Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

POLL ADDED: Munster v Leinster, Thomond Pk, 13th April 6.30pm LIVE ON RTE2

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Just been looking in Ticketmaster there and it's not a sell out.

There's still a pocket at each end of the East and West stands and it says there are tickets available in the North and South Terraces too.

Thornley wrote this morning that there were 22,000 tickets sold for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Draw/I'm too much of a pansy to call it
    Just got my haircut exactly like Madigan's

I'm ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Leinster
    Grimebox wrote: »
    Just got my haircut exactly like Madigan's

I'm ready

Ambush him and maybe you can take the field!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

On the train down to Limerick now... So where's the first port of call? Curragower, Dolans, or..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭trouttrout

.ak wrote: »
    On the train down to Limerick now... So where's the first port of call? Curragower, Dolans, or..?

Dolans!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Replacements: 16 Mike Sherry, 17 James Cronin, 18 BJ Botha, 19 Billy Holland, 20 Dave O'Callaghan, 21 Cathal Sheridan, 22 JJ Hanrahan, 22 Ivan Dineen.

Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Devin Toner, 20 Kevin McLaughlin, 21 John Cooney, 22 Andrew Goodman, 23 Andrew Conway.

In Strauss, Toner, Goodman, and McLaughlin we've players that could be considered first choice on the bench. Munster just have Sherry and Botha i.e. two front rowers.

Yeah heard good things about dolans, but it's a bit far away from the hotel! Also missus wants to find somewhere that's showing the Masters as well..

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Replacements: 16 Mike Sherry, 17 James Cronin, 18 BJ Botha, 19 Billy Holland, 20 Dave O'Callaghan, 21 Cathal Sheridan, 22 JJ Hanrahan, 22 Ivan Dineen.

Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Devin Toner, 20 Kevin McLaughlin, 21 John Cooney, 22 Andrew Goodman, 23 Andrew Conway.

In Strauss, Toner, Goodman, and McLaughlin we've players that could be considered first choice on the bench. Munster just have Sherry and Botha i.e. two front rowers.

DOC.2 and JJ are handy bench options I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Leinster

Goodman!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Also missus wants to find somewhere that's showing the Masters as well..

She'll travel to rugby games and likes golf.

Marry her. Marry her now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Yeah heard good things about dolans, but it's a bit far away from the hotel! Also missus wants to find somewhere that's showing the Masters as well..

She's a keeper.

Total sports fan?

• Photo for the lads imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

Hopefully it'll be a great game, but its an uphill task for Munster. They will be tired after a 6 day turnaround following a bruising HEC encounter while Leinster have had 8 days to rest following their canter in the Amlin. That said, this is a MvL game in Thomond and the sides are as evenly matched as they've been in years.

G'WAN MUNSTER

DOC.2 and JJ are handy bench options I reckon.

Neither would be in the same league as the Leinster guys mentioned. JJ has only started 3 games this season.
    danthefan wrote: »
    Goodman!?

Goodman maybe be more first squad then first 15, still a different league to Dineen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Gotta be a catch. She's from Munster and likes Phil Mickelson?

All The Pressure On Leinster
    Leinster will arrive in Thomond Park Stadium knowing that a loss will almost certainly mean they'll miss out on a lucrative 'home' semi spot.

And a measure of their intent can be gleaned by their full strength selection albeit without the injured Johnny Sexton who is given a further week to recover. Munster, with bigger fish to fry in a fortnight, rest a few of their leading lights, such as Ronan O'Gara, Wian du Preez and Donnacha Ryan.
    Leinster are just two points clear of fourth placed Scarlets and the expected home win for Ospreys will see the title holders move to within a point of the side they beat in last year's final so really there's only one result that will suffice today for the D4 side.

It's a game that has some fascinating match ups most noticeably at out-half where Ian Keatley faces off with Ian Madigan, a place on the Ireland tour on offer while there are a number of players, all in the Munster red who can impress the watching Lions coach Warren Gatland.
    http://www.munsterrugby.ie/rugby/11817.php

Does anyone in Dublin actually use the D4 term??

