Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saracens v Ulster Rugby 18:30 Saturday April 6th Sky Sports

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

It is the worst thing ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,849 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Lets make it 2/2 so far, SUFTUM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Ulster are sloppy so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

ugh, "wolf-pack mentality". they're like Alan from The Hangover

Vunipola is everywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Vunipola is everywhere!
    how is he only 22? looks at least 40!

Jesus Nick, pass it to one of your own players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,688 ✭✭✭Heroditas

What the hell were they playing at there??

bad miss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

bad miss

and again !

Pienaar gets the third one: 3-3

and Ulster hand three straight back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

I am pie wrote: »
    and again !

That was a good miss :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,342 ✭✭✭A-Train

He finally got one, 3-3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

First two Saracens players (quite blatantly) came flying in off their feet before Tuohy did anything

6-6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Afoa is absolutely destroying Vunipola...lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Mistakes from both teams all over the place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭ray jay

The scrum is looking great for Ulster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,448 ✭✭✭ongarite

Try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

Ulster need to be much more professional here. They haven't been clinical in the slightest. They're like wheels spinning in the mud.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

It was more than likely a try but I couldn't see the ball, let alone the ball being grounded.

At the lineout where the maul formed you could see Ulster standing off the Saracens maul as it was being formed only for one Ulster player to engage it thus making it a legal maul, as opposed to all the Saracens players being off side!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Very quiet in here for a match thread, are all the boards.ie Ulster fans at the game? :D

Saracens kick chase is excellent

• Administrators Posts: 54,834 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Need a massive boot up the arse.

Saracens just too clinical so far. Playing safe rugby, winning penalties and stretching the lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Sky's hard-on for Farrell is vomit inducing....

Very poor half from an Ulster perspective, Saracens' defence is dominant.

Jaysus, all going wrong for Ulster so far.

This is infuriating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Ulster pack is getting beaten up, not much urgency at all.
    Jackson way too deep too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

balls, ...cant cough up penalties like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

Frankly, Ulster look amateurish. Knock-ons, turnovers, holding-on penalties abound.

There's not nearly enough energy in their play and too frequently they're allowing runners to be isolated. No support runners or people to win the ball at the breakdown. Ulster need to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Sky's hard-on for Farrell is vomit inducing....

He is a brilliant player though and only getting better.

I don't understand why Nick Williams is back with the back three in defence, surely they need his bulk at the breakdown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Listening to this on newstalk...sounds like tuohy is having a nightmare.

Basic handling errors must be killing them.

No point talking about the line out that never was, we've missed 2 penalties and given away too much ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Ulster so frustrating, talented side but lack smarts, have shot themselves in the foot so many times this campaign, saracens very efficient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Ulster's forwards' protection of the ball when taking it into contact needs urgent improving.
    Kicking game should also receive a tweak. Aside from one dart out too far from line, Marshall pretty good in backs. Need to keep within touching distance, as a team led by Borthwick will yield more penalties than most. Keep it in hand more and in play. Saracens depend a lot on lineout. Instead of focusing on he halfback, we might see more attention from bacrowers on their ten instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Bring on diack for tuohy and move Henderson into the row, tuohy's having a mare

We need to get the next score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

At last penalty awarded to Saracens. Over a minute goes by from the time the kicking tee arrives to Farrell and the time kick is actually taken. During this time Borthwick is talking to Ref about possible foul play at the previous breakdown. At no time does the clock stop. WTF ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Are ulster knackered from the Leinster game last week? They need a big half time talk.

Poite is having his usual mare game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Sinbad_NI

Decided to head to bar early. Not great rugby out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Sinbad_NI wrote: »
    Decided to head to bar early. Not great rugby out there.

Just the type of support ulster will need in the second half. Fair play....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Just my opinion and I'm not directing it to either side, but I feel like Poite is quite easy to fool when it comes to competing for the ball on the ground. I frequently see him awarding penalties to players who are mainly supporting their weight with their elbows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Time to bring on Bowe. Saracens winning the breakdown. Ulster seem afraid of the Saracens lineout, running the ball too much. Not their game.

Aidric wrote: »
    He is a brilliant player though and only getting better.

Most if not all of his kicks have been pretty straightforward for a pro kicker, the way they're going on you'd think he's put on a kicking masterclass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,540 ✭✭✭✭phog

Too many errors from Ulster, their scrum is on top but the pack seems to be getting beaten up tho' Afoa did very well to disrupt that last maul at the stroke of halftime.

I didn't think Sarries try was a try but ref asked any reason why he couldn't award it so I presume he saw the grounding of the ball.

Ulster really need to score next and hopefully a 7 pointer. Sarries are brilliant at the chase down, caught Jackson excellently immediately after ko from Ulster's first pen.

C'mon Ulster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

.ak wrote: »
    Are ulster knackered from the Leinster game last week? They need a big half time talk.

Poite is having his usual mare game.

I've seen one scrum where South Afracens popped up when going backwards not pinged and their 7 not dealt with for the cynical play at ruck under posts but where else is Romain Poite faltering (examples)?

JustinDee wrote: »
    I've seen one scrum where South Afracens popped up when going backwards not pinged and their 7 not dealt with for the cynical play at ruck under posts but where else is Romain Poite faltering (examples)?

Missed the forward pass in the build-up for the first Saracens pen, very poor decision for another Saracens pen where he said Tuohy was off his feet when the first two Sarries players went flying in off their feet before Tuohy did anything. There's also the wrongly awarded lineout but I suppose that was more the TJs responsibility.