Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tralee Thread (No chit-chat)

• Registered Users Posts: 672 ✭✭✭RevBlueJeans

I dont think Martin will run next election!
    Martin Ferris has already stated that he won't run in the next election. Dunn Fein don't have the tactical nous to win 2 seats in this constituency, unless they get a Kerry footballer or somesuch to attract the non traditional SF vote
    Ok thanks. Do you think SF can get a strong south kerry sweeper?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Ok thanks. Do you think SF can get a strong south kerry sweeper?

They seem fond of there Healy Rae's and fianna fail there for some reason!

Sickening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Is there two SF seats in Kerry? Father and Daughter perhaps?

Is it time to declare North Kerry (Tralee and Listowel) a HR free zone?

I doubt there is 2 SF seats but there may be a FF and HR seat there in 2 years IF FF can run the right candidates and manage to get vote transfers in their favour. Tbh, both are big asks of a party riven by completing dynasties.

But also 2 more years will probably not make FG/Labour any more popular either.

Btw, I would happily declare all kerry a HR free zone if I could but there is a good few years left in them boys yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Gillian Wharton has been eliminated, both Tommy Collins & Grace O'Donnell are possibly next in line.
    Sam Locke has done well & has overtaken Spring, Wall & Ted Fitz.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,867 ✭✭✭kn

Gillian Wharton has been eliminated, both Tommy Collins & Grace O'Donnell are possibly next in line.
    Sam Locke has done well & has overtaken Spring, Wall & Ted Fitz.

Sam Locke will win the 8th seat, he is being very transfer friendly. The last seat is between Graham Spring and Johnnie Wall. Spring seems to be transfer toxic and the Spring name seems to be the the lightening rod for disaffection in this election. I think Johnnie just might pip Spring to the last seat, maybe by even as little as 4 votes...............:P

kn wrote: »
    Sam Locke will win the 8th seat, he is being very transfer friendly. The last seat is between Graham Spring and Johnnie Wall. Spring seems to be transfer toxic and the Spring name seems to be the the lightening rod for disaffection in this election. I think Johnnie just might pip Spring to the last seat, maybe by even as little as 4 votes...............:P

Anybody have a greyhound need naming?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭acequion

kn wrote: »

I didn't vote for Graham,because as a worker,I feel utterly betrayed by Labour and will never vote for them again. But I know Graham.He's a decent person and works hard and I'd prefer to see him get the seat than Johnnie Wall.

acequion wrote: »
    I didn't vote for Graham,because as a worker,I feel utterly betrayed by Labour and will never vote for them again. But I know Graham.He's a decent person and works hard and I'd prefer to see him get the seat than Johnnie Wall.

Labour forgot their ideals & core vote when they got into power (probably even before that)
    They are supposed to be a party of the working class, the proletariat. But, here in Kerry we have AJ (a banker) who has never known a days financial hardship in his life, waltz into the council & then into a dáil seat.
    Now we have Graham (a nice guy indeed) but, again, a golf scholarship to Florida, a failed golf career, onto being his brothers Secretary at approx €50k a year, and as totally removed from the realities of the working man as you can possibly get

Labour forgot their ideals & core vote when they got into power (probably even before that)
    They are supposed to be a party of the working class, the proletariat. But, here in Kerry we have AJ (a banker) who has never known a days financial hardship in his life, waltz into the council & then into a dáil seat.
    Now we have Graham (a nice guy indeed) but, again, a golf scholarship to Florida, a failed golf career, onto being his brothers Secretary at approx €50k a year, and as totally removed from the realities of the working man as you can possibly get

While I completely agree with you as regards Labour,I feel you're being unfair to the point of nasty about the Springs. Graham, a father of a young family, was unemployed for quite a time, so you are wrong to say that he is removed from the realities. As for AJ,he couldn't get into the council or the Dail without being elected and don't forget he topped the poll at one stage. If the same voters now want him removed, they will have the chance at the next GE. No need to get personal about it.

I stand by every word. Graham has never experienced what it's like to be on the breadline, to know real hardship & to even suggest otherwise is laughable

Ted Fitzgerald has been eliminated

I stand by every word. Graham has never experienced what it's like to be on the breadline, to know real hardship & to even suggest otherwise is laughable

And since when was it necessary to be totally impoverished to stand as a Labour party candidate? Ireland is not a third world country. Middle class people are also workers and many used to be Labour voters.

I just don't like this undercurrent of begrudgery that is rife nowadays, as in the idea that if a person hasn't been on the proverbial breadline,they somehow haven't been affected by recession and so are not qualified to stand for public office. It's a very narrow minded attitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭kingdomlad

I Radioed a Cab last night from Gallys to Sundays Well. I waited 20 mins for it to arrive, and when i got home i was charged €8.00. I thought this was a bit steep as its still within the town boundaries. What do ye think??

And since when was it necessary to be totally impoverished to stand as a Labour party candidate? Ireland is not a third world country. Middle class people are also workers and many used to be Labour voters.

I just don't like this undercurrent of begrudgery that is rife nowadays, as in the idea that if a person hasn't been on the proverbial breadline,they somehow haven't been affected by recession and so are not qualified to stand for public office. It's a very narrow minded attitude.

