Tralee accent) but it goes off really fast because it contains no additives or preservatives. We used to get free barrys bread and hot milk from Lee Strand for lunch at CBS Clonalour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

Barrys bread is brilliant (brullent = real Tralee accent) but it goes off really fast because it contains no additives or preservatives. We used to get free barrys bread and hot milk from Lee Strand for lunch at CBS Clonalour.

Hmmmm sounds good on hungry little bellies. All apple green stores product comes direct from central warehouse in Dublin and they couldn't care less about local producers and suppliers. Local me arse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Hmmmm sounds good on hungry little bellies. All apple green stores product comes direct from central warehouse in Dublin and they couldn't care less about local producers and suppliers. Local me arse.

As far as I know Plassey foods in newcastlwest produce a lot of there foods!

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Umekichi

Franchises don't do local. Worked in a certain chain in Tralee and one day they ran out of brown paper bags(no logos etc.) and one of the delivery drivers suggested that the franchiser(who was in the store at the time) go to Clifford's and get some more bags, only to be told no, they had to come from the Central warehouse in Dublin!

Just something to think about when you next buy your takeaway/rolls in a deli/coffee etc.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

We used to get the little cartons of Lee Strand milk and the Barry's currant buns with the icing on the top for our Sos in primary school :)

Umekichi wrote: »
    Franchises don't do local. Worked in a certain chain in Tralee and one day they ran out of brown paper bags(no logos etc.) and one of the delivery drivers suggested that the franchiser(who was in the store at the time) go to Clifford's and get some more bags, only to be told no, they had to come from the Central warehouse in Dublin!

Just something to think about when you next buy your takeaway/rolls in a deli/coffee etc.

All looks lovely of course and maybe a bit cheaper than local stuff but sure Johnny having to immigrate is a small price to pay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

All looks lovely of course and maybe a bit cheaper than local stuff but sure Johnny having to immigrate is a small price to pay.

I'd be rather more inclined to blame the crooks in Fianna fail and there banker friends for immigration than a few franchises to be honest.

Don't Mc Donalds buy all there meat for Europe from Glanbia?

I'd be rather more inclined to blame the crooks in Fianna fail and there banker friends for immigration than a few franchises to be honest.

Don't Mc Donalds buy all there meat for Europe from Glanbia?

They do in fairness. Mcdonalds are one of the better ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

"Barry's bread, kill-a-man dead" was what we used to say as kids, I still won't touch it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭xxyyzz

Gernerally big franchises would have one big supplier rather than local ones for each outlet. Usuallyall their purchasing is done centrally and its a lot easier and cheaper for them to negotiate a single contract rather than dealing with small individual suppliers around the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 kimbaines

Cood wrote: »
    Yummys Cafe across the street from Bmobile are looking for a chef.

Thanks Del, will post this up on Jobs forum for the boss ;) Yummy off the Square looking to do evenings at the weekends - Would be interested in finding out what ye think is missing from the Restaurant scene in Tralee? What sort if food / dining experience etc ye would like to see??

I would like somewhere that specialised in great salads. You cant get a choice of salads anywhere in Tralee, apart from the normal. Its definitelly an opening in the market for a top quality salad bar, esp at lunch time!

• Registered Users Posts: 45 kimbaines

Notice that there are a lot of road closures on Sat 15th Feb due to the Valentines 10 mile run. It starts at Wetlands and finishes in Denny St.
    I hear around 400 runners taking part.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 U201

Hi All,

I am moving to Tralee in the next week or two. I am in my mid 20's and looking for club to join and people to meet my own age. Essentially I would like to meet people my own age.

I am not into playing field sports such as GAA and rugby. I do walk and jog a bit.

I just don't want to stay in the house all evening. Any ideas greatly appreciated

I am Male by the way

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭snams

U201 wrote: »
    Hi All,

I am moving to Tralee in the next week or two. I am in my mid 20's and looking for club to join and people to meet my own age. Essentially I would like to meet people my own age.

I am not into playing field sports such as GAA and rugby. I do walk and jog a bit.

I just don't want to stay in the house all evening. Any ideas greatly appreciated

I am Male by the way

CrossFit in Monavalley Industrial Estate, just off "The Fat Mile" is a great place to be and the trainers are absolutely fantastic. They cater for all levels of fitness.
    Also, you can join "Born to Run" group. They meet every week night at around 6.30 in Aquadome car park. For exact hours check their Facebook page.

There are many other groups, clubs or societies that you can get involved with (hillwalking, cycling, etc). Tralee is a great town. Welcome!

