Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marathon des Sables 2013

• 05-04-2013 5:53am
    Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭

Officially starting today, flying out OUARZAZATE.

21 Irish are taking part this year, that's almost double from last year.
    No Irish ladies taking part.

244 GOLDING Fergal H 49 IRL
    494 REID James H 35 IRL
    570 MCMINN Andrew H 30 IRL
    606 BELL Brian H 49 IRL
    610 BLAKE Aidan H 32 IRL
    613 BOYCE Derek H 52 IRL
    617 BROSNAN Sean H 33 IRL
    622 BURKE Michael H 32 IRL
    623 BURKE Ulick H 36 IRL
    667 DUKE Conor H 30 IRL
    682 GERAGHTY James H 45 IRL
    694 GRIFFIN Sean H 34 IRL
    714 HOWLIN Colm H 31 IRL
    730 KELDERS Paul H 43 IRL
    739 LANIGAN Aidan H 33 IRL
    782 O LOUGHLIN Daragh H 27 IRL
    783 O DONNELL Ronan H 35 IRL
    784 O LOUGHLIN Graham H 32 IRL
    814 RIORDAN David H 39 IRL
    825 SHORTT Oliver H 39 IRL
    837 STONE John H 49 IRL

Saturday 06th is check-in day.

Racing starts Sunday 07th April breakfast until Friday 12th lunch.

Best of luck to all.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Gary Kirwan didn't make it this year I see.

Will follow this with interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

Oryx wrote: »
    Gary Kirwan didn't make it this year I see.

Will follow this with interest.
    Gary is really just a victim of this guy http://www.karlhenry.ie/karl-henry "I have been personal training for over 14 years now" - since he was 16 ?. check any of his race times, hard ground breaking. Most of them are walking and carrying a bag for a client. If someone was training me for this event you would want them to have similar experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

rom wrote: »
    Gary is really just a victim of this guy http://www.karlhenry.ie/karl-henry "I have been personal training for over 14 years now" - since he was 16 ?. check any of his race times, hard ground breaking. Most of them are walking and carrying a bag for a client. If someone was training me for this event you would want them to have similar experience.

He could do with a spell-check and proof read of his homepage. Never seen so many mistakes in one place.
    Talk about a self publicist, full of utter waffle.
    since becoming vegetarian over 5 years ago I have found an all new level of fitness that has seen him progress into marathon running,ironman triathlons and now ultramarathons

For all his talk, he has yet to complete an Ironman though, DNF all the way.
    Now I'm sure there could be many reasons for DNFs, but don't publicise that you do them until you've actually completed one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭hollypink

I didn't realise there was a connection between Gary Kirwan and Karl Henry; I've only heard Gary on the Ray Darcy show a few times but I don't remember him mentioning Karl Henry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Ah here. That's complete nonsense. Gary isn't a victim of anyone, let alone a personal trainer. You sure about Henry training him for MDS? Not sure if that's true. Any links?

In a previous thread, he said MDS was "entirely his own idea."

No-one expects Henry's race times to be ground breaking. Same as 99.9% of people on this forum.

Anyway, how about we discuss who is IN the race, rather than taking swipes at people who have nothing to do with MDS 2013.

Here's Ian Corless's excellent race preview. http://iancorless.org/2013/03/30/marathon-des-sables-2013-preview/

"4th leg – 75.7km a total of 13km of dunes and around 30km of sandy terrain."

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Sorry I didnt mean my comment to take this whole thing off course.

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭dechol

Will be following this with great interest. Fascinated by this race since seeing the James cracknell documentary. Looks so tough esp the heat.

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭antomagoo

One of the lads from the club is running this so will be watching with interest. Best of luck to all the Irish lads

• Registered Users Posts: 49 mathso

i would always have said the MDS was a really tough race , but the winner of last years Spartathlon Ultra was less that impressed, "its a traking holiday" he said.
    Check out the Sparththlon , serious stuff.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

AFAIK Gary is coached by Chris Delooze http://trifit.ie/chris-delooze/

Anyway, love following this race have my following the race plan all set :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Anyone have a link for following this?

Best of luck to all those taking part, I shall be telling myself in Conn how I'm just out for a stroll in the park compared to these folks!

Probably not the place to discuss this but I agree he seems a victim of those advising him (don't know anything about them though). There was a thread on here were he looked for info, and was given some sound advice which he wasn't open too as he had 'a professional' support group. He was on the Ray Darcy show recently saying he'd slipped back a lot which probably explains why he didn't make it to MDS. Felt it was too much of an ask at the time but would have liked to see him have a go as it would have been some achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Will be following this with interest! I found one of the previous year's threads recently and had to pick my jaw up off the floor after reading. I have nothing but admiration for anyone who takes this challenge on.

