Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

whelan2 wrote: »
    Do you realistically think milk will ever be in the 40's again? Any way enough doom and gloom, am off out for our tea, 19 years married

Hopefully it will but it's the downright uncertainty of the situation and the fact that as farmers we seem to be at the bottom of the food chain that makes me worried. Most people who go to work every day expect to get paid for their work every day and not just sometimes. Otherwise it's just a form of gambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,865 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Farmer Ed wrote: »
    Hopefully it will but it's the downright uncertainty of the situation and the fact that as farmers we seem to be at the bottom of the food chain that makes me worried. Most people who go to work every day expect to get paid for their work every day and not just sometimes. Otherwise it's just a form of gambling.
    Was talking to my brother in law today, he has a good job with good terms, he was sayinghe has been on the same salary for the last 7 years. I had a bit of a rant that at least he knows what he's getting and when he is off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

Went oad this year. Think it'll allow me to milk into my 60's quite easily if that's what I choose.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Dawggone wrote: »
    On reading the posts here and everyone talking about the one man operation, I would strongly recommend that you take out a 'key man' insurance policy.

Very important, broke arm here last Sept, I was lucky with the time of year, and insurance covered basic labour. If it had been springtime I would be in trouble for the sake of an extra €80 on the annual premium. Lesson learned.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Milking cows or selling litres. Upped cow no.s by 15% and litres by 50% in the last year. Long lactation and breeding a cow that will respond to extra feed and calve every 365 days. There are more ways of killing a cat than choking him with butter.

One doesn't rule out the other. Upped cows by 35% to double production. Trying to get to 1500kgms on the whole farm as cheaply as possible. I was close last year and hoping to hit it this year.
    But sadly Siobhan T has eaten into most of the increase. Running twice as fast to stand still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Very important, broke arm here last Sept, I was lucky with the time of year, and insurance covered basic labour. If it had been springtime I would be in trouble for the sake of an extra €80 on the annual premium. Lesson learned.

Steadily reduced my dad's and increased myown here over the last 3years. But talk of farm insurance going up also though uggghhh, I've already seen my car insurance nearly treble from 350 to 950 last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

I'd advise going a little further.

Prolonged illness or incapacitation.
    Replacement with top manager(s).
    Further training/education of manager(s).
    Consequential loss. Etc. etc.

These are pricey policies that often can't be dropped, but can also pay as a kinda retirement handshake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

One doesn't rule out the other. Upped cows by 35% to double production. Trying to get to 1500kgms on the whole farm as cheaply as possible. I was close last year and hoping to hit it this year.
    But sadly Siobhan T has eaten into most of the increase. Running twice as fast to stand still

get used to it...

Timmaay wrote: »
    Steadily reduced my dad's and increased myown here over the last 3years. But talk of farm insurance going up also though uggghhh, I've already seen my car insurance nearly treble from 350 to 950 last week.

how did that happen??

You mightn't have a choice.

Retirement age is heading upwards and will probably be 70 fairly soon.

I may just be doing mainly tractor work by then, and maybe a lot sooner, but I like being outdoors and doing something constructive rather than sitting inside doing Bingo and giving out about the 'young people these days....':)

there's a man bounding you that must be in his eighties.... he gets thru some amount of work everyday..... putting us all to shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Good for him. I'm sure they will engrave that on his tombstone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Water John wrote: »

So what if hes happy, as my u cle used to say if you are happy working you'll never work a day in your life

Good luck to him, I really mean that.
    He's happy and that's fine. But it's not to be taken as what is expected, that farmers have to work until they drop.
    That they have to work 100 hours a week to keep the farm afloat.
    No better way to ensure young people would turn away from the land.

He's happy and that's fine. But it's not to be taken as what is expected, that farmers have to work until they drop.

2 sons there and a farm manager as well.... He does more work than all of them put together....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

kevthegaff wrote: »
    2, 3 years of this malarkey will wean off a lot of lads, will be approaching 130 this year on my own. Going with flying herd once the rest of calves are moved on. Tough during the spring but hoping it will be worth it time/financially in the future.. if I had a bigger parlour I reckon could manage more but will see. As dawg says no tailpainting/Ai calves moved on quick, dehorning. Just didn't see it feasible getting another block for replacements, also 4 out of 37 not incalf last year and 3 losing spins so that just p""S's ed me off

As efficiency goes that model will be close to as good as it gets. One labour unit on owned land shoving 180 through, will be hard to beat financially. When it comes to buying replacements will you buy Springers or calved. There's another area you can help the labour situation and improve the ability to "duck and dive"
    (Eg buying calved cows later in spring when you get a spring like thus ones)

The one chink in that setup is long term sustainability. Down the road, head into your 50s, it'll be hard going physically, but that's a while away.

