Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline thread 09/04/2013 to 19/7/2013

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭the great purveyor of mediocrity

Meathlass wrote: »
    You can't just end on that :eek:

What happened next? Has to be more interested than Liveline today

No it was fairly dull. Saw two lads thieving, approached them, they offered to wash my windows, I declined, I took their reg, car model, etc, rang Gardaí, Gardaí came round, they took prints, etc and caught the lads about two hours later, job done.

I'm sorry but I actually think it's a good idea to name the bridge after Fiona Pender, if only to keep her name at the forefront of people's minds so that it is never forgotten that there are missing women in Ireland, and suffering families that need closure, we can't give up finding out what happened to them

Gerry Ryan had a bench, no probs there, just saying

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Who is that fella "Toll" that has a few bridges named after him?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

Stupid idea to name a bridge after a missing person. Lets name the Newlands Cross road scheme the Philip Cairns freeflow junction.

How about the "Where's Joe Duffy?, Ballyer's that-a-way Junction"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRG-YVX82uPT8tmEX0Xzzd4LigG5_YTGFSpw9Ay544B0xmapd-h

Sir Alex pictured at the Ilac Centre branch of Thomas Gear an hour ago. ;)

Sounds like this caller has been celebrating the best news he's heard in years with a few connie ones over lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

This lad makes good points, but unfortunately I think a number of shouty union type callers are being lined up against him.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He sounds young enough to be watching Bob the Builder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Im so glad I dont work in a unionised industry.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Only on the thread for the moment - worth tuning in or is it Damo?

See what I did there?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the insanity of self employment

i hear you brother:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

2008, before the crash??

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

those agreements were the biggest scam going. glad to see the unions getting a thumping on this and maybe their members will finally realise wages are to high

Only on the thread for the moment - worth tuning in or is it Damo?

See what I did there?:D

Its Damo and the caller is called Damo too.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

syklops wrote: »
    Its Damo and the caller is called Damo too.

I'm out. Enjoy FarmTalk folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

So they turned it in to the public service..

i knew an electrician who had to get somthing like €25 a day just to turn up for work before they even started a days work as it was in one of these agreements

22 euros an hour. Im in the wrong job.

neris wrote: »
    i knew an electrician who had to get somthing like €25 a day just to turn up for work before they even started a days work as it was in one of these agreements

Maybe that was the travel money.

not sure but €125 a week extra for just turning up to work sounds like an easy life

neris wrote: »
    not sure but €125 a week extra for just turning up to work sounds like an easy life

Well yer man just said that if you lived more than 10 miles from the office, you would get an extra 150 a week, 150 divided by 5 is 30 so the figure seemed close enough, but I could easily believe if there was a turning up allowance as well.

wheres the union loon on to try tell us how overpaid electricians are going to starve and will have to emigrate and we,ll all be back to using candles again

They guy around the corner on the black market.

Probably a fully qualified electrician who lost his job due to the ridiculous pay demands by the union that represented him.

ah come on damo dont be a bigger muppet. €8.65.

so we,ll be having women beating each other to get into abortion clinics and electrical contractors sweeping a giant axe across their payroll to minimum wage. only in teh fantasy land of liveline could such idiotic statements be made

"economy of scale"

The first rule of economy is something is worth whatever people are willing to pay for it. A potato doesn't arbitrarily decide it is worth 5 euros, so I don't see why an electrician should decide he is arbitrarily worth 22 euros an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Is damian very shouty today or is it me?

AK333 wrote: »

Maybe he is annoyed that even he doesn't earn 22 euros an hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

syklops wrote: »
    22 euros an hour. Im in the wrong job.

Mind you, relatively speaking, that must be Joes' idea of hell.;)

AK333 wrote: »

Dunno. We can't hear you. ;)