In relation to Gary Kirwan, I see he just brought out a book: Winning a Losing Battle

I hope he continues to lose weight and that he reaches his goals but I do think the timing of this is premature.

• Registered Users Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Best of luck to all racing but MDS has never been of interest to me. Maybe I've some sort of aversion to that type of terrain after many cold, damp childhood days on the beaches and sand dunes of North County Dublin!

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

Easy day for the troups today.
    And just 24h to go before self-sufficiency starts as well as a gentle warm-up of 33kms or so...

Verification day 06-April-2013
    • 06.15 to 07.30 am : breakfast for press and organisers + 3 lt of mineral water
    • 07.30 to 08.30 am : breakfast for competitors provided by AOI
    • 06.30 to 07.30 am : distribution of 4,5 lt of mineral water on the bivouac

Competitor race numbers will be listed on the bivouac.

COMPULSORY FOR COMPETITORS
    Complete your technical checks form BEFORE going through the administrative and technical checks.
    You will receive your race number in exchange for this document

08.30 am : administrative and technical inspection in baches of 150, in numerical order every 1 hour (please chek timetable that will be posted up).
    We would remind you that during these formalities, each competitor must present his/her proof of identity along with your compulsory equipment and declare any missing items where applicable, and hand in any
    personal items that will not be carried during the event AOI will return items on the 13 April at the end of the race. (Hotel to OUARZAZATE).
    AOI will issue you with your SURVIVAL KIT, BACK AND FRONT I.D. NUMBER, WATER RATION CARD, SACHETS FOR THE TOILETS
    Each competitor will make up a complete list of the contents of his/ her rucksack and AOI reserves the right to check the contents at any time during the event.
    In the event of a competitor wanting to get rid of a personal item from the list (apart from underwear) , it is imperative that he/she advises one of the event officials but the organisation will not keep this material. Under no circumstances may items from the “obligatory” list be got rid of. If this rule is not observed, a penalty will be levied according to article 27-28 of the rules and regulations.

On the check day , the medical team will inspect your medical certificate and ECG.
    Don’t forget to declare any current treatment.
    The organisation will supply you with the total amount of salt for the full duration of the competition, i.e. 120 tablets of 0.5g. Through transpiration, you lose up to 15g of salt per day. You must compensate for this loss. You are advised to take around 10 grams (20 tablets) of salt per day: 1 gram (i.e. 2 tablets) per bottle during the race and then the rest in the evening (also adding more salt to your food). To facilitate ingestion, you need to add carbohydrates which also give a certain flavour to your drinks.
    If penalties are levied during the technical and medical inspection, a full list will be displayed on the information board at 08.30 pm.

The remainder of the day is free once you have completed the above formalities.

• 12.00 to 01.30 pm : lunch for competitors provided by AOI
    • 01.30 to 02.30 pm : lunch for press and organisers
    • 05.00 to 06.00 pm : general briefing (obligatory) for competitors and press
    • 07.00 to 08.30 pm : dinner competitors
    • 08.30 to 10.00 pm : dinner press and organisation + distribution of 1,5 lt of mineral water
    • Night Bivouac.

That's the program for the week.
    Shorter distance than previous years, but more climbing.

1st leg – 37.2k Undulating terrain, interspersed with small ergs representing 5km of small dunes (dunettes).
    2nd leg – 30.7km 3 djebels with 10 to 25% gradients – exceptional panoramic views.
    3rd leg – 38km 2 djebel sections, 2 dried-up lakes and lots of sand.
    4th leg – 75.7km a total of 13km of dunes and around 30km of sandy terrain.
    5th leg – 42.2km the final leg is a marathon with ergs, regs, a dried-up lake and wadi beds…
    6th leg - Mandatory charity stage

Stage 1 completed
    The 21 Irish are home safe... 2 competitors bailed out already.

