Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v3.0 (07/04/13 - 08/07/14)

• Registered Users Posts: 51,749 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I think the problem is that voters expect candidates to make promises even though everyone knows that most of these promises cannot be kept. No party or politician ever tells the unvarnished truth. They would never get elected if they did. If you read the manifesto of any of the parties you would think that utopia could be created.
    At elections everyone indulges in this pretence that the impossible can be achieved. When the impossible is not achieved we then have a convenient scapegoat:- the so-and-so Government, (that we elected).
    It doesn't matter who gets elected or who forms the Government in our current economic situation, the harsh facts have to be faced once a Government takes office.
    Instead of blaming the politicians, blame the real culprits:- us.
    Politics is the art of the possible, not the impossible.

So if we cannot believe anything they say then why the need for a manifesto or promises at all?
    The Liars Cup is what they all should play for. The biggest whopper gets it.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Tom Barry FG is wearing a liquorice allsorts tie.

allsorts1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

Jesus what's with the super zoom on paul murphys bald head? I need sunglasses from the sheen coming off it.

Paul Murphy looks, talks and has very similar facial expressions to Anthony Daly :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Paul Murphy looks, talks and has very similar facial expressions to Anthony Daly :D

Ha with a bit of Dara O'Brien thrown in as well. Not a good combination!

• Registered Users Posts: 82,306 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There has been foolish investment in education where 10 fold the required amounts of people have been trained for certain roles, complete export material from day 1 that a country our size will never ever benefit from.

300,000 gone from the country in a few years. That's a crying shame.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Tom Barry is soooo full of sh1te ! Seriously

A waffler

M

Our oil and gas fields have what we need, sadly given away for free to be bought back by ourselves at market rate.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭baldbear

Is that Troy on the right? The mute lad?

300,000 gone from the country in a few years. That's a crying shame.
    Well according to Michael Noonan, emigration is a lifestyle choice :rolleyes:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/family-fury-as-noonan-says-young-emigrate-for-lifestyle-26813027.html

Tom Barry "we're all working people here" - tell that to the 15% unemployed, or those that work that earns at most a third of the salary he earns, He is a clown altogether.

Well according to Michael Noonan, emigration is a lifestyle choice :rolleyes:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/family-fury-as-noonan-says-young-emigrate-for-lifestyle-26813027.html

Shows himself up as Mr Insincerity everytime he mouths that imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Typical ****e, Refuse to answer questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Littlewoods, ye can deliver me Caroline Morahan in a big box, as long as yer not shipping by weight..

Shows himself up as Mr Insincerity everytime he mouths that imo.
    He is one smug f**ker.

Remember his 'feta cheese' comment when he was asked about the Greek economy.

M

Seoige, yes.

Great pictures of Dicey Reilly :D

M

Abortion again ffs, hand in your catholic card and abort abort abort at will if you want to. Should be a catholic register that can be checked prior to you making the decision to abort.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Thanks for the free PR advice there Terry.

Shame the politicians on your books don't take some of it in.

Most of them still make complete eejits of themselves whenever they speak in public.

Very true, Lapin.

But some provide great entertainment along the way.......

Like this lad, who talks in cliches. Everytime I hear him speak I expect him to break into ...'ba mhaith liom an corn seo a ghlacadh'....:D

Very true, Lapin.

But some provide great entertainment along the way.......

Like this lad, who talks in cliches. Everytime I hear him speak I expect him to break into ...'ba mhaith liom an corn seo a ghlacadh'....:D

An out and out gobs****.
    Empty vessels.
    How could anyone sane vote for him?
    He does provide some funny moments in the Dail though.
    Was the Garda making rude hand jestures behind him?

How could anyone sane vote for him?
    I'd say he's a fierce parish pump politician (similar to Willie O'Dea in Limerick). I hear he loves a good funeral, he makes a point of making an appearance at as many funerals as he can.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

vicwatson wrote: »
    Tom Barry "we're all working people here" - tell that to the 15% unemployed, or those that work that earns at most a third of the salary he earns, He is a clown altogether.

Does anybody know what the percentage would be if not for the huge emigration in the last few years?

James Reilly falls on his @rse :D

Check out the opening few seconds of this video.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Does anybody know what the percentage would be if not for the huge emigration in the last few years?

Looking at these figures, and using an emigration total of 400K, we'd be at a figure of approx. 28% unemployment if nobody emigrated.

Population 4,487,000

Working 1,836,200
    Unemployed 323,000 0.18 %
    Total Labour 2,159,200 0.15 %

Population 4,887,000

Working 1,836,200
    Unemployed 723,000 0.39 %
    Total Labour 2,559,200 0.28 %

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Looking at these figures, and using an emigration total of 400K, we'd be at a figure of approx. 28% unemployment if nobody emigrated.

Population 4,487,000

Working 1,836,200
    Unemployed 323,000 0.18 %
    Total Labour 2,159,200 0.15 %

Population 4,887,000

Working 1,836,200
    Unemployed 723,000 0.39 %
    Total Labour 2,559,200 0.28 %

And the figures for the self employed not working that aren't on the live register ??

And the figures for those that have fallen through the cracks in the system that are deemed "Home makers" ??

Jack O'Connor has no credibility .. I heard him saying over the weekend .. "The wealthy people on over 100k must take more of the pain".... HE is on well over 100K, which is paid by his members.... How can he justify this??? Surely anybody with his ideals should only take the average of his members??

Since leaving TV3, Alan Cantwell has been busy giving lectures about politics (to his missus in the kitchen)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Since leaving TV3, Alan Cantwell has been busy giving lectures about politics (to his missus in the kitchen)

I hope she doesn't rely on his microphone to hear him.