Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclists on a Backroad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Ericaa wrote: »
    Ok, maybe not a car, but at least the Bus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

Ok, maybe not a car, but at least the Bus?

Are you forgetting that lots of people cycle for leisure and exercise?

What's leisurely about cycling? It's feckin exhausting. And if it's for excercise, they came up with great yokes that stay in the one place while you pedal. And no-one tries to run you down with an artic when you're on one of those. Sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,292 ✭✭✭Deedsie

opti0nal wrote: »
    Like parking on a cycle track.

Surely that is illegal? Obviously not enforced, but it must be illegal. Dublin road cycle lane in Portlaoise. Every day you have motorists parking in the cycle lane forcing me out of the cycle lane and into the main flow of traffic ...

What's leisurely about cycling? It's feckin exhausting. And if it's for excercise, they came up with great yokes that stay in the one place while you pedal. And no-one tries to run you down with an artic when you're on one of those. Sadly.

Are you kidding me!? Cycling is awesome! I'd cycle a whole lot more if I was more confident. I was put off big time because one of the last times I went cycling I got egged :mad:

What's leisurely about cycling? It's feckin exhausting. And if it's for exercise, they came up with great yokes that stay in the one place while you pedal. And no-one tries to run you down with an artic when you're on one of those. Sadly.

Its a brilliant pastime and one of the best forms of exercise you will find. Not to mention one hell of a great sport. Give it a go, you might love it.

Deedsie wrote: »
    Surely that is illegal? Obviously not enforced, but it must be illegal. Dublin road cycle lane in Portlaoise. Every day you have motorists parking in the cycle lane forcing me out of the cycle lane and into the main flow of traffic ...
    It is illegal. Unless the track has operation times, and they're parked outside of those times, obviously.

Are you kidding me!? Cycling is awesome! I'd cycle a whole lot more if I was more confident. I was put off big time because one of the last times I went cycling I got egged :mad:
    You misunderstood, they were just egging you on. Cycling is not awesome, it's crap, annoying, blocks up the roads and encourages the wearing of ridiculous clothing.
    The sight of some sweating, overweight, middle aged office worker bedecked in black cling film astride a bike that has far more to give than will ever be asked, hacking their way up a hill two abreast with their dissapointed, disinterested and downtrodden spouse who would much rather be at a day-spa getting a hot-stone massage from a strapping Daniel Craig lookalike while sipping a cool gin and tonic is one of the most depressing things you can encounter on our roads these days.

Them and toyota yaris drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

there no hope..cycle safetly tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

i use vinegar in my screen wash..brilliant for getting rid of dirt..; )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

Deedsie wrote: »
    Surely that is illegal? ... it must be illegal.
    Yes, except when it's not illegal.....

It is illegal. Unless the track has operation times, and they're parked outside of those times, obviously.
    And instead of 'doing the right thing' and getting out of the way, drivers park on them.

You misunderstood, they were just egging you on. Cycling is not awesome, it's crap, annoying, blocks up the roads and encourages the wearing of ridiculous clothing.
    The sight of some sweating, overweight, middle aged office worker bedecked in black cling film astride a bike that has far more to give than will ever be asked, hacking their way up a hill two abreast with their dissapointed, disinterested and downtrodden spouse who would much rather be at a day-spa getting a hot-stone massage from a strapping Daniel Craig lookalike while sipping a cool gin and tonic is one of the most depressing things you can encounter on our roads these days.

Them and toyota yaris drivers.

Your vendetta against cycling is ridiculous. The stereotypes you're spewing are ridiculous.

Why so sour?

Lots of people enjoy cycling so they're gonna do it. It's fair enough if you hate it, no one is asking you to do it yourself. If you have an issue with them using the roads then maybe you shouldn't drive so you don't have to deal with it ;)

Your vendetta against cycling is ridiculous. The stereotypes you're spewing are ridiculous.

Why so sour?

Lots of people enjoy cycling so they're gonna do it. It's fair enough if you hate it, no one is asking you to do it yourself. If you have an issue with them using the roads then maybe you shouldn't drive so you don't have to deal with it ;)
    As soon as they invent a stationary car that give the same result as using it on the road, I'll take you up on that. Cyclists are like hunters to me. If they're doing it to survive, it's ok, otherwise they're just a nuisance and a danger to themselves and all around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

opti0nal wrote: »
    Like parking on a cycle track.

If that's legal it certainly shouldn't be.

I feel obliged at this point to just throw it out there that my ire for cyclists comes from constantly having to dodge them as I cross roads in Dublin City Centre while I and other pedestrians have the green man. You may say that cars do this too, but I certainly don't see numerous cars doing this on a daily basis, and even if they do, it's usually a split second or so after the light has changed.

Not when they've seen the red light for miles down the road, had ample time to stop, and simply said "Red light? Nah, not for me. Scatter, people, scatter!"

If you're going to use the road, follow the f*cking rules. Even if cars do this, as I'm sure they do, the simple fact is that cyclist light breaking is endemic. Car light breaking is occasional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

The only reason cars breaking the lights isn't endemic is that it only takes one person to stop at an orange and they all have to stop. Not so on a bicycle.