Rang N° Nom Prénom Sexe Nationalité Equipe Temps Ecart Moy.
    40 617 BROSNAN Sean H IRL 3H55'39 1H04'43 9.42
    90 782 O LOUGHLIN Daragh H IRL 4H21'57 1H31'01 8.47
    168 784 O LOUGHLIN Graham H IRL 4H44'15 1H53'19 7.81
    190 730 KELDERS Paul H IRL 4H49'31 1H58'35 7.67
    191 814 RIORDAN David H IRL 4H49'31 1H58'35 7.67

218 714 HOWLIN Colm H IRL 4H56'44 2H05'48 7.48
    290 667 DUKE Conor H IRL 5H15'49 2H24'53 7.03
    314 825 SHORTT Oliver H IRL 5H20'39 2H29'43 6.92
    315 610 BLAKE Aidan H IRL 5H20'40 2H29'44 6.92

321 694 GRIFFIN Sean H IRL 5H22'29 2H31'33 6.88
    354 622 BURKE Michael H IRL 5H30'02 2H39'06 6.73
    406 606 BELL Brian H IRL 5H40'17 2H49'21 6.52
    474 739 LANIGAN Aidan H IRL 5H51'09 3H00'13 6.32
    579 837 STONE John H IRL 6H14'20 3H23'24 5.93
    639 783 O DONNELL Ronan H IRL 6H26'29 3H35'33 5.74
    681 623 BURKE Ulick H IRL 6H40'20 3H49'24 5.55
    736 244 GOLDING Fergal H IRL 6H57'23 4H06'27 5.32
    768 494 REID James H IRL 7H05'17 4H14'21 5.22
    846 570 MCMINN Andrew H IRL 7H31'25 4H40'29 4.92
    963 613 BOYCE Derek H IRL 8H31'14 5H40'18 4.34
    986 682 GERAGHTY James H IRL 8H45'17 5H54'21 4.23

Stage winner: 13km/h average !! Nice one for Ahansal family, Lahcel not taking part.
    1 74 AHANSAL Mohamad H MAR UVU RACING 2H50'56 0H00'00 12.99
    2 1159 SALARIS Antonio Filippo H ITA FREELIFENERGY 2H55'25 0H04'29 12.66
    3 1005 CAPO SOLER Miguel H ESP 3H00'33 0H09'37 12.30

• Registered Users Posts: 19,517 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

6th in that list Colm Howlin is an occasional poster around these parts (cphowlin) and also ran Donadea 50k. Best of luck, Colm!

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

Fair play to all involved but you'd worry about someone taking 8.45 to cover 37k when stage 4 is double that distance.

Any idea what the cut off times are like for each leg?

Bugsy2000 wrote: »
    you'd worry about someone taking 8.45 to cover 37k when stage 4 is double that distance.

Not necessarily... some people walk the entire length of Mds, some walk the 1st stage to acclimatise to the environment (or try to!).

37kms in 8h45min is 4.22km/h.

From memory, in the history of the Mds, the average of the slowest finisher was 3km/h, the fastest was 14km/h.

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭dechol

911sc wrote: »
    Not necessarily... some people walk the entire length of Mds, some walk the 1st stage to acclimatise to the environment (or try to!).

37kms in 8h45min is 4.22km/h.

From memory, in the history of the Mds, the average of the slowest finisher was 3km/h, the fastest was 14km/h.
    What are cut off times?

I think cut offs are decided the night before. They are supposed to be v generous in that you can power walk the whole race.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭griffin100

dechol wrote: »
    What are cut off times?

Don't they have two guys walking camels behind you and if they catch you're out? Or Is that jut for show???

stage 2

Ahansal won stage 2 in 2.38.

93 617 BROSNAN Sean H IRL 4H19'22 1H40'34 7.17
    147 714 HOWLIN Colm H IRL 4H32'22 1H53'34 6.83
    172 784 O LOUGHLIN Graham H IRL 4H40'33 2H01'45 6.63
    186 782 O LOUGHLIN Daragh H IRL 4H48'28 2H09'40 6.45
    228 730 KELDERS Paul H IRL 5H01'05 2H22'17 6.18
    229 814 RIORDAN David H IRL 5H01'06 2H22'18 6.18
    237 694 GRIFFIN Sean H IRL 5H03'36 2H24'48 6.13
    256 667 DUKE Conor H IRL 5H07'46 2H28'58 6.04
    329 739 LANIGAN Aidan H IRL 5H24'41 2H45'53 5.73
    382 622 BURKE Michael H IRL 5H34'06 2H55'18 5.57
    384 606 BELL Brian H IRL 5H34'11 2H55'23 5.57
    415 837 STONE John H IRL 5H40'46 3H01'58 5.46
    459 610 BLAKE Aidan H IRL 5H50'59 3H12'11 5.30
    460 825 SHORTT Oliver H IRL 5H50'59 3H12'11 5.30
    670 783 O DONNELL Ronan H IRL 6H39'27 4H00'39 4.66
    680 244 GOLDING Fergal H IRL 6H42'29 4H03'41 4.62
    745 623 BURKE Ulick H IRL 7H03'25 4H24'37 4.39
    819 494 REID James H IRL 7H36'48 4H58'00 4.07
    969 682 GERAGHTY James H IRL 9H14'38 6H35'50 3.35
    970 570 MCMINN Andrew H IRL SOLIDARITY MDS 9H14'38 6H35'50 3.35
    En cours de classement 613 BOYCE Derek H IRL *** *** ***