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭LoganRice

2013LEO wrote: »
    Ballygarry Hotel is just outside Tralee town, (coming from the Killarney/Castleisland side). The food is always great there. Its child friendly (& its in off the road) & has a lovely area near the reception where you can relax after your meal. From past experience all age groups like it. You can check out their menus online & they cater for all diet requirements. (btw I have no connection with this place, I'm just recommending them going on past experiences). Hope you enjoy whichever restaurant you pick & your trip to Tralee.

http://www.ballygarryhouse.com/brooks.html

Thank you (:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

Hi All,

I am Male by the way

You've got the 'born to run" group, maybe a bit more than a jogging group, but a good bunch & great craic I'm told .

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭2013LEO

Hi All,

I am Male by the way

I'd suggest Born To Run too (its free):

http://www.traleemarathon.com/born-to-run.html

There is also a tennis club, if interested:
    www.traleetennisclub.ie

Both meet up on Dan Spring Road in Tralee (same road as The Carlton Hotel).

You might find www.tralee.ie good to find out about Tralee. Best of luck with moving to Tralee.

Hi All,

I am Male by the way

Take a surf lesson and then get a board for yourself. Plenty of great spots relatively close to Tralee. Warning: if you get hooked, there's no going back :D

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Sully34

Seems a few posts from yesterday have disappeared into the ether ;)

So you went wild on boards, good for you lad

Hi All,

I am Male by the way

You could walk to the pub every evening, God knows there is plenty to choose from or you could just come on here every evening and talk about coffee and buns

Sully34 wrote: »
    You could walk to the pub every evening, God knows there is plenty to choose from or you could just come on here every evening and talk about coffee and buns

Shhh, the adults are talking

xxyyzz wrote: »
    Shhh, the adults are talking

Yeah like I said, about coffee and buns

on a serious matter, an appeal has been issued for a woman who is missing from Tralee since Sunday.

Taken from Kerry's Eye facebook page:

'Gardai are appealing to the public for assistance in tracing the whereabouts of 23-year-old Aisling Thompson missing from her home in Tralee since Sunday 9th February 2014.

She was last seen in the early hours of Sunday morning at Stack Villas, Tralee. She left this location in her car - a blue Honda Civic registration number 99 LK 7154. Aisling is described as approximately 5ft 7” in height, with long brown hair and brown eyes.

Anyone with information is asked to contact Tralee Garda Station 066-7102300 or the Garda Confidential Line 1800 666 111.
    '

https://www.facebook.com/kerryseye?fref=ts

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Trace-Missing-Persons-Ireland/143712565673714?fref=ts

I don't know her, but I hope she is found safe and well.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Usually see posts for missing people been posted on the After Hours Forum Ciarrai,

Could be worth a try.

Was in town saturday night two weeks ago and spotted a young wan on her own trying to make her way down through the town at closing time. She made it as far as Costa before falling flat on her face just as two Gardai were strolling up towards her. They picked her up off the ground and sent her on her way without even looking back to check on her. How careless is this to leave a young girl in that state at that time of the night. The Gardai are bloody useless even when they do show up

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭fatalll

Was in town saturday night two weeks ago and spotted a young wan on her own trying to make her way down through the town at closing time. She made it as far as Costa before falling flat on her face just as two Gardai were strolling up towards her. They picked her up off the ground and sent her on her way without even looking back to check on her. How careless is this to leave a young girl in that state at that time of the night. The Gardai are bloody useless even when they do show up
    ah now they cant be escorting everyone drunk home to make sure they are ok.
    Cant blame the gardai for the "young wan" as you put it, being drunk.
    They may have been going to a more serious matter, who knows

fatalll wrote: »

They didnt look as if they were in any rush anywhere pal to be honest. The street there is lined with taxis, how hard is it to ask the girl where she lived and had she money to get a taxi

have to agree with you, they tend to be a bit slow at responding to things at times! I have had to call them on a number of occassions, and they have not turned up, despite numerous calls! I know they are pretty short staffed, but as you said, they could have at least ensured she got a taxi or something. What if something had happened to her!?

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Clab mor

fatalll wrote: »

Totally agree if she's falling around the place drunk she should be old enough to look after herself.

If she's illegally drinking underage then she's the parents problem. Parents should always know where there children are!!!

Don't see how the Gardai could have handled it any differently tbh. The same would have been done in the UK. Pick em up and move em on......

Personally I think the Gardai do the best they can given the circumstances and resources. Usually those who constantly complain about law enforcement are those that have a particular undesired acquaintance with them already!!