Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v3.0 (07/04/13 - 08/07/14)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I wouldnt send in the 82nd either, the 81st, they'd know what to do..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Remember the actress that claimed she saw the Iraqis trowing the new born babies out of the incubator's in the first war in Iraq.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,308 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

MrsD007 wrote: »
    So did the Escort ;)

No he has to work, while she stays in the kitchen and looks pretty - Rose of Tralee.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

If she was a Rose she'd be talking, dancing around and sweeping at the same time...

Multi-tasking.....:p

Jaysus, you'd better not ask her opinion on The Rose of Tralee. She'd probably go into overdrive about how much it's all some kind of mysogynistic conspiracy, thought up by dirty oul Kerrymen ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

No he has to work, while she stays in the kitchen and looks pretty - Rose of Tralee.
    Are you feeling okay? Your posts are a bit out there this evening :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

It's a shame that parents can't sit down and agree the best interests of children without involving the Court process.....

Jaysus, you'd better not ask her opinion on The Rose of Tralee. She'd probably go into overdrive about how much it's all some kind of mysogonistic conspiracy, thought up by dirty oul Kerrymen ;)

Lol Harry, she might be right!!;)

They are so mean they only give her the car for the year and take it back!....sure what would a woman want with a car anyway???.....:D

GSW, we might enter the Rose of Tralee next year and Harry and JA can be escorts, lol.

They are so mean they only give her the car for the year and take it back!....sure what would a woman want with a car anyway???.....:D

I was always curious about that one.. Do they hire a male driver for the year as well..

GSW, we might enter the Rose of Tralee next year and Harry and JA can be escorts, lol.

I'll mind the Champagne Bar and you can round up the lovely girls...

I'll even polish the silver for the lads "Canteen of Cutlery".....

We would have to insist on the pics in the seaweed bath though of them!;)

:D:D:D

It would be worth it for the chance of winning the canteen of cutlery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Ok, just put "some" or many" in front of men there. Now is there an issue with some men not respecting women?

There is a huge issue. Unfortunately though, she didn't say "some" or "many" - she diminished her own arguments by making a sweeping generalisation, thus giving ammunition to the sort of misogynistic idiots who think feminism = "misandry".

I'll mind the Champagne Bar and you can round up the lovely girls...

I'll even polish the silver for the lads "Canteen of Cutlery".....

We would have to insist on the pics in the seaweed bath though of them!;)

:D:D:D
    Can you imagine Harry and JA carrying our handbags around for us? lol :D

How do you know we're not already working as escorts..

Me --> :cool: :cool: <-- Harry

Now, I know what you meant when you told me that Wayne Molloy was your hero ;)

RayM wrote: »
    There is a huge issue. Unfortunately though, she didn't say "some" or "many" - she diminished her own arguments by making a sweeping generalisation, thus giving ammunition to the sort of misogynistic idiots who think feminism = "misandry".

Surely this is irrelevant that she failed to say some or many? Get over it.

Is there an issue of sexism against women in society? Deal with that.

Look at the Rose of Tralee contest.

Men in Black........:D:D:D

You'd better have the Charles Atlas Muscles lads, my "Mothership" handbag weighs about 10lbs....

For all they know, I might be Henry O'Bama and Jon might be Mary Kennedy's son............

That Rose of Tralee is really awful :rolleyes:

Poor Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin and Blathnaid O’ Donoghue, they both took part in the Rose of Tralee and ever since they've been in regular demand for TV, Radio and PR work. It's really terrible :(

That Rose of Tralee is really awful :rolleyes:

Poor Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin and Blathnaid O’ Donoghue, they both took part in the Rose of Tralee and ever since they've been in regular demand for TV, Radio and PR work.

Complete non-runner for a springboard to a career....;)

Men in Black........:D:D:D

You'd better have the Charles Atlas Muscles lads, my "Mothership" handbag weighs about 10lbs....
    For the record GSW....

Harry looks like 'Kevin Costner' (The Bodyguard Years) ;)
    JA is the image of a young Warren Beatty.

For the record GSW....

Harry looks like 'Kevin Costner' (The Bodyguard Years) ;)
    JA is the image of a young Warren Beatty.

As long as they are handy with a walking frame they can look like Roger Rabbit MrsD....:o:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Surely this is irrelevant that she failed to say some or many? Get over it.

I'm willing to assume that she meant to say "some" or "many" - and that she obviously doesn't genuinely believe that all men don't respect women. But a lot of people (the sort of men who think they're the "real victims" of sexism and who look for any excuse to dismiss feminism as being irrelevant and unnecessary) will have used that sentence as an excuse to dismiss her as a man-hater. The second she said it, the #vinb tag on Twitter lit up with right-wing idiots whining about "that feminist one".

RayM wrote: »
    I'm willing to assume that she meant to say "some" or "many" - and that she obviously doesn't genuinely believe that all men don't respect women. But a lot of people (the sort of men who think they're the "real victims" of sexism and who look for any excuse to dismiss feminism as being irrelevant and unnecessary) will have used that sentence as an excuse to dismiss her as a man-hater. The second she said it, the #vinb tag on Twitter lit up with right-wing idiots whining about "that feminist one".

I suppose I get you, some men have respect for women and that should have been stated.

That being said, I think it's a minor point in the whole debate. It's an easy tactic for sexist men to dismiss the whole problem, as you say.

The VB Show really should take a break during the month of August.

If Operation Sealion had succeeded, then most Irish people would have looked like Diarmuid Ferriter in 1942.

Also, Harry, I was in Bantry today... A Toy Soldier factory and a few oul boats... is that the best ye can do.. ?

The VB Show really should take a break during the month of August.

I think so Harry......It will be all systems go in a couple of weeks anyway....

At least we have a decent stand-in. I've had enough of the "I could have been a contender for Vinnie's seat"....

Dermot is in his element tonight...

If Operation Sealion had succeeded, then most Irish people would have looked like Diarmuid Ferriter in 1942.

Also, Harry, I was in Bantry today... A Toy Soldier factory and a few oul boats... is that the best ye can do.. ?

Did you not marvel in the scenic beauty of the place Jon? ;)

Why do priests still have to wear those black costumes?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Why do priests still have to wear those black costumes?

It is to instill fear in children, that is how they got away with it for so long.