Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE & the property tax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭darkhorse

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    I'm not speaking on their behalf silly; I'm predicting their behaviour.

So you're a Psychic? That would explain a lot. Goodbye.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

darkhorse wrote: »
    So you're a Psychic? That would explain a lot. Goodbye.

LOL... nice... so in the end, you wont' answer a simple question about your own post. Just try and throw a hand grenade and run for the door huh?

Sums up your entire argument really.

As for people needing to be psychic to make predictions, well... you obviously know as much about statistics as you do about your own post - next to nothing.
    In statistics, prediction is a part of statistical inference. One particular approach to such inference is known as predictive inference, but the prediction can be undertaken within any of the several approaches to statistical inference. Indeed, one description of statistics is that it provides a means of transferring knowledge about a sample of a population to the whole population, and to other related populations, which is not the same as prediction over time. When information is transferred across time, often to specific points in time, the process is known as forecasting.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prediction#Statistics

Note that's from the PREDICTIONS page...

Here! [tosses unexploded grenade back to darkhorse] You'll probably need this more than I will.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭golfball37

RTE News is spinning hard today.

Make no mistake about it but Ireland is being deliberately guided towards Bailout 2

Todays headlined stories are working very hard to convince you that things are getting better – while other stories prove otherwise but not getting as much attention:

1. The Fiscal Advisory Council says significant improvement on budget deficit situation in the years ahead.

2. Ireland could be given an additional seven years to repay bailout. By extending the repayment schedule, payments would be spread over a longer time, which would give the markets the confidence to lend to Ireland at lower rates.

I actually think its far more cynical. The deal has been done to bring our Corporation Tax into line with the rest of Europe and this is the sweetner.

Of course nobody will make the connection in 7 years time but some of us will remember. We have a Vichy government.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

golfball37 wrote: »
    I actually think its far more cynical. The deal has been done to bring our Corporation Tax into line with the rest of Europe and this is the sweetner.

Of course nobody will make the connection in 7 years time but some of us will remember. We have a Vichy government.
    What deal? :eek:

Le_Dieux wrote: »
    PS: I will post a link for that interview mentioned above when they put it up on the net - I think they only put the podcasts up 24 hours after the broadcast.

Did you ever post that link you mentioned in the OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,395 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I would also like to know about this 'deal'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

sorry, how do you mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,021 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

RTE News is spinning hard today.

Make no mistake about it but Ireland is being deliberately guided towards Bailout 2

Todays headlined stories are working very hard to convince you that things are getting better – while other stories prove otherwise but not getting as much attention:

1. The Fiscal Advisory Council says significant improvement on budget deficit situation in the years ahead.

2. Ireland could be given an additional seven years to repay bailout. By extending the repayment schedule, payments would be spread over a longer time, which would give the markets the confidence to lend to Ireland at lower rates.

In this scenario what are the chances of the next government being able to ditch the LPT (and possibly refund those who have paid)? Which is what the people who are breaking the law are depending on. What do you think the attitude of the markets and other interested parties like the IMF would be to such and administration? Would it give the markets confidence to lend to Ireland at lower rates?

They probably won't think that Irish private property owners are somehow special and shouldn't be subject to a tax which applies everywhere else (and at much higher rates elsewhere).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

In this scenario what are the chances of the next government being able to ditch the LPT (and possibly refund those who have paid)? Which is what the people who are breaking the law are depending on. What do you think the attitude of the markets and other interested parties like the IMF would be to such and administration? Would it give the markets confidence to lend to Ireland at lower rates?

They probably won't think that Irish private property owners are somehow special and shouldn't be subject to a tax which applies everywhere else (and at much higher rates elsewhere).

Isnt that what Mr Silvio over in Italy has prommised to do and vowed to do for the people of Italy??

Id love to see him to it too,and give a bid "Fcuk You" back to the Germans.:D

Then again we all know what FG and Labour did and are still doing over here with regards pre election prommises and telling packs of lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

They could always do something completely mad, like raise income tax, or introduce a third tier of taxation.

That'd be crazy altogether Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

SamHall wrote: »
    They could always do something completely mad, like raise income tax, or introduce a third tier of taxation.

