Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tralee Thread (No chit-chat)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,098 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Heard people saying it was 9.86 miles rather than 10 :). Bit of a balls if your timing yourself to do 10 not less.

Pb's for everyone so.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

kingdumb wrote: »

A great history lesson for myself,didn't even know some of them small shops existed,I love the way some of the people react to the camera,kinda of looking and thinking "WTF is he at over there" :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

A great history lesson for myself,didn't even know some of them small shops existed,I love the way some of the people react to the camera,kinda of looking and thinking "WTF is he at over there" :D

I was thinking the same! The old man standing staring at the camera, as if he was taking a photo of him was funny! I was only 6 when that was filmed, but I can't remember half the places being there!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Yeah, I would have been 8 around then. I recall that 83 was a fine summer which explains a lot of people dressed as such. No signs of obesity or tracksuits either! I noticed the dangerous pedestrian activity too! Some of the streets seemed so quiet which maybe explains why people would cross roads without looking as back then, there was a low chance of there being a car to look out for. Enjoy seeing all the Ford Cortinas and Escorts though!

Yeah, I can't recall a lot of the small shops either but can just about remember Parklands hotel on Ivy Terrace, Crostys pub, the Bon Bon sweet shop, Woolworths, McCanns and when Quinnsworth was in the Square. Oh yeah, and the amusingly named Gaywear!! I also enjoyed in Part 4 the demolition of the old Garda Barracks (I can clearly remember being in 3rd class in Holy family watching the crane demolish it from our class window). I enjoyed seeing the building of the new Horan Shopping Centre and all the train tracks around Rock St, how the Kerry Group headquarters looked so bare without all the mature trees that are there now, I could go on.....

Finally, I forgot about that row of ancient terraced cottages opposite the B+B in Ballymullen (since demolished also) and how Basin View and Strand St looked prior to all those modern apartments.

PS - I never knew Counihans in Princes Street had fuel pumps.

• Registered Users Posts: 672 ✭✭✭RevBlueJeans

Gaywear and Gaytone!

ongarboy wrote: »
    PS - I never knew Counihans in Princes Street had fuel pumps.
    Yes we allways got our petrol here. Dan Counihan the dentist who still operates on the site is a son of the owner. It was a texaco garage and we allways got our Texaco Art Calanders, Olympic Posters and Summer Beach Balls here!

I noted also the reckless parking at the capel st / high st junction!

Did you see the guy getting ready to sell the papers at the Pikeman? Kerryman Echooowaaah!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,342 ✭✭✭phormium

I feel old! I was working in the town centre at that time. The cars look so old too, I had a Fiat 127 back then I think then I got a Datsun 120y, I loved that car!

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭hanamandiol

Priceless footage of old Tralee-many thanks Kingdumb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

Well done. A great bit of nostalgia. A glimpse of an era gone by never to be seen again. A lovely bit of history especially to the younger folks and those who moved to Tralee. Love it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

who were to two men towards the end on the microphone?

Ciarrai76 wrote: »

"Jimmy Davis Roadshow" from the old Radio Kerry. He did discos from Dingle to BallyB and fro Castleisland to Killarney! Don't know the older man.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

phormium wrote: »
    I feel old! I was working in the town centre at that time. The cars look so old too, I had a Fiat 127 back then I think then I got a Datsun 120y, I loved that car!

Theres two 120Ys(low miles saloon and coupe)in the shed here if you want to relive old memories...
    Along with quite a few other old Datsuns.

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭groovie

I was 17 that summer, looking back at these has given me a great perspective on the town and my own life. I am eternally grateful for this opportunity ,many many thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Southern Dandy

Wasn't even born then but those videos were just brilliant. It is way of peering into my parents past, and what it was like for them back then. Chances are whilst filming "Dennys" my Father would have been blissfully unaware this was being filmed while he worked inside.

My mother and my aunt are actually calling up to me during the week to watch these on "that machine of mine".

Really was amazing to watch great post dude :) and has that Chemist beside the corner house nevvvvvvver changed??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,342 ✭✭✭phormium

Theres two 120Ys(low miles saloon and coupe)in the shed here if you want to relive old memories...
    Along with quite a few other old Datsuns.

