Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FIXERUPPER of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

dh0011 wrote: »
    you found some nice cars - will pass them along to my friend - thanks

mondeo is a much nicer car to drive than most rivals, parts everywhere for them too,in fact I wouldn't call them boring, your friend is correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I would like this a lot :D:cool:
    The worrying is that I have enough money to buy it at the moment....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/citroen-xm/5352835

Full-21542044.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭georgefalls

^^^ needs ignition barrel = stolen...????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

French.

I would say that it's just made out of Brie TBH :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

colm_mcm wrote: »

I presume it is 150hp. Was the 1.8T only available in 150 and 180? I'm guessing it's not 180 anyway but it would make a nice sleeper if it was :D

Nice find BTW :)

I seem to remember there being a 1.8 with a tiny turbo, lad at works dad had one. (No mention on wiki though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

http://m.donedeal.ie/mobile/for-sale/cars/5490466

Ye wah?

Cheap car if the parts shown are included and that's all it needs, but I haven't a notion where he got the words from....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

JohnBoy26 wrote: »

That's practically free with that amount of tax.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/sale-fiat-stilo-1-6-upgrade/5201905

Stilo 1.6 dynamic. These yokes are very well specced for a 10 year old car (it may not all work but still)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

NCT Till May, 600

Taxed till Nov. Broken ring.... Gear :pac: (poss needs starter too as a result)
    Full-22502037.jpeg

Avensis d4d for €895 with a little tax

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-toyota-avensis-2-0d4d-ex-airport/5549884

Dunno about the colour though

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Avensis d4d for €895 with a little tax

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-toyota-avensis-2-0d4d-ex-airport/5549884

Dunno about the colour though
    ex airport car?

Edit: just seen it in the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭DAZP93

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-5-series-520-automatic/5577335

I reckon beer money would have this one sorted, looks really clean to..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

DAZP93 wrote: »

Dunno, it does look clean but could end up than more than beer money when replacing lots of the cooling system.

Also is there a possibility that the head is damaged from overheating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭DAZP93

BillJ wrote: »
    Dunno, it does look clean but could end up than more than beer money when replacing lots of the cooling system.

Also is there a possibility that the head is damaged from overheating?

Thats a possibility, I'd be bringing a mechanic and getting him to do a sniff test to double check the head gasket isnt damaged..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

Thats a possibility, I'd be bringing a mechanic and getting him to do a sniff test to double check the head gasket isnt damaged..

Ya if that checked out then there is definite value to be had there, looks tidy and the low mileage is a plus

It could be a great buy if it's a minor issue. It could however be something more major and end up being a money pit just as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

It could be a great buy if it's a minor issue. It could however be something more major and end up being a money pit just as well.

Probably just better off buying a Toyota so...

166man wrote: »
    Probably just better off buying a Toyota so...
    Or an Alfa Romeo...

True, but at least when it does break it looks good and has some soul to it, same cant be said for Mammys Corolla though unfortunately!

Maybe not, but Mammys Corolla won't break as much so you won't have to be sitting around looking at it :)

You sure about that? Mine hasn't left me at the side if the road and I have done 32k in mine since October last. It's made me smile and I'm proud to drive it too so its like getting the best of both worlds.

Also if it does break you can buy another cheap enough for parts to fix your current one, again, same cant be said for a overpriced box that is a Yaris/Corolla etc..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭georgefalls

Or an Alfa Romeo...

Ever owned one..?

I surely doubt it somehow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

how much have you pumped into your alfa since you got it in Oct , just out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

32k miles in 10 months is a lot of petrol! You need the JTD!

Typical generalised non specific crap spourted usually from persons that haven't owned one.

Stick to toyotas and the like rather than anything else

seemed more like a tongue in cheek remark based on the initial response, but thanks for defending the alfa brand so valiantly ;)

dgt wrote: »
    Typical generalised non specific crap spourted usually from persons that haven't owned one.

Stick to toyotas and the like rather than anything else
    What crap? Are you saying an alfa 156 is more reliable than a corolla?

I came on here to comment on a bmw posted above and not to get into an argument about weather an Toyota is better than an alfa and vice versa.

I dunno what beef you and 166man have with me, but it's time to quit now.

I came on here to comment on a bmw posted above and not to get into an argument about weather an Toyota is better than an alfa and vice versa.