Leinster
    Neither would be in the same league as the Leinster guys mentioned. JJ has only started 3 games this season.

Goodman maybe be more first squad then first 15, still a different league to Dineen though.

Tbh I'm not going to get into Goodman v Dineen because basically I don't care that much but in general I think Dineen has been alright whenever I've seen him, not really sure why he hasn't had more chances. And I think he's been given a full contract too.

D'Arcy is going to be very important today. He's playing well at the moment and he can help Madigan along with another strong performance.

Does anyone in Dublin actually use the D4 term??

I assume it was written by Pat Geraghty, you'd struggle to find a human being with a bigger chip on their shoulder. Best ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

A very strong Munster lineup for this one, I think we'll take it by 6 or 9 points. Should be a cracking match either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Did that Munster website article really say that all the lions hopefuls are in red?

That dude is a pillock (I'm basing that on long experience of the tripe he writes, not just that)

I assume it was written by Pat Geraghty, you'd struggle to find a human being with a bigger chip on their shoulder. Best ignored.

Very, very difficult man to deal with

Leinster
    Did that Munster website article really say that all the lions hopefuls are in red?

That dude is a pillock (I'm basing that on long experience of the tripe he writes, not just that)

I'd actually stopped reading by that point, what an absolute gem of a line.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

He's incredibly unprofessional. I have no idea how he has lasted this long. He writes complete tripe.

Did Gearghty work for Leinster before?

Leinster
    trouttrout wrote: »
    Did Gearghty work for Leinster before?

He did yeah, was PRO for a few years, then moved to Munster.

Was thinking. Anyone remember an article he wrote for the website that had to be taken down a few months ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Leinster
    I can't stand a lot of the stuff that is written on that site. In general the effort put into the site is poor, although it has improved this season. However, if you compare it to the Toulon website the effort put in is rubbish.

Geraghty is far from popular among Munster fans either. Geraghty even namechecked MFs when he hosted the evening in Dolan's for Paul Derbyshire. He's an awful interviewer as well, he can barely string a few coherent sentences together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Pat Geraghty is priceless. I'm surprised he hasn't been made sports editor of the independent yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

trouttrout wrote: »
    Was thinking. Anyone remember an article he wrote for the website that had to be taken down a few months ago?

For the Munster website? Not sure, but there were a few terrible 'articles', one which sticks in my mind is the one that was written on ToL when he had signed for LI. No mention of his Munster career or successes but just a short footnote mostly focused on his bid to leave. Thought it was poorly done myself.

I only go onto the Munster website for the domestic section these days anyway, the main site isn't that great.

Agh I can't remember now what his article was about! Of course I can't look it up because it was taken down.

That'll drive me mad.

Leinster
    I can vaguely remember an article being removed but I've no idea what it was for. Something to do with ROG/Sexton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Was it not just a copy paste job of an article in the Guardian about Saracens drwoning out the Munster fans.

Then had to remove.

Maybe thats a different one.

He wrote some hilarious article before the 09 HEC semi essentially saying Leinster didn't deserve to be on the same pitch as Munster.

Madigan has to use those outside him. He has a world class partnership alongside him today. He needs to back off on trying to run everything and take off on those cross field slaloms hoping a gap appears that he can step through. Take it flat, fix the defence, release those outside with his excellent pass. Break when it's on. If he tries to start running it himself to often, he'll suffer.

This season, in the games he has started at 10, the players from 11-15 have only scored 9 tries (3 of those last week). He has scored 8 this season himself. The overall back line doesn't tend to profit hugely as a unit from his style of play when he takes things on himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

Leinster
    Just got my tickets .. East terrace behind the Munster bench .. Sweet job .. Looking forward to the craic with the Leinster boys

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Was it not just a copy paste job of an article in the Guardian about Saracens drwoning out the Munster fans.

Then had to remove.

Maybe thats a different one.

That was a different thing I think

Going to be the first match in Thomond I've missed since before the All Blacks match. :(

Pictures of the missus if Leinster win! :D

That's a bell you can't unring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Buer wrote: »
    Madigan has to use those outside him. He has a world class partnership alongside him today. He needs to back off on trying to run everything and take off on those cross field slaloms hoping a gap appears that he can step through. Take it flat, fix the defence, release those outside with his excellent pass. Break when it's on. If he tries to start running it himself to often, he'll suffer.

