Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tralee Thread (No chit-chat)

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Sully34

Clab mor wrote: »
    Totally agree if she's falling around the place drunk she should be old enough to look after herself.

If she's illegally drinking underage then she's the parents problem. Parents should always know where there children are!!!

Don't see how the Gardai could have handled it any differently tbh. The same would have been done in the UK. Pick em up and move em on......

Personally I think the Gardai do the best they can given the circumstances and resources. Usually those who constantly complain about law enforcement are those that have a particular undesired acquaintance with them already!!

Thats a very narrow minded statement even if it does come from a Guard

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Clab mor

Sully34 wrote: »
    Thats a very narrow minded statement even if it does come from a Guard

I wouldn't agree that its narrow minded.

Our law enforcement is stretched to its limit everyday, unless the young lady was breaking the law or was unconscious/showing signs of injury etc why should the Gardai get involved.

10 mins spent getting someone home from a self inflicted drink binge is 10 mins wasted when there presence or assistance may be needed somewhere further up the street!!

If this young ladies friends weren't worried about her why should the Gardai???

How would you feel if you finished working in one of the pubs and was walking home sober as judge and got the sh**e hammered outa you because the only two Gardai in the town were making sure a young girl got a drive home after drinking too much!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

They didnt look as if they were in any rush anywhere pal to be honest. The street there is lined with taxis, how hard is it to ask the girl where she lived and had she money to get a taxi

Could have least helped across the road and put her into a taxi,

Job done,

And then move on to catch some lad going for a piss up against the wall,book him Dano!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

So you went wild on boards, good for you lad

Ah, I bow to your "sullys go wild' experience

Clab mor wrote: »
    I wouldn't agree that its narrow minded.

Our law enforcement is stretched to its limit everyday, unless the young lady was breaking the law or was unconscious/showing signs of injury etc why should the Gardai get involved.

10 mins spent getting someone home from a self inflicted drink binge is 10 mins wasted when there presence or assistance may be needed somewhere further up the street!!

If this young ladies friends weren't worried about her why should the Gardai???

How would you feel if you finished working in one of the pubs and was walking home sober as judge and got the sh**e hammered outa you because the only two Gardai in the town were making sure a young girl got a drive home after drinking too much!!!

I would take a few digs in the head over some young girl,someone's daughter getting attacked on her way home because someone wasn't arsed about doing their job

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Clab mor

I would take a few digs in the head over some young girl,someone's daughter getting attacked on her way home because someone wasn't arsed about doing their job

It's a catch 22 scenario and I'm sure you'd prob look at things differently if you were the victim of an unprovoked crime or attack.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Call me sceptical. But he appears out of nowhere after months missing. Trys and fails to get a rise from people here over the weekend. And now we have a story of guards abandoning young drunken girls on the streets of Tralee!

I better not say anymore!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Call me sceptical. But he appears out of nowhere after months missing. Trys and fails to get a rise from people here over the weekend. And now we have a story of guards abandoning young drunken girls on the streets of Tralee!

Agree 100% Michael. :)

Furthermore I have always found the Ladies and Gentlemen of GS in Tralee to be most courteous and helpful.

As for the event the Op allegedly witnessed ?????????.
    No comment.

Perhaps a member of the G S force may be reading Sullys allegations and act accordingly .

Hopefully the OP will go back to his studies, the Mock exams are on at the moment.

Was in town saturday night two weeks ago and spotted a young wan on her own trying to make her way down through the town at closing time. She made it as far as Costa before falling flat on her face just as two Gardai were strolling up towards her. They picked her up off the ground and sent her on her way without even looking back to check on her. How careless is this to leave a young girl in that state at that time of the night. The Gardai are bloody useless even when they do show up

Two weeks ago? You are only raising the issue now? What did you do to assist the young lady you are expressing concern about? Have you an issue with the Gardai and the Law? How much of this incident actually happened? I am sure if you are correct it is recorded on CCTV back at the station , should you wish to make a formal complaint. Be careful not to waste valuable Police time!

They didnt look as if they were in any rush anywhere pal to be honest. The street there is lined with taxis, how hard is it to ask the girl where she lived and had she money to get a taxi

If you were so concerned for the young lady why didn't you take on the role of good samaritan and escort her to a taxi ? I suggest you are simply trying to have a pop at the Gardai ! This is a serious matter for which I hope for your sake you have concrete evidence to support your allegation. Do you have an issue with the Gardai? Recently or in the past?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭unkymo

A massive storm coming later on this morning.

Met eireann have issued a red alert for Kerry and Cork, winds gusting from 130-160 km/h. Stay safe!!

http://www.met.ie/nationalwarnings/default.asp

If you were so concerned for the young lady why didn't you take on the role of good samaritan and escort her to a taxi ? I suggest you are simply trying to have a pop at the Gardai ! This is a serious matter for which I hope for your sake you have concrete evidence to support your allegation. Do you have an issue with the Gardai? Recently or in the past?

I was much too busy doing my own job which cant be said for the Gardai. Plenty of people witnessed the incident that night. I only stated what I saw that night on here because I actually thought this was a forum about Tralee but it seems if it dont sit well with you then it must be untrue.
    Not that its any of your business but in all my years I have never had a run in with the law but could tell a few stories that would keep you up at night. They are useless when you really need them and I know that from experience and other peoples experience

And then a hero comes along...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

Agree 100% Michael. :)

Furthermore I have always found the Ladies and Gentlemen of GS in Tralee to be most courteous and helpful.