Hmm seems I've left out a word there and it looks like a dig.... That wasn't my intent, it was a hit at deluded folk that talk such rubbish, catch my deift? ;)

You know my views on how little I think of toyotas, don't even bother saying otherwise, thats my advice. I used to enjoy watching the engines get torn out of them with the digger in the yard and get fired into the crusher, place for the boggo crap scrap we get peddled with that no one else wants

As for the BMW, that statement could be applied to any car, lets be straight about that.

Now lets get back to normal.... Sort of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ok, let's not get into an Alfa argument.
    Moar adverts!

how much have you pumped into your alfa since you got it in Oct , just out of interest?

Quite a lot of money, most of it totally unnecessary, I did it because I like my car and love keeping it in tip top shape, maintenance is key, something that seems to lack in Ireland hence why so many Alfa's fall apart.
    32k miles in 10 months is a lot of petrol! You need the JTD!

32k miles? I wish! I was talking km's there so about 21k miles I think but even still it's heavy going at 30mpg average...:D

I think my Alfa is probably as reliable and many many times the car your Corolla is. With both cars being maintained appropriately there's no reason why your corolla is better than mine.

There's no argument here, I posted a tongue in cheek comment. This 'debate' has come up many times on here and <snip>

I have absolutely zero 'beef' with you, it's attack the post not the poster remember...;)

I do happen to think that some of what you say is total rubbish, IMO especially when it comes to Toyota's and Alfa's <snip>

Again though I have no issue with you whatsoever, merely disagree with some of your opinions, perfectly normal on a discussion site no?

Anyway, as Toyotafanboi says above, back to normal...:D

Speaking of Toyotafanboi, where's he been?

Tempted to stick my Almera up here.
    "Never raced or rallied." :pac:

CianRyan wrote: »

Light scratch on the front, should polish out, needs wheel alignment too...:pac:

Ever since the head gasket concerns to his starlet he seemed to fade away slowly into the background :(

Serious negative camber on the front right wheel. :pac:

Seriously though, gonna clear it out on Monday, take what I can from it and throw it up for €100 or so.

Plenty to take from it!

Edit: Never knew his head gasket was going, must stalk TOC and se if he's still there.

Quite a lot of money, most of it totally unnecessary, I did it because I like my car and love keeping it in tip top shape, maintenance is key, something that seems to lack in Ireland hence why so many Alfa's fall apart.

Yes I can understand that tbf, was just curious if it was mechanical or cosmetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭flutered

if i have posted this before mea culpa, my local motor factors are advertising a substance which they claim repairs a head gasket problem, without removing the head, i forgot to ask what it costs, next time i am passing i will get the leaflet.

Serious negative camber on the front right wheel. :pac:

Seriously though, gonna clear it out on Monday, take what I can from it and throw it up for €100 or so.

Plenty to take from it!

Edit: Never knew his head gasket was going, must stalk TOC and se if he's still there.

I miss Toyotafanboi :( I don't think it was a hg either just dirty coolant tht got a little low, hope he comes back and clears it all up! I hope its nothing serious either way :) Doesn't he hanker after a Levin?

And that 100 car I might be interested :pac:

dgt wrote: »
    I miss Toyotafanboi :( I don't think it was a hg either just dirty coolant tht got a little low, hope he comes back and clears it all up! I hope its nothing serious either way :) Doesn't he hanker after a Levin?

And that 100 car I might be interested :pac:

If you can take it away €100 will buy it, I just need the battery, the decent alloys (have ones I can throw on) and the full tank of petrol.
    I'll even throw in the lowering springs. :pac:

You'd fix it cheap enough considering you wouldn't have to pay anyone to do the work, it was still running when we crashed too, haven't tried to turn it on since then though.

Yes I can understand that tbf, was just curious if it was mechanical or cosmetic

It was cosmetic and mechanical, not sure if you're interested but I will outline below what's been done, other boardsies might be interested.

- Full engine service oil, filter, air filter
    - Spark plugs
    - Thermostat
    - full coolant flush
    - fresh brake fluid
    - gearbox oil change
    - both upper wishbones changed
    - both lower wishbones changed
    - new anti-roll bar
    - front drop links
    - brand new brake discs and pads front and rear
    - two near rear transverse arms
    - new shock absorbers
    - new anti roll bar links
    - New tyres all round as well

Then on top of that...

- upgraded wheels
    - new front badge
    - new number plates
    - new wiper blades
    - new radio
    - leather seats installed
    - changed steering wheel as the other was a bit worn
    - new interior mats

And thats about it for now I think, looking to get the front bumper resprayed and then she should finally be the way I want it to be. I'm sure there's other little things done to it but that's as much as I can remember for now!

genuinely speechless but fair play

Thanks dude, 99% of your appreciation should go towards dgt, he did the work on it! I stood there in admiration, occasionally polished his cars and then paid the money, and I got a car that is genuinely a beaut to drive, lacks the power but it makes up for that the way it handles and stops.