No, but the mantra of Labour has always been a party for the working man. You look at the other candidates trying to get elected, Ted Fitz a man who dedicated his life to local politics & organizations, Terry O'Brien, helping with the IWA & local groups. Sam Locke who has badgered the council about everything from sewers, to housing issues, to clean ups of spa rd, Balloonagh & Marian pk, Teresa Ferris who has put herself at the beck & call of every voter who required her help, even Norma Foley has done work with women's groups, the Mitchels regeneration etc. They all laid the groundwork before they went forward for election. They put in the hard hours with constituents, they had already made many contributions to the locale, before! they had been elected.
    I'd put Graham in the same bracket as young Tommy Mac. Has done nothing to deserve to be on the ballot paper (never mind get elected) walked in, a sitting councillor pushed aside by the party & himself, and trading on a famous family name to get him elected. No groundwork done, no interaction with the people he is meant to represent.
    You can dress it up whatever way you like, it isn't begrudgery, I'm not being narrow minded or whatever label you wish to tag me with, I'm just stating the facts as I see them

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭groovie

kingdomlad wrote: »
    I Radioed a Cab last night from Gallys to Sundays Well. I waited 20 mins for it to arrive, and when i got home i was charged €8.00. I thought this was a bit steep as its still within the town boundaries. What do ye think??

What way did the driver go?

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭kingdomlad

Through the Mitchels, passed the train station, turned right passed stokers & fairies cross, left at Killeen over by Na gael club house.

kingdomlad wrote: »
    Through the Mitchels, passed the train station, turned right passed stokers & fairies cross, left at Killeen over by Na gael club house.

That's roughly 5 km, if they charge a €1 per km on top of call out it doesn't seem too tasty.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,773 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

No, but the mantra of Labour has always been a party for the working man. You look at the other candidates trying to get elected, Ted Fitz a man who dedicated his life to local politics & organizations, Terry O'Brien, helping with the IWA & local groups. Sam Locke who has badgered the council about everything from sewers, to housing issues, to clean ups of spa rd, Balloonagh & Marian pk, Teresa Ferris who has put herself at the beck & call of every voter who required her help, even Norma Foley has done work with women's groups, the Mitchels regeneration etc. They all laid the groundwork before they went forward for election. They put in the hard hours with constituents, they had already made many contributions to the locale, before! they had been elected.
    I'd put Graham in the same bracket as young Tommy Mac. Has done nothing to deserve to be on the ballot paper (never mind get elected) walked in, a sitting councillor pushed aside by the party & himself, and trading on a famous family name to get him elected. No groundwork done, no interaction with the people he is meant to represent.
    You can dress it up whatever way you like, it isn't begrudgery, I'm not being narrow minded or whatever label you wish to tag me with, I'm just stating the facts as I see them

That's very different to complaining that he's not impoverished enough to run for Labour.

keane2097 wrote: »
    That's very different to complaining that he's not impoverished enough to run for Labour.

No, I said removed from the realities of the working man that labour purport to represent.

While I agree with a lot of what you said in an earlier post about all the work the others have done to merit being elected,and you're quite right that Graham is not yet in that league, however you are still wrong about the notion that he is removed from the realities of the working man.Graham is middle class,as are many Labour [or former Labour] supporters and Graham has a college degree but knows what it's like to be unemployed,as do thousands of Irish graduates,most unfortunately. And earning 50k per annum is by no means a fortune,it's the average income of many in the middle income group.

You seem to imply that Labour only represents the lower paid or blue collar worker and as such, a candidate must come from this background to qualify and that just is not true.

However, regardless of all that, the Labour Party has failed all its working supporters, both from low and middle income groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

This table worries me,if this is the way the next general election will go with FF on top,then we should book the flights out of here,

BohSN-bIYAA0GrA.jpg

While I agree with a lot of what you said in an earlier post about all the work the others have done to merit being elected,and you're quite right that Graham is not yet in that league, however you are still wrong about the notion that he is removed from the realities of the working man.Graham is middle class,as are many Labour [or former Labour] supporters and Graham has a college degree but knows what it's like to be unemployed,as do thousands of Irish graduates,most unfortunately. And earning 50k per annum is by no means a fortune,it's the average income of many in the middle income group.

You seem to imply that Labour only represents the lower paid or blue collar worker and as such, a candidate must come from this background to qualify and that just is not true.

However, regardless of all that, the Labour Party has failed all its working supporters, both from low and middle income groups.

Last time, it is Labour who claim to represent the common worker, they have always said they represent the common Joe, they are supposed to be socialists, they aren't, not anymore. But even their leader Gilmore has served with the Trade Unions & & earned his position as labour candidate. Graham has done none of this.
    Importantly, some people have forgotten that a sitting councillor has been abandoned by her party for this new candidate. Shocking behavior by the party & all concerned.
    They assumed the family name would carry him in, it didn't, he barely took the last seat & if SF had a third candidate running he probably wouldn't have a seat.
    As parliamentary secretary to AJ, I wonder how much time he can devote to his new constituents in the Tralee urban area ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭xxyyzz

Last time, it is Labour who claim to represent the common worker

How do you define common worker?

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭kingdumb

Hello Tralee,

Now is our chance, Killarney are posting nice things about their town with the hash tag #lovekillarney
    We can't be having that now can we ?

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

Not too many working in the private sector earning 50K per annum in North Kerry

kingdumb wrote: »
    Hello Tralee,

Now is our chance, Killarney are posting nice things about their town with the hash tag #lovekillarney

One very nice thing about Killarney is that it is quite close to Tralee.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Did Arthur have a bit of a melt down on Sean o Rourke's show this morning?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

kingdumb wrote: »
    Hello Tralee,

what are we waiting for!!! #LOVETRALEE
    tweet it for even more impact :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

two more shops closing down in the town, unfortunately.

D3 on Ashe street has a closing down sale on and the same in Swerve on Castle Street (which isn't open long).
    Shame to see shops closing.

Has anyone been in that new electronics store where Awear was? I think it was due to open on Friday.