Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

aaaaaarrrrrrrggggghhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I'm currently sobbing over the EU. SERIOUSLY, LIFE? SERIOUSLY?! Also I really wish I could still speak Arabic. I used to be able to speak it well enough, because my friend's mam taught me from when I was like four. Now I can only remember thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

HugsiePie wrote: »
    I hate that Im wasting my summer like this but theres nothing I can do really

I dont have any real friends to hang out with and even if I did, I live in the fricking middle of nowhere

And Im just stuck at home being as unproductive as fúck :(

I applied EVERYWHERE in town months ago, but some people can walk into those places with only a few days notice, no cv, nothing cause of contacts :mad:

And here I am, shining coins, I put them in a bowl of cola and vinegar and ketchup-and that is sadly probably one of the most productive things Ive did all summer :(

TLDR; Im pissed that everyone else is out there enjoying life, being a young adult, doing what young adults should do (concerts, holidays, working, etc) and Im here twiddling my thumbs self pitying Ive no "friends" to do sh1t with/cant get a job. I feel Im missing out on life but Im just stuck, theres nothing I can do about it. This is precious time Ill never get back but atm there aint nothing "precious" about it.

This is pretty much my life. I have a list of stuff I want to do/ places to go/ concerts and other stuff, as long as my arm but either nobody wants to do them with me or I've zero money to do them with. I miss Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

bluejay14 wrote: »
    This is pretty much my life. I have a list of stuff I want to do/ places to go/ concerts and other stuff, as long as my arm but either nobody wants to do them with me or I've zero money to do them with. I miss Dublin.

We should team up, we can aspire to do things then find out were too broke to do them, TOGETHER :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

I'm in work for a double shift at 8 in the morning and I'm currently being forced to watch the World Cup in a pub an hour away from where i live. Ugh, men.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

Pigwidgeon wrote: »
    I'm in work for a double shift at 8 in the morning and I'm currently being forced to watch the World Cup in a pub an hour away from where i live. Ugh, men.

That goal surely makes it worth it, no? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

You don't realise how central the muscles in your stomach ate to every single movement you make until you somehow manage to pull one. Owwww

• Registered Users Posts: 6 A Wanda called Fish

Sorry for highjacking this thread with my angst, felt like I had to rant anonymously somewhere and then I remembered the room of requirement of ranting exists here so...

So sick of the jobhunt. Had another interview today where someone again asked me to work for free while telling me how strong my portfolio is. I was so polite and nice but actually felt like getting up out of my chair, throwing my glass of water in the interviewers face and leaving the room. I won't work for free, I worked way too hard in college for that **** plus I've already done an internship where I worked for free so I've been there, done that now can I haz the real job plez. So frustrated.

Sorry for highjacking this thread with my angst, felt like I had to rant anonymously somewhere and then I remembered the room of requirement of ranting exists here so...

So sick of the jobhunt. Had another interview today where someone again asked me to work for free while telling me how strong my portfolio is. I was so polite and nice but actually felt like getting up out of my chair, throwing my glass of water in the interviewers face and leaving the room. I won't work for free, I worked way too hard in college for that **** plus I've already done an internship where I worked for free so I've been there, done that now can I haz the real job plez. So frustrated.

Oh, so now you think you can just...leave??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

It's people like Bill Cullen that have pervaded this sh*te. There comes a point where it's just not bloody viable to work for free, yet people like him would have you believe "Ah shur wouldn't you be lucky to get the experience?"

Eh, well no actually, because my landlord doesn't accept "experience" as rent unfortunately...

Hang in there man, you'll find something. Trust me, if I can get employment, anyone can. :P

Oh, so now you think you can just...leave??

One does not simply quit boards.
    wnolan1992 wrote: »
    It's people like Bill Cullen that have pervaded this sh*te. There comes a point where it's just not bloody viable to work for free, yet people like him would have you believe "Ah shur wouldn't you be lucky to get the experience?"

Eh, well no actually, because my landlord doesn't accept "experience" as rent unfortunately...

Hang in there man, you'll find something. Trust me, if I can get employment, anyone can. :P

Thanks! I actually feel so much better getting that off my chest. I try to be really positive most of the time because what's the point on letting things get to you? But this is really trying me. It'll be grand though. I just have to keep going :)

Be thankful they aren't trying to force you into the Jobridge scheme or the gateway scheme.

It's so hard to figure out the god damn strum patterns to songs :(

At least you've figured out strumming... An art which still eludes me. :P

I'm trying to learn Let It Be, I think I may have cracked it!

My hypothesis is telling me DUD (chord change) DUD (chord change) etc. Time to put it to the test!

I did Let It Be DUDU.

I'm so fed up of fighting with my sister. The house was shaking today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Went out for a drive. with a friend, didnt enjoy today. i dont know was it just werent interested or what but we barely spoke while they spent socialising on the phone. then when i asked to talk they put on music. just a boring evening. Just cant wait to go home and drink a bottle of Shut the fck up. hide under a rock and forget my existence.

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

It seems I'm good at investing in relationships and then breaking hearts. I must have some fatal flaw that wont allow me to stay contented. Or maybe i'm just young. Either way I'm a big shitbag.

I think I may have an extremely addictive personality...like, super bad!! :(

Buuuuut, meh :D

I think I may have an extremely addictive personality...like, super bad!! :(

Buuuuut, meh :D
    Self destructive personality types Ftw!

Ftw indeed. :D

That said, I learnt how to do a
    cold water extraction today for a buzz :/
    I was bored :(

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭MissD93

i havent posted in a while i'm sure your all shocked, so heres the highlights ->
    broke up with my first proper boyf who now hates me
    pretty sure i'm in love with a guy who (three months ago just before i met my ex) begged me to take out of the friendzone, great that hes now going with a lovely girl i introduced to him
    got offered an amazing job,left my old one, only to be told i had to sign a contract for three years full time, so tried to my pub job back , im on about four hours week
    and housemate drama all this hhe said she said even tough i want nothing got to do with them.
    family drama is minus craic.
    argh my life is mess

It'll all get better, don't worry about it. Honestly.