Makes me happy to bring a car back like that. :)

32k miles? I wish! I was talking km's there so about 21k miles I think but even still it's heavy going at 30mpg average...:D

I think my Alfa is probably as reliable and many many times the car your Corolla is. With both cars being maintained appropriately there's no reason why your corolla is better than mine.

There's no argument here, I posted a tongue in cheek comment. This 'debate' has come up many times on here and you always fail to give a real answer.

I have absolutely zero 'beef' with you, it's attack the post not the poster remember...;)

I do happen to think that some of what you say is total rubbish, IMO especially when it comes to Toyota's and Alfa's but don't try and make yourself a victim here, if you're going to make a statement be prepared to back it up.

Again though I have no issue with you whatsoever, merely disagree with some of your opinions, perfectly normal on a discussion site no?

Anyway, as Toyotafanboi says above, back to normal...:D
    Something which you haven't done. I never said a corolla is better than an Alfa. I said a corolla is more reliable than an Alfa, there is a difference. You say your ''Alfa is probably as reliable'' as a Corolla ''with both cars being maintained appropriately''. You fail state how much maintenance that is though.

The fact is that a 156 will need more maintenance than a Corolla if it's to be any way as reliable.

For example a 156 1.8 will have to have it's cam belt changed every 3years or 36k miles with tensioners needing to be changed and possibly a variator as well.

On a late 90's Corolla the belt only needs to be changed every five years or 60k miles. The belt is easier to access and change compared to that on the 156 and no kit is required in the corolla's case with usually just the belt itself needing to be changed(on high mileage examples an oil seal may be required also)

Now I'm not saying Alfa Romeos are bad cars, in fact I wouldn't mind a 159 myself as I think they are a beautiful car. It's just that when it comes to reliability and maintenance other cars do it so much better.

Also your ''tongue in cheek comment''(which was needlessly posted and wasn't attacking ''the post'') was responded to by a ''tongue in check comment'' by myself. Instead of taking it as a ''tongue in cheek'' comment though, you created a childish my car is better than yours argument which I will no longer be a part of.

Actually I don't own a Corolla, I also don't even own or drive a Toyota for that matter. I had a few in the past though and they served me very well.

A car is a car at the end of the day, a piece of metal, It's pointless arguing over them. Il leave it at that.

Something which you haven't done. I never said a corolla is better than an Alfa. I said a corolla is more reliable than an Alfa, there is a difference. You say your ''Alfa is probably as reliable'' as a Corolla ''with both cars being maintained appropriately''. You fail state how much maintenance that is though.

The fact is that a 156 will need more maintenance than a Corolla if it's to be any way as reliable.

For example a 156 1.8 will have to have it's cam belt changed every 3years or 36k miles with tensioners needing to be changed and possibly a variator as well.

On a late 90's Corolla the belt only needs to be changed every five years or 60k miles. The belt is easier to access and change compared to that on the 156 and no kit is required in the corolla's case with usually just the belt itself needing to be changed(on high mileage examples an oil seal may be required also)

Now I'm not saying Alfa Romeos are bad cars, in fact I wouldn't mind a 159 myself as I think they are a beautiful car. It's just that when it comes to reliability and maintenance other cars do it so much better.

Also your ''tongue in cheek comment''(which was needlessly posted and wasn't attacking ''the post'') was responded to by a ''tongue in check comment'' by myself. Instead of taking it as a ''tongue in cheek'' comment though, you created a childish my car is better than yours argument which I will no longer be a part of.

Actually I don't own a Corolla, I also don't even own or drive a Toyota for that matter. I had a few in the past though and they served me very well.

A car is a car at the end of the day, a piece of metal, It's pointless arguing over them. Il leave it at that.

This is the problem in a nutshell: the average motorist does not want to do the maintenance. I don't know if its out of spite, sheer laziness or cheapness but this is often why such vehicles get a bad rep. Why cheap out? Why be lazy? For what, misery as it breaks at the side of the road? Even the simplest of tasks get neglected, it just sickens me to see.

That last sentence is a defining sentence: us vs them. Motorist vs enthusiast. Some people take a bit of pride in their cars, want to look after them. Others want an econo rotbox from a to b