You'll make money with that system
    Add your reply here.

It's tb and associated risks that would stop me from considering the flying herd. Whatever it is we're never more than a couple of years without getting locked up. Any stock bought in when locked up would get no compensation and difficult to offload calves then as well. In the near term contract rearing is the way I could see myself reducing workload but then I go thinking would leasing and taking on someone full time spring part time rest of year be more straight forward than contract rearing as possibly be getting more value for the labour but I seem to be changing opinions on what to do going forward every day. Have to make a call in next 12 months tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,994 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

TBH it is immaterial as long as you are happy at it. I see a lad at work separated from his wife, he is afraid to retire as she will get half of it. She is getting half of it anyway. As long as the grave stone is far away who gives a f@@k. Retirement is not all it is clapped up to be either. Look at Hillary Clinton she will be 69 by the time she is President if she is elected. What will they engrave on her tombstone and will she give a f@@k.

No a lot of farmer do not have to It is a choice they make.. In reality it is a choice we all make. I could retire tomorrow........it is just I could not have the life style that I want. Lots of self employed people make that choice.

Slava Ukrainii

TBH it is immaterial as long as you are happy at it. I see a lad at work separated from his wife, he is afraid to retire as she will get half of it. She is getting half of it anyway. As long as the grave stone is far away who gives a f@@k. Retirement is not all it is clapped up to be either. Look at Hillary Clinton she will be 69 by the time she is President if she is elected. What will they engrave on her tombstone and will she give a f@@k.

No a lot of farmer do not have to It is a choice they make.. In reality it is a choice we all make. I could retire tomorrow........it is just I could not have the life style that I want. Lots of self employed people make that choice.

Yes true for the most part, but there are also some. Who to the outside world seam very successful but in reality have so much committed to farming financially that they can't get off the thread mill. I know one man who between himself and his two sons milk 300 cows. He will readily admit that sometimes he feels like a slave as the operation has to keep producing milk to make bank repayments. Im sure if he thought about it logically there is a way out. Just it's easy to get stuck in a rut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

Timmaay wrote: »

My car insurance stayed the same, with aviva. Have health insurance with them aswell which is a hefty policy aswell though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Milked out wrote: »
    Add your reply here.

It's tb and associated risks that would stop me from considering the flying herd. Whatever it is we're never more than a couple of years without getting locked up. Any stock bought in when locked up would get no compensation and difficult to offload calves then as well. In the near term contract rearing is the way I could see myself reducing workload but then I go thinking would leasing and taking on someone full time spring part time rest of year be more straight forward than contract rearing as possibly be getting more value for the labour but I seem to be changing opinions on what to do going forward every day. Have to make a call in next 12 months tho
    So any stock I buy in won't get compo? What's the time limit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Add your reply here.

So any stock I buy in won't get compo? What's the time limit?
    Add your reply here.
    That's if you're restricted and buy in stock the bought in stock won't be eligible for compo if they go down in next test. If you are not restricted the bought in stock are fine no issue if you go down in nearest test.

Add your reply here.

Johnes would be the main thing stopping me ever buying in again here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,358 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Johnes would be the main thing stopping me ever buying in again here.

Thankfully I'm in a position where I have ample stock from now on .ill cull underperformers and sell milking stock,incalf heifers depending on weather ,feed ,how much grass I can grow and milk price .disease obviously is the big risk buying in and also the fact I'd find it hard to buy stock as good as I'd breed and rare myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭mf240

Most older farmers are happy to tip away into there old age.

theres a local family that specialise in social welfare and obesity . they don't seem particulary happy .