As for the event the Op allegedly witnessed ?????????.
    No comment.

Perhaps a member of the G S force may be reading Sullys allegations and act accordingly .

Hopefully the OP will go back to his studies, the Mock exams are on at the moment.

its not just him on this thread that have found the gardai inadequate, Ciarrai said yesterday that she has rang them multiple times to no avail. I rang them a few months back because of anti social behaviour near where I live where they were harrassing elderly people and the gardai still didn't arrive that night after the second time I rang them. Wasn't it St. Patricks day last year most people on this thread were slating the gardai because of the huge amount of underage drinkers in the town that lead to fighting etc on the street with no guards around.

Whats all this shouting? We will have no trouble here. This is a local thread for local people

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

unkymo wrote: »
    A massive storm coming later on this morning.

Met eireann have issued a red alert for Kerry and Cork, winds gusting from 130-160 km/h. Stay safe!!

http://www.met.ie/nationalwarnings/default.asp

its scary out there now! Lights keep flickering on and off here in work. Not liking this at all :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

pookiesboo wrote: »
    its not just him on this thread that have found the gardai inadequate, Ciarrai said yesterday that she has rang them multiple times to no avail. I rang them a few months back because of anti social behaviour near where I live where they were harrassing elderly people and the gardai still didn't arrive that night after the second time I rang them. Wasn't it St. Patricks day last year most people on this thread were slating the gardai because of the huge amount of underage drinkers in the town that lead to fighting etc on the street with no guards around.

I agree. I have had Gardai be very helpful and do their job well, but I have had times where I've got very annoyed at Gardai on the phone for not having any interest in what I was saying and not bothering to come to our assistance when we have requested them! They are very understaffed there, we all know that, but if someone looks like they are vunerable or even tells them they feel like they might be in trouble, at least take it seriously and do something!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,867 ✭✭✭kn

Anyone daring to go out in that wind??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

Don't think I've ever seen the wind this bad,wear hard hats when yer outside,it's gonna be raining slates and ridge tiles

I was much too busy doing my own job which cant be said for the Gardai. Plenty of people witnessed the incident that night. I only stated what I saw that night on here because I actually thought this was a forum about Tralee but it seems if it dont sit well with you then it must be untrue.
    Not that its any of your business but in all my years I have never had a run in with the law but could tell a few stories that would keep you up at night. They are useless when you really need them and I know that from experience and other peoples experience

to be fair to Sully, he could have been driving by and spotted it. I might have driven by & thought oh God I hope she's ok, but not actually stop & do anything. We can't make someone out to be a bad person just because they didn't stop to help! I don't see why the Gardai couldn't have assisted her to a taxi, especially if she was on her own! I would like to think that if I was in that vunerable state, that I could rely on a Garda to help me, not just walk off!

Sully been eating brussel sprouts again?

There are cars damaged in Slatt's carpark, off Boherbee/JJSheey road. Avoid it as its very dangers. Corragated iron roof wrapped around one car & a pole went straigh through the window of another. Lots of debris & smashed windows. We moved our car, which thankfully isn't damaged. Very scary!!!

A lot of damage in Rock st, signs & slates blowing off & reports of major damage to the Brandon hotel roof

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Umekichi

Our oil tank has been blown off its stand :(

Also as to the Garda being useless, they are.When I first moved here, I was mugged. I went to the station to report it and it felt like the Garda behind the counter couldn't give a flying f**k.

there is a huge tree down on top of the roof of O'Donnells in Mounthawk!!

1601593_10151854194445806_750486181_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭unkymo

Kerry County Council telling people to stay indoors;

https://twitter.com/countykerry/status/433577544622039040

On Facebook a friend has said that the Brandon Hotel roof is in the car park(!) and the train line to Killarney is blocked because of falling trees on the line.

its meant to die down by 3pm...Im watching the clock now! This is freaking me out! I am convinced our side fence will be in another county by the time I get home later! Its scary that this is during the day, so many people are about, at least if it was at night there are less people around! I still have to go to the bank....will have to wait until after 3pm now, not a hope I'm walking through town & being hit by a slate!

Apparently all the taxi's in town are gone now until it dies down!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

Ciarrai76 wrote: »
    its meant to die down by 3pm...Im watching the clock now! This is freaking me out! I am convinced our side fence will be in another county by the time I get home later! Its scary that this is during the day, so many people are about, at least if it was at night there are less people around! I still have to go to the bank....will have to wait until after 3pm now, not a hope I'm walking through town & being hit by a slate!

Apparently all the taxi's in town are gone now until it dies down!

I can't remember it being this bad in a long time. Came home to find our side gate blown down, our mop and bucket blew across a busy street and i had to get them while cars were driving past.....which wasn't at all embarrassing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

Someone said that the canopy off applegreen is gone! The aquadome roof looks to have been hit again too

• Registered Users Posts: 3,342 ✭✭✭phormium

I have never seen anything as bad as this, several trees down up near O'Donnells in Mounthawk, one practically across the road heading towards the fat mile. Road into estate opposite Mart entrance practically blocked with tree down as well. My poor little greenhouse is blown to bits and there are slates in my driveway, I have tiles and not slates so don't even know where they came from!