Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tralee Thread (No chit-chat)

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Clab mor

Words of wisdom indeed!

What or where is the bullring? For the benefit of outsiders like myself could you explain please? The only bullrings I am aware of are in Spain

its a local name for the area of mitchels cresent/st martins park its largely demolished now for what was to be the new mitchels regeneration project but there seems to be of a go slow with that at the moment due to funding.

I cant for the life of me remember the history of why its called the bull ring but has something to do with it being largely occupied by members of the traveller community.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Sully34

Clab mor wrote: »
    What is this "porn" you speak of????

You know the stuff clogging up your hard drive. The Del dash cam collection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

its a local name for the area of mitchels cresent/st martins park its largely demolished now for what was to be the new mitchels regeneration project but there seems to be of a go slow with that at the moment due to funding.

I cant for the life of me remember the history of why its called the bull ring but has something to do with it being largely occupied by members of the traveller community.

Interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

I could be wrong but I think the road structure of Mitchel's Crescent and Avenue was shaped like a bull ring hence the name.

It seems like the name doesn't be used as much these days or maybe it's because I'm not around Tralee a lot anymore. It was known by everyone back years ago.

Sully34 wrote: »
    You know the stuff clogging up your hard drive. The Del dash cam collection

Channel 906 on your skybox right now guys!!

Fascinating

You know I once had to ring babestation and ask the wan could she hide behind the couch because herself was coming down the stairs and I couldnt find the remote

Mind your own "hard drive" sully and leave mine out of it!! :D

ongarboy wrote: »
    I could be wrong but I think the road structure of Mitchel's Crescent and Avenue was shaped like a bull ring hence the name.

It seems like the name doesn't be used as much these days or maybe it's because I'm not around Tralee a lot anymore. It was known by everyone back years ago.

Id say that's because its mostly demolished now the majority of the travelling community have been relocated to other council estates throughout the town and surrounding areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Sully34

Mind your own "hard drive" sully and leave mine out of it!! :D

Oh dont worry I dont want to know whats on your hard drive

ah hear...... your mad about my hard drive you are!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

The bullring is no more, there's a new street there & the integrated services building has it's grand opening on Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

Id say that's because its mostly demolished now the majority of the travelling community have been relocated to other council estates throughout the town and surrounding areas.

This is correct. And furthermore when tralee town council was allocating this housing to the travelling community it also allocated many houses to travellers who had been from other areas like Limerick ect. That is why it may seem like there is much more of this group in town nowadays. Personally I think they are a group in society who contribute little and always are the first to have the hand out.

The Travellers recently obtained Special Status in Irish Law and are now recognised as an Ethnic Community

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

The Travellers recently obtained Special Status in Irish Law and are now recognised as an Ethnic Community

Does that give them a right to practice anti social behaviour,hassle people for money,beat the living **** out of each other with primitive weapons, don't try to integrate or pay no taxes. I do agree that not all travellers are like this but in my opinion the vast majority are. You can call me whatever you like but I can guarentee you if they pull into your driveway any day you'll be locking your garage that night.

Agree Sir! It most certainly does not give them immunity from prosecution for civil or criminal wrongs

Was watching the Ballybunion Happy video, a great idea & is going to increase their tourist potential
    Maybe boardsies could have a go at this, Ciarrai & del "happy-dancing" down castle st would be fun to film ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,867 ✭✭✭kn

No they have not. A committee of mainly lefty TD's in the Dail recommended that ethnic status be recognised. Dail committees would recommended anything and everything to any interest group that appears before them because they are not the one's that have to fund and legislate for these 'rights'. Government does that. Its very easy to spend other people's money that you do not have to magic up yourself.

kn wrote: »
    No they have not. A committee of mainly lefty TD's in the Dail recommended that ethnic status be recognised. Dail committees would recommended anything and everything to any interest group that appears before them because they are not the one's that have to fund and legislate for these 'rights'. Government does that. Its very easy to spend other people's money that you do not have to magic up yourself.

The state recognizes them as a different cultural group, England granted travellers ethnic status over 10 years ago, the Irish govt should & will follow suit

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

I noticed today that on the footpath beside Jess McCarthy's bar, there's a 'no right turn' roadsign in place.
    Does anyone know if that refers to traffic not being able to turn into St John's church or further down into Moyderwell?

I spotted that no right turn sign yesterday! its way too far back for anyone to notice it, hence there was a car stopped, signalling to turn right into the church & blocking a load of traffic! Makes no sense where it is! why couldn't they put it at the lights?

kn wrote: »

KN, Apologies you are correct. It is merely a recommendation . Sorry I misheard the news item on the radio.

Interesting article here from Irish Times

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/traveller-ethnicity-should-be-recognised-report-says-1.1764422

However would it be the worst thing in the world, if such status is granted?

Munster v Glasgow next Friday eve, anyone up for a boardsies beers or are we afraid there will be bloodshed? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Time to take trip back in time again,just seen these video clips on Youtube

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Kids at CBS Primary school and there take on "Happy"

http://traleetoday.ie/video-cbs-pupils-happy-time/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,867 ✭✭✭kn

Reports of tanks and UN vehicles out and about the town this morning......I know the Abbey on a Tuesday night can be a bit rough but is this not a bit of overkill??

The evidence. https://www.facebook.com/radiokerry

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

can i get a recommendation for a good chinese in tralee please

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

One beside mcdonalds, pagoda, is the best Chinese I've ever been to.

Crispy chicken pineapple all the way

Pagoda is good, nice surroundings, there is Tamarind Thai behind Garveys supervalue also, Thai/Chinese fusion food, very nice too

Certainly recommend trying The Tamarind. Angelie and her team always give their customers a very warm welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

tanks lads. much appreciated. ill give the tamarind a try

Just came across a new free monthly magazine titled Connect.

It contains the latest news and reviews from around Kerry.

Very impressive magazine, stylish, interesting articles, food , health, fashion, wine social events.....etc.

Certainly raising the bar for a free magazine. Well done!

First launched April 2014.

Made in Kerry for Kerry !

Watch out for June edition

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

One beside mcdonalds, pagoda, is the best Chinese I've ever been to.

Crispy chicken pineapple all the way

I agree about the Pagoda, my favourite Chinese in town and very good value!

I see there is another Electronic Cigarette shop opening up beside GameStop in Bridge Street soon! I heard there is another one opening in Castle St too! Can't understand why we need more than one of these stores! I am sure the Government will have these eventually shut down as they did with the 'head shops'. I know they are different, but there is a lot of talk about these ECigs, and how they are already being banned being used indoors in other countries as well as the fact they aren't regulated!

I thought that Ella Maria on Rock Street had closed down, but it turs out they have moved into a new premises opposite where Vals wason Bridge St. And that games & electronics shop is due to open soon in the old AWear unit.