I had the coupe, lovely metallic green colour, kept it until the rust got it, springs or something at the back came up through the boot :(

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭tfer

Really enjoyed watching those videos, saw an old friend of mine demolishing the garda barracks.
    On a side note I also watched the James Last concert in Tralee, but I could not figure out where in Tralee did it take place, any old timers here remember it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

tfer wrote: »
    Really enjoyed watching those videos, saw an old friend of mine demolishing the garda barracks.
    On a side note I also watched the James Last concert in Tralee, but I could not figure out where in Tralee did it take place, any old timers here remember it ?

Austin Stack park

I love the total lack of health and safety where the houses are being knocked by the digger. 2 yellow cones!
    And people walking and cycling past no bother.

tfer wrote: »

Austin stacks park! I was there with my dad :)

I love the total lack of health and safety where the houses are being knocked by the digger. 2 yellow cones!

I noticed that too!! Cars parked alongside it too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

Even the guys installing the water meters have hard hats on now. Bizzare. Maybe it's to protect from irate householders.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭acequion

Thanks a million kingdumb for posting this wonderful footage. I haven't got a chance yet to watch it all but am really looking forward to it. I was born and reared in Tralee and remember summer 83 well. But looking back now it does indeed seem a foreign country, the cars,the clothes, the hairstyles,all the old shops that have since disappeared ie Munster Warehouse.

But life back then was way more easy going than it is today, so from that point of view,much better. Very nostalgic trip down memory lane.

If thats Boherbee you are referring to, there was a shop called "The Kitchen Stores" there, it was directly across from the castle off licence

Ciarrai76 wrote: »

Frank O'Brien was the contractor who looked after the building of the new barracks and the demolition of the old.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭2013LEO

beertons wrote: »
    Anyone run the 10 miler today?

Fair play to everyone who did it but IMO the organisers shouldnt have picked a Saturday for it, a Sunday would have been much quieter on the roads & there would have been alot more people out to support the runners. There were signs up around the Stand Road side of town that the roads were meant to be closed 9.30 to 10.30 but at 11 the traffic was crazy with traffic stopped going up and down Strand Road with the runners coming down Spa Road & turning right towards Knockmoyle/Kerins Park direction. It cant have been too easy for the runners either.

If thats Boherbee you are referring to, there was a shop called "The Kitchen Stores" there, it was directly across from the castle off licence

I remember my dad telling me that just up from Dom O'Donnell furniture in Boherbee,the street was a lot narrower because of a terrace of houses that used to be there and caused major congestion into the town as it was the sole artery into the town and beyond it. Remember John Joe Sheehy Road wasn't built then and Killerisk road was practically a boreen so all traffic went through Boherbee. The demolition we see (I also noticed the complete lack of health and safety - not even a barricade - unreal!) is of those houses. A more modern terrace was built behind it to rehouse the occupants and made the road wider.

ongarboy wrote: »
    I remember my dad telling me that just up from Dom O'Donnell furniture in Boherbee,the street was a lot narrower because of a terrace of houses that used to be there and caused major congestion into the town as it was the sole artery into the town and beyond it. Remember John Joe Sheehy Road wasn't built then and Killerisk road was practically a boreen so all traffic went through Boherbee. The demolition we see (I also noticed the complete lack of health and safety - not even a barricade - unreal!) is of those houses. A more modern terrace was built behind it to rehouse the occupants and made the road wider.

Thats right to an extent, but there were other houses further up the street that were even more prominent on the road, they were knocked a a couple of years previous to that. People would step out of their front door & onto the road, no footpath :)

The builder of the new(at the time) Garda station reckoned it will last 300 years. I would very much doubt it will be standing then!

There was mention of it moving to Dan Spring Road at one stage. Has that been shelved due to the current austerity?

Thats right to an extent, but there were other houses further up the street that were even more prominent on the road, they were knocked a a couple of years previous to that. People would step out of their front door & onto the road, no footpath :)

That's interesting, thanks! I've seen situations like that with old terraces still occupied in places like Youghal and Macroom where lorries seem to pass inches from front doors. You wouldn't want to be running out of the house in a hurry!:eek: