Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feed crisis shooting

1235»

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

rancher wrote: »
    more rubbish

Why is it rubbish?

Maybe because they said HECTARES and not HECTACRES?;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Are there cattle being shot instead of being sold?

Well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

blue5000 wrote: »
    Why is it rubbish?

No... Bad weather forecast for next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

spread fertilliser yesterday, bloody sick of this ****:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

m t cranium says it will get back to normal temps by wednesday,so expect a good response to fert ,kev

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Highest tide tomorrow. Maybe that will change things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

PMU wrote: »
    m t cranium says it will get back to normal temps by wednesday,so expect a good response to fert ,kev
    please god, have the cows out day and night need some growth fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

pakalasa wrote: »
    Highest tide tomorrow. Maybe that will change things.
    I hope so
    I was happy to see the see the swallows arrive but have only seen a hand full so far.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

blue5000 wrote: »
    Why is it rubbish?

Sorry I spelt his name wrong. I hope himself and his friends wont be insulted. I am a bit dyslectic so I hope you can forgive me. And fair play to him for telling us about Coveney giving us the million euro for transport! Is there still something like 100000 livestock farmers in the country? If so that will work out at an avarage of €10 per farmer. That should be just about enough to pay for a taxi to haul a man home from a night out. Would a bag of chips count as fodder I wonder?

Try keep the heads up! It didnt make as much rain as forecast last night. With the help of God the worst is over. Even if it is a bit cool at the weekend. Grass will still grow some bit above 6 degrees and if it's not too wet cattle will be able to make some use of it.

Farmer Ed wrote: »
    You can think that if it makes you feel better, but it seems a few people here agree with me.

Breaking News!!!! The forecast is a bit better so Hectares and co are planning protests outside Church's next sunday. Then when the good God sends down a bit of fine weather they can claim it was all their doing. Fair play where would we be without them.

Is this for real? Outside churches! You are extracting the urine.

Is it catholic churches only? Are Protestant farmers comfortable with this? Jewish farmers might feel sidetracked because their sabbath is on Saturday- equality and stuff. So then will the mosques be targeted as well? But will ........

Nah, Think I'll go to the pool with the kids instead. At least it would be more productive :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Is it catholic churches only? Are Protestant farmers comfortable with this? Jewish farmers might feel sidetracked because their sabbath is on Saturday- equality and stuff. So then will the mosques be targeted as well? But will ........

Nah, Think I'll go to the pool with the kids instead. At least it would be more productive :rolleyes:
    No need to go to the pool around here. The pool is right outside the door, and there is one in every field:rolleyes:

Sorry more breaking news having consulted with his PR adviser Hectacres has decided to extend the protest to saturday and friday also. He said to thank you for pointing out the flaws in his first plan. His PR agent agrees with you. "We have to be PC in this day and age". Only exception would be, is if the protest was confined to pig farmers then it would be better stick to sundays :cool:
    Sorry more breaking news! If the forecast is bad for next week. All protests will be called of. Like they wouldn't want to waste time protesting for something they cant claim any credit for:mad:

Sorry more breaking news having consulted with his PR adviser Hectacres has decided to extend the protest to saturday and friday also. He said to thank you for pointing out the flaws in his first plan. His PR agent agrees with you. "We have to be PC in this day and age". Only exception would be, is if the protest was confined to pig farmers then it would be better stick to sundays :cool:
    Sorry more breaking news! If the forecast is bad for next week. All protests will be called of. Like they wouldn't want to waste time protesting for something they cant claim any credit for:mad:

This one you call "hectacres", will his people die for him?

No need to go to the pool around here. The pool is right outside the door, and there is one in every field:rolleyes:

Plenty of jokes here about sheep farming over the last while but I was very thankful not to have cattle on my farm this morning, don't think my land would handle 700kg sucklers now, ground is moving again this morning, we had 20mm rain last 24hrs, soil temp is ten so grass is mainly keeping ahead of the ewes, won't have to worry about a badly grazed butt in july any way.

This one you call "hectacres", will his people die for him?

No he ain't that kind of prophet! No it is writen in the great comic book (that is writen in the same office building as their leaders office), that he is going to lead them to a better single farm payment, a good deal on insurance, phone and ESB and loads of other free stuff :eek:
    It is also writen in their great website in cyber space, that they are still looking for independent milk testing! So at this stage I'd be taking any claim that cult is making with a grain of salt!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Plenty of jokes here about sheep farming over the last while

, won't have to worry about a badly grazed butt in july any way.

But you make it so easy for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭mauser77

No he ain't that kind of prophet! No it is writen in the great comic book (that is writen in the same office building as their leaders office), that he is going to lead them to a better single farm payment, a good deal on insurance, phone and ESB and loads of other free stuff :eek:
    It is also writen in their great website in cyber space, that they are still looking for independent milk testing! So at this stage I'd be taking any claim that cult is making with a grain of salt!!!

The newspaper wrote in the same building as the glorious leader and we say north Korea is bad

mauser77 wrote: »
    The newspaper wrote in the same building as the glorious leader and we say north Korea is bad
    Of course its in our building, wasn't it started by macra, its our paper and doing very well thanks along with all our other businesses we started

Silence comrade. Do not speak ill of our dear leader and his glorious revolutionists.

Thank god he is on our side.

"long live hectacres"

Silence comrade. Do not speak ill of our dear leader and his glorious revolutionists.

Thank god he is on our side.

"long live hectacres"

First commandment!!!!!!!!
    Thou shalt not say anything bad about Hectacres!!
    Sur we'd all be starving only for him :D Sur hasn't it has been writen in the great comic :D
    And now let us kneel and pray to St. Paddy OK who laid down his life for the cause at great expence to himself I'm sure. (But at leat he wasn't homeless at his time of passing.)And as we joined together to worship him after the dry cows were sold in Fermoy mart we remembered how bloody great we all are :eek:
    So now let us join together to thank Hectacres for telling us that Coveney is giving us €10 each!! Yip Ye !! we're all going to be rich :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

mf240 wrote: »
    But you make it so easy for us.

Whats wrong with sheep farming? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Whats wrong with sheep farming? :mad:

Nothing I was only tormenting rancher.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I hear john cleese, mike palin and the unbelievables are getting together to do a remake of the life of brian/hectacres:D

They're having a bit of bother casting the leading role, something to do with accents or mis pronounciation:(

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Fed up of all this talk of shooting.

Out on the road today and two farmers have asked did I know the farmer in my area (named him and all) that shot 80 cows and then himself.
    Not a bloody word of it, he might be a bit fed up drawing silage but that's it!

The old "loose lips sink ships" saying comes to mind. This lad would be gutted to hear people talking about his
    Hardship and aparrent demise like that.

I'm of the opinion now that all this talk of a farmer who shot a heap of cows and then himself is a load of ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

bbam wrote: »
    Fed up of all this talk of shooting.

Out on the road today and two farmers have asked did I know the farmer in my area (named him and all) that shot 80 cows and then himself.
    Not a bloody word of it, he might be a bit fed up drawing silage but that's it!

The old "loose lips sink ships" saying comes to mind. This lad would be gutted to hear people talking about his
    Hardship and aparrent demise like that.

I'm of the opinion now that all this talk of a farmer who shot a heap of cows and then himself is a load of ****e.

"Rumours of my demise have been greatly exaggerated" comes to mind.