I haven't slept and I have to clean the house because my Nan's staying over tonight and UGH

A triple pronged argh:

1. My laptop is dead. Innards appear to be fried. One year warranty. One and half years old. Thousand euro ****ed down the drain.

2. So I got home from the staff party at 11 last night, was feeling a little peckish, so decided I'd order from my favourite takeaway. So on to Just-eat I go.

My receipt says my order was accepted at 11:34pm, with expected delivery at 12:15am. Grand job.

12:15am - "Hmm, I wonder where they are, these guys are usually early when I order from them."
    12:30am - "OK, this is getting weird, they've never been this late, but I'll give them a few more minutes."
    12:45am - "Right, what the f*ck?" Ring them, ask what the story is, they reply that the order didn't come through to them until 12:26am, and that the food was out for delivery. Bit pissed off, but alright, I'm still hungry and it's probably a genuine mistake.
    1:15am - "Alright, this is gettting bloody ridiculous."
    1:30am - Ring them, "Right, I just want to cancel this now. Refund my money and be done with it." "Alright, I'll get the manager to ring you back there in five minutes."
    1:40am - Manager rings "Hi, so sorry about this." "Yeah, I know you're sorry, but I just want to cancel the order and get my money back." "If I cancel the order, it goes into the system and we won't deliver to you again, but what I can do is give you a tenner in credit for your next order and your food will be delivered there in ten minutes." Now, at this point I just wanted to go to bed, but this place's food is so nice I decided to just accept his ridiculous offer and be done with it.
    1:55am - Food delivered. "Eh, there was meant to be a milkshake with this order?" "Ah man, I'm going to kill [insert name], I wasn't given that. Look, I'll just give you the price of it here." (Delivery driver was sound in fairness)

Ate one slice of pizza and fecked off to bed. Just a tad PO'd with this place.... :\

3. Invoice for college accommodation was awaiting me when I got home today. Huzzah for having to write a cheque for two grand in the next week! :D

So yeah, yesterday was going so well, and it just ended so sh*ttily.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭MauraTheThird

On Saturday, have to see my ex for the first time since we broke up. I'm already getting nable for it

Family occasions suuuuuuuck :(

Had a lovely portion of pasta simmering away on the stove while I readied myself for work. Came into the kitchen after showering and changing all ready to pack up my food to bring with me only to find that my roomate had put the saucepan onto a different ring thinking I had it on a cold one. I hadn't. Off to work with an apple and nothing but what ifs in my head for the pasta that almost was.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Jamie Starr

With every passing day my alarm clock becomes more like a withered, unfaithful spouse I resent waking up next to.

What happened with NUIG?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

HugsiePie wrote: »
    Subject selection for 2nd year came through.

:mad:

I got what I thought I would but not what I hoped and now Im gutted and its justs the icing on the cake to my not so great year :/

Im just mad atm

What subjects did you get for next year? :/

Hmm, I have no idea when I was supposed to pick my subjects for 3rd year...this worries me.

When you register, it's different for science.

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    When you register, it's different for science.

...When do we register?

Very little said about all this isn't there, only dawned on me there that I still have to register and pick subjects etc

AND still have to sort out a house. Le sigh

I dunno, I'm not the one going into third year! (Oh, ****. I need to pay the repeat fee)

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭MissD93

everythings falling apart in my life so i've dyed my hair cherry red. red hair don't care

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Such a demanding 2 days Ive had both mentally and physically. My body is so fragile I, if I was a pokemon id be put in a pokeball to avoid death tbh

Digging away...the moments that make up the dull day.

i'm dying in this bloody heat

Everyone giving out about this weather makes me sick. Move to Iceland might be happier there. Jeez. Seriously had few people snapchat me today saying they hate the heat. We are no longer friends

The sun is nice when your have the time to enjoy it when you work in a kitchen with no air conditioning you look forward to the return of good old cold and rain.

Or in a launderette with gas powered dryers.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Yea **** this heat tbh. . If others can complain about it being too cold I can say its too hot. I havnt stopped sweating in 2 weeks id say and im burnt to a friggen crisp and I havnt even gone to the beach once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I has such a sad. I haven't liked a girl in ages and ages. And I finally meet a girl I like, and likes me back, but she's too heartbroken to commit. . . This is so crap.

Listening to sad music all morning really hasn't helped either!

Argh

:o

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Jay P! How the hell are ya?!

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    Or in a launderette with gas powered dryers.

Or standing atop a ladder waist deep in a ventilation unit above a pizza oven scrubbing grease while the air around you squeezes every ounce of moisture from your body

I feel your pain. Four gas dryers going, four washing machines and running around like a blue arse fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

An File wrote: »
    Jay P! How the hell are ya?!

Fab! Apart from the above ^^
    Needed a venting outlet, C&H always took care of me back in the day :PAC:

Another job interview tomorrow. Lighting all the candles, pulling my hair out! They want sketchbook work, lol don't have any of that seeing as I through all my sketchbooks out like an IDIOT. Trying to paste something make shift together now....

Dying of a hangover. DYING. Stupid pints.

I don't want to post here but I have absolutely nothing to do. My teeth are killing me. And I'm sick of coming here. And in a whole new dimension of boredom. need to start making more friends. :( (insert emotional sadness here)

About to start sobbing. Apparently if I'd dropped out of college they'd fund a repeat year, but because I struggled through with depression and anxiety and attempted, they won't. I'm so angry and pissed off and just ugh.