Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

30 people march after the march with apparent garda acceptance

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Yes thank you for bringing our city to a stand still this evening for a further hour just after another protest, what will we ever do without out you.

Annoy people by blocking major roads so they can't get home, that'll solve our problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭G Power

ara would ye cop yerselves on lads, it was a demonstration of people power and you seem to have completely missed the point in the post.

let me repeat, we have reached a point in this recession where the garda have now stood down as 30 people blocked 3 lanes of traffic in the middle of the capital city on a saturday afternoon and when they did show up again near the end it was to just give us an escort!!

their van was full and most of us thought fair enough if they make us stop now but much to our amazement the garda van that had just made such a dramatic entrence was merely arriving to travel ahead of us.

i defy you to show me the last time 30 people were able to do that in dublin city centre at 3 o clock on a saturday afternoon, especially at a time when there were hundreds of garda in the general area at the time but nowhere to be seen as we stopped every taxi, bus, truck and car as we marched

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Jesus what a bunch of idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

G Power wrote: »
    ara would ye cop yerselves on lads, it was a demonstration of people power and you seem to have completely missed the point in the post.

let me repeat, we have reached a point in this recession where the garda have now stood down as 30 people blocked 3 lanes of traffic in the middle of the capital city on a saturday afternoon and when they did show up again near the end it was to just give us an escort!!

their van was full and most of us thought fair enough if they make us stop now but much to our amazement the garda van that had just made such a dramatic entrence was merely arriving to travel ahead of us.

i defy you to show me the last time 30 people were able to do that in dublin city centre at 3 o clock on a saturday afternoon, especially at a time when there were hundreds of garda in the general area at the time but nowhere to be seen as we stopped every taxi, bus, truck and car as we marched

If you want to get people onside for your cause, blocking traffic and preventing them from doing their day to day business isn't the best way to go about it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Crowd of a$$holes.

Grand I'll be ringing up the guards on Monday about this.

Ejits.

This isn't going to change anything, you cop on. We've been doing really well in getting out of our situation in the past two years because there wasn't much of this protesting, blocking roads, rioting crap. And thank god most people are actually against this, all the people you held up will have gone home hating you. I hope you achieved whatever you wanted.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    Grand I'll be ringing up the guards on Monday about this..

Just a hunch, but I think you might just find a couple working the odd hour or two at the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭ted1

So you put people's job at risks by disrupting buisness on the busiest day of the week

Grand I'll be ringing up the guards on Monday about this.

Ejits.

This isn't going to change anything, you cop on. We've been doing really well in getting out of our situation in the past two years because there wasn't much of this protesting, blocking roads, rioting crap. And thank god most people are actually against this, all the people you held up will have gone home hating you. I hope you achieved whatever you wanted.

you're going to ring the garda giving out that they made a decision to let people protest through the streets of dublin??

if only we had more of you eh, oh no wait there are too many like ya and that's the problem

will yis wake yourselves up to fcuk lads!! jesus wept on his bike ffs :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Wonder what exactly the agenda was

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

a group of about 30 independent protestors marched a slow walk taking up 3 lanes up and down the quays this afternoon after the main protest had finished.

we were followed by lots of garda to begin with as this had not been part of the plan but suddenly they were all pulled back and we were effectively allowed bring the city centre to a standstill for the guts of another hour.

some show of solidarity from the garda from top to bottom i reckon and the video kinda proves it too

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/occupyncd?fb_action_ids=295468350584040&fb_action_types=ustream_og%3Acomment&fb_source=aggregation&fb_aggregation_id=288381481237582

power to the people ;)

I'd prefer if the Gardaí actually did their job and banged you lot up for the night for causing a disturbance.

Bunch of tossers.

P_1 wrote: »
    If you want to get people onside for your cause, blocking traffic and preventing them from doing their day to day business isn't the best way to go about it

we had the garda on our side or else they'd have put a stop to it when they were following us at the beginning. there were as many of them as there was us so if that doesn't tell ye they were obviously under no orders to deal with us nothing will

btw i'm not here to make friends and I know for a fact that the message in this is not passing over everyones heads. those who is has passed over are the ones replying with nonsense when we are where we are today for doing nothing

Lapin wrote: »
    I'd prefer if the Gardaí actually did their job and banged you lot up for the night for causing a disturbance.

Bunch of tossers.

ahahahahahahahahaha

you're going to ring the garda giving out that they made a decision to let people protest through the streets of dublin??

Yes, I'll be ringing the Garda to give out that they let a bunch of idiots walk around Dublin City after a protest and hold up hundreds off vehicles. People shouldn't be allowed to just walk on the middle of roads to protest whenever they feel like it, organised peaceful protests by a large group of people are different.
    if only we had more of you eh, oh no wait there are too many like ya and that's the problem
    What's the problem?
    will yis wake yourselves up to fcuk lads!! jesus wept on his bike ffs :eek:
    This is the Dublin City forum, not the "What I've done to screw up Dublin City today" forum. Try After Hours..oh wait people there are against it too: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056925406

Do everyone a favour and stay home.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,539 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I've a small business in the south inner city, we're down about 25% in trade today as we usually are on Saturdays that have demonstrations.

Yes, I'll be ringing the Garda to give out that they let a bunch of idiots walk around Dublin City after a protest and hold up hundreds off vehicles. People shouldn't be allowed to just walk on the middle of roads to protest whenever they feel like it, organised peaceful protests by a large group of people are different.

What's the problem?

This is the Dublin City forum, not the "What I've done to screw up Dublin City today" forum. Try After Hours..oh wait people there are against it too: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056925406

Do everyone a favour and stay home.

we were organised and peaceful though so what's your point? show me one non-peaceful incident in the video

I will not stay home and instead I will continue all that I do to fight back against all this madness

ya big keyboard warrior ya :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Try After Hours or The Politics forum