Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v3.0 (07/04/13 - 08/07/14)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

MrsD007 wrote: »
    As I said in my earlier post, some of them dip into their savings.

They must have gigantic savings.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Herself looks like she was painting the ceiling today. Splashes all over her top.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Hitchens wrote: »
    What do those people on the panel mean when they say that they know of business people who don't take any salary from their business?

Do they live by visiting soup kitchens or what?
    Human nature is such that we need incentives to do things. If there is no profit to be made, nobody will bother to run a business and nobody will be employed and there will be no money to run the country.
    Too many people think that money grows on trees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Hitchens wrote: »
    What do those people on the panel mean when they say that they know of business people who don't take any salary from their business?

Do they live by visiting soup kitchens or what?
    They must have gigantic savings.

I know one Dublin city centre trader (Grafton street), near retirement age, who hasn't taken a salary from his business since 2009. He has been living off the money he has been saving for his retirement. He'll retire in a few years penniless and will have to live off the OAP for the rest of his days, after working all his life in that area. Most small traders have a very small take home pay.

His rates were €40K this year and they are looking for €70K next year.

How is Vinnie going to squeeze all that into a few minutes?? He can barely do the newspapers any justice most nights.

COYW wrote: »
    I know one Dublin city centre trader (Grafton street), near retirement age, who hasn't taken a salary from his business since 2009. He has been living off the money he has been saving for his retirement. He'll retire in a few years penniless and will have to live off the OAP for the rest of his days, after working all his life in that area.

His rates were €40K this year and they are looking for €70K next year. Shocking stuff.

Which shop is it? Maybe he was doing something wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Was it one of joes head shops.

I am not going to say that on a public forum but he has been in busy for over 40 years. Very reputable shop just off Grafton street, on the corner of it. He did nothing wrong, works 6 days a week and has done for all those years. The outgoings, the rates being the biggest offenders, are just too excessive nowadays to turnover a profit, he was telling me. He pays his staff a good salary, as they have been with him a long time, nothing ott.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭Good loser

Mean question. I find the story credible.

Miley from Glenroe is dead Vinny.

Helicopters?? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Good loser wrote: »
    Exactly, the poor devil must have been doing a lot right to stay in business in the capital for 40 years.

Good loser wrote: »

I think it's a fair question.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭bluefinger

must be the joke shop

Exactly, the poor devil must have been doing a lot right to stay in business in the capital for 40 years.

He must have made a fortune in those years, before the minimum wage came into play.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

He must have made a fortune in those years, before the minimum wage came into play.
    Ah here, not all employers take advantage. I've worked for small sole traders and multi-nationals. Some of the smaller businesses were great to work for, they paid well and treated the staff like family.

Agreed, I worked there as well, Grafton St is a cut throat area, you do not survive by being nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,535 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

You would swear by the way the one with the glasses was talking that no men lost their job at all over the last few years.

That was not the impression I got?

If anything the media has focused almost exclusively on the jobs men have lost, in construction for example. And how male GAA clubs are affected.

We don't often hear about women losing their jobs, and when we do a man complains about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,535 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

That was not the impression I got?

If anything the media has focused almost exclusively on the jobs men have lost, in construction for example. And how male GAA clubs are affected.

We don't often hear about women losing their jobs, and when we do a man complains about it.

Probably beacuse thats where most people lost their jobs.

You wouldn't think that would be the reason thats it said, no?

Yet not so much as a word of this was mentioned by her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Headwreckers like her really are a complete and total waste of space - apart from the fact she blatantly lied and got her figures all wrong, she did something really dumb which is try to make unemployment a gender issue, is there nothing these headwreckers won't try to commandeer for whatever group or "ism" is politically fashionable in order to give themselves an elevated sense of self-importance

if there's one area where men and women should find common ground, it's empathising with the unemployed and trying to be united against the fools who caused this mess, but no, for the likes of her she just has to seek her own little corner of oppression

it's the easiest game in the world to play, there is probably no sector or demographic in society that is precisely 50/50 and if you've got an axe to grind and the perspective of a newt, then you can get your knickers in a twist and skew the stats to present it as some kind of patriarchal bogeyman out to get you, however what that dead-end hypothesis fails to take into account is that the so-called patriarchal bogeyman has taken out plenty of men too

He's not out to get you, he's out to get all of us, so get over your little victimhood love affair and fight the right fight

donfers wrote: »
    Headwreckers like her really are a complete and total waste of space - apart from the fact she blatantly lied and got her figures all wrong, she did something really dumb which is try to make unemployment a gender issue, is there nothing these headwreckers won't try to commandeer for whatever group or "ism" is politically fashionable in order to give themselves an elevated sense of self-importance

if there's one area where men and women should find common ground, it's empathising with the unemployed and trying to be united against the fools who caused this mess, but no, for the likes of her she just has to seek her own little corner of oppression

it's the easiest game in the world to play, there is probably no sector or demographic in society that is precisely 50/50 and if you've got an axe to grind and the perspective of a newt, then you can get your knickers in a twist and skew the stats to present it as some kind of patriarchal bogeyman out to get you, however what that dead-end hypothesis fails to take into account is that the so-called patriarchal bogeyman has taken out plenty of men too

He's not out to get you, he's out to get all of us, so get over your little victimhood love affair and fight the right fight

What figures did she get wrong?

How dare she speak about women.

Probably beacuse thats where most people lost their jobs.

You wouldn't think that would be the reason thats it said, no?

Yet not so much as a word of this was mentioned by her.

But she was asked about female unemployment and how it has affected single mothers. She wasn't asked about men. We hear enough about male unemployment

Some men are unbelievable to complain about this.

I think it's a fair question.

Would you swop places with him?

donfers wrote: »

That Siobhan too has form.

Unfair to tie the murder of that woman to her own agenda about 'equality' - this wasn't the topic of the article in the paper.

[Musn't be too pleased to be dropped to the subs]

He has retained the same staff for well over 20 years plus. His area of business is skilled and his staff would have always been well above the minimum wage. This notion that every business owner out there who was operating pre-minimum wage is loaded, is a way off the mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

Any news on whose up tonight?

COYW wrote: »
    He has retained the same staff for well over 20 years plus. His area of business is skilled and his staff would have always been well above the minimum wage. This notion that every business owner out there who was operating pre-minimum wage is loaded, is a way off the mark.

Would that be Mr Brown or Mr Thomas.

That shop is not owned by a Mr..

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

Pearse Doherty, SF TD Donegal South-West
    Stephen Donnelly, Independent TD Wicklow
    Catherine Halloran, Political correspondent Irish Daily Star
    Leo Varadkar, FG TD Dublin West; Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport

The Dáil has returned … the protestors are outside … and Vinny is in studio to debate what’s happening to the nation.

Good show tonight so lads id imagine