Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline thread 09/04/2013 to 19/7/2013

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Fry model railway... Oh FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

They blew all the bequest money did they!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

Could someone put Joe into storage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Where the hell is the intercession of all these saints and virgins for the junkies found dead in crack houses every week in a cesspit of their own shít, vomit and blood ?

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Dub.

Did i miss something, or did the American admit to donating blood in Ireland despite being a long term intravenous drug user ?

see yiz tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Joe:"And one of the best in europe"

I've been to it a few times but compared to some of the ones in Germany it is tiny.

Dub. wrote: »
    Did i miss something, or did the American admit to donating blood in Ireland despite being a long term intravenous drug user ?

No. He did it in the USA

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

OMG he's surely not going to exhume that dead subject?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

I'd imagine there's staff in Dublin now rumaging through their store rooms searching for those name plates now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

The country is in the mire, and he wants us to spend cash on toy trains :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Just flicked in, are they talking about the the model railway ?

edit: yes, ha ha. G'wan Joe and ask Harry Crosbie why he didn't cough up the space.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭sudzs

That_Guy wrote: »
    Fry model railway... Oh FFS.

Pass the syringe! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,656 ✭✭✭Floppybits

The priest was breaking out in joe there. He was throwing out blessings there

Senator saves toy railway.............................. thus saving Seanad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

AK333 wrote: »
    The country is in the mire, and he wants us to spend cash on toy trains :(

And there's a senator getting involved. More ammunition to abolish the seanad.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Nice one Duffy you fecked the whole thing up!

Why not put the damn trainset in that house in Merrion Square and give the 28 tour guides something to do ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Ah Senator Darragh O'Brien please please someone put up the clip of when Vincent Browne ripped the piss out of him
    "ah they would do your head in "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Just a point on the matron's and MRSA.

My own experience is that hospitals due to cutbacks have had to cut down on cleaning staff. Whereas before they were hospital staff and you could call one to clean up a mess, these days they are almost always contract cleaners, whose job is to come in, clean by their rota and then finish and go home.

My Dad was taken to hospital with a stroke in 2005 (height of Celtic Tiger), there were a couple of failed attempts to get a drip into him which resulted in him bleeding. Blood on the floor was wiped once with a paper tissue, people walked into the drying blood and spread it around the corridor (yes, he was on a trolley).

It was eventually cleaned up 17 hours later when the cleaner came on duty. THAT is one of the main reasons as to what causes the spread of MRSA and other illnesses in our hospitals.

Lapin wrote: »
    Why not put the damn trainset in that house in Merrion Square and give the 28 tour guides something to do ?

Thats called joined up thinking, your not allowed do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Dub.

Hamilcar wrote: »
    No. He did it in the USA

He said he sold his blood in the USA, but donated it in Ireland.

The guy is seriously screwed up.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭sudzs

haha! 2 grown men fighting over toy trains!!!! :D

At last some serious public interest broadcasting........................... 'Bout bloody time

Troika should be happy

Red Kev wrote: »
    Just a point on the matron's and MRSA.

My own experience is that hospitals due to cutbacks have had to cut down on cleaning staff. Whereas before they were hospital staff and you could call one to clean up a mess, these days they are almost always contract cleaners, whose job is to come in, clean by their rota and then finish and go home.

My Dad was taken to hospital with a stroke in 2005 (height of Celtic Tiger), there were a couple of failed attempts to get a drip into him which resulted in him bleeding. Blood on the floor was wiped once with a paper tissue, people walked into the drying blood and spread it around the corridor (yes, he was on a trolley).

It was eventually cleaned up 17 hours later when the cleaner came on duty. THAT is one of the main reasons as to what causes the spread of MRSA and other illnesses in our hospitals.

The old model of nurses and matrons, the nurses did everything. They did the cleaning, they did the washing, they did the laundry. Nowadays, nurses are above menial tasks like cleaning so they have hospital cleaners.

Dub. wrote: »
    He said he sold his blood in the USA, but donated it in Ireland.

The guy is seriously screwed up.

No he didn't say that at all :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Can we have a poll

does anyone give a sh1te!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Hamilcar wrote: »
    At last some serious public interest broadcasting........................... 'Bout bloody time

Troika should be happy
    We shoild open a model troika museum. That would keep them amused.

While two grown men fight over a train set on the radio, Joe cries out...

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRB9pjcX5rG1G7Xjs1SamiqS-lwIKtO1Ih3nPpm5h-MewYcHf_SpQ

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

syklops wrote: »
    The old model of nurses and matrons, the nurses did everything. They did the cleaning, they did the washing, they did the laundry. Nowadays, nurses are above menial tasks like cleaning so they have hospital cleaners.

Everyone who says nurses were much better in the old days - do you have any proof beyond anecdote/hearsay? After all, in the "old days", priests, teachers, doctors, politicians, nuns, gardaí, rich businessmen etc. were all above criticism and above suspicion, and people trusted authority figures more