That'd be crazy altogether Ted.

but samhall, dont you know that if they raised income tax, everyone would stop working and sign on the dole!!! its a proven fact!!!:rolleyes:

bgrizzley wrote: »
    but samhall, dont you know that if they raised income tax, everyone would stop working and sign on the dole!!! its a proven fact!!!:rolleyes:

Oh yeah I forgot about that.

FGs rich buddies wouldn't fancy a raise in their income tax. That's the real problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Ill let this guy explain why the property Tax is ****

And who elected this person to any position? NO ONE. He was third reserve for Joe Higgins in Europe. Speaking of Joe, he's gone very quiet lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

And who elected this person to any position? NO ONE. He was third reserve for Joe Higgins in Europe. Speaking of Joe, he's gone very quiet lately.

dunno but he puts his point across better than the eejits ye did elect...:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

sorry for dragging the thread slightly off topic, I just want to answer dxhound__

The Fiscal Advisory Council are clearly not working for the people when they wanted austerity to be even more severe. Deferring bailout payments does nothing to solve the economic dilemma. The markets don't want to lend to Ireland because they know the domestic economy is in meltdown due to stupid austerity policies by the Fine Gael Labour Party Government. While no money flows into the economy, matters will only worsen.

The Irish economy will always be in pain while people have to pay enormous mortgage repayments based on prices from a property market that was completely manipulated by bankers and the previous Fianna Fáil Government. Plus NAMA is doing its best to protect and return crazy property prices to benefit vested interests.

The reality is Ireland is an island nation of 4 million people and its property market was deliberately inflated to trigger a bailout scenario to allow for a massive transfer of wealth to vested interests who are represented by the Troika. Ireland must return to a realistic scale of economy that fits a nation of its size. A debt cut must happen now for all family homes which will save the domestic economy, boost job creation and avoid bailout 2.

While the illegal bailout scam remains attached to Ireland's sovereign credit card it will always be a lose lose situation. The fact is the people of Ireland will continue to suffer and see their wealth flow into the hands of a small few for decades to come.

We need rid of FG Labour and fast

I don't see any evidence of poverty on that video. Although the commentator looks a bit thin everyone else appears to be well fed and they have nice clothes.

Although the commentator looks a bit thin everyone else appears to be well fed and they have nice clothes.
    He should be fat on his massive salary to his unelected position.

Phoebas wrote: »
    He should be fat on his massive salary to his unelected position.
    Ah, shur, doesn't he give the most of his salary to the Socialist Party? They need it all to keep sending people to protest in places like Gaza.

sorry for dragging the thread slightly off topic, I just want to answer dxhound__

The Fiscal Advisory Council are clearly not working for the people when they wanted austerity to be even more severe. Deferring bailout payments does nothing to solve the economic dilemma. The markets don't want to lend to Ireland because they know the domestic economy is in meltdown due to stupid austerity policies by the Fine Gael Labour Party Government. While no money flows into the economy, matters will only worsen.

The Irish economy will always be in pain while people have to pay enormous mortgage repayments based on prices from a property market that was completely manipulated by bankers and the previous Fianna Fáil Government. Plus NAMA is doing its best to protect and return crazy property prices to benefit vested interests.

The reality is Ireland is an island nation of 4 million people and its property market was deliberately inflated to trigger a bailout scenario to allow for a massive transfer of wealth to vested interests who are represented by the Troika. Ireland must return to a realistic scale of economy that fits a nation of its size. A debt cut must happen now for all family homes which will save the domestic economy, boost job creation and avoid bailout 2.

While the illegal bailout scam remains attached to Ireland's sovereign credit card it will always be a lose lose situation. The fact is the people of Ireland will continue to suffer and see their wealth flow into the hands of a small few for decades to come.

We need rid of FG Labour and fast

You said you were going to answer me but you didn't. I was asking will the next government be able to ditch the LPT and still go to the markets / Troika for extra borrowings at favourable rates to make up for the revenue they are foregoing.

