Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tralee Thread (No chit-chat)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,773 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

kaji wrote: »
    Is there anywhere safe and preferably cheap/free to park a car near the Bons hospital? I have to go to the hospital and won't be allowed to drive home so will have to leave it in Tralee overnight. Would appreciate any help.

Your car will be grand overnight in the Strand Road club either.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Poker Face wrote: »
    anyone have contact details for a guy who can fix laptops who i think is based in the tralee shopping center next to small benners. cant dinf any details on web for him

Used him myself a few times,found him very reasonable

http://www.goldenpages.ie/computer-works-tralee/1/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

keane2097 wrote: »
    The casual lechery and sexism about people out minding their own business cycling in the fine weather around Tralee the last few days is nauseating.

This could be the mothers, sisters and daughters of people on this thread you are talking about. Stop being such ****ing creeps.

Oh folks , have you lost your sense of humour altogether. Can't anyone take a joke anymore. Political correctness gone mad????? Come on, as if I would be hanging around the College on a sunny afternoon.???

Anyhow I would like to compliment the juvenile cycle club whom I passed in Caherslee this pm lead by an experienced cyclist in the cycle lane and taking up the rear a support vehicle with hazard warning lights. Well done to the organisers , participants and other road users. Yes there is plenty of room on the road for everyone .

Oh folks , have you lost your sense of humour altogether. Can't anyone take a joke anymore. Political correctness gone mad????? Come on, as if I would be hanging around the College on a sunny afternoon.???

Anyhow I would like to compliment the juvenile cycle club whom I passed in Caherslee this pm lead by an experienced cyclist in the cycle lane and taking up the rear a support vehicle with hazard warning lights. Well done to the organisers , participants and other road users. Yes there is plenty of room on the road for everyone .

The idea of driving your car slowly behind strangers so you can ogle them in their cycling gear is meant to tickle my sense of humour?

I'm afraid I don't get the joke.

Young women out minding their own business do not exist to titillate you in your car or to be the butt of your jokes on the internet anymore than they do for creeps on building sites leering at them and yelling "jokes" from the scaffolds.

Seriously, instead of lamenting about "political correctness gone mad" as though objectifying women was some important right being stolen from you I suggest a bit of introspection as to whether your attitude towards the notion is really something to be proud of as an adult.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

I think you are taking everyones posts too seriously. If Michael Fassbender or Colin Farrell were in Tralee to attend a film premiere and girls came on here saying how hot they were in the flesh, would all the men be up in arms about the objectification of men?? Somehow, I don't think so. They would see it as harmless fun. The banter here was harmless but you've chosen to take it out of context and add a sinister element to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

I think you are taking everyones posts too seriously. If Michael Fassbender or Colin Farrell were in Tralee to attend a film premiere and girls came on here saying how hot they were in the flesh, would all the men be up in arms about the objectification of men?? Somehow, I don't think so. They would see it as harmless fun. The banter here was harmless but you've chosen to take it out of context and add a sinister element to it.

The idea of driving your car slowly behind strangers so you can ogle them in their cycling gear is meant to tickle my sense of humour?

Young women out minding their own business do not exist to titillate you in your car or to be the butt of your jokes on the internet anymore than they do for creeps on building sites leering at them and yelling "jokes" from the scaffolds.

Seriously, instead of lamenting about "political correctness gone mad" as though objectifying women was some important right being stolen from you I suggest a bit of introspection as to whether your attitude towards the notion is really something to be proud of as an adult.

Of course you are entitled to your opinion too, be it self righteous or otherwise. I take you must be a teacher?

ongarboy wrote: »

Thank you Ongarboy. I guess you understand my sense of humour and recognise no harm was intended by my remarks.

I agree that Keane has added a sinister aspect to , which indeed is rather concerning.

Pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭groovie

Pathetic.

Dont' be so hard on yourself, or indeed others. Del is a sweetheart, as can be attested to by most of the regular posters/lurkers on this thread.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Sully34

Its funny how the people that cant take a joke on here are up in arms over people who cant take a joke on here

Of course you are entitled to your opinion too, be it self righteous or otherwise. I take you must be a teacher?

Says the most self righteous person ever to grace the Tralee thread

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭pickled101

Anybody else see Tommy Tiernan in the Ballyroe Hotel last night?

He had some very good moments, and quite a few boring ones.

