Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v3.0 (07/04/13 - 08/07/14)

• Registered Users Posts: 51,936 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

BaZmO* wrote: »
    That's a stupid analogy.

How so?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,396 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I think he made a lot of sense.
    He gave a very clear picture which obviously didn't go down well with the "give them a fair trial and hang them" brigade.
    I like to have my facts before I make my decisions.

Obviously the Garda are the number 1 suspects but so were the Birmingham 6.

He seemed to rule out any possibility that the Gardai were involved in the bugging.

But the Ombudsman had already admitted that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

This security guy is a Garda apologist.

AFAIK, Declan Power is a former garda.

brooke 2 wrote: »
    AFAIK, Declan Power is an former garda.

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/declan-power/6/162/414

He is ex-Army Intelligence it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

brooke 2 wrote: »
    AFAIK, Declan Power is an former garda.

Ex army who worked closely with the guards......... http://www.westmeathexaminer.ie/news/people/articles/2010/10/20/4000864-the-soldier-scribe/

mikom wrote: »

Where does it say that?
    His grandfather was a garda.
    My nephew is a garda and I can't stand the wee git.
    Lets keep it honest.

Where does it say that?
    His grandfather was a garda.
    My nephew is a garda and I can't stand the wee git.
    Lets keep it honest.

Here.
    A brief stay at Columb Barracks, Mullingar was followed by an air/sea rescue course with the Air Corps. Declan then went for the cadets - his original intention - and got through training at the Military College in the Curragh, before an injury briefly put the kibosh on his ambitions.

Going “back into the ranks”, Declan found himself attached to a reconnaissance unit in Dublin, where he liaised with the Gardaí and border units in various operations.
    After taking up a military writing course, he moved to Defence Forces Headquarters (DFHQ), where he was given the opportunity to go to DCU to pursue a degree in journalism.
    He then returned to work in Army Press Office, where he served as “an acting sergeant in a captain’s role”, dealing with the media, briefing senior army officers, politicians and foreign dignitaries.
    “I learned a lot,” Declan said. “You got to deal with the media, the Department of Foreign Affairs, foreign armies, and you got to go to Europe once in a while. You were at the cold face of what was happening in the army.”
    After 12 years of service, Declan left the Defence Forces to venture into journalism, consultancy work, broadcasting and voluntary work with Irish Aid’s Rapid Response Corps (as part of which he made two trips to Darfur).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Paul Williams, mark 2!!

But the Ombudsman had already admitted that.

He said there was no evidence of Garda involvement. That doesn't mean the Gardai weren't involved.

(some members of the Gardai)

Here.

He was army intelligence so he probably had to.
    I meet the breadman every day but i am not friends with him.

Jaysus the man gave answers to all the questions he was asked in what I thought a very professional manner. Some lads are mad that he didn't stick the boot into the Garda it seems.

I've seen him before and it's always the same with him. He is never critical of the Gardai.

He thinks he's Rambo.

Ex army who worked closely with the guards, I said.
    You asked me for proof.......... I gave it to you.
    Chill your boots. What type of loaf you like is between you and your breadman, tayto lover.

Ex army who worked closely with the guards, I said.
    You asked me for proof.......... I gave it to you.
    Chill your boots. What type of loaf you like is between you and your breadman, tayto lover.

Dark brown wholemeal actually.

Really though some lads can't wait for proof.
    How many innocent men were hanged without trial I wonder.

But you're also making an assumption - that they are innocent. How do you know that?

There will be no one hanged, I assure you.
    Someone will probably get a promotion and a bonus.

But you're also making an assumption - that they are innocent. How do you know that?

We don't seem to have actually found a crime yet by all accounts.
    Until we have a crime everyone is innocent.
    The Ombudsman has said that there was no garda involvement or words to that effect.
    I think we should all wait for clear facts before giving a verdict.

We don't seem to have actually found a crime yet by all accounts.
    Until we have a crime everyone is innocent.
    The Ombudsman has said that there was no garda involvement or words to that effect.
    I think we should all wait for clear facts before giving a verdict.

Is it not ok for people to have strong logical suspicions about this case?

I have no problem with suspicions at all.
    I have a suspicion that a big newspaper are behind it.
    However suspicions are not proof.

I have no problem with suspicions at all.
    I have a suspicion that a big newspaper are behind it.
    However suspicions are not proof.

We I and a lot of other people have suspicions that someone in the Gardai bugged the offices.

This is why the Ombudsman said nothing..he felt he couldn't trust the Gardai to carry out an investigation.

We I and a lot of other people have suspicions that someone in the Gardai bugged the offices.

This is why the Ombudsman said nothing..he felt he couldn't trust the Gardai to carry out an investigation.

I had that suspicion too for awhile but changed my opinion when the OM said they were not involved. I am beginning to wonder if it was bugged at all now.
    Sounds like a complete fcuk up. Nothing conclusive.

I had that suspicion too for awhile but changed my opinion when the OM said they were not involved. I am beginning to wonder if it was bugged at all now.
    Sounds like a complete fcuk up. Nothing conclusive.

He said there was no evidence to implicate the Gardai. That's different from saying they weren't involved.

Its not saying they were involved either. So its useless.

Well the Ombudsman really cleared up all those niggling doubts we had on Prime Time.:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

He said it would have been inappropriate to go to the gardai given their role overseeing the gardai

Makes sense to me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Vincent on the case tonight!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I love all those empty seats in the Dail. Imagine having a job where you get paid handsomely for just turning up, but you don't actually turn up, yet you still get paid the perk :mad:

No wonder the gsoc didn't trust anyone here

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭take everything

So the cops knew that internal affairs were setting them up?

Stupid little country tbh.

The gards getting a kickback from shatter for the drink driving