Car light breaking is occasional.
    This is only true if you ignore the fact that many drivers that don't stop for amber traffic lights as required by law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,580 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Ms. Pingui wrote: »
    Well adults should be registered at least. If you are caught cycling without a reg plate you are fined.
    Do you not agree that if a cyclist was identifiable by way of a reg plate that they wouldn't take as many risks.
    If motorists weren't identifiable we would probably see idiots take more risks.

maybe you lot on your horses should have plates too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,580 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

If they were that smart, they could afford a car.

I'm super smart and can afford both a bicycle and a car. And cos I'm smart I can work out it's vastly cheaper and more enjoyable to cycle most of the time and only drive when I have to.
    I'd bet you'd love to be as smart as me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

But not quite as ridiculous as the newbie who just tries way too hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

maybe you lot on your horses should have plates too?

Nah, we don't ride through towns, breaking red lights and knocking down pedestrians. We do have our horses registered with passports anyway. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

A lot of things annoy me about cyclists but the most recent one is the greenway (cycle lane/walkway) that runs from Westport to Achill (parallel to the road) which large groups of cyclists won't use because pedestrians get in their way.

Pot.
    Kettle.
    Black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    A bike has a shorter breaking distance than a car you seem to be ignoring that. Somebody breaking lights does not negate that fact.

There is no way a bicycle travel 15-20 feet with a child wrapped in the wheel like you said.

Some bikes have disc breaks

Sounds like you were there Ray and witnessed the whole thing.

15-20 feet is not that far. Whether it's accurate or not a young kid got taken out of it by a bicycle who went through a red light. It's not that hard to accept is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭NS77

ahh yes....the famous MAMIL's (middle aged men in lycra)

seriously though...can they not cycle in normal clothing?

Can soccer players not play in normal clothing? GAA? What about judo enthusiasts? Maybe they'd be more acceptable in three piece suits, rather than those silly PJs they wear? :D

Joe10000 wrote: »
    A lot of things annoy me about cyclists but the most recent one is the greenway (cycle lane/walkway) that runs from Westport to Achill (parallel to the road) which large groups of cyclists won't use because pedestrians get in their way.

Pot.
    Kettle.
    Black.

But they do, I don't begrudge walkers to use the greenway. But as a cycling resource it's more suitable for leisurely cyclists. I like to get my heart rate pumping when I cycle, it wouldn't be appropriate for me to be hammering along the greenway when families are out for a morning walk. Ill stick to the roads in my lycra. But if I was ever to want to go for a leisurely spin, the greenway is very nice. Westport makes a fortune from cycling tourists each year, look at the numbers of people who pay to compete in Gaelforce West etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Joe10000 wrote: »

Pot.
    Kettle.
    Black.
    You appear to believe that this greenway is the equivalent of a motorway for cyclists. It's not. It's more like the Ring of Kerry. A grand day out for a spin, but if you want to take the fastest route from A to B, you take a different route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,916 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

gramar wrote: »
    Sounds like you were there Ray and witnessed the whole thing.

15-20 feet is not that far. Whether it's accurate or not a young kid got taken out of it by a bicycle who went through a red light. It's not that hard to accept is it?

It is really far when you think of the mass of a cyclist and a bike combined with the balancing act of having a child wrapped in your wheel. I have not defended the cyclist for breaking the lights once. Yes the cyclist was in the wrong. Does it mean there should be a speed limit should brought in on bicycles so they don't go over 15mph? NO!! He is using it for a reason to suggest such a speed limit.

I have seen cars knock people down do I think cars should only be allowed drive 20mph as a result? NO!!!

Enforcement of all the rules of the road should be increased we don't really need extra laws until that is done.

Accidents will still happen but eliminating wilful breaking of the law is the real danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭UnawareCaesar

Ms. Pingui wrote: »
    Just passed my test on the first go two months ago. The tester was pretty pleased with my technique.

Passing the driving test doesn't make you an expert driver, in the 45 minutes or so the tester doesn't see absolutely everything you do when driving and hence things you're doing may still be wrong. Like not checking your blind spot when making manouvres, its called your blind spot because its the spot your mirrors don't pick up and there can be anyone there at anytime so always check it. If its a manouvre that requires looking in your mirrors it requires checking your blind spot.

As for your point on people you know being hit by cyclists, I have a friend who had a lad run into him while he was cycling and send him over the handlebars and then run away, there's idiots everywhere, not just cyclists

Also on the whole horses being registered by passports it doesn't help you identify them at all like you want to achieve with bike regs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I don't mind cyclists as I do a bit myself,what annoys me though on back roads is when they ride 2 or 3 abreast,acknowledge that you are behind them in your car yet haven't the courtesy to ride in single file for a few seconds.
    There's a thread on slow drivers & we expect them to pull over out of courtesy to allow vehicles to pass so why not cyclists,on back roads I like to keep as much room between my car & them when passing,all it takes is one pothole & boom they are under your wheels.

Some are worse on national routes when they insist on following the yellow lines along the hard shoulder when there's plenty of room on the inside,common sense dictates that you don't put yourself in harms way unlike the clown I nearly ran over cos he decided that following the road markings was a good idea until he hit a cats eyes & veered out into the road in front of me as I was doing 100kph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I wish someone would run over this thread.