SF are proposing increased income tax (and a wealth tax citing international precedents). I'm sure the markets would look favourably on that but they would also expect a property tax to be part of the mix as is the international norm. Especially in a country which has to borrow for day to day expenditure. The bulk of wealth resides with the 1.6 million (or is it 2.1 million?) private homeowners and their families and they are also the group which benefits most from taxpayer transfers.

How are NAMA getting on with their plan to return to crazy property prices? Should people expect to see their houses double in value in the next year despite the LPT? That will make a lot of them happy if it happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I don't see any evidence of poverty on that video.

Background filmed in a European parliament building.....

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/troika-would-accept-property-tax-alternative-says-ff-1.554441

You said you were going to answer me but you didn't. I was asking will the next government be able to ditch the LPT and still go to the markets / Troika for extra borrowings at favourable rates to make up for the revenue they are foregoing.

SF are proposing increased income tax (and a wealth tax citing international precedents). I'm sure the markets would look favourably on that but they would also expect a property tax to be part of the mix as is the international norm. Especially in a country which has to borrow for day to day expenditure. The bulk of wealth resides with the 1.6 million (or is it 2.1 million?) private homeowners and their families and they are also the group which benefits most from taxpayer transfers.

How are NAMA getting on with their plan to return to crazy property prices? Should people expect to see their houses double in value in the next year despite the LPT? That will make a lot of them happy if it happens.

I think the world would keep turning for us.

The troika have made it abundantly clear that they "are not wedded to a property tax" so I'm sure if their was a viable alternative (like a raise in income tax) we'd not need to turn the lights off.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/troika-would-accept-property-tax-alternative-says-ff-1.554441

The troika have made it abundantly clear that they "are not wedded to a property tax" so I'm sure if their was a viable alternative (like a raise in income tax) we'd not need to turn the lights off.

That link is just a report of an opinion of a FF politician. He doesn't say anywhere in it that they will abolish the LPT.

Here is a link with an opposite opinion.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/troika-wont-let-us-out-of-a-property-tax-29121382.html

THE notion, common in some quarters, that the recent deals to delay repayment of our debts somehow creates the scope to reduce the property tax is unfortunately wishful thinking.

The same goes for water charges.
    The property tax and the introduction of water charges is a non-negotiable condition of the troika's bailout and any attempt to renege on the deal would be seen as an act of extreme bad faith.

Our property tax already looks fairly insignificant to many Europeans who pay more for local services.

My opinion: Unless SF get an overall majority next time round there won't be any moves to abolish it. It's here to stay and the world will still keep turning.

BTW SF would do well to listen to this from BBC Radio Ulster this morning to see that all is not well in paradise with their own property tax.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01rw23c

They said something about being willing to replace it with something that had the same characteristics of the property tax e.g. a sustainable and predictable return and didn't have an impact on the labour market.
    There is a document somewhere on the IMF website that outlines the position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

mikom wrote: »
    They're keeping the Red flag flying!

Still won't answer my question huh?

Very peculiar behaviour.

If he believed that white people were the master race would you care? Or would that be ok, because, "This guy and his party want to give me a say in the running of my country"?

You literally don't care that he's pushing a con man, that's out there scamming OAPs? Not a thing? You don't care that he's climbing up through the ranks by abusing the trust of distressed citizens? You don't care that he lies about his connection to the group? No?

On the other hand, you blindly trust that his goal is, "to give [you] a say in the running of my country".

A sucker's born every minute I guess.

No how about answering that question you keep dodging.

Right, I want you to PM me with the names of the OAPs that were scammed with Ben Gilroys knowledge and approvel, along with all documented evidence, and I will take it to the Gardai myself, thus relinquishing you of all responsibility. Is that fair enough?

LOL... nice... so in the end, you wont' answer a simple question about your own post. Just try and throw a hand grenade and run for the door huh?

[/QUOTE]

But you keep asking the same question to me over and over. You want me to change the answer, is that it?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

[/QUOTE]

But you keep asking the same question to me over and over. You want me to change the answer, is that it?

You've never once answered it.

Answer it once.

[/QUOTE]

ANSWER THE QUESTION. Remember, Ve haf vays of making you talk!