Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline thread 09/04/2013 to 19/7/2013

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Meathlass wrote: »
    'Topical' show as ever

This is contemporary, given that the previous discussion was about WWI deserters..

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

sudzs wrote: »
    Bored to tears already... has he been on this topic since 1.45??? :eek:
    No, just since 2012(AD).

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Great history lesson there from Damo

he was mad so he was:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

What has this one against Dev?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭sudzs

"that HItler fella, shur he was a bit mad"

Did Fr Dougal McGuire get into the studio there?!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Meathlass wrote: »
    What has this one against Dev?
    Woman scorned.....hell hath no fury Etc.

Up the ra Ruiri

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

This wan wants Dev dug up and burned at the stake :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

You can't handle the truth!

Damo needs to compose himself after that

"He suffered with his leg"

What a pity Joe isn't on this week. What an opportunity to empathise.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

How many were in the army at the time? 5,000 desertions would be a good slice of it, enough to cause mass panic you would think.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

"the emergency"

Has this country always been stupid?

withless wrote: »
    "the emergency"

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

"defended the nation in 1916".

Presumably his version of history is different to the one I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

First giggle of the day, yer man telling yer interrupting wan to "Hold your fire for a minute" whilst talking about WW2. He funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,104 ✭✭✭Technocentral

withless wrote: »
    "the emergency"

The same sort called the war in the North the "Troubles"!

'President by default'

WTF!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

The same sort called the war in the North the "Troubles"!

And the economic downturn the "unpleasantness"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

"would you have preferred more North Strands" - no thanks, one of those kips is enough.

syklops wrote: »

You just beat me to it! :D

Not sure what your woman's agenda is, on one hand she says de Valera supported Brits with shipping etc then he also supported the Nazis? Churchill did say in the House of Commons in May or June 45 that the Irish were a disgrace for being neutral though, anyway your woman sounds as bitter about Dev as if it had all happened yesterday, fascinating discussion that Damien is handling well for once, but then again I'm a huge history buff.

A bit shouty voice roars "JOE DUFFFFY!" and it's Damien who's on! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭Hitchens

syklops wrote: »

....and the economic upturn "de boom"

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Tisserand

Is he saying 'I blew off'??

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

And of course we were all very VERY drunk

Damo's rushing this ould fella, one eye on the clock to get another break-een in for Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I bet this story ends with him killing Hitler and planting the Irish flag on the roof of the Reichstag..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Who would bother themselves to invade us?

Did he say he was 23 in 1943? Means he's 93, fairly lucid for that age, fair play to the oul Divil.