613 BOYCE Derek abandoned yesterday, along with 19 other competitors.
    In total, 27 have abandoned, including EL MORABITY.
    It must be a tough world out there...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

AFAIK Gary is coached by Chris Delooze http://trifit.ie/chris-delooze/

Anyway, love following this race have my following the race plan all set :)

Sorry my bad. Got it complete a$$ways. I should have read his book :)

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭antomagoo

911sc wrote: »
    613 BOYCE Derek abandoned yesterday, along with 19 other competitors.
    In total, 27 have abandoned, including EL MORABITY.
    It must be a tough world out there...

Gutted for Derek, he has talked about nothing but this race for the last 2 years & was in great shape heading out. AFAIK he struggled through the 1st day with a stomach complaint & heat exhaustion got him close to the finish of day 2

After Stage 3
    Everybody home safe...

92 782 O LOUGHLIN Daragh H IRL 4H34'14 1H33'57 8.31
    99 617 BROSNAN Sean H IRL 4H36'09 1H35'52 8.26
    116 714 HOWLIN Colm H IRL 4H43'18 1H43'01 8.05
    117 784 O LOUGHLIN Graham H IRL 4H43'19 1H43'02 8.05
    191 814 RIORDAN David H IRL 5H05'30 2H05'13 7.46
    192 730 KELDERS Paul H IRL 5H05'30 2H05'13 7.46
    226 694 GRIFFIN Sean H IRL 5H17'50 2H17'33 7.17
    267 667 DUKE Conor H IRL 5H28'57 2H28'40 6.93
    350 825 SHORTT Oliver H IRL 5H44'51 2H44'34 6.61
    351 610 BLAKE Aidan H IRL 5H44'51 2H44'34 6.61
    360 606 BELL Brian H IRL 5H46'32 2H46'15 6.58
    364 837 STONE John H IRL 5H47'11 2H46'54 6.57
    381 622 BURKE Michael H IRL 5H51'14 2H50'57 6.49
    554 739 LANIGAN Aidan H IRL 6H31'46 3H31'29 5.82
    605 783 O DONNELL Ronan H IRL 6H45'01 3H44'44 5.63
    640 244 GOLDING Fergal H IRL 6H53'49 3H53'32 5.51
    794 494 REID James H IRL 7H52'51 4H52'34 4.82
    795 623 BURKE Ulick H IRL 7H54'36 4H54'19 4.80
    945 682 GERAGHTY James H IRL 9H21'02 6H20'45 4.06
    980 570 MCMINN Andrew H IRL SOLIDARITY MDS 9H50'40 6H50'23 3.86

Today is the start of Stage 4: the BIGGY

1st leg – 37.2k Undulating terrain, interspersed with small ergs representing 5km of small dunes (dunettes).
    2nd leg – 30.7km 3 djebels with 10 to 25% gradients – exceptional panoramic views.
    3rd leg – 38km 2 djebel sections, 2 dried-up lakes and lots of sand.
    4th leg – 75.7km a total of 13km of dunes and around 30km of sandy terrain.
    5th leg – 42.2km the final leg is a marathon with ergs, regs, a dried-up lake and wadi beds…
    6th leg - Mandatory charity stage

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

This just looks epic, been watching videos on youtube of it... dont think ill ever complain about a "blister" again.

Stage 4 results.

46 617 BROSNAN Sean H IRL 10H16'20 3H21'33 7.40
    88 714 HOWLIN Colm H IRL 11H12'43 4H17'56 6.78
    127 784 O LOUGHLIN Graham H IRL 11H46'33 4H51'46 6.45
    136 814 RIORDAN David H IRL 11H50'40 4H55'53 6.42
    145 667 DUKE Conor H IRL 11H56'10 5H01'23 6.37
    171 782 O LOUGHLIN Daragh H IRL 12H19'53 5H25'06 6.16
    199 730 KELDERS Paul H IRL 12H40'10 5H45'23 6.00
    217 694 GRIFFIN Sean H IRL 12H55'14 6H00'27 5.88
    229 622 BURKE Michael H IRL 13H06'51 6H12'04 5.80