This season, in the games he has started at 10, the players from 11-15 have only scored 9 tries (3 of those last week). He has scored 8 this season himself. The overall back line doesn't tend to profit hugely as a unit from his style of play when he takes things on himself.

I dunno, I thought he was pretty good at fixing the defence and releasing those around him. His try count to me indicates he's better at spotting and taking his opportunities than most and lot of them have been from breaks very close to the try line. He does sometimes take too much on but its generally from broken play where support might not be the best rather than him not releasing the backs when he's standing at 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

How does she feel about that?

No backing out now.

I dunno, I thought he was pretty good at fixing the defence and releasing those around him. His try count to me indicates he's better at spotting and taking his opportunities than most and lot of them have been from breaks very close to the try line. He does sometimes take too much on but its generally from broken play where support might not be the best rather than him not releasing the backs when he's standing at 10.

Don't get me wrong, he's great at it. He can play flat, has a wonderful pass and can do it at pace. His decision making can be off though. Two instances stood out against Wasps. The first one was near the end of the first half. He crabbed across the field, looking to break instead of feeding it outside and was swallowed up. We turned over and were a finger tip from conceding a sucker punch try. Then, on turn over ball in the second half, he elected to chip the defence and go for a high risk, high return move when Wasps were stretched and he had men outside him.

It's something he needs to work on. This will be his first ever start with BOD and Darce outside him. I hope he combines with them as well as his talent suggests he could.

• Administrators Posts: 54,827 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Teferi wrote: »
    She'll travel to rugby games and likes golf.

Marry her. Marry her now.
    Maybe he's only allowed to go if she can come with? :p

Also, sorry .ak, but come on Munster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 ireland01

It will be interesting to see how TOD gets on today, he's had a very good season and with the summer tour he has every chance to challenge for a place in the Irish back-row.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Leinster

You mean she's Esmeralda to his Quasimodo? :)

decisions wrote: »
    How does she feel about that?

No backing out now.

What she doesn't know won't kill her.

ireland01 wrote: »
    It will be interesting to see how TOD gets on today, he's had a very good season and with the summer tour he has every chance to challenge for a place in the Irish back-row.

He's been brilliant this year. I'd love to see some updated weight stats for him because he is absolutely massive. He's probably the fastest IQ backrow we have other than a fit Ferris too. He's stepped up massively to fill the void left by Dashing David Wallace.

Fingers crossed that he can stay fit, because the way he's going he'll be pushing for an Irish starting berth next season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Buer wrote: »
    Don't get me wrong, he's great at it. He can play flat, has a wonderful pass and can do it at pace. His decision making can be off though. Two instances stood out against Wasps. The first one was near the end of the first half. He crabbed across the field, looking to break instead of feeding it outside and was swallowed up. We turned over and were a finger tip from conceding a sucker punch try. Then, on turn over ball in the second half, he elected to chip the defence and go for a high risk, high return move when Wasps were stretched and he had men outside him.

It's something he needs to work on. This will be his first ever start with BOD and Darce outside him. I hope he combines with them as well as his talent suggests he could.

Yeah he needs to improve on certain aspects of his game but he's a hugely talented player attacking and has to embrace that. That will lead to some mistakes and poor decisions as he's never going to be perfect. But it will also lead to lots of breaks and advantageous positions. He's done incredibly well so far playing that way.

He'll grow in maturity and his decision making will improve over time and he'll know better when to go and when to utilise those around him. I just really hope he doesnt sacrifice his attacking prowess though to try force growth in other areas. He's just too talented in attack not to make it the foundation and let other areas develop around it.

• Administrators Posts: 54,827 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

What she doesn't know won't kill her.
    Brave, brave man.

[EOS]And you can't close the door after you spilt the milk with a bag of hammers.[/EOS]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I can vaguely remember an article being removed but I've no idea what it was for. Something to do with ROG/Sexton?

I think it was one cheering the departure of TOL??