Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tralee Thread (No chit-chat)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

anytime I click on a link to google maps I end up looking for my house etc LOL I could spend hours on it!
    kingdumb wrote: »
    The Green probably got its name from the fact that it was the castle green, presumably where my royal ancestors used for hang out of an evening with a stiff drink and some opium [ my how things have changed, naggins and hash are mostly consumed there these days ! ]

The small park was part of the green but was severed off a few decades back by Bothar na Parisaigh to form Pairc na Parisaigh.

Correct about Island of Geese, there is [or was] a street sign on the house next to Manna/Lambes.

Edit Yup the sign is still there although google seem to have sliced the center out

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Sully34

traleespud wrote: »
    Looking forward to reading your PM by the pool, it hurts my feelings when you call me aggressive and abusive publicly and the can't back it up!!!

This is all getting a little too Homoerotic for me,dont get me wrong Im flattered and all that but something tells me we wouldnt get on very well together but thanks anyway

First post here andmost likely my last. Last Sunday people posted about a newly wed lady getting beaten up by thugs and about how a local young man had tragically lost his life in a road accident.
    Taught this might give people a sense of perspective and a bit of cop on yet someone posts an opinion on the price of a sandwich and all hell breaks loose.
    My honest opinion close this thread down or at least I think it is high time that boards.ie arranged a cabinet reshuffle.
    Otherwise this Tralee thread will continue to be a place for about 10 posters to socialise and say whatever and to whoever they want and thank each other for successfully spelling four letter words.
    Good luck Tralee but this place reflects very poorly on you.

This is Genius!!

The Island of Geese is that lovely scenic view you have from the cells of the Guards barracks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Oh Sullys back folks .... And the thread was getting back on track, but that's all about to change .....AGAIN....

Welcome 1st poster
    Interesting post, with valid points
    ...............thanking each other for spelling four letter words???
    THOUGHT. ?? this might give people....................... :)
    Lelantos wrote: »
    Glad you created an account & voiced an opinion. Why not stick around? If the thread displeases you so much, why not give your input & try to make a change. If you believe the thread reflects poorly on Tralee, & don't stick around to try & change it, then it's a waste of a post
    First post here andmost likely my last. Last Sunday people posted about a newly wed lady getting beaten up by thugs and about how a local young man had tragically lost his life in a road accident.
    Taught this might give people a sense of perspective and a bit of cop on yet someone posts an opinion on the price of a sandwich and all hell breaks loose.
    My honest opinion close this thread down or at least I think it is high time that boards.ie arranged a cabinet reshuffle.
    Otherwise this Tralee thread will continue to be a place for about 10 posters to socialise and say whatever and to whoever they want and thank each other for successfully spelling four letter words.
    Good luck Tralee but this place reflects very poorly on you.

I love the posts before the penny dropped!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,867 ✭✭✭kn

There are a lot of other naming 'oddites' in Tralee. For example I am from the Mitchel's area originally and we would always have referred to Austin Stacks Park as 'the Sportsfield' and John Mitchel's as 'Chamfers' although I note that these names seem to have fallen out of usage in latter years as best as I can gague.

Oh Sullys back folks .... And the thread was getting back on track, but that's all about to change .....AGAIN....
    Didnt even know I was away

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

not necessarily....I think Sully is a changed man :):rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Sully34 wrote: »
    The Island of Geese is that lovely scenic view you have from the cells of the Guards barracks

We'll have to take your word on that one Sully

Ciarrai76 wrote: »
    not necessarily....I think Sully is a changed man :):rolleyes:

I would check the odds Paddy Power would give you on that first

We'll have to take your word on that one Sully

Well not really if you knew Tralee well

Speaking of the Green,this fine weather reminds of mooching down the Town park playing 5 aside. Those were the days my friends

Sully34 wrote: »

The window's in the cells are very high up and have thick frosted glass.....don't ask how I know.....cough cough.......:D

kn wrote: »
    The window's in the cells are very high up and have thick frosted glass.....don't ask how I know.....cough cough.......:D

Thats not frosted,probably just gets steamy in there

kn wrote: »

Sharing accomadation with Sully were you? Poor thing, judge probably let you off as you'd already suffered enough

I like this thread for the ones I know as Tralee heads. The ones from The Mitchels,The Narries,The Rockies.... The ones that grew up on the Estates and spent their whole life around the Town,the ones that know this place like the back of their hand. That to me is more intresting than who knows where to get a decent sandwich

• Registered Users Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭phormium

Anyone at that talk on mortgage debt tonight in the Carlton? Quite a small crowd considering the amount of people with debt problems.

Sharing accomadation with Sully were you? Poor thing, judge probably let you off as you'd already suffered enough

Nah I got out playing snooker with the coppers,what a waste of a full size table when none of them know how to play.

phormium wrote: »
    Anyone at that talk on mortgage debt tonight in the Carlton? Quite a small crowd considering the amount of people with debt problems.

maybe some people are too embarrassed or too private to be seen at it? I don't I'd like people to know I was financially in trouble, even if they all are too...I guess its just too sensitive for some people.

Dowdies bar is due to reopen this weekend. Seanie the owner is going to run it for a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

groovie wrote: »
    No lads, ye are completely wrong. The Isle of Geese is the bit of land that is bordered by High St, the little road that runs up towards the back of Shaws, and the little road that connects the roundabout to the old Denny entrance. It hosts the Garda Station, and at the other end, the Kerry School of Music.
    Lived in Tralee long?

that's exactly the road I described in my post! :confused:

Edit: LOL - only reading the interim posts now!!

ongarboy wrote: »

I'm making turkey sandwiches, do you want one?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

I'm making turkey sandwiches, do you want one?

As long as one side is gluten free and the other side is Cuisine deFrance semi baked stodge!! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭groovie

ongarboy wrote: »

Indeed you are quite correct. We were hoping for another meltdown on the thread but to no avail. :D

groovie wrote: »
    Indeed you are quite correct. We were hoping for another meltdown on the thread but to no avail. :D

It's a miracle! The thread came to life last night again but this time no one lost the rag!! :confused:

just passed Xtra Vision in Abbey court & there is a CLOSING DOWN sale on!!! :O

Is the Manor one staying open??

That's a shocker I must say! Is it possible they might be moving to a cheaper or better location?? It was not named by xtravision as one of the units closing as a result of coming out of examinership so I'd imagine it might well be moving. Maybe the landlord has had enough of them coming in and out of examinership twice in a year or so, leaving unpaid rent behind them, and maybe they are looking for a more stable tenant.

Aww crap! I know there is to be closures because of the restructuring of the company. But Tralee wasn't one of those mentioned at the time.
    I can't see the one in Manor being busier?