Quote:
    Originally Posted by RightTurnClyde View Post
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by kevthegaff View Post
    2, 3 years of this malarkey will wean off a lot of lads, will be approaching 130 this year on my own. Going with flying herd once the rest of calves are moved on. Tough during the spring but hoping it will be worth it time/financially in the future.. if I had a bigger parlour I reckon could manage more but will see. As dawg says no tailpainting/Ai calves moved on quick, dehorning. Just didn't see it feasible getting another block for replacements, also 4 out of 37 not incalf last year and 3 losing spins so that just p""S's ed me off
    As efficiency goes that model will be close to as good as it gets. One labour unit on owned land shoving 180 through, will be hard to beat financially. When it comes to buying replacements will you buy Springers or calved. There's another area you can help the labour situation and improve the ability to "duck and dive"
    (Eg buying calved cows later in spring when you get a spring like thus ones)

The one chink in that setup is long term sustainability. Down the road, head into your 50s, it'll be hard going physically, but that's a while away.

You'll make money with that system

What type of beef bull do you intend running with the cows. I presume that all calves will be sold at 10 days. What happens if you are restricted when cows are calving

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Did ye all see the 2 page cost cutting advise in in last weeks journal? "SAVE 15000"
    sweet Jesus. Don't fence. 10 euro a cow. Don't spread nitrogen. 10 euro a cow. Don't fix machinery when it inevitably breaks down.. 10 euro a cow. Don't have a third pint of a Saturday night. 3 euro a cow.. And always ride the wife down the hill to save the welly boots... .005 euro a cow

Was it written by a transition year student or wtf

Yep, there is €15K you are just pi****g in the wind each year, you stupid farmer.
    That's the short version.

BTW any further info on the bull making a key contribution to TB resistance.
    The figures suggested were remarkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,783 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Yep, there is €15K you are just pi****g in the wind each year, you stupid farmer.
    That's the short version.

BTW any further info on the bull making a key contribution to TB resistance.
    The figures suggested were remarkable.

Well backed up figures in England in tb hot zones, semex showed figures where certain bulls daughter that where if immunity plus sires, got through a severe tb outbreak in one herd with one out of 50 only going down, while other bulls daughters had 60-70% show up as reactors....
    Don't count on ai companies here pushing it health traits don't bump up bulls ebi enough so they really couldn't give a flying f**k researching it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

Willfarman wrote: »
    Did ye all see the 2 page cost cutting advise in in last weeks journal? "SAVE 15000"
    sweet Jesus. Don't fence. 10 euro a cow. Don't spread nitrogen. 10 euro a cow. Don't fix machinery when it inevitably breaks down.. 10 euro a cow. Don't have a third pint of a Saturday night. 3 euro a cow.. And always ride the wife down the hill to save the welly boots... .005 euro a cow

Was it written by a transition year student or wtf

I don't see the issue with the article. As far as I understood the cost savings were suggested by a discussion group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

browned wrote:
    I don't see the issue with the article. As far as I understood the cost savings were suggested by a discussion group.

For the few years I have been reading it the journal has contained endless "make an extra xyz per cow" mostly AFAIK containing the same list of tips which that article contained..

They certainly didn't have an article saying "waste 15k per year with the following optional extras" in amongst the how to borrow more for a shed special focuses.

So I'm a bit bemused, I thought we were pretty fine tuned as producers, I didn't realise that half the stuff we were doing religiously was just for sh##ts and giggles.

Why don't they have an article aimed at co-ops entitled "get real, your not a wall Street hot shot, your a man in a cheap suit who works in Mitchelstown"

It could contain a list of optional things not to spend farmers money on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

Add your reply here.
    That's if you're restricted and buy in stock the bought in stock won't be eligible for compo if they go down in next test. If you are not restricted the bought in stock are fine no issue if you go down in nearest test.
    What's this craic of you starting ur text with " ADD YOUR REPLY HERE"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

fepper wrote: »
    What's this craic of you starting ur text with " ADD YOUR REPLY HERE"?

It's the beta version of boards. For some reason it doesn't automatically delete when you go to post the reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

What type of beef bull do you intend running with the cows. I presume that all calves will be sold at 10 days. What happens if you are restricted when cows are calving
    aa, bring in labour and keep them would be an option

kowtow wrote: »
    For the few years I have been reading it the journal has contained endless "make an extra xyz per cow" mostly AFAIK containing the same list of tips which that article contained..

They certainly didn't have an article saying "waste 15k per year with the following optional extras" in amongst the how to borrow more for a shed special focuses.