Don't think I'd go again, his material is fairly old

Well done to the Ballyroe for hosting this, we need more of these nights out in Tralee

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

we came across an accident this morning at the traffic lights on on the JJ Sheehy road. It appeared a person had either been knocked down or collapsed. I couldn't quite tell as there didn't appear to be a car close enough, but it is possible they were knocked down. There was a couple of people with the person (not sure if it was a man or a woman, I think female) and just as we had parked in Slatts carpark, the ambulance was coming. No Gardai were on the scene, so I think the ambulance was quite quick on the scene.
    Hopefully it wasn't anything serious and they are ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Clab mor

Your great craic altogether ...... a right barrel of laughs!!! :eek:

Call a spade a spade every straight male in the world is gona throw a glance at a fit female cycling in front of them dressed in lycra!!!!

And likewise every straight female is gona throw an eye on a similarly fit male.

Its human nature.......birds and bees and all that.

It was a simple joke ...... if you don't get it fine but don't make it sound sinister..............

Clab mor wrote: »
    Your great craic altogether ...... a right barrel of laughs!!! :eek:

Call a spade a spade every straight male in the world is gona throw a glance at a fit female cycling in front of them dressed in lycra!!!!

And likewise every straight female is gona throw an eye on a similarly fit male.

Its human nature.......birds and bees and all that.

It was a simple joke ...... if you don't get it fine but don't make it sound sinister..............

Save it for the locker room with the jocks and leave it off boards where it makes strangers who share a small town with you uncomfortable IMO. That's all.

Surely there is a thread on here,maybe After Hours,where Clab mor,Ogreboy and Del be able to post their sleazy comments

Save it for the locker room with the jocks and leave it off boards where it makes strangers who share a small town with you uncomfortable IMO. That's all.

Your earlier post introduced a sinister aspect, perhaps you would like to keep your thoughts to yourself rather than posting them on this thread?

Time to move on and enjoy the weekend !

You're living in the stone ages with your locker room jocks and building site whistlers, that's not the real world my friend.

If those harmless comments made you feel uncomfortable, then every day life, tv, magazines, newspapers must have you in a right tizzy. The world is and always will be full of sexual innuendo. Try and see the funny side of things and don't be such a prude.

As a side note and respectfully it is not for you to decide what I can and can't say on boards.

Clab mor wrote: »
    You're living in the stone ages with your locker room jocks and building site whistlers, that's not the real world my friend.

If those harmless comments made you feel uncomfortable, then every day life, tv, magazines, newspapers must have you in a right tizzy. The world is and always will be full of sexual innuendo. Try and see the funny side of things and don't be such a prude.

As a side note and respectfully it is not for you to decide what I can and can't say on boards.

Somebody is working themselves into a right state. Why dont you try and unwind with some bicycle porn

Your earlier post introduced a sinister aspect, perhaps you would like to keep your thoughts to yourself rather than posting them on this thread?

Time to move on and enjoy the weekend !

"Time to move on" says the guy who decided to dig out a ten day old post to respond to in the middle of the night. Fairly bizarre behaviour really.

Try to keep your eyes in your head while you're out enjoying yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

I like boobies.....is that ok to say on here?

I guess broad minded people like myself have no issue.

Or just dirty old men

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭groovie

Be carefull you could be burned at the stake!!!!!!!

Sully34 wrote: »
    Or just dirty old men

Less of the old!!!!

Sully34 wrote: »
    Somebody is working themselves into a right state. Why dont you try and unwind with some bicycle porn

What is this "porn" you speak of????

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

I think ye should just leave it. They're just a couple of wallies out getting their jollies. To say they're out perving over cyclists is a bit unfair. I'm sure one of them mentioned "fine fillies" a couple of weeks back so they're up around the bullring following the ponies and traps too.
    As Clab Mor once famously said "chillax man".

pookiesboo wrote: »
    I think ye should just leave it. They're just a couple of wallies out getting their jollies. To say they're out perving over cyclists is a bit unfair. I'm sure one of them mentioned "fine fillies" a couple of weeks back so they're up around the bullring following the ponies and traps too.
    As Clab Mor once famously said "chillax man".

Words of wisdom indeed!

What or where is the bullring? For the benefit of outsiders like myself could you explain please? The only bullrings I am aware of are in Spain