Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v3.0 (07/04/13 - 08/07/14)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

RobertKK wrote: »
    What kind of depraved people throw petrol onto a horse and burn it to death.

Life imprisonment and save society from these sickos.

In this country they wouldn't even see the inside of a prison cell. It's a good thing Liam Adams was tried in the North. If he was tried in the Republic, he probably would've got a suspended sentence.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

In this country they wouldn't even see the inside of a prison cell. It's a good thing Liam Adams was tried in the North. If he was tried in the Republic, he probably would've got a suspended sentence.

Jaysus. The repeating tape.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

I always get the feeling Vinny has a thing for Mary.
    Dunno why.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,747 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

That is true, I suspect most people don't have much faith in the justice system.

We need more prison space in this country and tougher sentencing.

I always get the feeling Vinny has a thing for Mary.
    Dunno why.

He can't even remember her name ;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭Xenophile

After watching last nights programme during the course of which the two academics gave their views in a very professional and matter of fact way.

I am convinced that no elected politician should appear on his programme unless that they are prepared to be humiliated by Browne or that they believe there is no such thing as bad publicity, I would say the no bad publicity bit would refer to new young confident aspiring politicians who feel that TV time is better than in the words of Oscar Wilde......."not being talked about"........and who themselves are confident and arrogant enough to think they can come out of his programme in a way that enhances their credibility and endears them to the electorate.

As for myself I would prefer that he would only have academics and journalists as guests and also non politicians who are specialists in their own fields. But keep in mind in a three person panel that Vincent Browne will always be on the negative side of the debate, so thus therein the balance lies. Did anyone ever see Browne chose a topic that he wanted to promote, enhance and bring a sense of hope, optimism and confidence to his viewers.
    No he is an out and out nay sayer.

In conclusion let me say I am so fed up of Browne attacking the Government like a broken record in respect of "broken promises" even though he is aware of the the difference between election promises and the programme for Government he choses to ignore the difference just to suit his own agenda.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭Good loser

Xenophile wrote: »
    After watching last nights programme during the course of which the two academics gave their views in a very professional and matter of fact way.

I am convinced that no elected politician should appear on his programme unless that they are prepared to be humiliated by Browne or that they believe there is no such thing as bad publicity, I would say the no bad publicity bit would refer to new young confident aspiring politicians who feel that TV time is better than in the words of Oscar Wilde......."not being talked about"........and who themselves are confident and arrogant enough to think they can come out of his programme in a way that enhances their credibility and endears them to the electorate.

As for myself I would prefer that he would only have academics and journalists as guests and also non politicians who are specialists in their own fields. But keep in mind in a three person panel that Vincent Browne will always be on the negative side of the debate, so thus therein the balance lies. Did anyone ever see Browne chose a topic that he wanted to promote, enhance and bring a sense of hope, optimism and confidence to his viewers.
    No he is an out and out nay sayer.

In conclusion let me say I am so fed up of Browne attacking the Government like a broken record in respect of "broken promises" even though he is aware of the the difference between election promises and the programme for Government he choses to ignore the difference just to suit his own agenda.

Utter silence from Browne when his biases are being expressed no matter how obscure the 'message' or garbled the grammer. The panels are never balanced when you count Browne in.

Joan Collins is naive and inarticulate. Imagine she was the only witness called for the plaintiff's side in the High Court case! What a country! Why didn't he ask her the grounds on which her case was rejected?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

The top-paid advisor is in the department of Public expenditure and Reform?
    You could not make it up.
    What a country.

Nicola looking incredible BTW.

How come there's never any mention of a shortfall in the pensions of Bertie Ahern, Mary O'Rourke, Dermot Ahern, Noel Dempsey and all the rest of those wasters?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Very sad case regarding the murder in the Park.

Tragic to think a man could be treated so savagely.

Looking at Prime Time tonight, the LS was aware of problems with Thomas B going back as far as 2005....

Reported in 2005 arising from complaint cases from 2001 onwards....

Very sad case regarding the murder in the Park.

Tragic to think a man could be treated so savagely.

With the money he had why did he live in a ditch, was he near where Emmett Stag got mugged and got the ten grand, over the puncture.

Tbh BF, I wouldn't equate the two incidents in the same sentence.

The deceased man had issues I would have imagined.

Emmet Stagg was quite another issue altogether...

Looking at Prime Time tonight, the LS was aware of problems with Thomas B going back as far as 2001....

The LS takes a long time to act, due to the time they spend causing problems in the courts, sorry defending their case's. What a great bunch of people, they strip you bare and you think they are great and thank them.

Tbh BF, I wouldn't equate the two incidents in the same sentence.

The deceased man had issues I would have imagined.

Emmet Stagg was quite another issue altogether...

How was he able to claim ten grand over a puncture.

The LS takes a long time to act, due to the time they spend causing problems in the courts, sorry defending their case's. What a great bunch of people, they strip you bare and you think they are great and thank them.

I was surprised Vincent didn't have this as a leading story.

Vinny is a Barrister.

[/U][/B]

How was he able to claim ten grand over a puncture.

He was a pillar of society and had an injury apparently...Maybe the esteemed member should have avoided the PP.....

What about the guy on the bike, that sold his story.

I'm sure it was quite a riveting read.

It seems according to reports he was a frequent visitor to the papal cross, and not just for religious reasons either.

The memories of the Papal Cross are very different for most of us.

Thankfully.

As much as I don't like Paul Gogarty, he was spot on about Emmet Stagg during his Dail "outburst".

The memories of the Papal Cross are very different for most of us.

Thankfully.

A lot of people still carry great memories of that day in 79, but since then a lot of kids have a lot of bad memories about the place. But nothing has been done about it, it is out of view.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭Xenophile

I would like to Tonight with Vincent Browne focus tonight on the global corruption list..........Ireland at number 21.............Elaine Byrne is sadly missed in relation to keeping a focus on improving where we stand in this area.

Forget about Colm Keaveney and his joining of FF it is only a ball of smoke.

Go for the more substantial news today which is corruption and what we must to eliminate it.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,317 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

A lot of people still carry great memories of that day in 79, but since then a lot of kids have a lot of bad memories about the place. But nothing has been done about it, it is out of view.

There is great myths about the Papal Cross, most are untrue.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Fiach Kelly, formerly of the Indo is back on the show tonight. Vinny gave him an awful grilling the last time he was on and it lead to the Vinny/Fionnán showdown a few weeks later......

Yer man looks like Joe Brolly's brother.

Would've preferred to have seen Vinnie giving Colm Keavney a proper grilling tonight than listening to this. This thing happened 24 years ago, and the RUC were involved in plenty of collusion against Catholics in Northern Ireland down through the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,317 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Yer man looks like Joe Brolly's brother.

Would've preferred to have seen Vinnie giving Colm Keavney a proper grilling tonight than listening to this. This thing happened 24 years ago, and the RUC were involved in plenty of collusion against Catholics in Northern Ireland down through the years.

Garda corruption is a very relevant issue as it happens all the time. The Keavney drama is a piece of trivia that means nothing to no one.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Harry, Colm Keaveney was interviewed this evening by George Hook (at 5:30ish), I didn't get to hear the interview myself but it should be on Newstalk player if you are interested.