So I'm a bit bemused, I thought we were pretty fine tuned as producers, I didn't realise that half the stuff we were doing religiously was just for sh##ts and giggles.

Why don't they have an article aimed at co-ops entitled "get real, your not a wall Street hot shot, your a man in a cheap suit who works in Mitchelstown"

It could contain a list of optional things not to spend farmers money on.

What does the Journal cost nowadays? The last time I brought it, it was something like 2.40. That would be a saving of something like 125 euro per year. I gave up buying it on a point of principle as I consider it to be a very political comic. There are plenty free farming news sources nowadays without having to spend money on that.

2.90/week. If you stopped buying it you would save 150/year so now we are up to 15150/year. If you had 75 cows it would be 2 euro/cow. Add to that Teagasc fees another 5-7/cow I imagine.

Slava Ukrainii

2.90/week. If you stopped buying it you would save 150/year so now we are up to 15150/year. If you had 75 cows it would be 2 euro/cow. Add to that Teagasc fees another 5-7/cow I imagine.
    you can read most of it on line, there are so many ads in the farmers journal, too many

That explains how Im so flush with cash at the moment. I stopped buying it when it was only 2.40.

Stop the ifa levy and that another couple of euros per cow.

you can read most of it on line, there are so many ads in the farmers journal, too many

Another reason not to buy it. All those ads trying to part you with your hard earned cash.

Financial crisis in dairying solved!

mf240 wrote: »
    Stop the ifa levy and that another couple of euros per cow.

I bet that one was not on the journal's list of things you are wasting your money on?

That explains how Im so flush with cash at the moment. I stopped buying it when it was only 2.40.
    We still buy it here as my mother does the crossword..... most weeks I wouldnt even open it. Thursday is an expensive day as its 4.90 for the indo and the journal

I bet that one was not on the journal's list of things you are wasting your money on?

Funny that. They must of forgotten?

We still buy it here as my mother does the crossword..... most weeks I wouldnt even open it. Thursday is an expensive day as its 4.90 for the indo and the journal

You'll have to find some online crossword you can print off for your poor mother.

Not to upset the milk price boys and gals should we start a thread on how to save 15K by not using the journals advice.

Slava Ukrainii

And Whelan you forgot about the 25 euro for the wash cut and blow dry or do you do that with the power hose as well.:D

Slava Ukrainii

Or you could become a Dairygold milk supplier. Then you will get a free magazine called "Milk matters" every month that has a recommended retail price of 3.40. But if you're a DG supplier you will get it for free! Like it magic! No one pays for it! Its totally free!!!
    As for the RRP. I am not aware that they have ever managed to sell one?

And Whelan you forgot about the 25 euro for the wash cut and blow dry or do you do that with the power hose as well.:D

I was in the barber's one day as a board member came in to Dye his hair.Not sure what it cost him because my annual shearing job was a much faster process. This year I might just ask one of the lads that do the sheep.

That reminds me of a story I heard. It was about a publican Tom that wore a wig. Now while he was inside the bar one day a local lad John that was fond of the drink and was after a few asked him for a loan of a few pounds.

Now Tom letting on not to hear replied ''I must go and wash and dry my hair''

Where upon John answered '' what f@@king washing do you have of that, all you have to do is take it off, give a swish in the bowl and squeeze it out''. With that he exited the bar as Tom proceeded to start climbing out over the bar.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Or you could become a Dairygold milk supplier. Then you will get a free magazine called "Milk matters" every month that has a recommended retail price of 3.40. But if you're a DG supplier you will get it for free! Like it magic! No one pays for it! Its totally free!!!
    As for the RRP. I am not aware that they have ever managed to sell one?

That's straight in the bin here, just a magazine trying to sell you stuff you don't need. If they stopped printing it and gave is the savings in our cheque.

Ed, you'd might want to rephrase your comment on getting one of the lads to do the sheep.
    Very open to misinterpretation!!!!
    I know rams are dear and all that. Ask Rangler for one.

Ed, you'd might want to rephrase your comment on getting one of the lads to do the sheep.
    Very open to misinterpretation!!!!
    I know rams are dear and all that. Ask Rangler for one.

Ok point well made. To clarify my position I was referring to the lads that shear the sheep.